07:08 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Interview & Psychological Tests > Medical Tests

Old Wednesday, July 25, 2012

khurram179 is on a distinguished road
Default Senior plz clear me about EYE SIGHT PROBLEM

PROBLEM
My eye sight is weak and if i use glasses it still weak as 6 by 9.
(Chashma lagany k bawajood)
am i eligible to appear in css exam.
Plz make me clear.
Old Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Muhammad Farrukh Javed is on a distinguished road

Dear Seniors Please initiate the concept clarifying thread regarding weak eye sight issue. I ma also suffering from Amlyopia, Eye disease where one eye works perfectly while other doesn't, the weak eye even cant be corrected with glasses. my weak is 6/24 and cant be corrected even with glasses please guide me regarding this issue.
Old Monday, October 08, 2012

arosh will become famous soon enough

Khuram can u send me your glasses number?

amblyopia means lazy eye,this can be corrected in childhood upto7 yearz of age,but gradually brain ignor the lazy eye and takes information from the dominant eye,u concern a good Dr may be there is some hope of good vsion,send me ur correction number of glasses then i am telling u.dnt worry everything vl b ok,InshaAllah

Last edited by Shooting Star; Monday, October 08, 2012 at 09:47 PM. Reason: avoid using netspeak
The Following User Says Thank You to arosh For This Useful Post:
Awais Mugjal (Friday, August 12, 2016)
Old Sunday, October 14, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 11373

Imadafridi is on a distinguished road

A much better option is to use contact lenses as in Amblyopia the eyesight is much weaker in one eye and use of spectacles will not only cause Diplopia (double vision) but also severe headache at times so better go to a good refractionist and start using contacts.
Old Monday, October 15, 2012

imad Bhai thats diplopia in which there is double vision and refractionist cant handle that.A good Optometrist can do that.Amblyopia is something different,in amblyopic eye vision improvement have less chances.If i say Wrong plz Correct me.Thanx
Old Thursday, October 18, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 11373

Arosh my own brother has this problem,initially he used to wear spectacles but difference in refractive power of both eyes resulted in severe headaches so I myself took him to a good refractionist/Optometrist who told him to use contact lenses and since then he hasn't yet developed that same problem.

BTW my own eyesight is weak and I also use contacts and haven't had any problem in the last 8 years or so.

PS you're right in saying that in Amblyopia the vision never improves though with proper consultations and accurate refraction the extent of diplopia and further worsening of eyesight can be stopped somehow.
arosh (Thursday, October 18, 2012)

Imad Bhai,i myself is an eye specialist,,such type of cases come to us daily.If one eye has very good vision and the other eye has very poor vision(But both eyes can improve with refraction),Then the better eye will need less power of glass and the worse eye will need high power glass, By wearing such Type of glasses There is a lrge Difference between two eyes glass powers,and patients feel problems of headache,double vision,and problems n walking especially on Stairs.In such cases we advice contact lenses which is a very good option.But in Amblyopia,,One eye has v.good vision and the other eye has very poor vision(poor eye vision cant be improved with glasses).In such disease The patient did not give attention to the condition as on both eyes open(Bilaterally) he can see wiell,so he become unaware that his one eye vision is so poor.Gradually brain ignores the worse eye,and take informations rom better eye,as a result brain totally rely on one eye.Treatment is possible in early stage by patching therapy,in Which good eye is covered for an hour daily so the atients use worse eye and the worse eye become used to,its a type of exercise,Amblyopia usually occurs in Squint(Deviated eyes).Still i will advise to M.Farrukh to go for abest Doctor,May be there is some chance for improvement,may be patching therapy helps you,so better to consult a Doctor.Best Luck

Arosh are you a doctor or an Optometrist. In my brother's case his eyesight in one eye is 6/60 and in the other 6/24,intially in one eye the vision was 6/6 but with the passage of time it started deteriorating so spectacles were advised but with spectacles the headaches were so severe that contacts were advised and with that he hasn't had any problem till now.I even know a case of Amblyopia where PRK was performed which only reduced the refractive error but never helped in reducing the diplopia.

BTW I'm a surgical resident so don't know the eye stuff that much, ophthalmology is your speciality so you're in a better position.

Muhammad Farrukh Javed is on a distinguished road

Thanks for your Reply, i just wanted to know weather the person having amlyopia is eligible to surpass medical test of CSS or not, As the rules of CSS regarding eye sight criteria are much confusing i am unable to determine my fitness.........I am MTO in NBP and never faced any difficulty in daily life...
Old Friday, October 19, 2012

Farukh bhai go for a best optometrist,May be there is a good chance for improving.