07:26 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Arabic

Old Wednesday, September 28, 2011
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: PMS -  Merti 5

kal3m will become famous soon enoughkal3m will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by usman khalid View Post
If these notes are those compiled by Sir Hafiz Arshad, then there is no doubt in their authenticity because most of the candidates use these notes for preparation. There are both complementary English & Urdu versions of the notes. Both these versions should be combined along with Ahmad Hassan Ziat's book for preparation leading to 150+ score.
I have the notes of Hafiz sab, history part in english of different eras, poetry of Hassan R.A, Imra ul qais and zuhair bin abi salma, these are the same notes usman brother? I mean u said that they are in urdu and english both but i have a single copy, part in eng,urdu and arabic
Old Wednesday, September 28, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by kal3m View Post
I have the notes of Hafiz sab, history part in english of different eras, poetry of Hassan R.A, Imra ul qais and zuhair bin abi salma, these are the same notes usman brother? I mean u said that they are in urdu and english both but i have a single copy, part in eng,urdu and arabic
Yes brother, you have the right notes. However, Hafiz sb wrote some fresh notes on Arabic History and Personalities etc. I didn't consult these fresh notes but recently I came across these and found it quite beneficial. Although, these may not be absolutely compulsory for preparation, yet If you can get a copy of these from somewhere, it may really help you get even better score.
Old Thursday, September 29, 2011

Yousafzaii is on a distinguished road

Yes brother, you have the right notes. However, Hafiz sb wrote some fresh notes on Arabic History and Personalities etc. I didn't consult these fresh notes but recently I came across these and found it quite beneficial. Although, these may not be absolutely compulsory for preparation, yet If you can get a copy of these from somewhere, it may really help you get even better score.
Usman can u plz tell me how and from where i could get a copy of these notes...
Old Friday, September 30, 2011
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 180

elina is on a distinguished road

@usman khalid
i am facing difficulty in short notes m much worried about that.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by Yousafzaii View Post
Usman can u plz tell me how and from where i could get a copy of these notes...
These notes are available in Lahore and some other cities. If you want a copy of notes you may contact the owner of notes; Hafiz Arshad Sb. He may guide you from where to get these notes in your area.

Originally Posted by elina View Post
@usman khalid
i am facing difficulty in short notes m much worried about that.
If one knows basic arabic grammar and vocabulary, short questions are not a big deal. Even if you don't know much arabic grammar, you may memorize the questions. Very often, questions in the paper repeat from previous years. You should note the basic methodology of attempting these question like sentence structure. For example, if you are asked about some personality, there are lot of common words which may used.

Question: What do you know about Taha Hussain, Briefly write about him.

English: Taha Hussain was a poet. He was born in Egypt. He was a critic and wrote many books.
Arabic: kaana taha hussain naaqidan. wulida huwa fi misar wa kataba kutubun kasiratun.

English: Zuhair was a poet. He was born in Arab.
Arabic: kaana zuhair shairan. wulida huwa fi arab.

Note the sentence structure, it reamins the same you only have to change the subject ect. Similarly, many other similar combination of words may be used for most of the questions.
The Following User Says Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
Yousafzaii (Friday, September 30, 2011)

Yousafzaii is on a distinguished road

If one knows basic arabic grammar and vocabulary, short questions are not a big deal. Even if you don't know much arabic grammar, you may memorize the questions. Very often, questions in the paper repeat from previous years. You should note the basic methodology of attempting these question like sentence structure. For example, if you are asked about some personality, there are lot of common words which may used.
Usman bhai there are i think 35 short questions in Hafiz sb notes so are they enough for ppr if we memorise them like would it make us able to attempt the short questions portion...??

plus my second Questionn.. is there any other source/way to get maximum mcq's correct in both papers, apart from notes...

Originally Posted by Yousafzaii View Post
Usman bhai there are i think 35 short questions in Hafiz sb notes so are they enough for ppr if we memorise them like would it make us able to attempt the short questions portion...??

plus my second Questionn.. is there any other source/way to get maximum mcq's correct in both papers, apart from notes...
Brother, Although there is no gurantee that these short questions will suffice the purpose, yet by memorizing all of those you enhance your chances of doing well in the paper. It has been seen that almost 50%-70% portion of short questions repeat from previous papers. Also, sometimes even if a short question is not asked exactly the way it has been given in notes, it may be variant of those questions given in the notes. Therefore, memorizing all those question surely benefits in attemping this portion. Another important thing is that one should try to understand the meaning of the question, if meaning is understood and one knows to write basic arabic (which can be learnt from the solution of short questions give by Hafiz sb), one may easily answer the question from the material he has studied while preparation of Arabic.

Comprehensive study along with solution of past year mcqs is key to getting maximum mcqs correct. The mcqs given in Hafiz Sb notes have been taken from past papers most of which usually repeat every year. However, if one has studied the Ahmad Hassan Ziat's book along with notes, one has high probability of getting maximum mcqs correct. Do memorize the names of the books and their authors because most part of mcqs consist of such questions.
Yousafzaii (Friday, September 30, 2011)
Old Tuesday, October 04, 2011

saba mehmood will become famous soon enough
Default Usman khalid

Arabic me potry ko solve kerny ka method kia h.plz help me .

Question=kisi verse ki translation to obviously exact 1 ya two line me hi hoti h ,but wht about explanation(tashrih) hafiz sahib k notes me to sirf two line ki explanation h.

Question 2= is question ko slove kerty hoy writer ka name bhi likhna h? aor writer k mutaliq bhi likhna h like ager zaheer bin salma ki poetry ati h to in k bary me likhna h means in ki poetry k aor halat e zindagi k bary me.?

Aor css forum pe hi mujhy azad book depot ki book leny ko kaha tha jo k bohta achi h I am very thankful to that man who suggested me but poetry wala part us me english me h aor me urdu me kerna cahti hon ,to koi book poetry ki jo urdu me ho aor sari syllabus ko cover ker day.

Question 3=poetry part solve kerty haoy translation aor explanation k alawa kahi wo kisi bhi word k nichy underline ker ky us ki explanation poch skty hain ?ager yes to is ki preperation kaha se kerni h/
with regards
Old Tuesday, October 04, 2011

@saba mehmood

You are only required to translate the passage. No need to do tashrih (explanation). Usually in one passage you are also asked about the grammatical nature/explanation of underlined words.
The method to solve the poetry question should be as follows:

1. First, write reference to the context: i.e from where the given passage has been taken and what is the name of the poet (It should take one or two lines only).
2. Now, briefly explain the central idea of the passage in 2 or 3 lines. (Some times this may be asked but even if it is not asked you should write it).
3. After this, translate the passage line by line as done in Hafiz sb notes.

Now if you are asked to explain meanings/grammatical nature of underlined words, do it. If not asked you don't need to do any thing more. Your question is complete.

I don't think you need any book for poetry section. Notes of Hafiz sb are more than sufficient for Poetry questions.

You need to explain the grammatical nature of underlined words. i.e whether the given word is subject, verb, object or noun etc. e.g if it is a subject, you need to write in the following manner: wahad muzakar ghaib or jama mutkalam or tasnia monas hazir etc... you need to know arabic 'gardaan' for this. Similary words may be 'ismaain zaman', 'ismain makaan', 'murakab e izafi', 'murakab e tousifi'. Hafiz sb notes contains a section on grammar and he has also explained all such words in his notes.
saba mehmood (Tuesday, October 04, 2011)