-   Accounting & Auditing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-i/accounting-auditing/)
-   -   I have opted accounting. Please help me out (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-i/accounting-auditing/32918-i-have-opted-accounting-please-help-me-out.html)

abkhan567 Thursday, April 15, 2010 12:31 AM

I have opted accounting. Please help me out

salam

dear i m new to this forum . i have jst join it. & i will appear in 2011 INSHALLAH
I have dne M.Sc. Accounting & Finance
& have opted accuntncy. so plz help me out
i will be thankful to u

MUHAMMAD ABDULLAH KHAN

Muhammad Ali Awan Wednesday, April 21, 2010 11:38 AM

Dear abkhan,

Welcome to the forum!
Accounting and Auditing is very fruitful optional subject. You can grab maximum marks and usually high nos are scored in this subject. As you have done masters in it, so i would recommend you to choose this subject. Work on the remaining combination.

Best of Luck!

xavier Sunday, April 25, 2010 01:48 AM

[QUOTE=abkhan567;181173]salam

dear i m new to this forum . i have jst join it. & i will appear in 2011 INSHALLAH
I have dne M.Sc. Accounting & Finance
& have opted accuntncy. so plz help me out
i will be thankful to u

MUHAMMAD ABDULLAH KHAN[/QUOTE]

Dear i have also opted Accounts and Auditing, as M.Ali defined that this is very scoring subject so it must be opted.Go through following topics carefully:

Double Entry
Income Statement
Balance Sheet
Some basic Cost Accounting
Audit(basic concepts)
Taxation(Basic)

Raz Sunday, April 25, 2010 02:31 AM

[QUOTE=xavier;182836]Dear i have also opted Accounts and Auditing, as M.Ali defined that this is very scoring subject so it must be opted.Go through following topics carefully:

Double Entry
Income Statement
Balance Sheet
Some basic Cost Accounting
Audit(basic concepts)
Taxation(Basic)[/QUOTE]

[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]These topics are not enough to handle this paper. Broaden your list and include: Ratio analysis, Partnership, Cash Budget, Income and Expenditure Account, Receipt and Payment Account.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4] [/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Cost Accounting: COGM Statement, Standard Costing (Variance Analysis), Process Costing (Equivalent Product calculation), Job order costing.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Auditing: Specimen of various audit reports (Qualified, unqualified, disclaimer), difference among various audits (like final audit, interim audit, financial audit, internal audit, external audit, special audit, statutory audit, and annual audit etc.), and Auditing steps/procedure for inventory/stock, HR, fixed assets, investments, and cash. Role and responsibilities of an auditor specially in detecting frauds.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Taxation: Calculation of tax liability of salaried person, various definitions of first chapter of ITO, various income heads and their ingredients, income tax authorities hierarchy and complaint chain.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Business Organization: Difference and merits & demerits of sole proprietorship, partnership, and joint stock company. Their formation, incorporation and commencement procedures. Advantages and disadvantages of registered and un-registered firm. Importance of MOA and AOA, rules for changes in MOA and AOA. Business Combinations, and amalgamation. Cooperative societies etc.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]

DEADLYDOCTOR Sunday, April 25, 2010 03:11 AM

@ raz
you are right. but don't you think those who opt accountancy in css ,have rare chances of getting proper guidance.
lack of proper guidance and weak grip over this subject has made it low scoring or is it really difficult to score well in it?
or is it that they take it as too easy ?

Raz Sunday, April 25, 2010 03:46 AM

[QUOTE=DEADLYDOCTOR;182848]@ raz
you are right. but don't you think those who opt accountancy in css ,have rare chances of getting proper guidance.
lack of proper guidance and weak grip over this subject has made it low scoring or is it really difficult to score well in it?
or is it that they take it as too easy ?[/QUOTE]

[FONT=Calibri][SIZE=4][FONT=Times New Roman]Lack of proper guidance and lack of practice of problems cause low score in this paper. This paper is highly scoring subject to proper guidance and reasonable practice. Normally one can easily score 140 + marks with an average effort. Best effort brings 170+ marks.[/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][SIZE=4][FONT=Times New Roman][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][SIZE=4][FONT=Times New Roman]For your understanding: Best effort in Indo-Pak fetches 140+ and average effort in Accountancy fetches 140+ marks. Poor attempt in accountancy brings 110+ marks while good attempt in Indo-Pak brings 110 to 120 marks. See the difference.[/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4][/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]

DEADLYDOCTOR Sunday, April 25, 2010 04:21 AM

@ raz
let me put it another way
one has a background of accountancy.now one wants to opt it in css.what should one do from beginning?where to get proper guidance?what re the factors which may lead to low scoring.if one can get 170+,what should he do ?

Raz Sunday, April 25, 2010 04:26 AM

[QUOTE=DEADLYDOCTOR;182858]@ raz
let me put it another way
one has a background of accountancy.now one wants to opt it in css.what should one do from beginning?where to get proper guidance?what re the factors which may lead to low scoring.if one can get 170+,what should he do ?[/QUOTE]

[COLOR=black][FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Practice the topics which I have mentioned in my earlier post. I assure you, person having grip over these topics can easily score around 170 in accountancy. Go through past papers and collect concepts from these papers. Prepare a list of around 30 important concepts and definitions for paper-1 so that compulsory question of short definitions can easily be attempted. [/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=black][FONT=Verdana][/FONT][/COLOR]

xavier Sunday, April 25, 2010 05:02 PM

[QUOTE=Raz;182843][FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]These topics are not enough to handle this paper. Broaden your list and include: Ratio analysis, Partnership, Cash Budget, Income and Expenditure Account, Receipt and Payment Account.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Cost Accounting: COGM Statement, Standard Costing (Variance Analysis), Process Costing (Equivalent Product calculation), Job order costing.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Auditing: Specimen of various audit reports (Qualified, unqualified, disclaimer), difference among various audits (like final audit, interim audit, financial audit, internal audit, external audit, special audit, statutory audit, and annual audit etc.), and Auditing steps/procedure for inventory/stock, HR, fixed assets, investments, and cash. Role and responsibilities of an auditor specially in detecting frauds.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Taxation: Calculation of tax liability of salaried person, various definitions of first chapter of ITO, various income heads and their ingredients, income tax authorities hierarchy and complaint chain.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT]
[FONT=Calibri][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=4]Business Organization: Difference and merits & demerits of sole proprietorship, partnership, and joint stock company. Their formation, incorporation and commencement procedures. Advantages and disadvantages of registered and un-registered firm. Importance of MOA and AOA, rules for changes in MOA and AOA. Business Combinations, and amalgamation. Cooperative societies etc.[/SIZE][/FONT][/FONT][/QUOTE]

Dear thanks for the valuable reply, just i forgot to add other topics which you mentioned, I am ACCA Professional so i did many of them and have a strong grip over these topics, but i want your opinion on book selection for TAXATION, kindly advise me which book will be helpful.

Raz Sunday, April 25, 2010 05:30 PM

[QUOTE=xavier;182922]Dear thanks for the valuable reply, just i forgot to add other topics which you mentioned, I am ACCA Professional so i did many of them and have a strong grip over these topics, but i want your opinion on book selection for [B]TAXATION,[/B] kindly advise me which book will be helpful.[/QUOTE]

Income Tax by Muhammad Moazam Mughal

Go through following links:

[URL]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/120047-post58.html[/URL]

[URL]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/120054-post59.html[/URL]

05:16 PM (GMT +5)