Thursday, April 18, 2024
05:23 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Friday, December 19, 2014

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

Panel is very friendly, as usual. My interview was very peculiar. I do not see much point in sharing it, as most of the questions asked were taken from what I said or implied earlier. It was like what are the problems of civil service and then next question as follow up of one of the problems mentioned. And next member would start as, you said this how do you think it explains that.

General discussion, sort of.

Mr. Wajid Rana asked questions from Psychological responses- sentence completion. Only one question from my optional, some theory of Ibn e Khaldun- I didn't know about.

Main themes were:
- Problems of Police Force In Pak
- My observations from working for law enforcement agency.
- How to tackle aloofness and red tape-ism among CSPs.
- Question from my hobbies and interests.
- Some issue about China I haven't heard of
- Water shortage in Pak
- Security Situation in general.
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
AMH AWAN (Friday, December 19, 2014), g.m.abro (Saturday, December 20, 2014), imrancl (Friday, December 19, 2014), naveednoul (Friday, December 19, 2014), ravishanker (Saturday, January 17, 2015), revival (Saturday, December 20, 2014), Scarlett (Friday, December 19, 2014), siddiqui88 (Friday, December 19, 2014), silza (Wednesday, December 24, 2014), sunnykhalid (Wednesday, February 11, 2015), the topper (Friday, December 19, 2014), Zoha (Friday, December 19, 2014)
Old Friday, December 19, 2014
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 163

siddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nice

Thanks a lot for sharing. I wish you best for allocation in desired group.
Can you please elaborate things further? How much was the timing? and whats the general trend? And anything particular about chairman? what sort of question he is asking?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to siddiqui88 For This Useful Post:
revival (Saturday, December 20, 2014), silza (Wednesday, December 24, 2014)
Old Saturday, December 20, 2014
43rd CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 126

revival is on a distinguished road

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It seems like major emphasis is on current affairs and general issues. So that would prove to be something good for us as revising all the optionals again would be one hell of a hectic job for lazy souls like us Ha Ha.

Furthermore, is there anyone else who can also share their interview experience?
MadeForSuccess (Monday, June 20, 2016)
Old Saturday, December 20, 2014
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Roll no. 01876

Nabeel Raza is on a distinguished road

Rana wajid asked me about arctic accord fom geography. China,recently launched missile system, green pact signed by saarc , psycho dynamic theory,18th ammendment and 7th nfc award.

He asks one question from each optional subject and 5 to 6 from current issues.

Best wishes for all those who have there interview in the coming days.

Last edited by marwatone; Sunday, December 21, 2014 at 02:44 AM. Reason: Posts merged.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nabeel Raza For This Useful Post:
siddiqui88 (Tuesday, December 23, 2014), silza (Wednesday, December 24, 2014)
Old Sunday, December 21, 2014

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

Wajid Rana was very witty. Ma'am was as usual open and showing concern about issues she asked about. Lahri Shb was soft and intellectual kind of.
Chairman was there with a plain face. I can never say if he bought anything I said at all. He will listen to everything you say but with stone cold expressions; never nodding, smiling, denying - nothing.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
RMKamran (Thursday, March 05, 2015), siddiqui88 (Tuesday, December 23, 2014), silza (Wednesday, December 24, 2014)
Old Sunday, December 21, 2014
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Roll no. 01876

Nabeel Raza is on a distinguished road

Artems what was the duration of your interview?who did ask you last question chairman or lehri sahb?
The Following User Says Thank You to Nabeel Raza For This Useful Post:
silza (Wednesday, December 24, 2014)
Old Monday, December 22, 2014
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Fahad M Mirza is on a distinguished road

My interview was conducted on Friday, 19th Dec, 2014...

Duration: 35~40 Minutes

Topics of Discussion:

Chairman asked the following:
  • The reason for choosing the very tie I was wearing (red and blue stripes),
  • Why I wanted to join PAS,
  • Am I good enough to join the PAS, as in case how I would administer and manage the on-ground problems

Madam Batool Qureshi asked on the following:
  • Muslim Divide and Terrorism Expansion on basis of sects,
  • An out-of-the-box solution for Energy Crisis (being an Electrical Engineer), not in practice anywhere in the world,
  • Problems with Afghan National Army (ANA) and impacts of BSA signed between USA and Afghanistan on Pakistan,
  • One question from my hobby, as where and why I do the nature photography

Mister Abdul Wajid Rana asked on the following:
Four questions from International Law;
  1. What is meant by 'jus cogen' and state a few examples,
  2. Difference between International Norms and International Conventions,
  3. Pakistan and Indian Nuclear Arms Race and International Law jurisdictions,
  4. ICJ Case between Pakistan and Marshall Islands on Cessation of Nuclear Arms Race and Disarming,
  • One question from Business Administration;
  1. Difference between Potential and Penetrated Market Strategy, with examples
  • Two questions from Psychological Test;
  1. How far can I keep my Integrity from Compromise,
  2. Prove that 'Character Is Destiny' in 15 seconds
  • One, final question from Pakistan Affairs;
  1. Why is the government not delivering and how can the system perform well;
  2. Allied question: What are the principles of good governance
  3. Sub-Allied question: Are we all at fault?

Mister A. B. Lehri asked on the following:
  • Three questions from Forestry;
  1. What are Mangrove Forests,
  2. Where is the second largest patch of Juniper forest in the world,
  3. Name the disease that infects Juniper trees at large

Experience:
Apart from all the experiences shared by my fellow qualifiers, mine was a little different in terms of the atmosphere and friendliness, as I may compare with the group I was adjusted with... The very first question I was asked about was my tie color, and the reason of selecting that tie... A very cold start, no smile on any of the member's face and a heated session was started... Madam Batool Qureshi waited for my answers to complete on her questions, and did put many allied questions as well, especially related to the first question...

When Mister Abdul Wajid Rana started his questioning, the Chairman took a short break and went outside, and International Law was discussed... None of my answers would complete and the second question was asked, and then third, and Psychological questions were asked in between, like when I was giving my answer on difference between Norms and Conventions, he asked aloud to 'Prove that Character is Destiny in 15 seconds', and afterwards he asked me to resume my previous answer I was giving... When it came to Pakistan Affairs, he made a mix of English and Urdu and grilled a lot like "Kis ka qasoor hai?", "Hakoomat ghalat hai?", "Kya yeh jo hum chaaron bethey hain, sab ghalat hain?" right even before I could complete my sentence... Although I supported the Government, the established working system and the people as well, but still he tried to steer the discussion a little differently... I kept my smile on, kept my stance on good governance principles and the ministries who are delivering well (IT, Commerce etc.) but he wasn't satisfied... Mr. Lehri just asked three questions softly, with one-line answers from my side, and the interview was concluded...

Conclusion:

I believe I haven't scored very well neither in the Written Part, nor in the Psychological Test... The panel is very just and friendly with the qualifiers, so please do keep in mind that they are helpful and have treated all very fairly... Majority is happy and satisfied with their interviews, MashAllah, I might have made some serious mistakes myself, as to have been clearly knocked-out by the panel... Following are a few advices I would like to give, in lieu of my experience:

Please do study the optional subjects, especially the International Law very strongly, if that was your optional subject, because that seemed to be Mr. A. Wajid Rana's favorite subject...
Please do wear a lightly-colored tie with plain, white shirt under a black suit...
Do prepare 'solution-based' answers for the interview, the same way we used to prepare for the Written Exams...
Principles of Good Governance and Improvements in Civil Services Fabric must be well prepared...

I made many mistakes... Please learn from them and do your best...
beinghuman (Saturday, February 14, 2015), DrMFK (Saturday, June 27, 2015), Insaf Sindhu (Saturday, February 14, 2015), moazabbas (Sunday, March 22, 2015), revival (Monday, December 22, 2014), RMKamran (Thursday, March 05, 2015), sahar abbas (Tuesday, December 23, 2014), Sajjad Magsi (Saturday, January 24, 2015), Samix (Wednesday, January 14, 2015), Sara Hamid (Sunday, February 01, 2015), Scarlett (Monday, December 22, 2014), siddiqui88 (Tuesday, December 23, 2014), silza (Wednesday, December 24, 2014), sunnykhalid (Wednesday, February 11, 2015), The Manager (Tuesday, December 23, 2014), Waqas77 (Monday, February 09, 2015), Zeerain shah (Saturday, April 11, 2015), zeeshan183 (Monday, December 22, 2014)
43rd CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 126

revival is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Fahad M Mirza View Post
My interview was conducted on Friday, 19th Dec, 2014...

Duration: 35~40 Minutes

Topics of Discussion:

Chairman asked the following:
  • The reason for choosing the very tie I was wearing (red and blue stripes),
  • Why I wanted to join PAS,
  • Am I good enough to join the PAS, as in case how I would administer and manage the on-ground problems

Madam Batool Qureshi asked on the following:
  • Muslim Divide and Terrorism Expansion on basis of sects,
  • An out-of-the-box solution for Energy Crisis (being an Electrical Engineer), not in practice anywhere in the world,
  • Problems with Afghan National Army (ANA) and impacts of BSA signed between USA and Afghanistan on Pakistan,
  • One question from my hobby, as where and why I do the nature photography

Mister Abdul Wajid Rana asked on the following:
Four questions from International Law;
  1. What is meant by 'jus cogen' and state a few examples,
  2. Difference between International Norms and International Conventions,
  3. Pakistan and Indian Nuclear Arms Race and International Law jurisdictions,
  4. ICJ Case between Pakistan and Marshall Islands on Cessation of Nuclear Arms Race and Disarming,
  • One question from Business Administration;
  1. Difference between Potential and Penetrated Market Strategy, with examples
  • Two questions from Psychological Test;
  1. How far can I keep my Integrity from Compromise,
  2. Prove that 'Character Is Destiny' in 15 seconds
  • One, final question from Pakistan Affairs;
  1. Why is the government not delivering and how can the system perform well;
  2. Allied question: What are the principles of good governance
  3. Sub-Allied question: Are we all at fault?

Mister A. B. Lehri asked on the following:
  • Three questions from Forestry;
  1. What are Mangrove Forests,
  2. Where is the second largest patch of Juniper forest in the world,
  3. Name the disease that infects Juniper trees at large

Experience:
Apart from all the experiences shared by my fellow qualifiers, mine was a little different in terms of the atmosphere and friendliness, as I may compare with the group I was adjusted with... The very first question I was asked about was my tie color, and the reason of selecting that tie... A very cold start, no smile on any of the member's face and a heated session was started... Madam Batool Qureshi waited for my answers to complete on her questions, and did put many allied questions as well, especially related to the first question...

When Mister Abdul Wajid Rana started his questioning, the Chairman took a short break and went outside, and International Law was discussed... None of my answers would complete and the second question was asked, and then third, and Psychological questions were asked in between, like when I was giving my answer on difference between Norms and Conventions, he asked aloud to 'Prove that Character is Destiny in 15 seconds', and afterwards he asked me to resume my previous answer I was giving... When it came to Pakistan Affairs, he made a mix of English and Urdu and grilled a lot like "Kis ka qasoor hai?", "Hakoomat ghalat hai?", "Kya yeh jo hum chaaron bethey hain, sab ghalat hain?" right even before I could complete my sentence... Although I supported the Government, the established working system and the people as well, but still he tried to steer the discussion a little differently... I kept my smile on, kept my stance on good governance principles and the ministries who are delivering well (IT, Commerce etc.) but he wasn't satisfied... Mr. Lehri just asked three questions softly, with one-line answers from my side, and the interview was concluded...

Conclusion:

I believe I haven't scored very well neither in the Written Part, nor in the Psychological Test... The panel is very just and friendly with the qualifiers, so please do keep in mind that they are helpful and have treated all very fairly... Majority is happy and satisfied with their interviews, MashAllah, I might have made some serious mistakes myself, as to have been clearly knocked-out by the panel... Following are a few advices I would like to give, in lieu of my experience:

Please do study the optional subjects, especially the International Law very strongly, if that was your optional subject, because that seemed to be Mr. A. Wajid Rana's favorite subject...
Please do wear a lightly-colored tie with plain, white shirt under a black suit...
Do prepare 'solution-based' answers for the interview, the same way we used to prepare for the Written Exams...
Principles of Good Governance and Improvements in Civil Services Fabric must be well prepared...

I made many mistakes... Please learn from them and do your best...
Thank you bro for sharing your experience. I would like to ask from everyone including you, can I wear grey suit on both psychological and final interview days? Or wearing a particular colour like black is necessary?

The Manager (Tuesday, December 23, 2014)
43rd CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 62

GeeZee is on a distinguished road

@ Fahad M Mirza, Do not lose heart. Sometimes they give tough time to those from whom they carry expectations. They want to test your nerves and composure.
Mine was only 20-25 minutes long and I worry I could not deliver much ..
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Fahad M Mirza is on a distinguished road

revival:

Bro, kindly wear a plain, black suit for all three days; two days of psychological and one day Viva Voce... No matter what others say or wear for psychological tests, you should be formally suited with plain, white shirt and lightly colored tie... For all three days, black suit, white shirt, light tie... Trust me...

GeeZee:

I hope so, bro... Many in FSP and PSP 2013 had an unsatisfactory 20min interview, as per their own perceptions... You keep your hopes up... The panel didn't seem to like me at all, as their faces were spot... Allah help us all, inshAllah...
revival (Monday, December 22, 2014)