05:56 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > British History

Old Friday, May 06, 2011

obaida is on a distinguished road
Default study plan for British history

i am doing brithis history from sheikh serwar etc book... but havn't finished even the course of Paper I can anyone guide me how to do it...also does anyone have a study plan for British history
Old Saturday, May 07, 2011
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 58

soloflyer has a spectacular aura aboutsoloflyer has a spectacular aura about

i do not know about sheikh sarwar's book... i appeared in 2011 paper ...and if you see the paper ..then there has been a visible change in paper pattern...now the examiner expects students to have a thorough study ....

i would recommend you the following books.
british history by southgate...both volumes
british hisotry by thomas
modern british history by norman lowe ...

once you get these books then tell me ..i would tell you all the chapters you need to go through ...
and please bear in mind that without thorough study it will be very difficult to attempt paper correctly!
The Following User Says Thank You to soloflyer For This Useful Post:
Old Sunday, May 08, 2011

Default @soloflyer

sorry i wrote the name of the book wrong its Sheikh Muhammad Qayyum...i have also bought British History by P.C. Thomas...and the south gate and norman lowe book. as you have directed...now please guide me how to manage the syllabus...and do the preparation
Old Saturday, May 28, 2011
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 58

Dear Obaida ,
Sorry for the late reply . For paper 1 , first of all download “ most repeated questions” (these are available in the forum) I will tell you the chapters that you need to cover from various books.

Chapter 11 of P.C Thomas ( P.C.T) Glorious revolution. This will cover both , causes and effects.
Chapter 12. From here you should cover , domestic policy of William 2 and Mary 3.
Chapter 13. From here you should cover, Union of England and Scotland.

Chapter 15. Significance of Hanoverian Succession. Walpole , Pitt the elder.( .
Chapter 16 George 3 whole.
Chapter 17 American war of independence .whole
Chapter 19 French revolution and England . whole

War of Spanish succession. This can be covered from Southgate book 1.
Whig oligarchy . Chapter 1 , southgate book 2
War of austrian succession. Chapter 7 southgate book 2.
Then there is the topic of “SEVEN YEARS WAR” B/W Britain and France. Chapter # 8,9 , 10 and 11 of southgate book 2 cover this. ( this will also cover war policy of pitt the elder)
Methodism. Chapter 12 . southgate book2.

Industrial and agrarian revolution also from southgate 2 .

Pitt the younger as P.M and comparison with pitt the elder. Also from southgate.

War period ( 1792-1815) and its after effects. Chapter is 22 and 23. French revolutionary war and Napoleonic wars.

Vienna Settlement , Castlereagh and Canning . Concert of Europe. ( all these questions covered in chapter 3 norman lowe’s book)
Reform act 1832. Chapter 4 norman lowes book
Chartism . chapter 6 . Norman lowes book
Robert peel and the corn laws. From Norman lowes book chapter 7.

This covers your PAPER 1. you must see the paper of 2011 and you will notice that it is imperative to thoroughly study all these chapters. One question you might ask is whether you have to learn everything by heart. No certainly not. You must make bullet points. Once you have the repeated questions and paper of 2011 you will notice what you need to cover . I personally read all these chapters and made short notes.

If this document is of any help to you , then I will make a same document for paper 2.
Again sorry for the delay , since I am also working and its very difficult now a days to take out time.

If you have any other questions you can ask me .. I will also post a link , in which I mentioned how I attempted the paper of 2011.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to soloflyer For This Useful Post:
ali maqsood (Wednesday, September 19, 2012), alishahid (Tuesday, July 26, 2011), Nofear (Thursday, July 24, 2014), sayira (Wednesday, July 27, 2011), waqasbaloch145 (Wednesday, September 25, 2013)
Old Friday, June 03, 2011

shehroozkhan is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by soloflyer View Post
Dear Obaida ,
Sorry for the late reply . For paper 1 , first of all download “ most repeated questions” (these are available in the forum) I will tell you the chapters that you need to cover from various books.

Chapter 11 of P.C Thomas ( P.C.T) Glorious revolution. This will cover both , causes and effects.
Chapter 12. From here you should cover , domestic policy of William 2 and Mary 3.
Chapter 13. From here you should cover, Union of England and Scotland.

Chapter 15. Significance of Hanoverian Succession. Walpole , Pitt the elder.( .
Chapter 16 George 3 whole.
Chapter 17 American war of independence .whole
Chapter 19 French revolution and England . whole

War of Spanish succession. This can be covered from Southgate book 1.
Whig oligarchy . Chapter 1 , southgate book 2
War of austrian succession. Chapter 7 southgate book 2.
Then there is the topic of “SEVEN YEARS WAR” B/W Britain and France. Chapter # 8,9 , 10 and 11 of southgate book 2 cover this. ( this will also cover war policy of pitt the elder)
Methodism. Chapter 12 . southgate book2.

Industrial and agrarian revolution also from southgate 2 .

Pitt the younger as P.M and comparison with pitt the elder. Also from southgate.

War period ( 1792-1815) and its after effects. Chapter is 22 and 23. French revolutionary war and Napoleonic wars.

Vienna Settlement , Castlereagh and Canning . Concert of Europe. ( all these questions covered in chapter 3 norman lowe’s book)
Reform act 1832. Chapter 4 norman lowes book
Chartism . chapter 6 . Norman lowes book
Robert peel and the corn laws. From Norman lowes book chapter 7.

This covers your PAPER 1. you must see the paper of 2011 and you will notice that it is imperative to thoroughly study all these chapters. One question you might ask is whether you have to learn everything by heart. No certainly not. You must make bullet points. Once you have the repeated questions and paper of 2011 you will notice what you need to cover . I personally read all these chapters and made short notes.

If this document is of any help to you , then I will make a same document for paper 2.
Again sorry for the delay , since I am also working and its very difficult now a days to take out time.

If you have any other questions you can ask me .. I will also post a link , in which I mentioned how I attempted the paper of 2011.
thanx for ur precious efforts. m waiting for the same chapters distribution for british history paper 2.kindly let us know as soon as possible.
The Following User Says Thank You to shehroozkhan For This Useful Post:
Nofear (Thursday, July 24, 2014)
Old Sunday, June 05, 2011

Default @soloflyer

thank you for your munificence i am really grateful to you... i have already finished paper 1 from sheikh qayyum book...now i will follow the plan given by you to make final notes...thanks a lot again... but as per my new current plan i am currently doing both revision of Paper 1 and have also started paper 2 as well, so can you also give me a plan for paper 2. it will save my time for i will follow the plan from the beginning. regards

thanks a lot once again....
Old Tuesday, June 07, 2011
40th CTP (IRS)

ok... i will post that plan ..in a couple of days
Old Wednesday, June 08, 2011

shehroozkhan is on a distinguished road
Originally Posted by soloflyer View Post
ok... i will post that plan ..in a couple of days
i m eagerly waiting for ur plan 2. n tell me one thing that the plan1 u provided is forwarded plan or u made it by urself...
Old Sunday, June 12, 2011
40th CTP (IRS)

this plan was developed by me ,when i prepared for css 2011. everyone can make a plan.

for paper 2 ...one thing you must keep in mind is that , it can be a little bit boring and lengthy. and looking at the recent trend of papers , you must not leave any chapter. because at least two questions come from post 1947 period.

here again you will have to sift through all the previous papers and make a list of all the questions that have appeared in the past ten years.

for example.
Crimean war
Gladstone ( his reforms and policies , his personality)
Disraeli ( his reforms and policies , his personality, his toryism)
Comparison between gladstone and disraeli ( also comparison of liberalism v/s conservatism)
Foreign policy of Salisbury
World war 1 ( Role of britain in ww1 , causes and effects of ww1, )
world war 2 ( causes and effects . )
cold war ( role of britain, causes of cold war)
Acts passed to strengthen democratic institutions ( includes all the reform acts )
Palmerston ( both as F.m and P.m)
Educational development of britain in the 19th century.
Eastern question. ( must start from the crimean war and go up to world war 1 , when turkish empire finally disintegrated.)

New colonial policy of britain.
De-colonization of britain( this tells that how britain left all the countries that it had occupied previously)

United Nations ( why has it failed? what were causes of its formation?, role of britain in Un?) also why league of nations failed and why it was formed.

the 2 boer wars.
Rise of labour party and it's achievements .
Whats the policy of splendid isolation and why it was abandoned.
laws passed by liberals ( 1906-1915)

anglo-irish relations ( must include everything upto 1939 , when ireland got independence)

foreign policy of britain ( after crimean war upto world war 2, anything can be asked . like see the question that appeared in 2011.
WHAT WAS THE POLICY OF BRITAIN TOWARDS EUROPE FROM 1856 to 1888, how did it change between 1888 to 1911) so to tackle these kind of questions one must have an in depth knowledge of the above mentioned period.)
Margaret thatcher and her foreign policy.
winston churcill and his role.

short notes:
fabianism
sin fein movement
bismarck
foreign policy of anthony eden

I think i have covered everything , I mention the relevant chapters that you need to cover.

Paper 2 is easy in a sense , that you can cover all the syllabus from only book . This book is Norman lowe's book.

chapter 8 ( you can leave article 8.2), 9 , 10 .
chapter 12 . ( only 12.6 and 12 .7 )
chapter 13
chapter 14
chapter 16
chapter 17 . only(17.2 ,17.3,17.4)
chapter 18 ( this chapter covers the new colonial policy )
chapter 19 ( only 19.6 and 19.7 )
chapter 20
chapter 21
chapter 25
chapter 26
chapter 27
chapter 28
chapter 30
chapter 31 ( article 31.4)

these are all the chapters that you need to cover and please bear in mind that apart from chapter 31 , i covered all the syllabus . i made my own notes , because questions like eastern question or anglo-irish relations are not mentioned in just one chapter.similarly the role of gladstone is mentioned in 3 chapters.
maybe P.C thomas covers these topics in one chapter only ,you can also consult that book. but i only used this book . and to see how i attempted the paper , i have mentioned that in another thread, i will post the link.

i hope this post will be useful to all the aspirants preparing for british history paper 2.

if you need more help , then i will be at your beck and call

Last edited by Predator; Saturday, June 18, 2011 at 03:29 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to soloflyer For This Useful Post:
ali maqsood (Wednesday, September 19, 2012), diahameed (Saturday, October 15, 2011), waqasbaloch145 (Wednesday, September 25, 2013)
Old Sunday, June 12, 2011
40th CTP (IRS)

these posts describe , how i attempted the paper.

CSS Forums - View Single Post - British history paper 2011

i do not know , how much score will i fetch , but i am confident that i did my best earlier i thought that i would only post , once i clear the exam. but maybe you people need help right now , that's why i have posted all the material that can fetch you good marks.