04:59 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > Islamic History & Culture

Old Friday, August 05, 2011

nationservent is on a distinguished road

i have opted Islamic history as well ..... have both books of k Ali and mazhar ul haq .... but literally , K Ali would suitable to read n prepare as mazhar ul haq's book is too much lengthy rather complex i would say ... K Ali z simple .... or some important topics canbe consulted from da later book for comrehensive study ......
Old Friday, August 05, 2011

cateyes is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by nationservent View Post
i have opted Islamic history as well ..... have both books of k Ali and mazhar ul haq .... but literally , K Ali would suitable to read n prepare as mazhar ul haq's book is too much lengthy rather complex i would say ... K Ali z simple .... or some important topics canbe consulted from da later book for comrehensive study ......
well dear i hav read mazahr ali book its v informative.....no doubt k ali is notes type book bt one should hav enough knowledge to write in paper....moreover mazhr haq ki book bilkul story type ha ma nay wo n usi ki islamic history of spain only 15 days ma par li theen coz both books r v intersting n as being muslim its gud to study abt our relegious heros....

for examination point of view evry topic is coverd by khulasa type one cheptr in it.....
Old Tuesday, August 09, 2011

ImranKhanSahir is on a distinguished road
Default Thanks but need a little more

Dear;

As you are well-aware that Islamic history has a span of about 14 complete centuries, so i assume that one book wouldn't be enough for the detailed account of this subject. Please share all of your personal books names that you have for this.
Old Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Fatima47 has a spectacular aura aboutFatima47 has a spectacular aura about

I am preparing notes from the following books:

1. Spirit of Islam by Syed Ameer Ali.
2. A Short History of Saracens by Syed Ameer Ali.
3. History of the Arabs by Philip K. Hitti,

In my opinion, these books are sufficient to help you cover all the topics.

Besides, you can consult the following books in case you dont find either of the above books in any library or market. These are:

A Short History of the Arab Peoples by John Bagot Glubb, The Arabs in History by Bernard Lewis, The Arab Civilization by Joseph Hell.
Old Sunday, August 21, 2011

SalmanJavaid is on a distinguished road

Fatima, are you based in Lahore? I will stand grateful if you can share notes. I am already done reading Hitti's History of the Arabs in its entirety and will be done with S A Ali's A short history of the Saracens shortly.
The Following User Says Thank You to SalmanJavaid For This Useful Post:
Fatima47 (Friday, September 02, 2011)
Old Monday, August 22, 2011

Jamal Malik is on a distinguished road

redmax can you please tell me if the book by Mazhar-ul-Haq is sufficient for the exam point of view?? Or should I stick with the P.K.Hitti book?
Old Monday, August 22, 2011

Jamal Malik is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by cateyes View Post
well dear i hav read mazahr ali book its v informative.....no doubt k ali is notes type book bt one should hav enough knowledge to write in paper....moreover mazhr haq ki book bilkul story type ha ma nay wo n usi ki islamic history of spain only 15 days ma par li theen coz both books r v intersting n as being muslim its gud to study abt our relegious heros....

for examination point of view evry topic is coverd by khulasa type one cheptr in it.....

Kya mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai spain ki islamic history hai ya iski alag book hai?? paper point of view se spain plus african islamic history important hai tou kya ye sab mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai maujood hai????
Old Tuesday, August 23, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 73Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,480 Times in 622 Posts
redmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Jamal Malik View Post
redmax can you please tell me if the book by Mazhar-ul-Haq is sufficient for the exam point of view?? Or should I stick with the P.K.Hitti book?
Originally Posted by Jamal Malik View Post
Kya mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai spain ki islamic history hai ya iski alag book hai?? paper point of view se spain plus african islamic history important hai tou kya ye sab mazhar-ul-haq ki book mai maujood hai????
You should read a separate book for Islamic History & Culture part-II paper. Please treat it as a full subject since it carries 100 marks. There are several books available in the market one that I can recall is titled "Islam in Spain".

Adeel Afzal (Sunday, October 26, 2014)
Old Wednesday, August 31, 2011
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: PMS -  Merti 5

kal3m will become famous soon enoughkal3m will become famous soon enough

Assalam O Alikum
dear friends, as i am a new one on it and its my 1st post on this forum i have decided to appear for css 2012 lot of help is required as i m not preparing through any akadmy just a good friends like you are helping me I have seen the plans posted by Mr. redmax or sheikh sab those are really helpful and the effort is much appreciative. I would like to have suggestions of you guys my optional sbj are
1-Journalism (in B.A I prepared so selected)
2-Arabic
3-Islamic history and culture
4-Muslim law and jurisprudence
last three sbj somehow i read but unfortunately in urdu and of course arabic in arabic including (mutanabbi, dewan e hamasa, and many basic books of grammar and language), but its long time ago although revision will help.
2ndly my weakness to be very very frank i am weak in English either its grammar or vocab. I have no prb preparing last 3 optionals and islamiyat comp but the prb is eng. so if you guys suggest me the best short way to strengthen the grammar as well as vocab i would b thankful to you.
Old Friday, September 02, 2011

Fatima47 has a spectacular aura aboutFatima47 has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by SalmanJavaid View Post
Fatima, are you based in Lahore? I will stand grateful if you can share notes. I am already done reading Hitti's History of the Arabs in its entirety and will be done with S A Ali's A short history of the Saracens shortly.
Sorry for the late reply. Since I am a new member, I keep scouring for various things in this forum. I had kinda forgotten that I posted in this particular thread, Sorry once again.

I live in Rawalpindi, far away from Lahore.

I am still in the process of making my notes and hopefully I'll have my notes completed within a month inshaAllah (thats because my uni classes are going to commence next week as well). Meanwhile, if there is anything you dont find in those books, do let me know. I'll, for sure, try to help you out. I too might ask you for any kind of help.

islamic history, study plan