01:50 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group II > Pure Mathematics

Old Monday, September 19, 2016
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Roll no. 04533

asadzahid is on a distinguished road
Smile Pure Mathematics doable?

Hello seniors.
I'd like to ask if it is possible to take on pure mathematics as I have a good background of math, did my major in Economics with a lot of Maths alongside. I have taken courses of cal 1 & 2, Linear algebra, differential equations, statistics etc. I was told by a friend that CSS PM is very different and I shouldn't opt for it, but I really have a good grip at maths. Please guide me, going for 2017 session!
Old Monday, September 19, 2016

thedude is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by asadzahid View Post
Hello seniors.
I'd like to ask if it is possible to take on pure mathematics as I have a good background of math, did my major in Economics with a lot of Maths alongside. I have taken courses of cal 1 & 2, Linear algebra, differential equations, statistics etc. I was told by a friend that CSS PM is very different and I shouldn't opt for it, but I really have a good grip at maths. Please guide me, going for 2017 session!
Keep in mind that you will need to pick one other 100 mark subject from the pure maths group.
Old Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Yousuf Shah Khagga is on a distinguished road

Dear I done M.Sc in Pure Math.
As according to new syllabus Pure and Applied Math are in one section.
You will choose both or if you choose one then remaining option is Statistics.
Math paper would be Zero or Hero.
Second CSS is not an exam of Knowledge and analysis it is also exam of muscles and strangeness of the body.
Math need more time , it is a practical subjects . But in CSS two paper per day are very tough and tiring time.
It is better to choose those subjects you can revise easily.
In case of math a much time needed and if you have firm grip go through the Math , Insha Allah you will score well.
Another suggestion is , you should read the CE 2016 past papers of mathematics , you can easily judge yourself.
nutz (Tuesday, May 16, 2017)
Old Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Roll no. 04533

Thank you so much for the prompt reply guys. I think I'm good at maths and have a good grip as I have always preferred numbers over readings, and have been studying a lot of math during the course of my studies. And secondly taking statistics is not an issue for me as I have already taken advance courses, but the problem is, my friends from university and around are saying that the math of CSS is totally different than what I have studied. I have a background of conceptual mathematics from O & A levels and after that the courses I have mentioned, I did those in LUMS. Besides I have seen the curriculum, it looks pretty doable to me, but I'm still not sure whether it is the right step or not!

It sounds like you have a good though not ideal background (ideal background=MSC mathematics). I would think of finding a tutor.

People generally find Applied Math easier.
Old Friday, September 23, 2016

Thank you for the help, the thing is can anyone of you hook me up with any tutor in isb/pindi. Plus should i really think of opting for Applied instead of Pure?
Old Friday, September 23, 2016

Thank you for the help, the thing is can anyone of you hook me up with any tutor in isb/pindi. Plus should i really think of opting for Applied instead of Pure?
Goes down to personal preference, but before when Applied and Pure were of 200 marks each people mostly opted applied.

You may have difficulty finding a tutor since the syllabus material is more advanced than your A level/Fsc math.

I think you should take your time before deciding to opt math. There's only 4-5 months left, you will be studying what was previously a 200 mark subject that is extremely difficult and in which there is absolutely no room for error.

In my view you have to consider the risk that by choosing math you will be spreading yourself too thin
Old Saturday, September 24, 2016

Atticus Finch is on a distinguished road

It is better not to take the chance.
Old Tuesday, December 08, 2020

Paktab is on a distinguished road

Hello seniors.
Salam, can you kindly guide me regarding pure math.