01:14 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group I > Computer Science

Old Friday, April 01, 2005

Hamid is on a distinguished road
Default Rabia Khan(CS)

Hi,
Can u suggest me the books for computer Science
Thanx in Advance
AH
Old Saturday, April 02, 2005

Jawaria is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Re:computer Science

ASSALAMOALIKUM,
HOPE U AND EVERYBODY IS FINE BY GOD'S GRACE. WELL FRIEND, IF U'VE DONE BCS OR BIT THEN THE BASIC COURSE BOOKS WOULD BE HELPFUL.SINCE IT'S OUTLINE IS VAST COVERING MANY BRANCHES.SO IF U'VE PREVIOUS SOLID BACKGROUND IN IT ,THEN SELECT IT AS OPTIONAL ELSE AVOID IT, BECAUSE U CAN'T JUST PREPARE IT FULLY WITH ONLY 2 BOOKS.FOR OPERATING SYSTEM U NEED ONE BASIC BCS COURSE BOOK LIKE;"OPERATING SYSTEMS DESIGN AND IMPLEMENTATION BY ANDREW S.TANENBAUM AND ALBERT S.WOODHULL", LIKE WISE FOR COMPUTER ARCHITECTURE U CAN USE WILLIAM STALLING'S BOOK.THEN FOR COMPUTER NETWORKS TOO A BOOK BY WILLIAM STALLINGS.FOR COMPUTER GRAPHICS BY DONALD HEARN AND M.PAULINE.IN SHORT U NEED TO TAKE ONE BOOK FOR EACH SECTION.AND U KNOW THAT OUTLINE COVERS______ COMPUTER ARCHITECTURE,OPERATING SYSTEM, PROGRAMMING,DATA STRUCTURE,MULTIMEDIA,DATABASE,GRAPHICS AND NETWORKS .SO IT WILL BE DIFFICULT FOR ONE WHO HAS NO PREVIOUS SOLID BACK GROUND OF CS.BUT IF U'VE THEN JUST PREPARE BASIC CONCEPTS FROM MAIN BOOKS.
BUT REALLY IT'S SO CRUEL THAT ALTHOUGH IN CSS COMPUTER OUTLINE IS SO ENORMOUS THAT IT COVERS WHOLE BCS COURSE, BUT ONLY FOR 100 MARKS NOT 200.HOPE THIS WILL HELP U A BIT!,
TAKE CARE,
GOOD LUCK TO ALL,
KEEP SMILING,
ALLAH HAFIZ,
JAWARIA_________ A CSS ASPIRANT

Last edited by Argus; Saturday, April 02, 2005 at 03:46 PM.
Old Saturday, April 02, 2005

A Soul is on a distinguished road
Default CS course is really lengthy

Hi All,
It's Very True That Cs Course Is Too Much Length & Only It Can Be Covered If One Has A Cs Background As Javeria Said That It Covers Different Branches Of Cs For Example Data Strucutre, Programming, Networking Etc.......
So If U Have Cs Background Then Opt This Otherwise Leave That. It's Not Just Basic Concept Of Computer Science ......

Check For The Syllabus If U Can Cover That Then U Should Opt This
Wish U Best Of Luck
Allah Hafiz
Old Saturday, November 19, 2005

Umar Hayat is on a distinguished road

Suggestions for computer science subject[U]
Assalam-o-Alaikum,
I m writing this for all the aspirants of computer science subject in CSS. I would like to tell u that I have my masters in computer science and currently studying in Ph.D in this subject and also an aspirant of CSS. But i want to tell u that even having strong background in this subject, I am not going to opt it bcoz of the following reasons.

1- Paper contains three sections, and each section in the course outline constitutes three to four areas(branches) of computer science. So, it means u cannot omit any area while studying this subject if u want to prepare all the sections.

2- If we have a look upon its course, it seems to be of 300 marks(in comparison with other subjects) but it weighs only 100 marks.

3- In previous papers, we see that some sort of algorithms and programs in C (from the areas of Data structures, algorithms and programming)can be asked to design on the spot, which is difficult to handle as in real world we can check its errors on computer but in paper its not easy.

4- It takes time to cover it according to paper style(as candidate has to write theory)

5- Last but no least, If u have lesser time and have a sound background knowledge in this subject, do opt it (as it can give u marks near 60 upon the basis of ur previous knowledge), but on the other hand if u demand more score it will require hard job to prepare.
Old Sunday, November 27, 2005

Nida Gul is on a distinguished road

dear fellows,
i want to sharing something about CS, this is really long time required subject for preparation .if u don’t have BCS background so im kindly suggest u chose anther subject, but if u until don’t want to change it so let me know u about some books for CS,

Most of question coming from following topics of CS.
• Data structures
• Operating systems
• Basic information technology books usually called BIT (for LAN, WAN, MAn settings)
• opps( object oriented programming)
• RDBMS (relational data base management system)
• computer graphics

Dear remember Computer sin is not one subject it cove one bachelor degree
and in the paper every question not come from one subject at lest but usually one question from one subject and other one come from other subject
Like for example:

(b) How can the number of strongly connected components of a graph change if a new edge is added? ( computer graphics)

5-(a) Differentiate between Object Oriented Programming and Procedural Programming. Also explain the concept of Abstraction in OOP. (OPP)
Old Monday, November 28, 2005

nazia niazi is on a distinguished road

asalamo-alikum
Umar Hayat! i need help.i have done MCS and now i m applying 4 the job of Lecturer ship in computer science(17 scale)wat shuld i do? books etc?
i dont have idea abt this type of exams.can u help me. also have plan to do PHD in computer science.

Allah hafiz

N@zi@ Ni@zi.
Old Friday, December 02, 2005
34th Commons (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Account and Audit

Nauman will become famous soon enoughNauman will become famous soon enough

aoa! i m nauman and have done BE software from NUST. I opted for CS in 2005 and have passed Alhamdolillah. Anyone in need of any guidance may contact me.

chnaumanzafar@hotmail.com
Old Sunday, December 04, 2005

raoasif_83 is on a distinguished road

WA alaikum Salam!
Yar I have been graduated recently from NUST as Aeronautical Engineer. So I m also a "NUSTIAN". These days doing job. I have already started preparing 4 css, as i will b appearing in 2006. Its really rejoicing to see somebody NUSTIAN clearing written phase of CSS. Yar I need ur kind attention and help, gimme ur cell no. Plz & do reply also.
Old Thursday, September 14, 2006

sherlee is on a distinguished road

My dear fellows,
aslam o alaikum,

CS for CSS is the only subject which is too lenghty but a person with sound background for CS is must.Also want to mention,programming languages are all same in logic ,and datacom and software engineeringa are two topics whcih need a clear idea abt it,u can read any slides and can go for it.Architecture and Datastructures are little tough,but mind u that only understanding,not learning is must for it.Computer grahpihcs is infact the mixture of Datastructure & Programing.
and I know a person if do this he/she will get more marks than 60 INSHALLAH.

thanx

SherNawaz Gul

"ALLAH HAFIZ"
BEST OF LUCK
"impossible word is absent in my dictionary."