03:01 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Wednesday, March 31, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 3343

deovolente is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Muqeet Asim View Post
dear ahsan i ve not been interviewed yet as my interview has been scheduled for phase 2. though i must mention that my psycho exam was conducted by 19 and 20 march...

ur prayers r sought.
have u received ur schedule or not???
Thanks for your prompt reply. May Almighty bless you with success! I have received Psychological Tests/Viva Schedule i.e. 8TH of April and 22nd of April respectively!

Wish you Best of Luck with your final viva!

Cheers,
Ahsan Yousaf Chaudhary
Old Thursday, April 01, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 4235

marriam is on a distinguished road
Default my optionals

my optionals were:
indo pak
sociology
journalism
public ad
IR
they also asked me regrading water issues..
everyone is the panel was good and bhagwandas took more time than others...

best of luk to everyone
Old Tuesday, April 06, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

Me Fayaz Hussain (FH): AOA
Panel: WOA

FH: May I have this seat Sir?
Bhagwan Das (BD): Sure, Fayaz Hussain

BD: You are Deputy Director in State Bank of Pakistan?
FH: Yes, Sir
BD: In which section/unit or department you are serving over there?
FH: Banking Inspection Department
BD: What are the functions of Banking Inspection Department?
FH: Inspecting commercial banks, Islamic Banks, Developmental Financial Institutions, and Micro Finance Banks in order to ensure the protection of customers, and bring financial soundness of the system. To identify various types of risks associated with these institutions including credit risk, liquidity risk, operation risk, market risk, interest rate risk, reputational risk, systemic risk etc. To probe various issues as per BASEL II; Anti Money Laundering and Anti Terrorist Financing guidelines.
BD: Good.
BD: Why do you want to switch from such a lucrative position?
FH: Al Hamdo Lilah I am satisfied with my organization, its worth serving institution, dynamic, growing, and encouraging one with better career development prospects and lot of fringe benefits. I have been promoted to Deputy Director rank within a limited time span. BD: Interrupted and repeated: You are promoted? When? Oh very good
FH: But Sir monetary benefit is not the only factor for ones motivation, there are lot of other factors too which keep our priorities ahead. Infact this is my sacrifice for civil service, I am fetching an extensive professional experience of five years from a well grooming and mentoring institution which has inculcated competencies like team building, team leading, conflict resolving, negotiating, initiative taking, analytical thinking, prompt decision making, concern of detail, and accountability. Apart from that I am carrying MPA as my masters degree with distinction, I feel the most suited place for a MPA student is civil service. Moreover; civil service has remained my passion even before my current job. At present I am serving public indirectly through monitoring of institutions but I love to serve masses directly at gross roots and this opportunity is only available in civil service.
BD: Ok, how do you say that CSS has remained your passion even before your SBP job?
FH: Evidence is available at SPSC where I attempted Mukhtiyarkar Exam when I was short of required age limit (21 years), and I qualified that exam; later on I attempted CCE-2003 and I qualified that also.
BD: Excellent, were you not allocated in CCE-2003?
FH: No, sir unfortunately not.
BD: Do you think SPSC has not followed merit and has discouraged talented candidates like you?
FH: Sorry sir, I can’t say yes to your assumption as I have no solid proof to cast doubt on the integrity of SPSC. BD interrupted and said so Fayaz you want to say that you were not allocated because your merit was not at higher range? FH: Yes sir, apparent reason is low merit but I don’t know the hidden realities that is why I can’t blame SPSC.
BD: What do you know about Mercantile Law? Define it
FH: I defined and explained it in detail as it was one of my optional subject
BD: How can you control inflation in Pakistan?
FH: I explained to him the complete mechanism of our monetary machinery, fiscal machinery, administrative measures, complexities of inflation, our limitations, reasons of failure in proper control, and best possible solutions through the coordination of Central Bank (monetary policy), Ministry of finance, FBR (Fiscal policy measures: Tax n Expenditure side), Administrative policies, direct controls etc. Measures on both the supply side and demand side, understanding core inflation, headline inflation, cost push and demand pull inflation, natural level of tolerable inflation in relation to employment (Philip Curve mechanism), cold turkey techniques solutions etc. Measures from financial, fiscal and real sectors. Negative sides of corrective measures like increasing cost of doing business, discouragement to business sectors, crowding out effects etc.
BD: What are the responsibilities and good qualities of an auditor?
FH: Top: Integrity and honesty, 2nd: Professional competency, 3rd: Confidentiality, 4th: professional skepticism, 5th: Probing nature and analytical thinking, concern for detail, 6th: ……7th……8th……9th………..around ten

BD: You have placed DMG at top, don’t you think it will be a tuf job to serve in rural areas because most of the time you will be posted in rural remote areas?
FH: No problem sir, I won’t feel like fish out of water because I am basically from a village where even upto my 6th class we had no electricity and other basic needs of life available in our village. I am well aware about the gross root issues of rural areas, infact I have an edge in this field for having rural areas background, and schooling from government Masjid schools. I own rural areas and I am still part of that set up. I know the complexities of masses in backward areas and that deep knowledge can better help me to understand and provide remedies to them.
BD: What are the main three problems of Pakistan?
FH: Top: Terrorism because……..BD: stopped me and said don’t explain no body can deny your answer we all are of the same opinion that terrorism is number one issue of Pakistan. Then I proceeded to 2nd problem: Three Es (Economic Backwardness, Educational Backwardness and Energy crisis) 3rd: Political instability

BD: thanked me in gesture like my interview was over and he permitted me to leave the interview room as perceived from his body language. I used my sixth sense that what are the remaining three members doing here? Are they sitting here as show piece? Ofcourse they are here with any purpose and that is my interview. So I didn’t leave my chair hastily , after few seconds BD asked Sohail Safdar for his turn.

Sayed Asif Shah (SAS): What do you mean by commerce?
FH: Set of activities including trade, banking, transport, insurance, warehousing, and related activities for the sake of buying and selling goods and services.
SAS: Can we say commerce covers wholesale and retail activities?
FH: Yes sir, wholesale and retail activities come under the head of trade and are part of commerce along with lot of other activities which I have mentioned in definition.
SAS: What is difference between internal trade and external trade?
FH: Trading activities within the boundary of same country count to internal trade while trading activities like import and export with the rest of the world come under the umbrella of external trade.
SAS: What is Balance of Payment?
FH: Statistical accounting record of a country with the rest of the world comprising three main parts namely current account, capital account and official reserves in an open economy system.
SAS: Why is it necessary to have positive balance of payment? You are from central bank.
FH: If you don’t mind sir, can I explain my scope of work within central bank, State bank has got more than 14 departments and each department is assigned specialized task, policy, finance, inspection…………SAS interrupted and stopped me from more limitation of my scope and asked me but you should be knowing it. FH: Yes sir I know the logic but I was trying to clarify my assignments just to make the things clear. First of all it not necessary that BOP should always be positive and having positive balance all the time is not the sign of sound management and development. Sometimes negative BOP is the sign of optimum utilization. Nonetheless; it is dilemma that starting from 1947, except few years we have witnessed persistent –ve BOP which is an alarming situation. Having positive BOP gives us edge in sovereign rating, soft loans, strength in bilateral and multilateral terms and conditions, help in letter of credit (LC), LGs, and various business transactions. Apart from that international community confidence is restored…………………I explained some other technical benefits too.
SAS: Why do we focus on reserves?
FH: I narrated some valid reasons for official reserves same like +ve BOP. Growth, development, competitive edge, international transaction discounting, earnings, country rating/sovereign rating etc.
SAS: Why our economy has not been up to the mark?
FH: Frequent changes of policies without being completely implemented, committeemen gape and implementation gaps have destroyed our economic scenario. I explained performance of our past five year plans and some of the very good points of these plans but lack of proper implementation. Then I commented on the current scenario. We have focused on service sector, and industrial sector but totally ignored agriculture sector which is the backbone of our country. Service sector has paid very well in terms of job creation but our performance in industrial sector and manufacturing sector has brought discouraging results on the basis of technological backwardness and various administrative reasons. Textile sector is the sector where Pakistan has a competitive edge but lack of finished goods and lack of diversification have undermined its growth. We have committed one blunder that is being agrarian country we have not addressed agriculture sector very well. Research and development in agriculture, modern technology based production, proper infrastrucre, modern seeds, and modern cultivating methods, modern farming ideas, proper water management, rectification of middlemen chain, and negotiation with agro-based markets could boost our economy, employment, food resources, and GDP. Pakistan is rich in natural resources but most of the resources have remained untapped. …………………..I told him lot of other reasons too……………..like we used to write in academic life….consumption oriented society, import oriented society, export of primary goods, import of luxury items, illiteracy, unskilled manpower, corruption, undocumented economy, shadow economy, parallel economy, deficit financing, twin deficits, crowding out effects, monetization of debt…..etc. but I told these reasons very quickly because I didn’t want to consume their time on those bookish reasons.
SAS: What is public administration?
FH: I told him various conflicting definitions and finally concluded on my own words. Definitions revolved around Executive, Judiciary, and legislature, POSDCORB view, subject matter view……………………..etc. what and how of the govt. etc.
SAS: What is PAC (Public Accounts Committee)?
SAS: What is its composition?
SAS: What are its functions?
FH: I replied him very logically as it was one of the chapters in my Public Administration course.
SAS: He came again on inflation topic and recalled my answer. Mr. you told us that SBP can’t control this multifaceted inflation singly through its monetary policy, and suggested to bring fiscal policy in coordination, right? FH: Yes, sir and administrative policies too.
SAS: What should be the role of fiscal policy in this regard?
FH: I told him the mechanism of taxation and expenditure and their role in curtailment of inflation.
BD: interrupted and asked me you are talking about reduction in current expenditure and you are in favor of developmental expenditure, right? FH: Yes, sir
BD: So where do you seek reduction in current expenditure?
FH: 1) Debt servicing 2) Expenditure on defense
BD: any other head apart from these two heads?
FH: I think major chunk of our budget is consumed in these two big heads if we can manage to curtail budget outlay for these two, we won’t need curtailment in rest of the heads.
SAS: Again interrupted and asked about the appointment of Auditor general of Pakistan?
Suhail Safdar (SS): You have mentioned that you use to teach village mates, and in addition to it your hobby was gardening?
FH: Yes, sir
SS: Upto which level did you teach those students?
FH: I used to teach them during my first 12 years of educational life, and my students were from class one to intermediate. Whole this activity was on honorary basis and I used to provide them books free of cost and dresses for physical training as well. Because I had set their schedule in two shifts, 1) Study and 2) Physical training (Exercise, Judo, Kuksion Karata, weight lifting)
SS: What are the flaws of NAB?
FH: I told him 5 to six flaws, and then our discussion went in plea bargain issue, political backing or victimization, army born entity etc.
SS: What is the condition of energy in Pakistan?
FS: Crisis
SS: Tell me short tem measures?
FS: I told him energy conservation, control on energy waistage (distribution and supply losses), temporary help from rental power plants etc.
SS: Difference between IPPs and RPPs? SS: Can you tell me the exact percentage which we can save by energy conservation?
FS: Sorry sir, I don’t have exact figure in my mind right now. I explained difference between IPPs and RPPs

Saud Gohar (SG): What is the current issue of Iran?
FS: I told him the announcement of 20% uranium enrichment plan.
SG: American stance in this issue?
FS: America has serious reservations on this announcement and America has offered an alternate plan.
SG: Has Iran accepted that alternate?
FS: No, sir
SG: Why is America against Iran’s nuclear program?
FS: I told him the power game, American double standards, uni-polar world scenario, western hegemonic tendencies, discriminatory treatment with Islamic countries, Iran’s strict stance and straightforwardness, NPT and other measures taken by nuclear powers,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,etc.
SG: You were talking about money laundering and terrorist financing, how do banks monitor money laundering cases?
FS: I told him the three phases of money laundering 1) placement 2) layering: multiple complex transactions by obscuring audit trail, smurfing 3) Integration. At each stage I told him various practices of different banks, due diligence, KYC, CDD, Anti-AML softwares, exception reports, out of pattern reports, high value transaction reports, STRs, FMU role, SBP circulars and PRs starting from M series like M-1, M-2, M-3 and so on. Role of compliance departments and internal audit departments of banks, role of State bank inspections teams in this regard. I told him some major cases of billions of amounts which I have personally detected in banks but with hypothetical names of banks and related parties due to my professional limitations. He asked me my modus operandi of identification of these cases. I explained to him the way of my working, audit trail mechanism, triggering points, clues, documents, and most sensitive customer natures etc. I wanted to drag him towards technology and then towards forensic investigations and I succeeded in my target.
Panel: Thank you very much, in one voice.
FH: After passing a cursory look towards all the members of panel I sought permission through my body language I thanked them all, Allah Hafiz.

Environment: Friendly and supportive but demanding with excessive speed of questions.
I kept on passing smile as usual.

I think I have covered maximum number of question which I could recall at this time, spider man (Adnan Khan) and Zahi (Zahid Soomro) can add some questions if I am forgetting because they were the guys who met me outside FPSC office and they noted down all my questions.

Raz

Your prayers are badly needed my dear members.

Last edited by Princess Royal; Thursday, April 08, 2010 at 02:29 PM.
The Following 22 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
ASADMAQSOOD (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), Bilal Zamir (Tuesday, April 06, 2010), charismatic.leader (Wednesday, April 14, 2010), Eager (Saturday, December 10, 2011), fidamah (Saturday, April 10, 2010), fromQAU (Saturday, April 10, 2010), frozenfire (Wednesday, May 12, 2010), irshadsod (Wednesday, April 07, 2010), jadoon khan (Tuesday, April 06, 2010), Kamran (Tuesday, April 06, 2010), kinzacss (Saturday, April 10, 2010), marwatone (Wednesday, April 07, 2010), Muhammad Ali Awan (Thursday, April 08, 2010), navera88 (Friday, April 09, 2010), Nonchalant (Saturday, April 10, 2010), rabbia (Wednesday, April 07, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Tuesday, April 06, 2010), sardonic (Wednesday, June 02, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Tuesday, May 18, 2010), waleed minhas (Wednesday, April 07, 2010), Zoyee (Tuesday, April 06, 2010)

sohaani is on a distinguished road

hi
you interview is quiet impressive
good luck
The Following User Says Thank You to sohaani For This Useful Post:
Raz (Tuesday, April 06, 2010)
41st CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 30

engr.Mansoor is on a distinguished road
Default very well done Raz Bhai

wow.... Take my advance congratulation as i see you the future DMG officer.Very well organised introduction,good and solid reason for leaving your first job for CSS. And justified answer for opting DMG as ur first preference.
Very nice.
Hoping for ur sure success.
With Regards
Mansoor Arshad
AM,PNRA HQ,s. Islamabad.

Babakhan is on a distinguished road

@Raz

Congrats for performing at the level required for allocation. But rethink over the decision of leaving SBP. Yaar go ahead do PhD and enjoy an excellent progressive career. To me DDO is no less than a clerk/Kamdar who earns alot of money through cheap tactics. People of my stature may afford to do that but a well qualified central banker like you shouldn't waste his precious time. I would have asked you to join any other respectable group such as Income Tax or others but comparatively these are far inferior than your current position in State Bank.

The Following User Says Thank You to Babakhan For This Useful Post:
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 1451

sardonic is on a distinguished road

@ Raz

Bhai it was indeed a brilliant performance on your side...i hope u get your desired group by the grace of GOD...gudluck.

Thanked 1,478 Times in 681 Posts
Zoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud ofZoyee has much to be proud of

@ RAZ

Congrats in advance, u did really well, God 'l be with you inshallah.

38th CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 62

Bilal Zamir is on a distinguished road

@ Raz

A very lengthy and wholesome interview by my view. How much time did it take?
And best wishes.
Old Wednesday, April 07, 2010
38th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 253

samiullah shaikh is on a distinguished road

@raz

best of luck fayyaz
u from sindh (U)??