-   Interview (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-interview-psychological-tests/interview/)
-   -   CSS Interviews 2008 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-interview-psychological-tests/interview/21397-css-interviews-2008-a.html)

Frankenstein of css Tuesday, February 03, 2009 03:17 PM

@ islah g
Sir i was amogst the first candidates who posted their interview
I had posted in the blog My css interview
. Frankenstein by merry shellay is my favorite novel.
I am frankestein because i am similar to the character. I also have the habit of creating monsters and then repenting on it. :wacko:
Well frankely i got mixed up while making the profile i thought the spelling was frankenstein . i am a cacospellar :kiss
Now i also cant change my profile. :49:
You have taken a very fine interview and if you like i can also write scores of praises and cloying for your endeavors man. I am planning to make it a profession now. :waiting
@ forces of attraction
Sir now honestly would you joined the civil service
I dont feel the intent on your part as far as your comments are concerned . I think you attempted in css only to show a point.
@ member :( (cold and dark arena)
Please read three books and three books only if you consider my recommendations and if you have your precious time to spare.
One is Iftikhar h malik state , civil society and bureaucracy in pakistan
wakeel anjum latest Commission,tribunal aur commitian (In urdu)
And the most famous. My feudal lord by tehmina duraani also go through her profile , especialy about her family and her kins and relatives. :unsure:

AmBrosiaL EloQuence Tuesday, February 03, 2009 10:29 PM

@ force of attraction

aoa Sir,

a rocking interview MASHALLAH... plus i jus want to pay a lil tribute to ur
C R E D E N T I A L S!!!!!;) plus i totaly agree wut dr.owais has to say about ur ceredentials!

wishin u the best of luck

@ islah G
first of all thanx alot for ur kind words regarding ma interview. secondly, the following r the answers ov the questions u asked me .

1. ma prefernce is DMG. btw i only wrote 4 options in ma prefernce form.
2. no ma book is not yet published. it has to come out yet. as ma master wills.

and the blanks left by me were asked not in the pschological session but in the interview by the General sahab!

and Islah G do read ma post..in response ov ur post about length ov psychological session in the relevant segment.

thanx.
best ov luck

@ maneka

aoa, how are u mumtaz?
thanx loadz for respondin to ma questions.

plus i got to know who that "first" one is;) :king

best ov luck.

@ kashif

kashif sahab kindly come up wid the remainig details as well. so that v may come up wid cpmprehensive and genuine analysis.

thanx.

amna

Force Of Attraction Wednesday, February 04, 2009 12:14 AM

@islah g

firstly...my psyc interviews duration was more than 45 minutes n i m sure tht i can be beaten in any battle but not in my pshyco interview...so dont worry abt the lenght of interview...lengthier the interview..the more u get chance to impress the interviewer( its my opinion)...

now ur final battle with general...

judiciary question was nothing but a piece of cake... regarding the independece of judiciary...i didny understand y did u say tht it is independent now...being a lawyer u must understandcrystal clear wat is meant by the independent judiciary...bcuz if u r confused in this issue..this can mar ur entire arguments redarding the lawyers movement(my opinion)...

regarding invigilation...u should not have raised the issue as it gives negative impression tht u were busy in observing others n not in ur paper...but general may think the other way round...

regarding IMF... i second ur view n hope general would third it...;)

regarding ur love...tht was a nice approach to tell general tht i m fair in business...as u could have hidden it...

APPRAISAL:
GOOD

@ALL CONCERNED

50% confidence
20% knowlegede
10% body language
10% first impression
10% appearence

gauge ur interview keeping these parameters in mind...(this is my opinion...u r at full liberty to cast it to wall)

wish u the very best of luck...

@ambrosial..elo..

dear u didnt get me...i wanted to pay to u tribute too after knowing ur credentials...i simply meant ur credentials to be known...n nobody can hurt me soo easily...

Islaw Khan Thursday, February 05, 2009 03:16 PM

[B][U]To hira roman:[/U][/B]

salam.
thanx for ur comments.
well my group discussin and command task were fine.
our group was very cooperative with each other and we all got chance of speaking at least twice.
in command task my desgnation was secrtry of ministry of commerce. the issue was to improve the exports and facilitaion of exporters abroad..... during task i was a bit quick and finishd in time ...... kuch jalde kar raha ta.....
what abt ur group discussions and command task and intervw.....

[B][U]To kashif:[/U][/B]

dear friend ur remaining part of interw is also good but if such questios were askd from me my answer will be alittle different.
abt global warming ur answers are fine ....... but there alot of other reasons also...... tell me which essay u attempted in css?

will as rizvi sahab told u that militency and extremism are one...... same is my opinion...... i think the main problem of pakistan is lack of leadership since its birth.....and good governance.
all other problems breed from this..... but this is my opinion......ok.

after all ur intervw is fine and hopefully u will achieve good marks....
what are ur prefrences and which area u belong?

islah_G...

kashifkhan Thursday, February 05, 2009 04:34 PM

@islah-G
I am from faisalabad.
Yes, regarding global warming, there are a lot of reasons but at that moment whatever came to my mind, i spoke about that.

Muqeet Asim Monday, February 09, 2009 01:10 PM

My interveiw at 23rd jan 9:00 am

My interview was on 23rd of Jan. I was the first person to be interviewed. Time period was about 30 minutes with each interviewer interviewing me for 10 minutes.:blink

I knocked, entered the room, approached the chair and greeted chairman sb(CS), he replied and with a very broad smile said ”ONCE AGAIN GENTLEMAN???”:wub:
I, with even broader smile “YES SIR, AND THIS WAS GONNA HAPPEN…”:joker
CS: What happened the last time???
ME: Sir I scored low in the interview…
CS: What was your score???
ME: 148 sir.
CS started to disagree that I had been given good marks and all but became understanding when I told him that he should look at my score in the context of 2006 CSS exam when average score was 170-180.:vic
CS: OK Youngman!! Each day is a new day. I am hopeful that this time you are going to do great…(he actually used these words and I got apprehensive and became over-conscious).:cow
ME: Of course sir, Insha Allah. (smiles exchanged…):joker
CS: Introduction?
ME: introduced my self but in the beginning there was a little fumbling.:confused: Later I overcame and spoke for about 2 minutes.
CS: Poverty, Poverty alleviation???
ME: defined poverty, gave reasons for poverty, suggested measures for alleviation.
CS asked me about Islam’s solution to the problem of poverty (Zakat). I commented on it.
Then CS asked me about BISP and asked me to do some quick calculations on no. of poor families in Pakistan that will (if will) get benefit from it.
I told him that I didn’t approve this throwing away of money, instead, there should be job opportunities and small business loans given to the poors.
So we discussed poverty alleviation in detail.
CS: Why Pakistan is apprehensive of Indian designs in Afghanistan??
ME: Facts about Indian intervention, Indian leaders speaking more and more about “regional solutions to Afghan problems”, Pakistan’s openly broaching the topic of Indian designs against Pakistan w.r.t. Afghanistan during 3rd composite dialogues etc.
CS: What went wrong in Afghanistan(Taliban resurgence…)
ME: Spoke comprehensively about American blunders, Northern alliance’s cruelties, Warlords of Karzai govt., and sense of loss of Pakhtun people.
CS: My views regarding 123 agreement???
ME: Spoke about India’s dismal record of nuclear armament. Collapse of nuclear nonproliferation regime etc. SPOKE AGAINST IT…
NOW COMES THE TURN OF RIZVI SB(RS).
RS: What’s happening in FATA and NWFP (Taliban’s barbarity)
ME: Taliban want to impose their version of morality. Tribals are against them (e.g. formation of lashkars etc). We must support the peace-loving majority. State’s presence should be established.
DISCUSSED IN DETAIL (5 mins. almost ) THOUGH RS DIDN’T COUNTWE-QUESTIONED ME SEVERELY.
RS demanded some clarification about my previous answers to the questions which I gave(well he seemed satisfied to me…):angle
Only one question I couldn’t answer:
RS: Ever heard of “North –south talks” if you have any interst in political economy?
ME: Sorry sir, never heard of it.:cow
He thanked me and I thanked him…
NOW CAME BOKHARI SB(BS).
BS mainly discussed with me what I had written in my psycho assessment. Good and Bad habits of my father. Explanation of a term “Alpha male” that I had used. And so on. He asked me about my previous experience and the previous two years of my life as how they were “trying & rewarding”.
I answered comprehensively, admitted my past follies and immaturities. He seemed particularly very understanding to my final remarks:”I turned 22 on 4th of March 2007, my interview for CSS2006 was on 9th of March, all I wanted was to get allocated to FSP and rest of the world could go and fly a kite as I didn’t give a damn about it. My approach was thoroughly immature. I wasn’t tactful at all etc. etc.”:blink
He wished me luck,:wub:
Chairman sahib wished me luck and my interview was concluded.:wub:

fiqr o amal Wednesday, February 11, 2009 12:32 PM

dear member assalam o alaikum

hope all of u wd b in best of spirits,,,,,,i hav appeared in css 2008 interview..

my interview was on 20th dec 2008,,,,the overall atmosphere of intw was quite friendly although some time i felt the panel a bit cold and indifferent, but at the end i assumed it as one of the formalities of the interview...whatever i can recall of my intervw is as follw...my centre was islamabad nd i m from nwfp,,,the duration of the intw was nearly 35 minutes..

chairman..,.1 hr u gentleman..
2 introduce urself
3 what about ur present engagements
4 wd u plz tell us about ur hobbies
5 please tell us about eminent victorain novelists(i went in detail)
6 tell us about negative n positivs of net use
7 what are the security issues of pakistan...
8 what about indo israel romance for pakistan
9 the us foreign policy in present and future for pakistan

ist member

1 y did u write in psy test"he was punished in school for elopement?

2 ok u suggested that fpsc should recruit not on npopulation but literacy base,,,please argue

3 what do u know about us india nuclear deal?

4 at what stage in our history our relations with ussr went bitterest?(U2)

5 pukhtoonkhwa name is used in nwfp offices,,is it constitutional at this stage?

6 what do u know about the nexus the gwadar port will make?

7 ur name is all alone (amusingly),,,,ur comments

3rd member

1 gender equality bill is passed,,,,ur reservations or otherwise?

2 y palestine issue is pending even israel nothing in size before arabs?

3 u failed in english intwo earlier attempts though student of english lit,,,is smthing wrong with fpsc r papers?

4 some other such questions were asked i cannot recall,,,,my answers were almost moderate with underpinnings of facts......my roll number 0090

after formal introductory answers i went through as follow

the security issues of pakistan include facing open confrontation on western border by nato forces, on eastern side india is flexing her mustles to wage war...we are internally weaked by extremiosm and ongoing operations....israel is our idealogical rival keeping hawk's eye on our nuclear assets

i told about eminent victorian novelists including hardy, dickens, thackery, george eliot,,,their works, themes and inspirations.....

i told about my hobbies which was book reading especially novels.... chairman askd some novels apart from urdu and eng lit,,,i could nt recal and i defended by saying that as i read them for fun n hobby and there was not any academic compulsion.

thhen chairman askd about the advantages of net.... i told from digital library to online banking,,almost all advantages were communication related...the disadvantages i told the cultural shocks bcz of global sites, time waste, immoral sites etcetc

the membr askd about the us india nuclear deal...its history...i told its origin from eisenhwer period when atom for peace slogan started till 1970 to 2004...its apparent purposes to help india to meet energy needs and to help american nuclear (civil) industry,,,,hidden purposes to stop flow of oil to great bulk of india, to punish iran by stopping ipi gas pipeline and most importantly to contain china.....he askd implications and i told it would b a great setback to non proliferation efforts, pakistan wd take it discrimiatory,and iran and other states like korea wd follow as a precedent

about pukhtoonkhwa i openly said it is unconstitutional to use untill passed by parliament,,,,(i think i was wrong bcz it was through a resolution)...

he asked y ur name is alone "nazakat",,,i amusingly said sir every name is alone the others are addition,,,amy identity u is always nazakat, althugh i use nazakat awan to avoid embarrasmen smtime bt i feel at home with my name

there were sm answers of the questions i wrote in psychological which may nt b of any use for forum members,,,,

he askd at which moment our relations with ussr went bitterest,,,,,i said whn pakistan signed seato and cento,,,he said but one another event in history is famous,,,he helped me and said its U2 incident whn american spyplane flew from badhber peshawar over USSR,,,i instantly recalled and said right sir whn moscow had said that we hav encircled peshawar with red ink and our general said we hav encircled moscow with red ink,,,(Big boast by Ayub khan)... the member smiled back and nodded his head in positive

the third member asked about the gender equality bill and i substantiated my answer with the arguments that if we are muslims then we need to give rights to women and its a positive sign...i said we r more bound by culture than influenced by religion and its our utmost duty nt only to pass bills bt to implement them,,,,i said "i disagree" women are equal bt they are human beings different to men bt equal on spiritual plane,,,,,

the member askd me y palestine issue is still unresolved,,,,i said one reason is disunity of muslims especially arabs,,,thry are fighting over petty issues and vested interests,,,
secondly america is backing up israel,,,,arabs once fought in 1967 bt lost gaza and west bank as well,,, i said there may b snm other reasons bt these two factors are the most restive stumbling blocks.....

the member askd u failed in compulsory earlier ,,is there smthng wrong with fpsc r paper,,i plainly said . sir there may b smthng wrong with my paper,,,,

there were sm other questions i always forget,,,if i recal i wd post,,,,

i need valuable comments of the forum members, i m afraid they asked me quite straightforward questions,,, does it make any difference????

irum Friday, February 13, 2009 02:08 PM

[SIZE=3][FONT='Bookman Old Style']It was 19th December, a shining day of [/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style']Islamabad[/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style'][/FONT][/SIZE]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3] [/SIZE][/FONT]
[SIZE=3][FONT='Bookman Old Style']I reported FPSC hq sharp at [/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style']9 A.M.[/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style'] It was totally excellent experience to be interviewed in headquarters. Inside building was good and quite comfortable. We were 4 candidates there. We all were well-dressed and handsome. We were lost in gossip when firstly 0281, I , was called for leaving the waiting room. It was a sudden blow for me because abe tu Guftagu ka agaaz tha[/FONT][/SIZE]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Time duration for penal interview was almost 30 minutes.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[SIZE=3][FONT='Bookman Old Style']It started sharp at [/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style']9:30 A.M.[/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style'][/FONT][/SIZE]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]I entered with a smile and lively gesture in the room. My dress code was black with rest combination.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Start was a bit shaky. Chairman gave me chance to sell my self. That was not a sudden question. Though every one is sure about this question yet I forgot the sequence which I practiced a lot. Well, I made my nerves strong and took 3-4 minutes to describe myself. In these 4 minutes my all fears gone one by one. Chairman asked about my family businesses and some other modest questions about the family. [/SIZE][/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Then he turned his inquiry to another subject.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]He explained the need of water for the country and asked the question about the solution of water crisis in the country. Gentle voice of chairman was very low I hardly pick the idea of the questions. I presented the construction of small and large dams as a best solution for it, chairman asked more suggestion for its solution. My second suggestion was to improve the distribution system of water. Again chairman asked more suggestion. I gently put the ball in his courts by saying Sir, there may be more solutions, right now I am unable to recall……. I surrendered and gave him way to show his amnesty. Khire I was not afraid anymore because my all boats were burnt, no way to escape.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]I remember the remarks of Madiha, my friend, none serious and ungentle questions are always made by gentle man. She actually admired the chairman’s wide exposure.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[SIZE=3][FONT='Bookman Old Style']Second question made by the chairman was about the existing Pakistan India tension, he was meant to the main reason behind the Pak-India tension. I precisely answered the historical facts, interest of new [/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style']USA[/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style']’s Government o resolve the issue of [/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style']Kashmir[/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style'] in the region and attitude of the Indian Government. This time again chairman asked for searching more reasons, perhaps he is in the habit of arguments, ………..hahaha it is fact. [/FONT][/SIZE]
[SIZE=3][FONT='Bookman Old Style']I answered that sir; [/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style']India[/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style'] wants to exert more pressure on newly established government as well as propagandized against agencies. He smiled. Why ………. I don’t know…..[/FONT][/SIZE]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Chairman invited the other member of interview penal sitting on his right hand,[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]I remembered as he looked at me light gone somewhere ……………………………… hahaha……. One of office attendants came and moved the curtains for sufficient light…[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]But it didn’t make any difference.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]He asked me madam, u did MBA in finance, tell me about the features of new tax policy of the government, I answered him precisely about he features of new tax policy and new possible areas of tax on service sector and estate sector.. I mentioned my interest in administration rather finance. He put forth his second question regarding the flaws of administration in government departments and low productivity. I explained the reasons keeping my experience of PTCL in my mind.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]After him, chairman invited the other person sitting on his left hand.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]He questioned me about one of the favorite personality mentioned in Psycho test, I told him what more I know about the personality.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]His second question was about the recommendation which I made for FPSC. He also made some extra questions on recommendation with a nice chit chat style. Only he used little bit words of Urdu in question. But I enjoyed his questions a lot. Ending was quite happy.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Chairman interfered and gave me caution about the ending of the interview…………….. I thanked and leave them in the dark room[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3] [/SIZE][/FONT][FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3] [/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Forum members, your evaluation is welcome.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]It is hope March will bring good news for all potential candidate.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Regards,[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT='Bookman Old Style'][SIZE=3]Irum 0281[/SIZE][/FONT]

Arif Rao Sunday, February 15, 2009 01:42 PM

interviews..

@ Fiqr o Amal

your answers were mostly candid and to the point... to me it's a first-rate interview ...

@ irum

you did well in the interview, you replied in a straightforward way, presenting your thaughts in clear-cut manner. As far as deep-digging habit of General sb is concerned, it seems like a way of finding something out of natural response in the end when one has already given all prepared replies (and sometimes to test ur nerves as well). Keep ur spirits high!

And keep praying for all..

fiqr o amal Monday, February 16, 2009 03:54 PM

domicile wise number of qualified candidates css 2008

dea friends the domicile and gender wise breakdown of candidates is as follow for css 2008

domicile male female total

punjab 330 123 0453

nwfp 74 18 092

sindh(R) 26 03 029

sindh(U) 18 03 021

Baluchistan 24 05 029

Na/fata 45 05 050

Ajk 12 03 015

= 689

11:24 AM (GMT +5)