02:11 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Saturday, January 16, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 1451

sardonic is on a distinguished road
Default Thank u all....

@ all

I would like to thank u all for such nice wishes and blessings, I am overwhelmed....May god bless us all and let us all have what our heart desires...Amen..

@ Shallow water

Safdar bhai, its not really important that one if not cross questioned was not fit for the job...I wud like to agree wid sameer bhai's first suggestion that there could be a possibility that the psychologists thought that asking me all at once could get my adrenaline rushing, coz as I remeber in my psych also I kind of mumbled through a very imporatant question which may have triggered this understanding on their part....

balkay I after I had given m9 was trying to remember what they had asked u and I really thought k I was not worth it jbhi they never touched upon any important issues in front of me....U will get PSP inshallah...Kush rahain.Amen

Moreover I would like to add here that if some other people could upload there interviews also we will be able to predict the pattern of the questions being asked and it would definitely help all in their future endeavours...Also you guys should expect anything and every thing from them, specially questions regarding your last degree, your optionals and your job (if employed).

the panel asked completely different questions from the gentleman who went before me, most concentrated on Terrorism and Current affairs, b4 the interview as we discussed a fellow young lady told me that questions relating to the optionals were time and again asked from those appearing b4 us...

Keep your spirits high and pray to God before you leave...He sure will be on your side...Bless you all. Amen and Goood luck
Old Saturday, January 16, 2010
38th CTP (CEG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 50

S_Ranjha will become famous soon enough

Yeah thts the point. One should be ready fr anything n try nt 2 confine urself 2 a particular set of things which u think will it do 4 u. Coz as per my view may be( again im saying may be ) there z a chance tht aftr having come went through interview xperiences of 50 odd students one can predict the areas concerning Intl n pk affiars they might be touching. But the main thing r the grounds which ur personality n career profile will unfold 4 the panel n dey tend 2 raise questions out of these grounds which u can never anticipate. So at the end of the day u need 2 b urself nd its just a question of actually how good u really are nd have been through out ur lyf. I just dun believe tht 2 month coaching can really change u as a personality. So be urself wid dis belief tht yes u r gud enough 2 get vot u want.

You were not born a winner, and you were not born a loser. You are what you make yourself be.
Old Monday, January 18, 2010

qaarjk is on a distinguished road

My interview mainly remained centered and focused on my job profile and the psychological profile (filled up in Psychological test) so I don't think these questions are going to help in any way.

The issues which were discussed with me by the panel included

a)Economic problems of Pakistan and their solutions

b)Inflation ___it's reasons and measures needed to control it

c)Yellow journalism

d)whether media should be completely free to operate as it deem fit

e)areas wher we can improve the export markets for Pakistan

f)composition, working, responsibilities and courses of action available to PAC

g)definitions of my optional subjects (journalism, economics, mercantile law)

h)questions about my fav book

There were more questions which I will share with u guys when I tremember them.

My interview lasted for about 40 min and went quite fine overall
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to qaarjk For This Useful Post:
dr sameer (Wednesday, January 20, 2010), fidamah (Monday, January 18, 2010), Kashif Jamil (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Nazik (Monday, January 18, 2010), poisoning flower (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Riazuddin (Saturday, August 14, 2010), rizvan (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), saba sattar (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Monday, January 18, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Friday, February 12, 2010), shallowwater (Wednesday, January 20, 2010), versatile_bhutto (Monday, January 18, 2010), waleed minhas (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Zahara Alvi (Wednesday, January 20, 2010), Zahid Morio (Friday, January 22, 2010)
Old Tuesday, January 19, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 1485

Akeeq will become famous soon enough

So here is how mine went.

I do not remember most of it, and which questions were asked by who, so I'll just jott down the questions.

Why didnt I do well in my academic career till bachelors?
My favorite foreign diplomat and why? (And no, I did not opt for FS :S)
Education Policy and its features
Trade with Europe
Pakistan's strategic location and its natural resources
China's rise in the next 10 years as a superpower
Who makes policies of newspapers?
Should media be brought under strict regulation or not?
Global Warming and the Ozone Layer
Definition of IR and whether there is a regulatory body above nation-states
What do I think about when people talk about the "economy of Pakistan"
Tourism Industry out of the blue by Mr. Bhagwandas
Who was the British King who abdicated the throne and why?
After which war did the economic and freedom wars started and religious wars were ended?
Tried to trick me by saying "Ah, must be written in the British constitution" to which I replied, "No sir, they do not have a written constitution"
Asked me what are traditions
How come candid and perfectionist was a weakness in me?
And how come perfectionist was a weakness in my mother?
What did my parents do (as in their career)
And finally the chairman asked that "you have said that you belong from an affluent family, this is good, what do you mean by affluent?" And I replied that "I have gotten whatever I have ever asked for from my parents, and for that I am thankful to them"

And then I left the room. I might have forgotten some bits and pieces but I think this was most of it.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Akeeq For This Useful Post:
Abdullah Nayyar (Saturday, January 30, 2010), captain malik (Saturday, April 24, 2010), Kashif Jamil (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), maliasghar (Sunday, November 21, 2010), poisoning flower (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Rauf (Saturday, March 06, 2010), rizvan (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Sana Shoaib (Tuesday, April 13, 2010), sardonic (Friday, January 22, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Friday, February 12, 2010), shallowwater (Wednesday, January 20, 2010), waleed minhas (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Zahid Morio (Friday, January 22, 2010)

Laeeque is on a distinguished road

Aoa Everyone

My Interview was on 18th and i was second to go. It all started in a pretty pleasant mood, i was greeted and told to sit.
There were no introductions etc, started out by my academic career as in a self explanatory manner that i had done MBA and so and so.
There were absolutely no questions reagrding my favourite books or personality, and not even job experience which i was expecting.
So after some easy introduction there was a light question on my demerits such as sensitive or stubborn which i had written in ny psyc test which i was able to explain quite easily.
I knew that i would be asked definitions but least expected that 3 definitions in a line would be asked, first of public administration, then international relations and than Human Resource. I really had to compose my thoughts and gave all three definitions with a bit generalistic in one, it all went well.
my interview, i would say about 80 % based more like on current affairs and general opinion based questions and i would say even sort of logical type.
anyways current affairs included Baluchistan Package, Lengthy discussions on NFC, NRO, Environment of Reconciliation as made by the government, then steps take to avert energy / water crisis, and most of all the recent security checks that pakistanis had to go on airports as announced recently.

I had also mentioned some of these in my psych test as well. Alhamdulliulah it all went very well as i was happy that i was being questioned on the topics that i had worked on most and were on my fingertips. so all these topics and the answers went very well. There was no hesitation at all.

And again i recall that i was asked questions regarding my academic side (regarding grades), to which i answered and again regarding my first attempt and of Css. All this went quite well.

Regarding professional career i was dying that they ask questions...lol, but they didnt, only a minor one or two, it was kool.

Then of course some questions rergarding International relations, very general in nature like how international relations are important for countries, how thay formulate or what policies, pretty much emphasiz on like foreign policy, i was giving detailed explanations on almost all, and at two times i remember i was being cut and asked another questions.

The only difficult phase was regarding Islamic History and Culture, First an easy question on Muslim Rule on Spain. then regarding culture, how it is important and how it changes. Well this was more of a logical question and then 3 more questions were asked from my answer to may be pressurize me. it also went well but i really had to compose my thoughts.

Than there was a questions like how would you improve Human resource in Pakistan and what to you see. It was regarding my subject in MBA. It also went well.

Than at the end there was a pretty confusing question, (the question was so biiiiig thought it was never gonna end), How do u define bureaucracy, what do u mean by it, how it is important, what has it done for Pakistan. goods and bads. My explanation went well with a very positive and constructive mind, like it is essential for internal security, strength and effective administration.
There were two questions from my preffered group, what would be my first steps if i am elected a DMG officer, First was from chairman and then from a member as well.(The question was same both the time but i tried to add some extra garnishing the second time)

I think this was it, havent left a single question i think.
In the end i was quite happy it went very well, i was able to answer every question.
And from what i have guessed that want to see your expression, confidence, your opinion, your constructive imagination.

Wish you all the best for your interviews.

Laeeque
The Following 14 Users Say Thank You to Laeeque For This Useful Post:
charismatic.leader (Wednesday, April 14, 2010), mohsinmumtaz (Saturday, January 23, 2010), poisoning flower (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), rizvan (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Sana Shoaib (Tuesday, April 13, 2010), sehrishkhan123 (Friday, February 12, 2010), shallowwater (Wednesday, January 20, 2010), silza (Saturday, October 13, 2012), sohaani (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), waleed minhas (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), Zahara Alvi (Wednesday, January 20, 2010), Zahid Morio (Thursday, January 21, 2010)

sohaani is on a distinguished road

hi laeeque
what have you mentioned in the reply of Environment of Reconciliation as made by the government"
thank you

hi qaarjk
i also had merchentile Law. i want to know that what questions they have asked about it?

Laeeque is on a distinguished road

Regarding Environment of reconciliation, tried to give a positive approach, like it is a national government and has representation from all four provinces and people from all parts have a say. There is no politics of revenge, everyone is taken aboard, and of course coalition government is also present in punjab, so i sticked to these points and extracted positive out of all these.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Laeeque For This Useful Post:
rizvan (Tuesday, January 19, 2010), sohaani (Tuesday, January 19, 2010)

Originally Posted by sohaani View Post
hi qaarjk
i also had merchentile Law. i want to know that what questions they have asked about it?
Dear I was asked by Mr. Saud Gauhar that what is Mercantile law?

Seriously I didn't expect this question and gave my answer after telling him that what I am offering is the definition in my own words and described it as a set of laws governing our day to day transactions and actions. I was again asked to give examples and after my reply they asked me to tell whether these laws have anything to do with fire and sea? To this I replied Yes there are also laws for Fire and Marine Insurance.

Originally Posted by Umme View Post
thanx a lot for ur sharing of interview.....but tell me one thing plz which language they used mostly in interview its English, Urdu or mix?
In my case it was completely in English

Originally Posted by Nazik View Post
@qaarjk

Thanx Dear for sharing ur interview.
plz provide the max possible details of ur intvw & also tell us abt ur optionals.
My optionals were
a) Accounting and Auditing
b) Mercantile Law
c) Indo Pak History
d) Journalism

Originally Posted by Chosen_One View Post
Its very hard to figure out the contours of interview, sometimes dreadful sometimes encouraging.
One thing that I can assure u based on my own experince is that there is simply no such thing which needs to be dreaded in the interview. I would urge u to be natural and relaxed in ur approach and leave the rest to Allah. I am sure He will help u out.

And it also has come to my mind that I was also asked the salient features of NFC award and the steps being taken by the Govt, if any , To tackle the system of Madrassahs i.e any reforms in this sector.

I was asked whether the mughals were aware of the intentions of British when they stepped in sub continent.

I was also asked to name some prominent journalists who participated in the freedom movement of Pakistan and also to intimate what were their contributions and to which newspaper or magazine they belonged.

And I was also asked a lot of questions about Cricket as I had written it as my obsession in the psychological profile as my weakness.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qaarjk For This Useful Post:
sohaani (Wednesday, January 20, 2010), Zahid Morio (Thursday, January 21, 2010)
Old Sunday, January 31, 2010

Originally Posted by dr sameer View Post
@ qaarjk

dear can you tell us what question they asked you regarding cricket.

They asked about the match being played on that day (AUS vs Pak)

Then asked whether T20 is affecting the other types of game?

Then they asked what are the reasons for bad performance of Pakistan particularly in test cricket

And then I was asked which system of domestic cricket is better Divisional or Departmental?

That was all relating to cricket.

I guess I have shared all the info regarding my interview (though in instalments)
The Following User Says Thank You to qaarjk For This Useful Post:
dr sameer (Sunday, January 31, 2010)
Old Thursday, February 04, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 5712

waleed minhas is on a distinguished road

this is the interview of my friend haider ali..he is msc chemistry..currently he is lecturer in chemistry..his interview took pace on the 1st feb..
following questions were asked from him
he was not required to give introduction
most of his interview was based on scientific questions relating to chemistry..
he was questioned about his fav personality(stephen hawkkins)
big bang theory was asked
police order 2002
prison reforms
he was asked about his native distt jhang
reforms in bureaucracy
role of a DMG officer
this is what i can remember now..

All respected qualifiers are requested to please share their interviews as well..and please dont be afraid of helping someone!!!
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to waleed minhas For This Useful Post:
Ms. Lily (Monday, February 22, 2010), Rauf (Sunday, February 14, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Thursday, February 04, 2010), sardonic (Saturday, February 13, 2010), Waseem Riaz Khan (Friday, February 05, 2010)