02:53 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group II > Chemistry

Old Saturday, April 09, 2011

water is on a distinguished road
Smile Chemistry aptitude ...

i'm a Law student, and aspirant of CSS 2012.. i have studied chemistry till my FSc and scored more than 90 in both papers.. i have taught tuitions to O levels and Inter students for chemistry..but it has been years i haven't touched chemistry. Now i'm thinking to opt Chemistry as my optional, i have not gone through any BSc books but the notes and syllabus you guys uploaded is really comprehensible for me.. i feel i can do it and possess general aptitude and interest in subject.. So, kindly guide me that should start reading chemistry or should i not opt this subject, as i have no graduation degree in it ... Seniors Help plzz...

khuhro is a jewel in the roughkhuhro is a jewel in the roughkhuhro is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by water View Post
i'm a Law student, and aspirant of CSS 2012.. i have studied chemistry till my FSc and scored more than 90 in both papers.. i have taught tuitions to O levels and Inter students for chemistry..but it has been years i haven't touched chemistry. Now i'm thinking to opt Chemistry as my optional, i have not gone through any BSc books but the notes and syllabus you guys uploaded is really comprehensible for me.. i feel i can do it and possess general aptitude and interest in subject.. So, kindly guide me that should start reading chemistry or should i not opt this subject, as i have no graduation degree in it ... Seniors Help plzz...

visit the mentioned links

CSS Past Papers (1971-2010) - CSS Forums

Chemistry : CSS Syllabus - CSS Forums

after read this if you think you can cover up all the topics then you can select that. however subject selection is all about your own intrest. others will impose their likings on you so be carefull, beacuse this (subject selection) is most important Part for CSS. you have to take very suitable decision for you
water (Sunday, April 10, 2011)
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 174

sumyra will become famous soon enoughsumyra will become famous soon enough

@water!i think you should nt take the risk bcz it does nt matter how much interest u hav in this subject.it requires knowledge 4m all levels i.e matric,fsc,bsc and even msc, i hav done masters in chemistry and my major subject was organic chemistry.you can see from past papers that 2nd paper is from organic portion to a major extent.even then if u want to opt chemistry then go through past papers of atleast previous 7 years,then go forward for it

if u think that u can solve 80 percent 4m all past papers of chemistry then u must go ahead for it bcz u can get good score in this subject

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Saturday, April 09, 2011 at 04:55 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sumyra For This Useful Post:
nafees khattak (Saturday, April 09, 2011), water (Sunday, April 10, 2011)

UltimateCSP will become famous soon enoughUltimateCSP will become famous soon enough

Papers of chemistry have certain complex concepts of chemistry, may be of masters level. According to my opinion to select chemisty just on the base that you have studied it in FSc is not wise choice. So go for it if only you think that you have a complete command over the concepts. Of course choice is yours and you know better your interest.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to UltimateCSP For This Useful Post:
nafees khattak (Saturday, April 09, 2011), water (Sunday, April 10, 2011)

nafees khattak is on a distinguished road
Default Chemistry choice...

Dear your interest in chemistry is clear from your user name i.e Water.I appreciate your courage to take chemistry instead of not in touch regularly after FSc.But i think it will be insane to study it merely from your good result in FSc in chemistry.At Css level,it is very complex.It well be very difficult for you to manage.You have to select/collect various materials which is difficult if you have not been Chemistry student throuhout.
The Following User Says Thank You to nafees khattak For This Useful Post:
water (Sunday, April 10, 2011)
Old Sunday, April 10, 2011

Default thanks guys

Thanks Khuhro, Noor,Sumyra and Nafees... i can understand its risk to take chemistry merely on FSc basis, but its a worth taking risk as chemistry is really scoring subject..n moreover i can solve the MCQs n can comprehend the questions from past papers.. i will still have chance to replace it.. kindly,refer me good books to start my task.. is advanced Chemistry for A levels a good starter ???
The Following User Says Thank You to water For This Useful Post:
khuhro (Sunday, April 10, 2011)
Old Sunday, April 10, 2011
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 174

you can take start from any chemistry book of fsc level just for the basic concepts of chemistry,then u should start preparing the topics which are mentioned in the syllabus,and try to learn about the reaction mechanisms and to draw products from the given reactants, it wil make the 2nd paper of chemistry very easy for you,i also opted chemistry,and appeared in 2011 exam....2nd paper of chem went good, 1st paper was not according to my preparation...anyways best of luck
Old Monday, April 11, 2011
34th Commons (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Account and Audit

Nauman will become famous soon enoughNauman will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by water View Post
I am an engineer and had studied chemistry only upto F.Sc. I scored 97 marks in chemistry in matric and 187/200 in F.Sc. So, I was also under the impression that I am good at chemistry and opted for it in CSS.

However, I could attempt only 130 marks out of 200 and got 96/200 in the paper. Because of this subject alone, I slumped to 121st position. I could have easily scored more in any other subject, such as history or geography, by lesser effort.

Chemistry is a scientific and technical subject. You cannot impress the checker on basis of your english. You have to learn thousands of reactions, conditions of the reactions etc. Within each topic of the syllabus are many subtopics and to fully prepare chemistry for CSS, you need at least 3 months for this subject alone.

For example, there was a topic in the syllabus i.e. "preparation of antibiotics". I prepared the general methods of preparation but in the paper I was asked to write how to prepare a particular anti-biotic. As a result, I didnt even attempt the 14 marks question.

So I will advise you not to go for chemistry or any other technical subject. Geography is good scoring subject in place of chemistry.

Best of luck
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Nauman For This Useful Post:
Abar e Rehmat (Tuesday, April 12, 2011), lizaaudacious (Monday, April 11, 2011), nafees khattak (Monday, April 11, 2011), sumyra (Tuesday, April 12, 2011), water (Sunday, April 17, 2011)
Old Sunday, April 17, 2011

thanks Nauman for guiding me.. that why i refer u seniors abt this matter.. InshAllah i will be opting any other science subject if i can't cope with these chemicals....
Old Tuesday, April 19, 2011
40th CTP (OMG)

Originally Posted by Nauman View Post
I am an engineer and had studied chemistry only upto F.Sc. I scored 97 marks in chemistry in matric and 187/200 in F.Sc. So, I was also under the impression that I am good at chemistry and opted for it in CSS.

However, I could attempt only 130 marks out of 200 and got 96/200 in the paper. Because of this subject alone, I slumped to 121st position. I could have easily scored more in any other subject, such as history or geography, by lesser effort.

Chemistry is a scientific and technical subject. You cannot impress the checker on basis of your english. You have to learn thousands of reactions, conditions of the reactions etc. Within each topic of the syllabus are many subtopics and to fully prepare chemistry for CSS, you need at least 3 months for this subject alone.

For example, there was a topic in the syllabus i.e. "preparation of antibiotics". I prepared the general methods of preparation but in the paper I was asked to write how to prepare a particular anti-biotic. As a result, I didnt even attempt the 14 marks question.

So I will advise you not to go for chemistry or any other technical subject. Geography is good scoring subject in place of chemistry.

Best of luck
@Nauman! i appeared in css 2011 exam n opted chem, i want to take 2nd attempt in 2012,n i m confused whether i should opt chemistry again in 2nd attempt or not,or i should wait 4 result of previous exam??