06:42 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > Islamic History & Culture

Old Wednesday, October 01, 2014
Optimist

Zaheer Qadri will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by advocate habiba View Post
Kindly give me ur email id if u on't mind.
Avoid use of Netspeak. Kindly Read the FORUM RULES & REGULATIONS.
Old Thursday, October 02, 2014
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Originally Posted by advocate habiba View Post
Kindly give me ur email id if u don't mind.
My email is mentioned in my profile ..

Regards ..

Last edited by Stunner; Friday, October 03, 2014 at 06:51 AM.
Old Friday, October 10, 2014

Sania Kahn is on a distinguished road

is Islamic history still scoring?
I Need urgent guidance
Old Saturday, October 11, 2014

usmanwrites is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Sania Kahn View Post
I Need urgent guidance
Yes it certainly is if studied wisely
The Following User Says Thank You to usmanwrites For This Useful Post:
Sania Kahn (Saturday, October 11, 2014)
Old Saturday, October 11, 2014
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Originally Posted by Sania Kahn View Post
I Need urgent guidance
It'll always remain scoring .. IHC just has a certain theme and method, and if you follow that you'll land among those who score well .. In the recent years papers have not been set on mere narration of facts, rather they've been left on analysis of history, history's impact on and comparison with the later-day world and personal articulation of the one attempting it .. Do it all properly and you'll get more than enough marks InshaAllah ..

Regards ..
Old Sunday, October 12, 2014

Waqar Afzal is on a distinguished road

Stunner, I would like to have your answer on following 2 points.

1) It would be very appreciable if you could suggest consulting materials for all the topics included in the syllabus of IHC. It is just such a headache for me. Or if you could not point out in detail then i would like to know at least about Muslim rule in Africa and most of the topics related to second paper. I have couple of books of Mazhar-ul-Haq but still i don't have much information about topics such as Muslim arts, Renaissance and Reformation, Impact of Islam on the west and ottoman caliphate.
Up till Ummayad dynasty i find this subject quite absorbing and interesting but most of the topics in the second paper have been either inaccessible or vapid for me.

2) Could you do a brief comparison for these history subjects of Indo-Pak, British and European? What edge IHC has over other history subjects.

Originally Posted by usmanwrites View Post
Yes it certainly is if studied wisely
Wisely or smartly?

It is way too lengthy and infinite. And when you read questions such as this;

7. Give analytical study of the evolution of Muslim Architecture in Spain with special reference of:

i. The great mosque of Cardova
ii. Qasr-uz-Zahra
iii. Giralda of Seville
iv. Al-Hamra
This!

8. During the colonial period of South Asia how Muslim Intellectuals perceived the different phases of their history in responding to the Western criticism.
And this !

Calligraphy is considered the greatest Muslim art in which they have achieved incomparable success. Give your opinion.
What? Write on calligraphy for 20 marks?

Now it says to me that you have to start from the dawn of Islam and continue till today and note such trivial things such as a palace or a library.

Last edited by Stunner; Sunday, October 12, 2014 at 10:04 AM. Reason: Merged ..
PHILOSOPHER

Originally Posted by Waqar Afzal View Post
Stunner, I would like to have your answer on following 2 points.

1) It would be very appreciable if you could suggest consulting materials for all the topics included in the syllabus of IHC. It is just such a headache for me. Or if you could not point out in detail then i would like to know at least about Muslim rule in Africa and most of the topics related to second paper. I have couple of books of Mazhar-ul-Haq but still i don't have much information about topics such as Muslim arts, Renaissance and Reformation, Impact of Islam on the west and ottoman caliphate.
Up till Ummayad dynasty i find this subject quite absorbing and interesting but most of the topics in the second paper have been either inaccessible or vapid for me.
For civilizations other than Islam you can take help from Google and use a book in Urdu named 'Zia un Nabi' by Peer Karam Shah .. You'll need to translate the text .. For topics from Prophet Muhammad PBUH until Ummayyads and Abbassids you can use Mazhar ul Haq and P.K Hitti .. For Ottomans again take help from Google and book by Suraiiyya Farooqi plus the documentary I have mentioned in the first post of this thread .. For Africa portion use Preaching of Islam by Thomas Arnold which has 2 chapters dealing with the topic .. For Muslims arts Mazhar ul Haq and P.K Hitti mentioned before would do again plus the information from documentary by Bettany Hughes will also help you in topics like Renaissance and Reformation .. And when you've done it all you'll be able to answer the questions like Islamic impact of Islam etc .. For Part 2 Mazhar ul Haq and Dozy will give you enough information to answer any set question ..

2) Could you do a brief comparison for these history subjects of Indo-Pak, British and European? What edge IHC has over other history subjects.
It entirely depends upon the interest of aspirants .. I wanted to know about our past being a Muslim and I opted Islamic History .. All history subjects can yield high marks .. You just have to prepare and attempt properly .. Taking just a word from the question and answering the rote-learned material will result in low marks in any subject .. If you understand the question properly and answer all limbs, you'll do good in any subject .. Example to follow at the bottom of this post ..

Islamic History has an edge that most of us already know some history .. We just need to study it properly for CSS .. Then it also helps in Islamiat paper .. Not a lot but it does help there .. Further, the study of Islamic History gives us knowledge on topics which we ought to know being a Muslim .. It clears many concepts or at least helps you make your own view ..

Wisely or smartly?

It is way too lengthy and infinite. And when you read questions such as this;

7. Give analytical study of the evolution of Muslim Architecture in Spain with special reference of:

i. The great mosque of Cardova
ii. Qasr-uz-Zahra
iii. Giralda of Seville
iv. Al-Hamra
Islamic History is not lengthy or infinite if you prepare only relevant portions .. I have written those portion in earlier posts ..

Now, coming to the question .. It is a simple question and you'll have ample information when when you study the Architecture portion .. You'll just need to explain these 4 architectural masterpieces in a summarized way giving time to each of these .. Use of diagrams and quotes would help a lot to get top marks in such question ..

This!

8. During the colonial period of South Asia how Muslim Intellectuals perceived the different phases of their history in responding to the Western criticism.
This is more like an Indo-Pak history question and you always have a choice to skip one or two such questions .. When I attempted my paper I got a question on Colonial rule in Africa .. Luckily I had watched a documentary on that Italian rule over Africa and answered it properly .. I knew only a handful of students would attempt it and that would leave a good impression on the examiner .. Had I not watched that documentary I too would have skipped that question ..

And this !

Calligraphy is considered the greatest Muslim art in which they have achieved incomparable success. Give your opinion.

What? Write on calligraphy for 20 marks?

Now it says to me that you have to start from the dawn of Islam and continue till today and note such trivial things such as a palace or a library.
This is where I'm going to get you .. You have just taken the word 'Calligraphy' from this question and are worried how to answer a 20 marks question on it .. Bro, its a much broader question than that .. Once you've studied the Calligraphy portion I'm sure you'd love to attempt it .. How .. ? Let's see ..

Iss question ko break karain and answer like this:

1- Introduction to Muslim Calligraphy (What it is and how it started etc)
2- A discussion on whether it is the greatest Muslim art .. ? (Asked in this question)
3- If you take a stance that it is in fact the greatest Muslim art then give examples, quotes and analysis to prove your point ..
4- Examples of some great Calligraphic works around the world at that time and now ..
5- Why the Muslims were that successful in Calligraphy .. ? One of the reasons would be the Quranic text .. A blend of Artistic innovation and Religious sentiment to write beautifully that would catch the eyes of the beholder ..
6- Incomparable success .. (Asked in this question) This is the most important limb of the question where I would have impressed the examiner .. First, did the other nations use Calligraphy .. ? If yes, was it as successful as the Muslim Calligraphy .. ? No .. Here you'd quote examples of Calligraphic works around the world .. Over the walls and ceilings of buildings, palaces etc .. Even the palaces for Christian Kings built by Muslim architects had Muslim Calligraphy inscription .. Even the Mosques now in control of Christian lands and converted to Churches have still Muslim Calligraphy all over them .. Muslim Calligraphy was also be seen on fine silk clothes wore by elite in those times .. Even the Pope at that time is said to have once put on clothes with Muslim Calligraphy over it .. It was a symbol of richness, eliteness and was pretty much in-fashion until even recently ..
7- And lastly he asks for your opinion .. Here you can write what's your point on this question and write that above mentioned examples prove your point ..

Bro .. Muslim Calligraphy per logon ne PHD thesis likh diye hain aur aap 20 marks k question ko attempt karnay ki baat ker rahay hain ..

Feel free to ask if you have any further queries ..

Regards ..

Last edited by Stunner; Sunday, October 12, 2014 at 09:36 AM. Reason: Edited ..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Stunner For This Useful Post:
hafiz mubashar (Sunday, October 12, 2014), Waqar Afzal (Monday, October 13, 2014)

hafiz mubashar is on a distinguished road
Cool

Dear Stunner! I appreciate and revered your work and participation on Islamic History & Culture. After reading and comprehending many a post of you, I have come to the conclusion that I should go with IHC as an optional. I'm not going to ask the questions that the other aspirants have already asked you in the very thread as I have read those prior. But, let me clear a couple of queries hare before finally going with IHC.
1. Would it be a wise decision to leave Arabic and switch to IHC? I'm forced to do so just because the rules for languages have changed a bit for CE-2015 and there is a risk about Arabic. I am hesitated to go with Arabic any more.
2. As I have already read 'Study Of Islamic History' by K. Ali just to find my position whether I can be easy with this subject or not, and the is 'yes'. Yes, I can deal with it judiciously. I also have Peer Karam Shah Azhari's 3 vol. books and first two vol. I read almost two years ago in graduation days. I read them because I was interested in Islamic History and this shows my inborn interest in IH.
After reading all this passionately, what's your answer in brief.
1. Yes to go with IHC or not?
2. If yes, what to do next for me to win laurels in IHC?
PHILOSOPHER

Originally Posted by hafiz mubashar View Post
Dear Stunner! I appreciate and revered your work and participation on Islamic History & Culture. After reading and comprehending many a post of you, I have come to the conclusion that I should go with IHC as an optional. I'm not going to ask the questions that the other aspirants have already asked you in the very thread as I have read those prior. But, let me clear a couple of queries hare before finally going with IHC.
1. Would it be a wise decision to leave Arabic and switch to IHC? I'm forced to do so just because the rules for languages have changed a bit for CE-2015 and there is a risk about Arabic. I am hesitated to go with Arabic any more.
2. As I have already read 'Study Of Islamic History' by K. Ali just to find my position whether I can be easy with this subject or not, and the is 'yes'. Yes, I can deal with it judiciously. I also have Peer Karam Shah Azhari's 3 vol. books and first two vol. I read almost two years ago in graduation days. I read them because I was interested in Islamic History and this shows my inborn interest in IH.
After reading all this passionately, what's your answer in brief.
1. Yes to go with IHC or not?
2. If yes, what to do next for me to win laurels in IHC?
1- If there's a risk then yes, you should replace it with IHC .. At the end only what matters in CSS is the marks gained in different subjects .. I believe one can achieve 140+ marks in IHC with any paper trend ..
2- Just keep the syllabus in front of you and start preparing topic by topic .. Read this thread from the start and if you have any confusion then feel free to ask anything here ..

Best of luck ..

Regards ..
Old Saturday, October 18, 2014

aClockworkTunio is on a distinguished road

Stunner Bro, do you have anything to say about low scores of IHC in 2014. What's your diagnosis? Is IHC the new Indo-Pak or was it just a bad year for the subject?

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S5 using Tapatalk 4 Beta