01:12 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group III > Business Administration

Old Tuesday, July 17, 2012
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Thanked 1,551 Times in 674 Posts
Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Alpha One View Post

Dear Bilal, there is a BIG difference in the syllabai of CSS and PMS. Dont make estimations regarding CSS based on your PMS experience.
Dear Alpha one, first of all let me tell you that i have not only appeared for PMS but i have taken the CSS 2012 as well and Business ad was one of my optionals...i am not talking on mere basis of PMS but i have a long background of that subject, i am an MBA and i myself not in the favour of opting this subject, the reasons are as follow...
1: Cheema sb is right that you have to study three books of different subjects and you can cover at least two subjects in the time and hard work for Business ad...
2: if there is a question that is out of sylabus like there was a question of 7s framework of Mckinsay which is not in any popular book of management, non MBA would not be able to do it...
3:

Sheikh umair is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
Dear Alpha one, first of all let me tell you that i have not only appeared for PMS but i have taken the CSS 2012 as well and Business ad was one of my optionals...i am not talking on mere basis of PMS but i have a long background of that subject, i am an MBA and i myself not in the favour of opting this subject, the reasons are as follow...
1: Cheema sb is right that you have to study three books of different subjects and you can cover at least two subjects in the time and hard work for Business ad...
2: if there is a question that is out of sylabus like there was a question of 7s framework of Mckinsay which is not in any popular book of management, non MBA would not be able to do it...
3:
ok Bilal Bahi Would you recommend Public Admin over Business Admn?
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Sheikh umair View Post
ok Bilal Bahi Would you recommend Public Admin over Business Admn?
yes indeed, Public ad is way safer than Business ad and it is scoring as well...
The Following User Says Thank You to Bilal Hassan For This Useful Post:
Sheikh umair (Tuesday, July 17, 2012)
Old Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Alpha One is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Usman Cheema View Post
Yes my friend I have appeared in CSS 2011. And whatever ........................................

6. Accounting - Accounting Cycles, Preparation of Financial Statements; Balance Sheet, Income Statemen[/I]

I know the course outline very well.... as not only I opted this subject in my time but have thought it to dozens of CSS aspirants

Now that there is a nice book out there covering almost the whole course, I dont think its that difficult to prepare and score good marks in this subject.
Old Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Usman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of light

I know the course outline very well.... as not only I opted this subject in my time but have thought it to dozens of CSS aspirants

Now that there is a nice book out there covering almost the whole course, I dont think its that difficult to prepare and score good marks in this subject.
Can you name the book for the good of aspirants?

Old Thursday, July 19, 2012
43rd CTP (PAS)

cheema sb good book Gitman or van Horne k siva aur kon c ho skti hai...is bnday ne kabhi paper he nhi diyay, isay kya pta...
Old Thursday, July 19, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5951

hassanshariq is on a distinguished road

Dear Camran

If you have good understanding of basics of management, marketing and accounting/finance then this is a good subject.

I scored 78 in the 2011 attempt.I only prepared for 2 days before exam( not advisable though) in 2010 attempt i scored 62.

in 2011 i attempted a numerical question and my mcqs went well. The 2010 paper was just ok but i still managed 62 which is not at all a bad score. With little focus one can easily score between 65-70. In the accounting/finnace portion usually only few topics are asked from, which are
ratio analysis
adjusting entries
NPV/IRR
Economic order quantity

Management and marketing is usually very straign forward and easy.

Here i wld like to mention that bilal mentioned that pms paper was tough, yes i attempted that too and in my opinion CSS business paper is way easier or to say way better set. I do not have exposure to publi admin paper so can really say much, but i am of opinion that bsuiness admn is a good good subject that if prepared samrtly can yield 65+ with juyst few days effort.
camran (Thursday, July 19, 2012)
Old Friday, July 20, 2012

Alpha One is on a distinguished road

The book is published by Jahangir Publishers.... and its the only book i guess which covered the entire course of CSS as it has been specifically designed for CSS. I am not going to advertise about that book but atleast it covered all topics of the CSS course including those which came in the past year papers.

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
cheema sb good book Gitman or van Horne k siva aur kon c ho skti hai...is bnday ne kabhi paper he nhi diyay, isay kya pta...
dear Bilal "isay kya pata" is THE approach which is the cause of all the failure in the world.
Old Friday, July 20, 2012
43rd CTP (PAS)

The book is published by Jahangir Publishers.... and its the only book i guess which covered the entire course of CSS as it has been specifically designed for CSS. I am not going to advertise about that book but atleast it covered all topics of the CSS course including those which came in the past year papers.

dear Bilal "isay kya pata" is THE approach which is the cause of all the failure in the world.
well i accept my mistake with open arms, i must not have uttered these words, pardon me for that, but dear the book you have told is just a guide, i am an MBA and i have studied the core courses of each these subjects...for subjects like business admin you cannot rely on guide stuff and will need to refer to benchmark books...
Old Saturday, July 21, 2012

aamirsahim is on a distinguished road
Default business administration

go for business administration if u can command the financial management portion and i am sure that without having business background one can get it by thoroughly study of van horn book. I am MBA finance and i have gone through this book and it has explained every thing in an easy and understandable way.