01:56 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group II > Applied Mathematics

Old Thursday, July 01, 2010
38th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  5

r.i.p is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Guideline for Applied Mathematics

Aoa,

I got 174 in Applied Mathematics CE-2009

1. I attempted Paper-A of 80 marks and got 79. It was because i could not revise the curvilinear portion and a complete question was given in paper from it.
2. I attempted Paper-B of 100 marks and got 95.

So now it should be pretty clear that you can score even above 190 in Applied Mathematics provided you have attempted the paper properly.

My Preparation of Paper-A:
1. Mechanics by Q.K.Ghori
2. Vector and Tensor Analysis by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah
3. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Vector Analysis with an Introduction to Tensor Analysis

My Preparation of Paper-B:
A. Differential & Partial Differential Equations
1. Advanced Engineering Mathematics by Erwin Kreyszig
2. Mathematical Methods by SM Yusuf
3. Mathematical Techniques (Carvan Publishers)
4. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Differential Equations
5. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Partial Differential Equations
6. Advanced Engineering Mathematics by N. Bali

B. Tensor Analysis
1. Vector and Tensor Analysis by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah
2. Schaum's Outlines Series ---- Vector Analysis with an Introduction to Tensor
Analysis

C. Numerical Analysis
1. Numerical Analysis by Amjad Pervez
2. An introduction to Numerical Analysis by Dr. Muhammad Iqbal
3. Advanced Engineering Mathematics by Erwin Kreyszig

I studied all these books and it took me around 2 months to go through the course thoroughly. So it is time consuming but gives you good marks.
For further details you can contact me through e-mail option available at the forum or directly meet me.

I hope it alleviates all the misconceptions about this subject. It is a risk but worth-taking.
aisha khushbakht (Friday, July 26, 2013), Ali Naqvi (Saturday, September 18, 2010), Ayesha Mahmood (Friday, July 02, 2010), breerah Fatima (Sunday, August 01, 2010), CHESSMASTER (Thursday, December 08, 2011), DANISH ASTOREI (Friday, December 07, 2012), engr izhar ul haq (Monday, February 13, 2012), Faisal86 (Wednesday, April 11, 2012), farhadjamali (Saturday, December 24, 2011), googlechrome (Wednesday, October 30, 2013), hafizlouqman (Monday, October 29, 2012), hayya (Sunday, October 01, 2017), ilyas sowdad (Monday, August 11, 2014), Invincible Spirit (Friday, April 24, 2015), itsmehere (Wednesday, February 23, 2022), khankhajjak (Tuesday, October 25, 2011), M Umair Abdul Khaliq (Monday, June 04, 2012), mashkoor (Friday, November 23, 2012), Muhammad khan khoso (Thursday, October 23, 2014), Mustafa Noor (Wednesday, April 02, 2014), Naveed_Bhuutto (Sunday, March 24, 2013), noman qasim (Wednesday, May 22, 2013), Purab Sarhan (Friday, July 02, 2010), SanaaRehman (Tuesday, June 09, 2020), shoaaibb (Wednesday, May 22, 2013), Shoaib801 (Thursday, October 14, 2010), Siddique (Thursday, January 01, 2015), SOHAILZAFAR (Thursday, July 17, 2014), striver (Wednesday, July 21, 2010), Urooj Nisar (Sunday, June 01, 2014), Urooj rajput (Monday, February 08, 2021), wajahatrafiq (Friday, November 02, 2012), YSGUJJAR (Sunday, September 09, 2012)
Old Thursday, July 22, 2010
40th CTP (PG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 664

striver will become famous soon enoughstriver will become famous soon enough

I would really love to discuss with you about how you attempted your paper which is, in my opinion, very important. I see you donot have any details on your profile, I would appreciate if I can discuss with you these things atleast on telephone if not in person. I can also benefit from your strategy for preparation which we can discuss during the course of our discussion.

I look forward to positive response from your side.

All the Best~
DANISH ASTOREI (Friday, May 10, 2013)
Old Friday, July 23, 2010
38th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  5

@Striver

dear peruse your email.

Purab Sarhan will become famous soon enough
Default @ r.i.p

Dear r.i.p
I couldn't find your DMS here. Can you please share?
To me that cup has been dealt in another measure.

zubair rana is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by r.i.p View Post
@Striver

dear peruse your email.

Aoa someone has told me that you are an electrical engineer from your uet and you had taken css during your engineering studies and you prepared with two more engineers one of them obtained 8th position and other got 38th position. is it right plz answer my query
38th CTP (PSP)

@Purab
My Dms is posted here
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-dates...ndidaters.html

W/S.
We took CSS after completing our engineering and not during it.
The rest is true.
Old Saturday, July 24, 2010

Purab Sarhan will become famous soon enough
Default @ r.i.p

That’s just great man. Just a few more things I need to inquire from you. Please bear it for me; this is going to take some of your time. And do not reply now if you are in a rush.

This happens in all Mathematics papers with me that when I come out of the examination hall I have this disappointment that I could have done better. I must confess, for such papers I only attend the classes and prepare myself in one sitting, just the night before exam. Only clearing and preparing for concepts and never practice much of the problems.

In the morning I find myself really struggling to solve the paper but I do solve it. In the end, marks are well worth for me considering one night’s preparation.

Whereas the papers (mathematics’) for which I have prepared well and have got firm grip (This usually I do by teaching the topics to my classmates) I clear them with marks above 90%.

Now the real question I want to ask is, did this ever happen with you in your academics (considering you must have attempted math papers multiple times more than me) that you prepared only concepts and the paper gave you real frustration? Did any paper of Applied Mathematics in this exam give you frustration?

Question two, just before you were going into examination hall, could you say you had a firm grip over the problems and concepts?

Finally dear, the questions you attempted, how did you attempt them? I mean did you bypass steps which you thought are obvious for examiner to get? Did you attempt questions neat and clean? Or were you even precise?

Dear I know these are a lot of questions but you must consider that this huge success puts a liability on your shoulders to help those who require your guidance.. lol.

I am looking forward to your respond, thanks in advance dear.
To me that cup has been dealt in another measure.
Old Sunday, August 01, 2010

breerah Fatima is on a distinguished road

i had exactly the same combination as yours,i did not get any timely guideline as you posted.I have attempted CSS 2010 on my own living at home.Even many professors i asked for guideline they discouraged me only.

Anyways i m refueling.

Thanks once again
Old Saturday, September 18, 2010
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit no

Ali Naqvi is on a distinguished road
Default @ Mr.Afzaal Sb.

aoa !
sir ! i m also an electrical engineer , just passed out , and i have opted the same subjects as u !
-- my query is about paper (I) in case of mechanics and QK Ghauri looks not sufficient for this.guide in me this regard .
--- and next prob about indo-pak , plz guide me all that buks and links necessary for this subject and not only for generel preparation rather for position demanding !
wsalaam !
Ali Naqvi
Old Sunday, September 19, 2010
38th CTP (PSP)

@ALI NAQVI

Ya the latest edition of Q.K. Ghori lacks only one topic, that is , inertia and moment of inertia. You can do it from any good book of physics (Halliday & Resnick). For vectors study: Vector and Tensor Analysis by Dr. Nawazish Ali Shah

Dear for Indo-Pak history i studied books of K.ALI, Bhatti and Faridi. But i ain't satisfied with my score in that subject. You better opt for some other high scoring subject like psychology, sociology, international law, public admn. (Its my view)

I would like to know ur alma mater. If u still need assisstance contact me through email as forum has certain restrictions.

Muhammad Afzal
Ali Naqvi (Sunday, September 19, 2010), Siddique (Thursday, September 24, 2015)