09:29 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Friday, January 16, 2015
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014

Gypsified will become famous soon enoughGypsified will become famous soon enough

then went on to ask about my writings and then asked about one particular piece of article based on "Honor Killings" that did you face any backlash from the people back at your native area.
Did you take your published writings with you to the interview?
Old Saturday, January 17, 2015
43rd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 223

Obsessed With CSS is on a distinguished road

Here goes mine:

Timing 12:40 – 12:58
I was the last candidate to be interviewed from Peshawar center.

Chairman after formal greetings:
Tell me about PSP as your second preference. Answered
Qualities of a PSP officer. Answered
Biggest threat to Police. Answered
Are you in favor of military courts. Answered

Madam Fatma Batool:
Middle East crisis and role of Iran. Answered involving a long discussion
Role of US in ME. Answered
Saudi Involvement in terms of Oil prices. Answered
How long will it take US to eliminate ISIS. Answered
Afghan transit trade and its growth. Answered

Abdul Wajid Rana (The Pakistani sniper :P )
What to do in case a Bureaucrat comes under political pressure. Answered with arguments.
CCI. Explained a bit and then dropped as I did not know the technical aspects.
Saichin issue and Pakistan stance. Answered again with counter-questions from sir.
Privy Council (British History). Dropped
Some sermon by Margaret Thatcher(British History). Dropped
How UN applies sanction on countries. Answered
Why will US take 2-3 years in eliminating ISIS (counter question from madam batool area ). Answered
What is mismanagement by objectives (heard it for the first time).Dropped though I argues with a smile that sir I have heard about management by objectives.
Give me one point solution to Pakistan problems. Answered

Lehri sahab:

What post will you prefer if we put you in PAS =). Answered
Difference between High commissioner and Ambassador. Dropped
Difference between IMF and World Bank. Dropped

They thanked me and I came out. I was satisfied with the discussion I had with them. Didn't bother about the drooped questions and was confident. Rana Wajid Sahab asked the strangest questions with a wry smile on his face. The rest is up to ALLAH. I believe, if it is to be, it will be, if not, it never will be.

Need Prayers.
Artemis (Saturday, January 17, 2015), Gypsified (Saturday, January 17, 2015), revival (Saturday, January 17, 2015), Sajjad Magsi (Saturday, January 24, 2015), Scarlett (Sunday, January 18, 2015), siddiqui88 (Monday, February 02, 2015), silza (Sunday, January 18, 2015), zeeshan183 (Saturday, January 17, 2015)
43rd CTP (FSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 126

revival is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Gypsified View Post
Did you take your published writings with you to the interview?
Yes, I did on both days. One was on psychological day when one has to submit all docs etc and they keep it for some time and then give it back to you. Then I also took it on interview day, as it was written on call letter that one should bring all his portfolio, samples of writing and other extra curricular stuff with him. But guess I was wrong, on final viva day. There was no such thing. However, as the Chairman asked me about one of my article, it means that they'd already seen them when i submitted by file on psychological written day.
Gypsified (Saturday, January 17, 2015), silza (Sunday, January 18, 2015)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Roll no. 16038

zeeshan183 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Obsessed With CSS View Post
Here goes mine:

Timing 12:40 – 12:58
I was the last candidate to be interviewed from Peshawar center.

Chairman after formal greetings:
Tell me about PSP as your second preference. Answered
Qualities of a PSP officer. Answered
Biggest threat to Police. Answered
Are you in favor of military courts. Answered

Madam Fatma Batool:
Middle East crisis and role of Iran. Answered involving a long discussion
Role of US in ME. Answered
Saudi Involvement in terms of Oil prices. Answered
How long will it take US to eliminate ISIS. Answered
Afghan transit trade and its growth. Answered

Abdul Wajid Rana (The Pakistani sniper :P )
What to do in case a Bureaucrat comes under political pressure. Answered with arguments.
CCI. Explained a bit and then dropped as I did not know the technical aspects.
Saichin issue and Pakistan stance. Answered again with counter-questions from sir.
Privy Council (British History). Dropped
Some sermon by Margaret Thatcher(British History). Dropped
How UN applies sanction on countries. Answered
Why will US take 2-3 years in eliminating ISIS (counter question from madam batool area ). Answered
What is mismanagement by objectives (heard it for the first time).Dropped though I argues with a smile that sir I have heard about management by objectives.
Give me one point solution to Pakistan problems. Answered

Lehri sahab:

What post will you prefer if we put you in PAS =). Answered
Difference between High commissioner and Ambassador. Dropped
Difference between IMF and World Bank. Dropped

They thanked me and I came out. I was satisfied with the discussion I had with them. Didn't bother about the drooped questions and was confident. Rana Wajid Sahab asked the strangest questions with a wry smile on his face. The rest is up to ALLAH. I believe, if it is to be, it will be, if not, it never will be.

Need Prayers.
what were your optionals?
43rd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 223

Obsessed With CSS is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by zeeshan183 View Post
what were your optionals?
Geography
British History
Public Administration and
Pashto
Old Sunday, January 18, 2015

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

I don't know why you people dread Wajid Rana. I think he is fun. Chairman seems cold though!
Anyhow it never comes to how warm or friendly the environment was, it always comes down to numbers.
The Following User Says Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
revival (Sunday, January 18, 2015)
Old Friday, January 23, 2015
42nd CTP (PAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 25

Schandenfreud is on a distinguished road

interesting while tking cursory look at the forum ;(old habits die hard), stopped at this thread and made me nostaligic about my interview experience best of luck guys.
revival (Friday, January 23, 2015)
Old Friday, January 23, 2015
43rd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 59

imrancl is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Schandenfreud View Post
interesting while tking cursory look at the forum ;(old habits die hard), stopped at this thread and made me nostaligic about my interview experience best of luck guys.
Can you please share how many marks you were expecting after going through your interview and what was the actual outcome?

Old Sunday, January 25, 2015
43rd CTP
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014

silza is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by alisaeed01 View Post
Dear Members, AoA,
My interview was on 4th day when Phase-I started. I was happy at the moment when I left the interview room but within an hour I realized that my Interview was not fine at all.

It was for not more than 20 Minutes and Lt Gen Sb did not ask any question except from where did I belong to. I am from KPK by the way. Anyhow, the interview started, formally with questioning Madam Qureshi.

Ms Qureshi:
She asked me about why I left SNGPL and she gave very startling expressions when I told her that for CSS I left the job. Then she started off with a question on the holistic progress of India. I took economy as 1st point and outlined a few aspects. Then she asked me about their society. After that she asked me why I wanted to get Leadership? I told her that it is this intellectual elite which plays an important role paralleled by none.
Mr. Wajid Rana:
He started of with question on integrity what when was it last compromised. I told him that I took a unconstitutional approach on the onset of Dharna and I dont feel good about it. I told him that I remained apolitical but still I found myself drifting away with the bandwagon. Our political scene is currently an experience to assess ourselves and standing. He said that what do you think on topic of change in this regard. I told him that it is not natural and things should follow an evolutionary path. He gave me an example of some country where knee-jerk brought a change. I told him that there must be some context to this and I cant rush to the conclusion on his example. He laughed lightly and asked me about strategic leadership. I apologized by saying that I am not able to comprehend the word strategic in his question. He smiled and asked me about Russian issue with the Europe. Then he asked me about Karl Marx's article on War of Independence which I told him that Karl Marx told about the political gap in India, he cut me right while I was answering and asked what was common in Muslims and Hindus during war. I apologized (dont know why, cuz I should have given the answer).

Mr. Lehri
He asked me about rekodiq. I told him about the position of Pakistan in mineral sciences and our dependency on Transfer of Technology. He then told me that I had a little improvement in the written despite attempting 2011, 2013 and 2014. I said that I used to think that CSS is the test of knowledge but being concise and direct and short in answering yielded less marks and it took me third attempt to understand that it is game of numbers. He noded and then the Chairman said thank you gentleman.

When I stood up the Lt. Gen Sb said that I dont want so many questions to be bombarded on you and smiled. I thanked him very politely and with a gesture said salam to all. Then I left the room.

It was really a strange interview for me because I am an engineer and they didnt ask me any question from Engineering and my 6 years of experience in PTCL and SuiGas as XEN etc.
what are your optionals? why did they asked about karl marx and war of independence?
Old Wednesday, January 28, 2015
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Roll no. 10333

ANeeK is on a distinguished road
Default Interview Lahore Center Phase I

Chairman
  • Why did you opt for these optional subjects?
  • What is wrong in the Police Dept.?
  • What reforms would you bring?
  • Name 3 most pressing problems of Pakistan.
  • (Among the three I mentioned, one was collapse of organizational structure. He asked me to elaborate it and give examples)

Ms. Batool
  • Education system is causing extremism, what do you think?
  • (A lot of time was spent on it, first I said that it is mostly medressahs, she said they are only 2%, rest are other schools. I countered again by giving examples, she said that you are talking about private sector, what about public sector? I said that education system has lots of problems but promoting extremism is not one of those...)
  • How much Pakistan spends on Education from its budget and how much it should? (I thought she was asking about % of GDP so gave answers accordingly but later realized I was wrong, it was % of budget)
  • Have you heard of CII?
  • What recent recommendations it has proposed?
  • What do you think about CII?

Mr. Wajid Rana
  • First he asked me some questions from my psychological proforma and said why are you like this and that?
  • Then he asked me are you a day-dreamer?
  • Then he uttered a very long quote of Nixon about Foreign Policy and "sausages" and how they are "charred" (I had no idea what he said) and asked me to explain it. I asked him to repeat it, he repeated very slowly, I thought and said sorry
  • Then he asked me about problem of urbanization. When I came to depletion of agricultural land, he asked what was its solution. I said conversion of agricultural land to housing land should be banned. He said banning is 13th century solution, give me a 21st century solution. But while I was giving him the 21st century solution he moved forward.
  • Then he came to geography - what are main glaciers of Pakistan? I didn't know the name of anyone except Siachin but didn't say even Siachin and said sorry.
  • What are main disputes over International Rivers? Pakistan, India aside. I said Brahamaputra, he said it has been solved, what else? I said sorry.
  • He asked another strange question about geography which I again dropped. So all in all, I didn't answer even a single question from geography correctly.
  • Then he came to International Law - sources of International Law, jus cogens, name 3 jus cogens, why EU has not yet completed the trans-atlantic trade treaty? (No idea what this is) I answered in general terms that they don't want to expand market etc. He said that UK has put this proposition and it is important member of EU, so why opposition from other members? I said UK is thinking of leaving EU, that's why it is giving such suggestions. He said why is UK leaving? Again I have to rely on general common guesses. Then he said how will UK leave EU? What procedure they will adopt? I said either parliament or referendum, he said referendum. One more thing he asked which I didn't know.
  • Then he said give one single reform which you would bring in the country if given the power to do so? I said I would link education with industry and military. He said why military? I had two points in mind. I said one was because military has the highest budget. He said 'says who?'. What is the number? I excused that I didn't know the number specifically and have read in papers about it. He said don't believe everything you read in papers, do your own research. I said ok. I wanted to present the other point but he gave me to Mr. Lehri.

Mr. Lehri
  • What are the reservations of Sindh and KPK against Kalabagh? I answered. He said can these reservations be addressed and how? I answered.
  • Then he asked one other question which I have forgotten and I can't even remember if I answered it or not. Then they looked at each other and the Chairman who has been staring at me constantly with the blank face said, "Thank You Gentleman."

All in all, the interview was not too difficult except geography which I didn't prepare and I would say even if I had prepared I would not have been able to answer them. My optionals were journalism, international law, geography and maths. They didn't ask a single thing from journalism. The person next to me also had geography but he was not asked a single question from it, rather they asked him to explain the Persian verses of Sheikh Saadi. So be prepared to drop questions from optionals. Put more focus on national issues, international issues are asked a little less. Do prepare reform strategies for your preference groups (1st 2 at least, because they asked me about reforms in Police whereas my first preference was PAS). Try to remember some numbers if you can but if you can't, don't fabricate them. Mr. Wajid Rana, being from Finance background, knows a lot of numbers and statistics so don't make a fool of yourself by quoting wrong figures. Mr. Wajid Rana will ask most questions from you, and will also ask you to elaborate some statements which he will quote. Atmosphere was cordial in general and I was allowed to speak, save a few times. The seat was excellent and very comfortable, much better than the wooden chair on the Physological day - believe me half of my nerves settled down just by sitting on that chair.
Best of luck to all of you!!
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to ANeeK For This Useful Post:
Artemis (Thursday, January 29, 2015), imranazeem (Tuesday, March 03, 2015), Qk Mehsood (Sunday, April 12, 2015), RMKamran (Thursday, March 05, 2015), Scarlett (Wednesday, January 28, 2015), siddiqui88 (Monday, February 02, 2015)