07:36 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Interview

Interview The objective of the Interview is to assess one's personality and leadership skills.The knowledge has already been tested in the written phase.Candidates can Post all related queries here

Old Thursday, February 26, 2015

Artemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to allArtemis is a name known to all

When I entered the room long time ago in Dec, no one was even looking at me. They were busy reading files. I said Assalam o alikum and only the chairman nodded. Finally he got time to look at me and said, "So you are ___?", You are a software engineer?" "and you are from ____?" I said Yes, Yes Yes. He said, "And you want to join PAS?" I said, "No Sir, I want to join PSP."

He gave me a very surprising look. I started establishing my grounds by saying I have worked for a police department in IT section, now after CSS I want to work in field. But his expressions were like he was turned off and really disappointed with me. He said something like, "achi bhali tum larki ho, itna parhi hui ho, aur police main jana hai? and you have alreday worked for them so you know them more than many, still ???"

(You know when we write essays and we are taught that you have this list of arguments you use them in the order needed, strongest argument first or strongest last. So I knew I was at back foot even in the start of my interview and if I can't gain back my grounds now, the whole interview would be a disaster. )
So I cut the chase and said,"Sir there are two kinds of motivation- one is you see someone and say I want to be like them, second is you see that there is so much potential to deliver but no one is doing anything about that and you feel like at least I can be better than that."
And I was back in the game. At least he sopped teasing me about PSP being a mindless choice or a worthless department to join.

Anyhow I went on with my career choices and at some place I said I was not interested in joining army because they were taking women in services core only. Chairman mockingly said, "And you wanted to be in ARTILLERY?"
(and then you people don't believe me when I say not Wajid Rana but chairman gave me a tough time. He was literally making fun of me). Again I switched to the most solid arguments I had and said,"Sir I have class-fellows who joined army through short service commission. They do for army what I do for police. They say you manage databases but you end up entering record!" (how about you take that now! ) "On the other hand if I join police I would be joining at the level equivalent to my male colleagues and I could go and work in field."

The he moved towards problems with police force, how can those be tackled; while counter-questioning most of suggestions I gave. I have alreday written many of them before. So lets no repeat that. The he gave me some roles. During those questions, I mentioned Khi operation at some point, police order 2002 and Musharaf's decision to start inducting women in PSP, follow up questions regarding those were later asked by other members.

So Ma'am Batool started with Musharaf allowing women to opt for police. And I went om clarifying the point I made before and said "Ma'am it took years for NGOs and other national as well as international organizations to convince the government to start taking women in police. even now they make up 1% of the entire force but that was one major step in right direction. BUT again the idea of motivation was not t give women more jobs or create work opportunities for them, this has been aim of many of govt policies but this was intended towards a bigger aim. They were alreday getting jobs as teachers, doctors even in civil services other groups, the idea was when these women will be in police stations, Pakistani women i general who have been marginalized will derive their strength from them. And those mainstream women will come forward with their complains, will approach police stations. So this was aimed at a substantial change in society. But(again!) the women who have joined PSP so far, in general they are clinging to major cities postings and preferring administrative roles rather than law enforcement roles. They are not willing to step out of Islamabad and Lahore, so this aim has been lost somewhere in all that.

Then Ma'am remarked something about the problems they might face being women in filed. I said "Ma'am! I had this teacher who is SP now, I asked him 'has any of women in PSP had any major achievement so far?' He said, 'I don't think so.' I said, 'So their achievement so far is they are surviving in police force!' He said, 'Listen, when a woman joining at constable level is surviving in police force, what's all this noise about officers? How could it be difficult at this level?' I went on and said, "Ma'am lady PSP officers have all these guards, salutes - right and left from day one. They were never supposed to survive they should thrive! "

She said, "I see women traffic wardens on road and their body language is very apologetic, and even if they are issuing tickets they would be like - we are sorry we just have to do it, on the other-hand female cops in West have a totally different attitude." I said, "Ma'am I think it comes from culture. Women in our society are taught form day one that they have to be acceptable, so consciously or unconsciously they are trying this all the time even being at road fining people."

So far so good. Then she moved to psychological evaluation and said " You wrote this, you said that!" And I was like "Did I?" (OMG! I am unbelievable, what was I thinking). Anyhow regarding every response she referred to, I was as surprised as they all were!

And now I am tired so Wajid Rana's and Lehri Shb's part of interview I would write afterward.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Artemis For This Useful Post:
bilalrhd (Tuesday, March 10, 2015), Fahad M Mirza (Friday, February 27, 2015), imranazeem (Tuesday, March 03, 2015), RMKamran (Thursday, March 05, 2015)
Old Friday, February 27, 2015
43rd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 27

daniyalahmed is on a distinguished road

My interview was conducted on 4th Feb. 2015. I was a bit petrified since the panel can ask any question under the sun. I was the first interviewee on that date. I am not a very ambitious person. Moreover, for me allocation is more important than securing a top notch group. This paradigm may be construed as defensive, however, on another level it can also be judged as realistic.

The first question asked by Chairman Sb. It was the same question that was asked in my psychological assessment. The question related to the oil crisis. My response was an elaborate one. I stated that the real problem lies in the circular debt, these ultimately led to the choking of LC lines, default and subsequently bail out by the Finance Ministry. Furthermore, the non payment of dues were exacerbated as oil prices during the last decade hovered around record levels. This in context of our high production costs resulted in subsidies, late payment further aggravated the demand - supply dynamics. The next question asked by chairman sb was, what are your priorities.

The interview then went to the court of Ms. Batool. She asked a question regarding democracy being the best system. I answered, indeed democracy is the best system as history of world is replete with examples where democracy triumphed over autocracy. I mentioned the examples of Athens against Persians. Athen a democratic polity repulsed the onslaught of the mammoth achaeminid king Xerces. Moreover, in World War II democratic world stood against fascism. Therefore, I believe democracy is the only solution.

Her next question was, why democracy has failed in pakistan. I replied, the failure of democracy is in the false interpretation of history. Tragically, we believe our history started with the Arab invasion. However, the thesis presented by Aitezaz Ahsan is apt, our history is deeper. We do not look up to the democratic village life of India, neither we look upon the reign of Harsha Vardhan or Ashoka, whose benevolent rule was directed towards the welfare of the people. This myopic approach has led to a complete alienation from the sublime concept of democracy. She asked another question, which I do not remember.

Then came Wajid Rana sahib. He uttered a couple of statements regarding bureaucrats being pygmies. I disagreed with the statement. My response was that bureaucrats are selected thorough competitive exams, they are trained to perform specialized tasks and they have predefined cadres that provide an opportunity to compartmentalize activities. His another question wasr regarding Bhutto and his Islamization. I replied, that Bhutto was falsely castigated for Islamization, the process had started way before, when Objective resolution was passed. Moreover, Bhutto was a populist leader and he represented the will of the people.

He asked have you read the monetary policy? I replied yes. he asked do you know that the net quarterly borrowing of the government are zero. How do you justify your stance that government is printing money. I replied, Indeed sir, the government has zeroed out the borrowing from the central bank but it is injecting money through OMOs into the financial market. This liquidity is inturn used by the banks to buy T bills and bonds, which in turn is helping a profligate government. He said, then what is the difference between Quantitative easing that US is doing? Isn't it the same thing. I said, QE occurs when interest rates have bottomed out. Secondly, if we do not curtail our expenses, our Debt to GDP ratio will balloon like PIGS. He asked what are PIGS, I said, Portugal, Italy, Greece and Spain, the southern peripheral countries of Eurozone.

Mr. Wajid Rana, then asked what is the reason for circular debt? I replied, that circular debt emanated due to the high cost of electricity production, as we have energy mix skewed in favor of thermal production. Line losses magnify, due to high cost of production, the government has to dole out subsidies that are both inefficient and ineffective. He said, No, this is not the right answer. I then said, that circular debt is also due to the choking of credit lines of banks. He again said, you are not zeroing down on the problem. Finally, I said Circular debt was due to the non recovery of dues from customers. He said,yes now you have nailed it.

Shewww....thank god Wajid Rana was done. But he had one more question. he said, that the power is moving from pole to pole, explain? I said, yes sir, the global economic and military balance is shifting towards the eastern hemisphere. The phenomenal rise of China is testament that pax americana has ended. China has a nominal GDP of 8 trillion dollars with 7 - 8 percent growth China is expected to overtake US as the biggest economy. I further added that CHina is entering into multi lateral trade pacts like Free economic Zone to counter Trans pacific trade agreement of US. Moreover, China has established New development bank and Asian investment and infrastructure bank to counter IMF and World bank.

Finally, came Lehri sahib,

he asked about OPEC and it's decision of not cutting oil prices. I replied, OPEC is a cartel but Saudi Arabia wanted to defend it's market share against the shale gas producer of US. Moreover, It is also perceived as a geostrategic and geo political move to hurt the economic interests of Russia and Iran. Whereas Iran has sponsored proxies in Iraq, Syria and Lebanon, the Saudis are apprehensive. Since, they have cheap cost of production, they act as a swing producer. This is the reason why oil markets are glutted and prices are falling.

Lehri sahib, asked another question. He asked, Do you agree with China's president visit to Pakistan on 23 March. I said, yes sir. This is a good move, we will show this to our enemies namely India and Taliban proxies that indeed, we have the support of a growing power. This will thwart India's ambitions in the Indian Ocean. Somewhere, I said that I am a huge fan of Gen. Raheel Sharif. Wajid rana sahib asked, How? I said, this is because he has taken the war to the terrorists and reinforced the concept of army being a force in being.

Lastly, he asked me about my choice of books. He asked why I have chosen German and French classics. I replied, I chose French because of their aesthetics and german due to rationality.

The interview lasted for 30 minutes. It was a fast paced affair. The rest is upto god, I tried my best.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to daniyalahmed For This Useful Post:
Antalpur (Monday, March 30, 2015), Artemis (Friday, February 27, 2015), bilalrhd (Tuesday, March 10, 2015), Davidd (Friday, June 05, 2015), DrMFK (Saturday, June 27, 2015), Fahad M Mirza (Friday, February 27, 2015), imranazeem (Tuesday, March 03, 2015), RMKamran (Thursday, March 05, 2015), Sand26 (Tuesday, May 05, 2015), waqas izhar (Wednesday, March 04, 2015)
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 140

Fahad M Mirza is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by daniyalahmed View Post
My interview was conducted on 4th Feb. 2015. I was a bit petrified since the panel can ask any question under the sun. I was the first interviewee on that date. I am not a very ambitious person. Moreover, for me allocation is more important than securing a top notch group. This paradigm may be construed as defensive, however, on another level it can also be judged as realistic......

.........The interview lasted for 30 minutes. It was a fast paced affair. The rest is upto god, I tried my best.

@daniyalahmed

So far the best interview I have came across... Best responses, like coming out of a movie scene... InshAllah your allocation is confirmed in one of the top three, as far as my knowledge and idea is concerned... Best regards and prayers...

imbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of light

:@daniyalahmed
can you please share the essay of Aitezaz ahsan about the democracy
43rd CTP (PCS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 57

useyour name is on a distinguished road

My interview was conducted on 4th Feb. 2015. I was a bit petrified since the panel can ask any question under the sun. I was the first interviewee on that date. I am not a very ambitious person. Moreover, for me allocation is more important than securing a top notch group. This paradigm may be construed as defensive, however, on another level it can also be judged as realistic.

The interview lasted for 30 minutes. It was a fast paced affair. The rest is upto god, I tried my best.
You have endeavored till the last moment, which is the most-needed quality; to sustain your momentum, despite exhaustion and situational influences. Good luck to you with your aggregate score and could you please tell as to which optionals you had opted for....Your economics is strong, did you have the bachelors/Ms in that too ??

Wheeler is on a distinguished road

The first question asked by Chairman Sb. It was the same question that was asked in my psychological assessment. The question related to the oil crisis. My response was an elaborate one. I stated that the real problem lies in the circular debt, these ultimately led to the choking of LC lines, default and subsequently bail out by the Finance Ministry. Furthermore, the non payment of dues were exacerbated as oil prices during the last decade hovered around record levels. This in context of our high production costs resulted in subsidies, late payment further aggravated the demand - supply dynamics. The next question asked by chairman sb was, what are your priorities.

The interview then went to the court of Ms. Batool. She asked a question regarding democracy being the best system. I answered, indeed democracy is the best system as history of world is replete with examples where democracy triumphed over autocracy. I mentioned the examples of Athens against Persians. Athen a democratic polity repulsed the onslaught of the mammoth achaeminid king Xerces. Moreover, in World War II democratic world stood against fascism. Therefore, I believe democracy is the only solution.

Her next question was, why democracy has failed in pakistan. I replied, the failure of democracy is in the false interpretation of history. Tragically, we believe our history started with the Arab invasion. However, the thesis presented by Aitezaz Ahsan is apt, our history is deeper. We do not look up to the democratic village life of India, neither we look upon the reign of Harsha Vardhan or Ashoka, whose benevolent rule was directed towards the welfare of the people. This myopic approach has led to a complete alienation from the sublime concept of democracy. She asked another question, which I do not remember.

Then came Wajid Rana sahib. He uttered a couple of statements regarding bureaucrats being pygmies. I disagreed with the statement. My response was that bureaucrats are selected thorough competitive exams, they are trained to perform specialized tasks and they have predefined cadres that provide an opportunity to compartmentalize activities. His another question wasr regarding Bhutto and his Islamization. I replied, that Bhutto was falsely castigated for Islamization, the process had started way before, when Objective resolution was passed. Moreover, Bhutto was a populist leader and he represented the will of the people.

He asked have you read the monetary policy? I replied yes. he asked do you know that the net quarterly borrowing of the government are zero. How do you justify your stance that government is printing money. I replied, Indeed sir, the government has zeroed out the borrowing from the central bank but it is injecting money through OMOs into the financial market. This liquidity is inturn used by the banks to buy T bills and bonds, which in turn is helping a profligate government. He said, then what is the difference between Quantitative easing that US is doing? Isn't it the same thing. I said, QE occurs when interest rates have bottomed out. Secondly, if we do not curtail our expenses, our Debt to GDP ratio will balloon like PIGS. He asked what are PIGS, I said, Portugal, Italy, Greece and Spain, the southern peripheral countries of Eurozone.

Mr. Wajid Rana, then asked what is the reason for circular debt? I replied, that circular debt emanated due to the high cost of electricity production, as we have energy mix skewed in favor of thermal production. Line losses magnify, due to high cost of production, the government has to dole out subsidies that are both inefficient and ineffective. He said, No, this is not the right answer. I then said, that circular debt is also due to the choking of credit lines of banks. He again said, you are not zeroing down on the problem. Finally, I said Circular debt was due to the non recovery of dues from customers. He said,yes now you have nailed it.

Shewww....thank god Wajid Rana was done. But he had one more question. he said, that the power is moving from pole to pole, explain? I said, yes sir, the global economic and military balance is shifting towards the eastern hemisphere. The phenomenal rise of China is testament that pax americana has ended. China has a nominal GDP of 8 trillion dollars with 7 - 8 percent growth China is expected to overtake US as the biggest economy. I further added that CHina is entering into multi lateral trade pacts like Free economic Zone to counter Trans pacific trade agreement of US. Moreover, China has established New development bank and Asian investment and infrastructure bank to counter IMF and World bank.

Finally, came Lehri sahib,

he asked about OPEC and it's decision of not cutting oil prices. I replied, OPEC is a cartel but Saudi Arabia wanted to defend it's market share against the shale gas producer of US. Moreover, It is also perceived as a geostrategic and geo political move to hurt the economic interests of Russia and Iran. Whereas Iran has sponsored proxies in Iraq, Syria and Lebanon, the Saudis are apprehensive. Since, they have cheap cost of production, they act as a swing producer. This is the reason why oil markets are glutted and prices are falling.

Lehri sahib, asked another question. He asked, Do you agree with China's president visit to Pakistan on 23 March. I said, yes sir. This is a good move, we will show this to our enemies namely India and Taliban proxies that indeed, we have the support of a growing power. This will thwart India's ambitions in the Indian Ocean. Somewhere, I said that I am a huge fan of Gen. Raheel Sharif. Wajid rana sahib asked, How? I said, this is because he has taken the war to the terrorists and reinforced the concept of army being a force in being.

Lastly, he asked me about my choice of books. He asked why I have chosen German and French classics. I replied, I chose French because of their aesthetics and german due to rationality.

Let me Congratulate on securing one of the top positions, in advance. I have no doubt whatsoever that you will score above 220 God Willing. Your responses are a cut above others'.The interviews shared before your's were mostly immature and simplistic,whereas your interview stands out in terms of its qualitative analysis,maturity of thought and rational approach.

You will top the interview for sure!
Old Tuesday, March 03, 2015

zaindy is on a distinguished road

Daniyal Ahmed, I have the same question as an earlier poster. What are your educational qualifications? It seems you have a background in finance or business. It seems that anyone who clears the written exams should not take the interview lightly. In fact, it is perhaps more difficult than passing the written exam. Well done to Daniyal for the quality of his answers. I cannot imagine him not attaining the top most category of those who who will be allocated.
Old Tuesday, March 03, 2015

Wheeler is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by zaindy View Post
Daniyal Ahmed, I have the same question as an earlier poster. What are your educational qualifications? It seems you have a background in finance or business. It seems that anyone who clears the written exams should not take the interview lightly. In fact, it is perhaps more difficult than passing the written exam. Well done to Daniyal for the quality of his answers. I cannot imagine him not attaining the top most category of those who who will be allocated.
He has done MBA.He was asked about finance and economics because that was his field.I don't think a doctor or an MA English would have been asked technical questions from the fields of finance and economics.
Old Wednesday, March 04, 2015
43rd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 27

daniyalahmed is on a distinguished road

I don't think the panel customizes questions according to your background. However, I do believe that they are not testing your knowledge. They are trying to gauge your ability to handle pressure. I'm an ordinary MBA and nothing special.

Please pray for me, as there is many a slip between cup and lip.
Old Wednesday, March 04, 2015
43rd CTP (PCS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 57

useyour name is on a distinguished road

I don't think the panel customizes questions according to your background. However, I do believe that they are not testing your knowledge. They are trying to gauge your ability to handle pressure. I'm an ordinary MBA and nothing special.

Please pray for me, as there is many a slip between cup and lip.
Best wishes for you and for everyone concerned....I just want to state that the panel does rely heavily on our technical backgrounds and our optionals, with a few exceptions to this generalization. For instance, in your case with your MBA(eco/finance), your optionals like IR and Business Admin, and the kind of interview you narrated. Albeit, there were few candidates who were interviewed ,with less emphasis on their academic background. Having said that, you performed commendably well,and so kudos to you . I wish earnestly may God reward us for the expenditure of our efforts, Inshallah.