11:22 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group I > Political Science

Old Saturday, November 07, 2020

Hrstar is on a distinguished road
Default Question Regarding the application of Hobbes in modern day political systems or polic

Hello, I am preparing for the CE-2021. I wanted to know if anyone could guide me regarding the application of hobbes in modern day policy making or political systems. I am rather confused by the question.

Cheers!
Old Saturday, November 07, 2020

SikanderAbbasi is on a distinguished road

I also need to know how Hobbes's and Locke's political philosophy hold relevance today. Kindly share useful links if anyone has
Old Sunday, November 08, 2020

omerakram22 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by SikanderAbbasi View Post
I also need to know how Hobbes's and Locke's political philosophy hold relevance today. Kindly share useful links if anyone has
Aoa Sikander, can you guide me regarding CLaw? How can i prepare it? and some specific paper attempting technique for it?
Old Thursday, November 19, 2020

ayyiamus is on a distinguished road

Hobbes is one of the modern forefathers of the idea of socialism. His work suggests two ways of planning over the human action: first, it establishes an indirect mechanism that intervenes before the action takes place by manipulating the own mechanisms of motivation, say, replacing the moral assessment with the imposture of law (the notion of ideological control over the motivation of individual action). Secondly, it establishes a more direct way to determine human action, in which coercion is a threat for those who try to avoid what the State expects (the coercive modeling of individual and social human action by the Leviathan-State, and as an effect of this, of the economic dimension). To justify this systematic way of ideological and social planning Hobbes puts together three basic concepts: first, the idea that the State is the only one capable of conceding property - and at the same time of taking it away -, second, the ideological control, and third, the notion that the State must attend the deprived and defenseless as part of its program of legitimacy of the practice of absolute power. In his works we find already the justification of the State as a despotic institution that plans the ideological factor for the human being, showing him what religion must he profess, which books can and cannot read, which ideas are pernicious and which ones must be banned, abducting the imaginary of the individual, giving him a series of particular deliberations on what is good, beautiful, and admirable, as well as what is ugly, disgusting and reprehensible. Likewise, it can be found in his work the idea that the State is the one in charge of giving to each according to their needs, say, of determining the ways of appropriation of the results of work, of establishing property as a prerogative of the sovereign (who does not comply with any pre-establish right of the individuals), and the distribution of incomes and recognitions. Likewise, his totalitarian concept of ruling out the individual as a relevant political entity represents a novelty: stripped from his freedom, ideologically controlled by a tutor who makes all the decisions about his believes, acceptable ideas, or religion through a more geometrico kind of argumentation.
Old Thursday, November 19, 2020

Originally Posted by ayyiamus View Post
Hobbes is one of the modern forefathers of the idea of socialism. His work suggests two ways of planning over the human action: first, it establishes an indirect mechanism that intervenes before the action takes place by manipulating the own mechanisms of motivation, say, replacing the moral assessment with the imposture of law (the notion of ideological control over the motivation of individual action). Secondly, it establishes a more direct way to determine human action, in which coercion is a threat for those who try to avoid what the State expects (the coercive modeling of individual and social human action by the Leviathan-State, and as an effect of this, of the economic dimension). To justify this systematic way of ideological and social planning Hobbes puts together three basic concepts: first, the idea that the State is the only one capable of conceding property - and at the same time of taking it away -, second, the ideological control, and third, the notion that the State must attend the deprived and defenseless as part of its program of legitimacy of the practice of absolute power. In his works we find already the justification of the State as a despotic institution that plans the ideological factor for the human being, showing him what religion must he profess, which books can and cannot read, which ideas are pernicious and which ones must be banned, abducting the imaginary of the individual, giving him a series of particular deliberations on what is good, beautiful, and admirable, as well as what is ugly, disgusting and reprehensible. Likewise, it can be found in his work the idea that the State is the one in charge of giving to each according to their needs, say, of determining the ways of appropriation of the results of work, of establishing property as a prerogative of the sovereign (who does not comply with any pre-establish right of the individuals), and the distribution of incomes and recognitions. Likewise, his totalitarian concept of ruling out the individual as a relevant political entity represents a novelty: stripped from his freedom, ideologically controlled by a tutor who makes all the decisions about his believes, acceptable ideas, or religion through a more geometrico kind of argumentation.
Could you please exemplify any state in today's politics where aspects of Hobbe's political philosophy are adopted
Old Wednesday, December 02, 2020

Hrstar is on a distinguished road

Hello Sikander, I have made my note on both of these if you still require them.
Old Wednesday, December 02, 2020

Originally Posted by Hrstar View Post
Hello Sikander, I have made my note on both of these if you still require them.
Earnestly required. Please send them to my email: sikander.kalhoro.92@hotmail.com. thanks in anticipation

hobbes, policy making, political system, social contract