11:21 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > British History

Old Sunday, August 12, 2007
33rd CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSP-2004Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

A.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the roughA.J. is a jewel in the rough

Assalam-o-alaikum!

First of all, Welcome to the CSSForum!

Dekhain, none else can decide k whether u can prepare for CSS in 6 months or not. It all depends on you and JUST YOU. Only u can assess urself and ur ability to study and prepare for an exam.

Your optionals are quite fine.....a majority of candidates opts for one or more of these optionals. The books are as follows:

1. British History : as described in the same thread.

2. Geography:

Geography 1 and 2 by Deblij
Geography by Strahler
Geography of Pakistan by Huma Naz Sethi
Geography by Fazl-e-Karim
Any Geography book for A'Levels

3. Sociology:
Sociology by Horton and Hunt
Sociology by Iqbal Chaudhry (for BA or MA classes in Pakistan)

4. Journalism:
Exploring Journalism by Mirza (naam poora yaad nahi abhi)
Mass Communication by Imtiaz Shahid

Also explore this forum...u will get all the information abt exams and books...use the "search" option given at the top of each page....then post any query u have in ur mind !

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.
Old Wednesday, August 22, 2007
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 54

samighumro is on a distinguished road

dear zaheer salamz,
As you r already requested to share the notes of tauseef haider for british history on this forum so i'm also requesting u to share those notes which would be beneficail for students who r willing to take this subject.
The Following User Says Thank You to samighumro For This Useful Post:
Abid khan Achakzai (Wednesday, October 23, 2013)
Old Thursday, October 04, 2007

Location: Jhang my Birth Place, Multan & Lahore My Study Places, Now in Dubai doing Job
Tipu Shah is on a distinguished road

AA,

I m worried about the British History, i opt this subject and my half preperation is almost complete. But in the result of 2007, i view as many results of British History, i find numbers below 110. plz tell me that this is well scoring and any body knows about anyone who got 140 plus marks in this subjects plz plz plz, i m worry. plz
Old Tuesday, October 09, 2007

KHAN AMMAR ALI KHAN is on a distinguished road

By the grace of Allah, i have passed the written test this year. Last year i scord 143 marks in British history, but i couldn't pass essay, but i did it this time. i will suggest some books which i read in order to prepare my own notes: (remember one thing: when u read thoroughly 4 or 5 very good books, u will not only achieve very good marks in subjective type but u can ans as many as 18 objective types. it happens to me)
so the books are:
1. History of England by P C. Thomas (U can get the copy of it from Quaid e Azam Library)
2. Mastering British History by Norman Lowe for GCSE (available in the market at a good book store)
3. British History by Bridshall Vaults
4. History of England and the Common Wealth by Walter P. Hall (it is not available in Pakistan. last edition was 1965, but u can get a copy of it from me, if u r in lahore. call me at 03004630544.) it is the key book and can make a difference b/w u and the other candidates.
Note: Do not rely over Qayyum, it is just a geggibnner's guide.

Best of luck
junaid tayyab (Saturday, August 02, 2008), omermak (Friday, August 27, 2010)
Old Friday, June 20, 2008

Ambitious is on a distinguished road
Default Need ur Help..

Hi Ammar,

Hope u r doing gr8...!

I m from Isb n wanted to have a copy of the book. Can u plz suggest me that how i may able to have one.

May God bless us...
Old Monday, August 25, 2008
38th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 187

salman sial is on a distinguished road

British history is easy to cover bcz it goes like a simple story.i think the candidates who are chosing this subject must follow British History by Sheikh Qayyum.it helps alot.
Old Wednesday, September 10, 2008

eshal is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by A.J.
Assalam-o-alaikum!

I would suggest you to follow the following 2 books for British History:

1. British History by THOMAS (only found with Old-book sellers)
2. Modern British History by NORMAN LOWE.

These 2 books are very comprehensive for the 2 papers of British History.
No need to go for any 3rd option.

ALLAH HAFIZ!
A.J.

i just want to opt fine combination of subjects which are high marks scoring. the subjects which i m thinking to opt are:
political science
sociology
constitutional law
b history
indo-pak history
international law
ab in mai se i ve to select subjects of total 600 marks but vent any idea for which combination should i go for???????????
plz help me out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to eshal For This Useful Post:
AmBrosiaL EloQuence (Wednesday, September 10, 2008)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

AmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enoughAmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enough

yeah ammar with due respect.. the high -fi boox u mentioned are absolutely fine.. i ve gone through each one of em...
and after going through em i realized that they r fit for some Phd aspirant ... for a css one john thorne.. vd mahajan and shekikh qayyum work best cuz they let u relax and give u point to point relief... plus enuff knowledge that u can touch 140s.....
ths ma opinion... and an xpereince too1
i studied so hard for it .i do not know ma marks but yes i know atleast 7 ppl who had jus studied form sheikh qayyum and scored 130+
so whatever one may read..history is history. it wont change but the way the narrator xplainz changes...

May Alah be our companion always!
Amna!
The Following User Says Thank You to AmBrosiaL EloQuence For This Useful Post:
Aman Rashid (Tuesday, August 05, 2014)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2010 - 61

A Goof is on a distinguished road
Default my experience of B.history

Amna, u may be right but my experience is otherwise,
i read sheikh qayum word my word not one time but atleast three times and at the end of the day i got only (40+45 marks)
my papers went very well and i knew each and every question (almost) but i dont know why the examiner didnt give me credit (this time in 2008, u can check my marks sheet at www.fpsc.gov.pk and my roll no 1045)

farrukh
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

AmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enoughAmBrosiaL EloQuence will become famous soon enough
Default the book delimma!!

aoa

yes u may b absolutely rite farrukh but .. i think i cud convey m point completely..

i wanted to say that first have a reading of a deatiled simple book.. like john thorne`s a history of england!
to grasp the themeatic approach fully and then in last days sheikh qayyum and jehangir will rock!
i used the terms last days and suggested to undergo a thorugh study first by mentioning "john thore"

Secondly it will be very interesting to know that a freind of mine who was sitting jus next to me was " rtafyin" sheikh qayyum.. and claimed proudly that she had not even touched some oder book for b hisistory except sheik qayyum..
unfortunately sshe didnt pass but she got 103 marks in b history with a toal of 585 i guess
her roll number was 2560 if u wana chk!

any ways i fully respects ur views.... it is the multi-dimensional mechanism of human brains that keep alive the beauty of conversation!

Amna!