11:05 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > History of Pakistan & India

Old Saturday, January 10, 2015

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by arshia22 View Post
Here is my re attempt. Please guide me. I'm worried about Indo Pak very much!

Introduction:

Sher Shah Suri was in fact the nemesis of Akbar’s father: Humayun. Both rulers laid out a sensational era through their various policies and measures, and in many ways Sher Shah’s governmental and administrative policies set the stage for Akbar who also built upon the same measures during his time, even though the premises of adopting the measures were rather different in their reasons.

Division of Empire:Sher Shah divided the empire in to 47 provinces which were called Sarkars, and were further sub divided into Parganas. The supervision of these Sarkars and Parganas was done by qualified personnel known as shiqdar, munsif, judge, military officer, treasurer and accountants. Simultaneously, there also existed a Panchayat for every village to allow settling of local disputes.

In the same way, Akbar adopted this policy of division of the empire and demarcated the empire in to 15 Subahs under the supervision of a Nazim, who was assisted by other subordinates such as an Amil, Faujdar, Patwari etc. As a Sarkar was sub divided into Parganas; a Subah was subdivided into a Sarkar and then a Pargana. Primarily, the division of the empire in this way allowed efficient running of the system, with allocated personnel to oversee the workings and concerns of a particular area. This demonstrates that the tactic employed by Sher Shah with reference to division of the empire was adopted by Akbar as well who realised the convenience of the measure.

Taxation System:

Sher Shah is known for the abolishment of taxes, duties and customs which he considered as restraints to trade. While such measures had their basis in the fact that Sher Shah envisioned a smooth flow of trade in the empire, Akbar implemented the same policy of cancelling out taxes, notably jizya and pilgrimage tax, but with a reason which is perhaps attributed to some other cause. It is believed that Akbar lifted the imposition of such taxes and fines so as to consolidate the empire in a more homogeneous form.
Therefore, where Sher Shah abolished the fines on the basis of trade; Akbar undertook the same measure but with a better reasoning.

Administrative Measures:

Army and administrative systems under Sher Shah and Akbar also bear striking resemblances. Shah established his military force under a faujdar, followed the system of branding, appointed chief Qazis and other ancillary officers.
On the other hand, Akbar took the same position in a more different way. As Edwards & Garrett comment on Akbar being a “a wise administrator”, his skilfulness is shown by the fact that he divided the army into specific factions, arranged the administrative functions of into different departments such as Wazir, Mir Saman, Qazi-ul-Quzzat, Sadr-us-Sadr for the efficient working of the system. The similarities in the type of actions taken by both these extraordinary rulers are noteworthy as it can be seen that as Sher Shah lined up the army into factions and allocated specific functions to different officers; Akbar also carried out the same experiment. Indeed, no wonder both these rulers enjoy their eras being called the epochs of Mughal times.

Religious Policy:

Of the most important policy that Akbar seems to have adopted from Sher Shah is the involving his attitude towards religious minorities. Dr. Qanungo brilliantly puts forth “Sher Shah stands as the ideal of new India- the India of Hindus and Musalmans united in heart and spirit”. Sher Shah was careful that the non-Muslims must be approached with a conciliatory policy rather than a provocative stance. He extended toleration towards Hindus and alike by giving them grants and aids for their purposes such as institutions. Additionally, he also organized public kitchens knows as “langars” for the poor, irrespective of caste and creed. In this regard, The New Britanica 1986 recalls “For the first time during Islamic conquest, the relationship between the people and ruler was systemized, with little oppression or corruption”.
Similarly, Akbar carried forward with the same soft attitude towards other religions. He later ultimately gave to his new found religion called Din-i-Ilahi; that too preached universal love and brotherhood and called for the abolition of caste system. In other words, Akbar took Sher Shah’s policy one step further. While his main reasons are still contested today, in that the real cause of Din I Ilahi stands either as an abomination of Islamic principles, or more devised cleverly as a “an order at once political, philosophical and religious”.

Hence, we might conclude that where Sher Shah only exercised mediocre religious conciliation towards non-Muslims, Akbar was able to implement and execute a socio-religious order in the form of Din I Ilahi which later came to be known as “Akbar’s great idea for the union of all India under one head” according to Col. Malleson.

Analysis:

The policies and measures of Sher Shah and Akbar may be accounted for as being quite similar. Both rulers’ policies bear strikingly resemblances indeed. However, there exists a difference as to the reason and the extent to which they were principally employed. As one observes, Sher Shah’s rule was indeed historic in the sense that his rule can be truly regarded as the precursor to Akbar’s subsequent rule. V.A Smith remarks “If Sher Shah had been spared, the Great Mughals would not have appeared on the stage of the history”. This highlights that Sher Shah’s rule is the starting point where core policies relating to the administration of the Empire were essentially formulated, and that later rulers, Akbar included, deemed them fit for application.

Conclusion:

Sher Shah may be rightly regarded as the fore runner of Akbar with reference to the policies each implemented. This can be attributed to the fact that such measures allowed a smooth and efficient flow of the system, bearing advantages along the way. However, while Sher Shah provided the necessary impetuses; it was Akbar’s skill and execution skills that indeed place him a rank above Sher Shah in the line of Kings.
Why Sher Shah Suri is called forerunner of Akbar? Which policies and measures of Sher Shah Suri were adopted by Akbar?

Question kiya he or kya attempt kar rahe aap???

Please take a look I am going to attempt it..

Introduction

Polices of Shehr Shah

Policies of Akbar

Why Sher Shah is deemed forerunner of Akbar?
prove the statement and here you need to compare their contributions and socioeconomic, political and religious aspects and effects extensively.

Critical Analysis
Here your own opinion, I mean here you need to mention that how Shehr Shah followed the policies of Akbar e.g Mansbardar system, agriculture reformations, and also mention some negative aspects of deen e illahi. Plus, mention their polices like Shehr sha did commendable job in economic aspects unlike akbar and Akbar's polices of darbar and it became ultimate cause of the fragile economy and even it affected during aurangeb's era and its departure commenced. However, support your arguments with your opinions.

Conclusion
In conclusion simply sum up the topic...

I got 77 marks in indopakI in 2013, I followed this strategy, rest other seniors can guide you better. I could not check out your second question because in the first question I am really not satisfied, it would have been much better but you did not follow my said points in my previous post. However, your way of expressions are even more better than mine but you lack in techniques please improve them warna ye apko ledubengi indopak mein ...

Regards:
Old Saturday, January 10, 2015

drfaisal985 is an unknown quantity at this point

ap mujh sy kya pochna chah rhi hain kindly more clear bta dain then i will express u more easily ...

i said that question if u need more stuff on indo pak history then let me know about that..

second question is that i am preparing the test of Assistant Direstor IB so kindly inform me about that if u have something about that ...
Old Sunday, January 11, 2015

arshia22 is on a distinguished road

I think I understand your approach now. I will try to follow it in my answers. Will post some answer scripts and I will highly appreciate your response on them!

is it your second attempt..?

and i also ask u some questions if u plz answer me..?

and now u clearly understand to attempt that paper..?

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by arshia22 View Post
I think I understand your approach now. I will try to follow it in my answers. Will post some answer scripts and I will highly appreciate your response on them!
Is it reply to my approach or drfaisal985? and I think drfaisal985 will better guide you more than I do,, best of luck!

Originally Posted by drfaisal985 View Post
do u have recent papers of indo pak history and articles related that..?
Yes I have the past papers and im putting in time and effort to attempt as much qsts as I can

anything else u wanna ask ??

i can gave u some more suggestions about attempting paper

paper kb hai ap ka..?

How can I improve my answer skills?
What about paper 2?

Actually im not comfortable with headings and sub headings....

I have prepared the following topics for p1:

Arab conquest of Sindh
Mahmud Ghazni
Ghori
Aibak
Iltimush
Balban
Khiljis
Tughluqs
Sayyids and Lodhis
Decline of Sultunate (life during Sultunate also)
Conditions on Babur's arrival
Mughals : Babur, Humayun, Akbar, SJ, Jehangir
Decline of Mughals
Life during Mughals - social cultural economic administration aspects

Is this good enough?

which books are u referring for part I..?

and can i tell u about skills in simple text means in urdu..?

from which academy u prepare for this exams..?