06:08 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Tuesday, May 18, 2010
38th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009

naila kanval is on a distinguished road
Default walid minhas

thanx for sharing ur interview
i have also opted geography journalism n muslim law kindly guied me how shud i prepare geography n journalism speciallymy interview is on monday 24th may.
Old Wednesday, May 19, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 5225

Sajid Sadeem will become famous soon enough

@Sehrish:

There is just no single good answer to what you are asking. But you may reply a mixture of factors:

1: DMG is a bridge between the Govt and the public. It can connect us with the public in a better way.

2: DMG relates with the public administration. So, it allows to serve and manage the very human resources that you have been chosen to administer on with the help of all other resources available to you.

3: One of the best service delivery is possible in this group.

4: Personal attitude, mental aptitude and your liking for this job.

5: Prestige, honour and history of DMG

6: Job Security

7: Mobility; both social and job mobility on vertical and horizontal lines

8: Not much of a Uniformed Officer

9: Any other reason you see fit
imama (Wednesday, May 19, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Sunday, May 23, 2010)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 8261

Yawer Baloch is on a distinguished road
Default My Belated Interview Posting

In my opinion, there is no set pattern for CSS Interview. They can ask anything they want to. NO guess can work out here. So what have you been preparing so far, just try to sum it up. Get the gist of everything you have prepared.
I have already commented on my interview and the attitude of the panel towards the candidates.
My interview went in this way. it was on 14th April and it lasted for 30 mins..

Mr. Chairman:
CM: why decreasing Interest rates, brings inflation down?
CM: Some economist suggest, low interest rates also contribute to low economic activity?
CM: how could decreasing petrol prices will bring down inflation?
CM: isn't it a good source of generating revenue?
CM: You are a lecturer in Education Department, and MA urdu, What does this couplet mean?
"na tha kuchch to KHuda tha, kuchch na hota to KHuda hota
duboya mujhko hone ne, na hota maiN to kya hota ?" (Urdu)
CM: Why Urdu is not adopted as Official Language? (Urdu or may be he asked this question because of my job)
CM: what do you know about the glorious period of Islam in Spain, Baghdad, and Syria? (Islamic History)
CM: why did Tariq Bin Ziad burn his boats? (Islamic History)
I was thinking why he was asking so simple questions????

Mr. Asif Shah:
AS: what does this mean "Non-Linear Video Editing" (My Hobby)
AS: Do you have any intention for joining film or TV industry as a video editor?
AS: What are the characteristics of a good Journalist? (Journalism)
AS: What do you say about Social Justice in Pakistani perspective? (Sociology)
AS: What sectors contribute to National GDP?
AS: percentage of Agriculture, Services Sector?
AS: What are the Eastern Border and Western Border problems of Pakistan?
AS: Why there is a trust deficit between Pakistan and India on various Issues?
AS: Name the reasons that hinder the confidence building measures?
AS: What steps has government taken for the empowerment of women in Pakistan?
AS: What is the percentage of women representation in Local Government system?
AS: What do you favor, a Unipolar, Bipolar or a Multi-polar world?
AS: How would you justify a Bipolar or Multi-polar world?
AS: why China's economy is growing faster than other economies? Name the sectors and reasons?
AS: What are the Global Emerging Powers? (I replied BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India, and China))
AS: Turkey is another emerging global power.

Mr. Sohail Safder:
SS: What is Central Government's Share in Implemented NFC Award?
SS: What it would be in next NFC Award?(2010-2011,and 2011-2014)
SS: What is the Share of Balochistan province in New NFC Award? (1st question regarding my province)
SS: Your 1st preference is Foreign Service. Do you have any ideal Diplomat in your mind? (Tariq Fatimy)
SS: What is Diplomacy?
SS: How do you define a diplomat?
SS: What is Lisbon Treaty?
SS: What is the designation of the Foreign Minister or the person who deals in foreign affairs of the European Union? Name the Designation.
( I knew she was Catherine Ashton, but I didn't know what her designation was.I said sorry. so he told me that she was called High Representative ( I thanked him))
SS: EU bloc is so strong and united on economic front, why they are not united on political affairs?
Mr. Sohail Safder asked me a question but i couldn't understand it. he repeated it 2 times but i said sorry to him that i was unable to grasp the question he was asking me.(my 2nd and last dropped question)
There were many counter questions regarding Eropean Union, I can't remember them. He countered my answers many times and i kept on my arguments on EU issues. It was some kind of detailed discussion on intra-EU relations.

Mr. Saud Gohar:
SG: Why Balochistan package was rejected by Baloch Nationalist? (2nd and last question regarding Balochistan).
SG: Why PM of Israel was given a Cold Welcome in the US?
SG: What were the main 3 Pakistani demands in recent Strategic Talks with US?
SG: How so far the US has succeeded in convincing India to talk with Pakistan?
(there were some questions regarding US-Iran Tension and India-China relations and their impact on Pakistan,sorry guys I could not remember them.)

Note: the reason I posted my interview so late is that I thought it was just an ordinary interview and I was thinking that they had just passed time with me.I used to think that candidates from Balochistan will be asked more than 50% questions from Balochistan. and since I am a Baloch, I had in my mind that my interview would surely revolve around the Baloch Insurgency. The situation proved totally opposite. So I would suggest other candidates that do no have any set pattern regarding CSS interview. You can be asked about anything. Thanks God! I had been reading on international Affairs. (Thanks to my buddy "Salman Hanif Khan for discussing various international issues" daily Dawn, The Dawn News, The Economist and BBC Urdu Service)
Artemis (Friday, May 21, 2010), imama (Wednesday, May 19, 2010), kashifilyas (Wednesday, January 26, 2011), naila kanval (Thursday, May 20, 2010), saba sattar (Wednesday, May 19, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Thursday, May 20, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Sunday, May 23, 2010), Shooting Star (Thursday, May 20, 2010)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 5712

waleed minhas is on a distinguished road

@ naila kanval
for geog u should have a good grip on the geog of pakistan,plus study all the maps from atlas(thz is very imp)..there is no need to revise the concepts of geog.especially paper1..
for journalism just give a good reading to what u did for your written..that is enough..do focus on small things such as beat,scoop,flag etc..they might ask u abt these..
pray five times a day:-)..
best of luck for the interview
The Following User Says Thank You to waleed minhas For This Useful Post:
naila kanval (Thursday, May 20, 2010)
38th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 29

saba sattar is on a distinguished road

My Interview
Date....7th May
Duration.....30 mins

There were three members in the panel.Rana sb, Asif Shah n Suhail Safdar

They asked questions about

My family,preference,fav personality

Battle of Plassey

Simla agreement

Yellow journalism

Censorship

ABC(audit bureau of circulation)

Social security

Stephen Hawking

NFC awards

Saarc summit

18th ammendment

Balochistan Package

and Something about NAB police force

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to saba sattar For This Useful Post:
imama (Wednesday, May 19, 2010), naila kanval (Thursday, May 20, 2010), rabbia (Thursday, May 20, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Thursday, May 20, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Sunday, May 23, 2010), shallowwater (Friday, May 21, 2010), Shooting Star (Thursday, May 20, 2010)
38th CTP (PG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 288

imama is on a distinguished road

saba!

cool, how did u find ur interview? i hope u get 2 be selected in PSP... INSHA ALLAH...

Whr was the 4th member?
The Following User Says Thank You to imama For This Useful Post:
saba sattar (Wednesday, May 19, 2010)
Old Thursday, May 20, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 4235

marriam is on a distinguished road
Default @saba

hello saba..
ihow did ur interview go?

and do u intend to join the PSP...??

its very good..i beleieve that girls should join this group as well

tell me how did the interview go

thankyou
38th CTP (PG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 288

imama is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up My interview...5th May 2010

AOA, hope u all r going well by the grace of Allah S.W.T...my interview held on 5th may,
thr were three members. .here it goes..

the main question were from my district(vehari), too many questions from it
,[i thought as its my psych logical viva re-visited].
from my psy performa & n my suggestions, while discussing suggestions, Rana sb dint allow me to defend them n elaborate himself about the performance of FPSC n ita future programs to which i replied INSHA ALLAH sir! we r hoping the best, [bcz this was the only sentence which thet allowed me to speak]

the brief description can be seen as follows:

name meaning,

district location, its economy, strategic importance,

psy performa,

red cliff award, when ?y? which areas wr given to india under this awrd?

Sir Sayyed Ahmed khan, (elaborated)
y i came to b a csp being a student of literature.

what do i want for ppl?

many optional questions from pol. sc, pub ad, c.law, indo pak...

questions from literature, 2-3 questions.

my service back ground esp as teacher(the joys n frustrations of a teacher in private school)

Honor killing,(a crime)

my favorite personality (miss raana husseini}
spoil system, nepotism, favoritism (thr differences)

needs of common ppl,

exrernal shocks to pak economy

18th amendment what it has changed....nationally n socially,

what a common man wants to change?

u going to a d.m.g? i said INSHA ALLAH sir!

how my family managing in such inflation when fees of studies r too hi?

guys! they dint ask me from current affairs i dnt know y???

RANA SB asked me y i have demanded relaxation in suggestions to fpsc? i replied i never did suggest that? he smiled n said ok...tell me ur suggestions yourself which u have mentioned n elaborate then as well...which did.

the panel was normal mood..not too friendly as ppl say often.

during answers of one member the others wr staring n gave complete ears...often they let me finish my answer besides a few exceptions..

but as a whole , they relax every one..

guys go there without fear...they would probably treat u like fathers or uncles..

the main reason 4 not posting my interview was i thot it may not be halpful bt then i realised that i took help from this forum so its my dyuty to post my experience as well..credit goes to my good friend as well...)

plz pray for my allocation...

best wishes for all of u.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to imama For This Useful Post:
kashifilyas (Wednesday, January 26, 2011), rabbia (Thursday, May 20, 2010), saba sattar (Thursday, May 20, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Thursday, May 20, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Sunday, May 23, 2010), shallowwater (Friday, May 21, 2010), Shooting Star (Thursday, May 20, 2010)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 1451

sardonic is on a distinguished road

@ saba/imama

Nice dear, thanx for sharing I hope u get what ever you gals desire for....god bless....amen, do pray for us toooooo though i know its like asking a lot

@yawer baloch

Bro i guess we all are here for information sharing which can ultimately help us all in acquiring our dreaams, therefore i feel that any piece of information we get on cssforum is not ordinary or unnecessary...thanx a lot for sharing your interview it can still help those who are yet to appear till the 14th of next month...
I hope you get your desired group.amen
saba sattar (Thursday, May 20, 2010), Yawer Baloch (Thursday, May 20, 2010)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll No. 5910

ahmadbilal is on a distinguished road
Default Interview Experience

Hi My interview was on 19th May 2010. I was the
2nd last (9th No.) to go. The interview lasted for merely 22 minutes. Here, it is:

Justice (R) Rana Bhagwandas/Chairman
RBD: Mr. Bilal, you have come from Multan.
AB: Yes Sir
Your father is in Punjab Education Department as a Senior Headmaster.
AB: I explained that he was retired now but he gave a gesture as emphasizing the worthiness of holding such a post.
RBD: You r M. Sc., Applied Psychology. What is the difference between
Experimental Psychology and Applied Psychology?
AB: Told the difference
RBD: What Experimental Psychology is all about?
AB: Told accordingly
RBD: You have written in your psychological that its my wish to be CSP.(either in my Autobiography or in RISB; the Incomplete Sentence Blank containing 40 stems, I dont remember exactly). How could you become a CSP? CSP cadre has long ago been abolished by the government. So how could you wish to have a thing that is no more or does not exist.
AB: I told him that I did use that term in a traditional way not in a technical manner. But he disagreed and noded his head in negative. I said, Sir You are right. I agree with you.
RBD: You took Pak Army Psychological test for DSSC (Psychologist) in 2009.
Why could not you get selected?
AB: I explained that I could not do well in IOs (told them about IOs as they did not know about the term) that's why I could not get selection.
RBD: How you compare the psych tests in both these organizations (Pak Army and FPSC)? Which one is best?
AB: FPSC psych tests are best as they are more extensive and thorough.
RBD: Any negative aspect you find about the 18th Amendment?
AB: I mentioned that the freedom given to a person for running the election of a PM thrice or more than thrice. But he did not agree. He was of the view that there is democracy. Everyone is free. If he wins the election, he could be elected. There is no negativity about this clause.
RBD: Any other negativity?
AB: The role of political elite in the selection/nomination of judges to the higher judiciary. But I could not elaborate it in the detail. He told me then.
I could not recall the real negative aspect at that time despite the fact that I knew at that particular time. Any person once convicted by a competent court of law or any person dismissed from government service can be appointed to a political office if five years has elapsed after his conviction or dismissal.
RBD: You have mentioned only three achievements or notable developments made by the government. What are the other achievements of the government?
AB: Told about the achievements of the government.
I told him that actually there in the psych proforma, we had to write two short term and two long term polices. (I had written one short term and two long term policies). He said, (Disagreed) No, there is no bar on you to write only four polices. You can write more than that. He then showed me the relevant page from my psych test proforma. I remained silent as there were only four lines drawn; two for short term and two for long term.
RBD: What is the practical and pragmatic use of UNO and Security Council?
What is the practical utility of these organizations? Should they justify their existence?
AB: Answered accordingly mentioning their role in the Muslim World disputes as well as in the disputes related to the Pakistan.
RBD: What do you think that Drone attacks should be there against insurgents in Pak territory? How you see the Drone attacks by the US forces?
AB: I voiced the concern that Pak security forces should devise a strategy to deal with such issues. Drone strikes by the US forces are undesirable.
RBD: You have heard about EU? What is all about EU?
AB: Told
RBD: What qualities you possess to be considered for DMG?
RBD: What is the basic job of a DMG officer?
RBD: What is World Economic Forum? Dropped
RBD: What is World Social Forum? Dropped
RBD: What do you mean by the writ of the High Court?
AB: Confused about the answer so dropped.
RBD: What are your frustrations as a Lecturer?

Mr. Asif Shah
AS: Mr. Bilal, What are the problems faced by the Lecturers?
AB: I told about the problems present in their job structure or relevant to their selection or postings. He listened patiently and then elaborated his question again.
AS: What problems you face when teaching to students?
AS: What do you mean by Regional Blocks?
AS: What do mean by the Economic Integration of EU?
AB: Got confused but quickly I managed and told.
AS: What are the Economic problems faced by Pakistan?
AS: What do you know about the government's Energy conservation strategy?
AS: If this strategy is working, then how much energy we have saved?
AB: Sorry, I do not know the figures.
AS: Why the Pakistan is facing this problem of energy crisis?
Left the room and did not came for the rest of my interview.

Mr. Saud Gohar
SG: You have written in your psych (Reforms in CSS Selection Procedure) that women should only compete on open merit basis. You want the abolition of 10% women quota. Why?
AB: Told in detail and I was cut short.
SG: Why has government introduced this 10% women quota?
SG: The government has abolished the concurrent list under the 18th amendment. What kind of problems are being faced by the provinces and by the center in consequence of this decision?

Mr. Saud Gohar thanked me. I also thanked him. He gave me gesture that interview is over now. However, to be clear, I asked from both of them, 'May I leave now?' Yes, interview is over, said Justice (R) RBD and welcomed my thanks. I left the room confidently.
Fellow competitors and seniors are requested to comment please.

Optionals:
Psychology
Political Science
International Law
Constitutional Law

Group Preferences:
1. DMG
2. FSP
3. PAAS
imama (Friday, May 21, 2010), kashifilyas (Wednesday, January 26, 2011), naila kanval (Friday, May 21, 2010), saba sattar (Friday, May 21, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Friday, May 21, 2010), sardonic (Saturday, May 22, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Sunday, May 23, 2010), Shooting Star (Friday, May 21, 2010)