12:10 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Thursday, April 25, 2019
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2018 - Roll no. 12261

HAMID SALEH LAK is on a distinguished road
Default 2018 interview experiences

My interview experience(warning: a verrry long message) and a request, kindly ONLY share it with interview candidates, and don't upload it on FB, buh at kuch sach bataya hai is mein, so please ��

Chairman sahab.
Pleasentaries exchanged....
How r u feeling....
What's going on today? I: 'in the international fora?" Yes....
I told about the Vietnam summit and indopak escalation....
What has just happened now? I: "Sir, I don't really know, u haven't allowed us to have cell phones...he smiled and told we have downed two Indian jets...I was kind of surprised...and there was a momentary silence, which made me realize that he wants a response from me....instead of saying we should deescalate and all....I instinctively said that's a good news I guess �� The panel burst into laughter....and chairman was like....controlling his laughter "yeah"..... Then I was asked to introduce myself,,, then I told em that I once read a lot on palmistry...chairman was like nice...and Then we discussed cricket and reverse swing...why Pakistan famous for reverse swing....its history....(cricket was my hobby)...then ideology of Pakistan...two national theory...after Bangladesh TNT died....I said "no" gave arguments.... Nation state system discussed...then the only question I dropped was one I really did not understand...he asked roman Jews and others and their role in nation state...I apologized...he insisted again....I said won't be able to recall....then gender studies..feminism vs women emancipation...fem versus women welfare....types of fem discussed a bit.... He then asked ques from my command tasks when I participated as a member.... I had given a suggestion regarding relocation of funds in education dept....he ended by asking suggestions for improvement in education.....
General sahab
He asked me to complete my dream...during my discussion with haseeb sahab there, we talked about dreams also,,,so I told them that I had a dream where fpsc panel asks me that we have made u PM now do five things for Pakistan..and my mother wakes me up.."uth jao beta" on that again the panel burst into laughter.....kher general sahab asked me five things that i wud do if I were made the PM...I told him that...I also mentioned foreign policy on India..he said tell me an innovative solution of Kashmir.... Achi khaasi debate hui is pe... I basically suggested how we can make use of India's article 370 and 35a and prove that instead of HR VIOLATION we should root for IHL violation...this way we can take India to ICC...so a country who is not willing to talk will actually be taken to a court...gen sahab said,, solution to nahi hua na ye .I explained it again and said taking them to a court will be a huge victory as ryt now we cant talk to them let alone taking em to ICJ...(I had I LAW..and this solution was my study of bilal ahmer soofi sahab)...no other question asked as this was a long discussion....
Khattak sahab
khatak sahab said b4 starting his question on UN that give me a practical answer (as if my answer on Kashmir wasn't realistic....I in my brain was like, PM's adviser holds the same opinion y only taunt me")
Kher A very long question with 5 cases where UN and oic had failed he asked me to comment...my basic argument was...we shudnt compare UN with local jurisdiction like govt....rather should compare it with pre 1945 era.. I gave examples of article 2(4), siachen sircreek, run of kutch, iwt,palesine(ab or buhat behtar examples araien dimaag mein �� )....I also agreed with him that still I do agree...there is a huge.room for improvement....he didn't look satisfied...well to me no panelist actually did �� then ambassador sahab asked me questions on water policy 2018(my national event).... Are we a water scarce country....I said NO!...He: "NO?" and then arguments again started... We discussed a lot about water,,,, its wastage,a differne t financial model for a DAM which delays it for 4 more years, canal lining, drip irrigation, underground irrigation, Israel's water system,paksitan fund allocation of water, Pakistan's 2030 water vision,,.I had strong arguments for all of his questions....
Avid saeed sahab: How can we reduce debt....Ease of doing business, logistic performance index discussed....how can we generate money using Renewables(I had told them about my gold medals for this research but shayad unhen samjha nahi saka sahi se about my research, because they wanted a one line answer, so I don't know how I did, it's difficult to explain in one line a year's research...) OK Adeel u can alleviate poverty as a PM how can u do that as An education minister as u suggested in ur command task....well I actually hadn't suggested that...but then again I had to given an answer now...my answer basically was we can't really ask a child with a dead father, a sick mother, and sisters who aren't allowed to work...to attend school...we need to pay like atleast 1500rs(an average pay a child in rural areas gets for working at a shop) I gave example of BISP waseela e taleem's program, where almost the same is done but only 250 given....then haseeb sahab asked for a suggestion for fpsc.... After the interview i wasnt really feeling good(partly because I had my phone dead due to it falling in water bucket in the morning and food poisoning on the very morning after years and also due to the fact that panelists didn't seem satisfied, twice they told me to give a short answer on two issues,,, gave me an impression I was giving long answers... So I don't know how it went, the only good thing I wud say was that I was super confident through out, even when I was having difficulty phrasing my arguments(may be because I had given no mocks) they didn't seem convinced with my answers and regarding some responses even I felt I cud have given much better responses like TNT and UN question...lekin Bas..us wakt Jitna dimag chala....

Time: The candidate after me told me that my interview went for like 45 55min...well i think it wudn't have been that long...it was around 40min...35-40..... Even if it was longer I don't think that quantity of time defines quality of interview.... I maybe wrong...

Grilling: I had answers in form of statistics and researches for their counters, so never really felt grilled...

Environment: yes it was friendly, the chairman is gem of a person, khatak sahab brought Keenus for us before my turn...

Education: electrical power NUST.

I might have forgotten some ques though...

Optionals: pub ad, IR, ilaw, us his, GS

Date: 27feb

Conclusion: One will get what's written for him/her.... So as our PM says "Allah ne insan k hath me sirf koshish di hai". If this has helped anyone, remember in prayers... ��

Aoa guys...
Hope u will all be fine.
My interview was on yesterday.
Panel was v polite. Particularly Chairman sb and General sb. General sb has a cute smile ☺ ��
North Korea US summit
Will there b any development in future?
CPEC is it another east india company?
Is it good for pak? It will entangle us in loans?
Our issue is water management or water shortage?
National water policy
Water reservoirs of Pak and their storage capacity.
Clean and green pakistan, how it will benefit us?
Punjabi novels names, contemporary poet name who just write in Punjabi, difference in mahiya and tappa
Suppose Taliban has got govt in Afghanistan what will be repercussions for Pak?
What is charter of governance?
Discussion on command task.
Questions about CTP
Why do u want to change ur group?
Name meaning

My interview experience : 19 March.
Chairman sb:
Meaning of name.
1- Some questions from US history ( blacks, MLK, elijah, Abraham)
2- Critique of socialist feminism
3- greatest threats and opportunities for world in 21st century.
4- questions from command task.
Khattak sb:
5- scenario based questions from Afghanistan. If taliban come to power etc.. Cross questioning.
6- some questions from command task.

3rd interviewer :
7- NSG, why and when formed , why pak not in it.
8- FMCT

Last interviewer:
9- Some questions related to economy.
10- human capital of pakistan

Chairman sb again:
Cats ( hobby).
The end. Best of luck gentleman.
Time : 25-30 mins.
Best of luck to all.

Slam .my interview experience.
Degree.MSC IR.optionals IR ,I.law,us,Punjabi,environmental science.
1.draw comparison between little prince(my favorite book) and Punjabi fairy tales?
2.what is sii harfi.
3.how many books mian Muhammad bakhsh wrote?
4.what is the story of saif ul malook?
5.draw comparison between Reagan and trump policies?
6.similarities between modi and Hitler?
7.what is treaty of Utrecht?
8.what is shanghai five?
9.why Pakistan and India joined sco so late?
10.how e.u came into being?
11.what is axis of evil?
12.which event was very important in us economic life?
13.meaning of my name?
14.questions on command task? And my suggestions.
15. Difference between municipal corporation and zilla council?
16.why change in preference?
.time duration .25 minutes.

my interview experience Chairman
--You have spent 20 years of your life in Rajanpur?
A long discussion on block chain technology almost 6-7mints
What is block chain?
--Why block chian?
--How it can be used to control noise pollution?(it was last one of 3 solutions to make a database so that any factory or building violating environmental rules cannot be registered and not built)
Is it the only solution?
--Do you really think its practical?
--What about other solutions?(he told me some and i said yes i agree)
But i kept on saying k technology ko use krna chahye its not something alien to Pakistan.i gave examples. Khair pata ni ab kesa laga.
--How is Rajanpur?
--Rajanpur is a melting pot?
--My hobby road trips?

Maj Gen
--Suppose you are abroad sitting among student and you are to tell them that India is a hegemon how will you tell them?
--India and its influence on nepal bhutan? (An offshoot of above one)

KHATTAK
Meaning of my name?
CMs coming you are security in charge. Two of your men are involved? What will you do?
(I gave my strategy and he strongly disagreed)
-Another question: Lathe machines are lying and building is not yet constructed, they are lying in open? What will you do to control their noise pollution? ( Bohat heavy qism ki kahaani daali meny yahan)

Abid Saeed
--Monroe doctrine?
--Who was Monroe?
--When was he president?(i said sir i can guess, he said make sure its an educated one. I cursed myself k panga zaroor lena tha ye bol k ab btao educated guess( is said 1814,1815 he said you are close. I thought shukar h Allah ka)
--War in which white house was burnt?

Ambassador
Literacy rate?
Is it on decline?
Literacy rate of Rajanpur? I said: Sir literacy rate of rajanpur is..(pause as if i know the answer and i will give it)... something i am unaware of. Then he smiled.( Pata nahi meri stupidity p hansay ya kisi aur baat p)
--South Punjab?

Chairman
--So what are your plans with your motorbike trips? (I told him whatever was in my mind)
-- best of luck and thats all

my interview .Bsc computer Engineering.
IR, I law, US History, Environmental, Punjabi

Chairman sb

How are you?
What is CTBt?
Draw a comparison between Trump and Obama wrt economy.
What are the environmental hazards if Coal power plant?
Is there any benefit for environment?

AMBASSADOR

Compare chahbahar and Gwadar in terms of tgeir strategic location.

General sb

What is marxist stalinism?
What were carpet beggers?
Which area is called Lungs of Earth?

Khattak sb
A scenario where how a computer scientist can help in analyzing and processing so much data in a little time.
Some discussion and counter questions....

Abid saeed sb

What is vicious cycle of poverty?
Micro financing in Pakistan and a small discussion on the subject.

Chairman Again.
You like to watch movies, suggest a good movie.

Best of luck

my interview experienceThe panel was very very calm and infact helped in answering the questions. No need to worry if you were grilled and given nagetive remarks by any of the mock interviewers.
Interview
Zain ul Hassan, you are from Jhang. You are a computer scienctist and you have and you have very fine taste in art and poetry. Do you consider yourself a scientist or an artist?
You have read Nuskhah e Wafa (book of Faiz). What was political ideology of Faiz.
Has he been a romantic poet?
Relation between romance and revolution was discussed.
Then next panalist asked: zain, are you a proud Pakistani, if yes give six reasons for being a proud Pakistani.
Tell us about heritage of Pakistan.
Khattak sahab:
Waht are the differences in ideology of Ghamdi and traditional ulemas? I had mentioned a book of Ghamdi.
Why masses of Muslims are not attracted towards ideas given by such scholars right from the beginning?
Why the message of sufis had more appeal among common people compared to mutazeela, Iqbal and people like Ghamdi?
How critical thinking can be brought in Muslims.

Ambasdor Sahab:
Ghamdi has the view that Jihad can only be inctigated by state and holds that Imam Hussain was wrong in inctigated movement against Yazid, what should we do with this kind of critical thinking.
Is water shortage or mismanagement of water the problem of Pakistan.
How much water of wetren rivers India can use under IWT.
Should Pakistan make hew and cry if India tries to use more water.
What is the total inflow of water in Indus.

Theast panalist:
What is the significance of month of march for Pakistan.
Then about charter of Governance and maiden speech of CJ.

My interview questions
Degree related questions
Command task related questions
Punjabi novels
Ahmad Rahi
Afghan peace talks
Health reforms
Treaty of Versailles
KP FATA merger
Wetlans
Fpsc reforms.

my interview Chairman Sab :
What's the -importance of civil service
- people say civil servants do not work or listen them
- what are the hurdles in democracy in Pakistan
-what are governance issues of balochistan
- which technology is taking over humans
- how u fix economy
-what are your views about present government performance
- what initiative they have taken
-what they should have done but they haven't
Ambassador Sab asked me about US history questions which I dropped

my interview questions
Asylum (Command Task)
A political leader of country A is visiting Pakistan for which Pakistan is willing to establish good relations. Meanwhile Back home he is charges to be involved in anti state activities. He requested for political asylum to High Commission of Country B. Country A requested Pakistan to ask country B to extradite that political leader because PAKISTAN has excellent relations with Country B.
Being Foreign Secretary of MOFA, Devise a plan in this situation.

Interview Experience (9 April)

Chairman
How are you?
You’re from Okara?
What are you doing these days?
And you studied Agriculture?
What are the problems of rural areas of Pakistan?
You’re born and bred in Pakpattan? I said no Sir! In Depalpur
He apologized.
What do you know about current movements which are still active in Okara?
What is that movement about?

Maj. General
What is the solution of Kashmir Cause?
Diplomacy can solve it?
And some other counter questions.

Habib Ullah Khattak
How to end corruption in Pakistan?
Counter Questions

How to empower NAB?
How you instruct NAB if you’re PM of Pak?
(I failed to satisfy him)

Ambassador Sahb,

What is the significance of Singapore and Hanoi Summit?
What was the agenda of both summit and outcome?

An IR Term and An I-Law term which I do not remember as I said sorry

What is 38th Parallel
When was it created and named as 38th parallel?
Token questions about Korean War?

Abid Saeed Sahb,

You studied Agriculture and Governance! Do you know about community mobilization?
Why and How a community can be mobilized?
Any Example?
I quoted an example, which he rejected and asked about an other example that isn’t it community mobilization?

SDG’s?
Number? , Significance? Names of SDG’s I recalled 7-8, he demanded more.
Why Pakistan is lagging behind in SDG’s?

Chairman
Questions about hobbies.
Thank you So much.
Good Luck

Time : 15-20 Minutes

Optionals: IR, I-Law, Punjabi, Governance and Public Policy, Agriculture and Forestry.
Degree in Agriculture
Experience in Teaching and Banking
[10/04 121] ‪+92 333 4074760‬: Chairman: introduce yourself to panel
Questions on command task he tried to grill me but I was stick to my point
Member1:
Iran Pakistan relations
How to solve these
Discussion on it he was satisfied

Member2: how many prime ministers we have from east Pakistan
Name 2 and 4th prime minister
Detail on it

Member3: detailed discussion on my book and its characters
Then he asked questions from my bachelors degree

Member4: �� questions lonnnng questions on law but I answered them
On local government
And
Why representatives of people are not Pershing for legislature same people are in parliament

Witnesses should be punished or not?

Member5:what should we do to increase sports in Pakistan
WhAt PM has done so far
And ehsas programme

: My Interview Experience:

Chairman sb
1- How are you feeling?
2- You are a Lecturer, right, what and where do you teach?
3- Tell me about famous personalities of your district other than political ones?
4- Do you belong to city or village, distance?
5- What is the social situation in your distt.? Causes?
6- Do you any see any improvement of current situation in future?
7- Revolutions in history of Pakistan & World?

Khatak sb:
1- You have studied Islamic history. Tell me the causes of downfall of ummayads, Abbasids, Ottomans, Mughals?
2- Three famous historians of world Ibn Khaldun, ... and Gibbon, what they say about decline of empires?
3- Do you not agree with these historians? Why not did you mention these points?

Major Gen:
1- What article of constitution relates to Senate and what is the no of seats?
2- What is provincial quota?
3- How many women, technocrates, minorities?

Ambassodor sb:
1- You have English Literature, tell me what a poem is called with a plot, characters, moral lesson?
2- Any other name other than epic poem?
3- Why Wordsworth got famous?
3- Why Byron was called Greek hero?
4- Who were assassins?
5- Do you know about Abdullah ibn saba?
6- What did he offer to his fedais? hashishain?

Abid Saeed sb:
1- Do you know about Alternate Dispute Resolution?
2- Is mechanism applied in Pakistan?
3- Its significance?
3- ADR in Devolution Plan?

Chairman sb:
1- You write poetry in English or Urdu?
2- Are you optimistic about future?
3- Being a student if psychology what would think about backwardness of rural areas?
4- Any sign of improvement?
5- Vision of future?

Nothing about Preference, economy, current affairs, IR personalities, books, events, hobbies. No introduction as well...
Type a message...

Last edited by HAMID SALEH LAK; Thursday, April 25, 2019 at 08:27 PM. Reason: addition
The Following User Says Thank You to HAMID SALEH LAK For This Useful Post:
Mystifyer (Thursday, April 25, 2019)

Mystifyer is on a distinguished road

Dear Hamid,

Average interview time this year?
Does interview time predicts something?
How many people you know who had interview above 30minutes?
What is the weightage of pre-interview command task? The one that was conducted before the chairman.
Woman quota is per province or on overall seats.
Seats will be 247, thats confirm or should we hope for more?

Kindly answer whatever you know about these.

I hope you do answer!

PS. A couple of members started laughing abruptly in my interview. Especially Habibullah khatak and Ambassador. How ever i had not joked around. Neither did they