04:28 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group I > Economics

Old Tuesday, August 18, 2015

shtanzeel will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by khar View Post
plz tell me about economics paper for 200 marks for 2016 attempt i am engineering graduated student plz tell me it will easy for me to prepare and will give me high score...i also did not studied political science and international reltion ..i will option must one 200 marks paper amongs these three subject guide me in a right direction...
Each subject has its own vocabulary. Though paper two is easy. Paper one is technical and i wont advise you because of graphs, mathematics, multiplier related questions. Political science would be easy for you. However its outline has been stretched beyond reasonable limits.. still if you want to opt (here i assume you target 130 + which also mean conceptual clarity) you need tuition definitely and time also. If grasping all about economics was possible in few months people would never have wasted studying for years.

Sent from my SM-G531H using Tapatalk
Old Sunday, January 17, 2016

Mig23 is on a distinguished road

I am thinking to opt Economics for my CE-2017. I am reading from the following books:

1. Principles of Economics by: Nicholas Gregory Mankiw
2. Intermediate Microeconomics By: Hal Ronald Varian
3. Micreconomic Analysis By: Hal Ronald Varian
4. Advanced Ecnomic Theory By: H.L.Ahuja

Also Consulting from Pyndick, Parkin, Case-Fair-Oster.
Hal Varian is the best book to study Microeconomics in depth.

I have not started paper-II preparation yet but I am thinking to start it with the books of Akber Zaidi. The Economy of Pakistan.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mig23 For This Useful Post:
RanaRajpoot (Thursday, September 15, 2016)
Old Friday, January 22, 2016

shtanzeel will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Mig23 View Post
I am thinking to opt Economics for my CE-2017. I am reading from the following books:

1. Principles of Economics by: Nicholas Gregory Mankiw
2. Intermediate Microeconomics By: Hal Ronald Varian
3. Micreconomic Analysis By: Hal Ronald Varian
4. Advanced Ecnomic Theory By: H.L.Ahuja

Also Consulting from Pyndick, Parkin, Case-Fair-Oster.
Hal Varian is the best book to study Microeconomics in depth.

I have not started paper-II preparation yet but I am thinking to start it with the books of Akber Zaidi. The Economy of Pakistan.
The analysis book of varian is advanced book. Intermediate micro will suffice. Ruchard T froyen is a beautiful book for macro portion with mankiv.
But akbar zaidi is a big No owing to totally outdated data. Google every topic and make independent notes for paper two.

Old Thursday, January 28, 2016

Originally Posted by shtanzeel View Post
The analysis book of varian is advanced book. Intermediate micro will suffice. Ruchard T froyen is a beautiful book for macro portion with mankiv.
But akbar zaidi is a big No owing to totally outdated data. Google every topic and make independent notes for paper two.

Yes agree with you. I consult from Analysis just few things which I require details. Mankiw gives fundamental basis and Varian make things concrete. For instance the topic of indifference curves and Substitution and Income effect when I studied from Mankiw remained vague, but when I consulted Varian, it not just made things clear regarding the Hickshian Approach but also the Slutsky Equation. However there are certain things not available in Varians as well, for instance; the Mid-Point approach for finding Price Elasticity of demand is not even given in Varian rather he follow the simple Point Elasticity approach. On the other hand, Mankiw emphasizes the efficiency of the Mid-Point approach by giving example such as considering movement from A to B but then from B to A.

Thanks brother for guiding regarding paper II. Further elaboration is needed in this regard.
Old Sunday, July 31, 2016

WaqarMMD is on a distinguished road

Mam I am not opting for economics as my optional. I just want to learn terminologies like,
1. Public Account receipt
2. Capital Receipt
3. General Public Services
4. External Receipt
Kindly suggest me a simple book for the purpose.

Old Friday, September 09, 2016

You should learn these terminologies Online.
Old Thursday, September 15, 2016

RanaRajpoot is on a distinguished road

Economics ka acha teacher in fsd
Old Thursday, September 15, 2016

RanaRajpoot is on a distinguished road

how to prepare economics