-   European History (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/european-history/)
-   -   European History (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/european-history/63-european-history.html)

Argus Thursday, March 24, 2005 11:18 PM

European History

Good resouces for [b]European History[/b]

1) European History by [b]IJ Chawla.[/b]
2) [b]Encyclopaedia Britannica[/b] (CD Version).
3) Microsoft [b]Encyclopedia Encarta[/b].

NOTE: Always prepare your own notes.
(Farrukh Rafique,Information Group)

Thanx Furry.

shoaibraza_pk Friday, March 25, 2005 02:24 AM

salaaam,
AS you said that to read chawala book, that only is a bird eye view and just give you the answer of some answer, so i am affrid if it cover all the history? plz guide me in this regard. what is the core book for EH and also which topic should cover from whome book. Britanica and Encarta are the aids who can give u some facts sheet not the thgrough reading material. I dont know weather thy cover EH. i mean in which respect and manner one can get help form these CD's. further why one should make notes. Is it ok to reinvent the wheel. why u suggest the notes especially for hisroty subject? and if notes thn it will be mojor point i guess? suggest who to make the notes if u are in the favour. further tell me how to prepare about objective. thanks a lot hope u will reply in detail . tc allah hafiz

Argus Saturday, March 26, 2005 03:03 PM

[size=2][color=black]ASA[/color]
[color=black]Encarta Encyclopedia [/color]
[color=black]Mastering Modern European History by Stuart T. Miller r good resources for [/color]
[color=black]European History.(suggested by Farrukh Rafique,Information Group)[/color]
[color=black](Thanx Furry)[/color][/size]

Hamid Friday, April 01, 2005 06:15 PM

Hi,

For European History i m consulting

1-Mastering modern European history by Norman Lowe
2-Mastering Modern European History by stuart miller
3-About European history by L.p.cock
AH,
Hamid Khan

zohaib Wednesday, May 25, 2005 09:46 PM

Salam,

The best introductory book will be[B]" Dayal Sharma's Europe Since 1789"[/B].Take the mindful look at the previous papers and you would know the pattern.To me,the most handy book throughout the length and breadth of your journey through European History should be [B]European History since 1789 by V.D Mahajan.[/B]
For an utterly exam-centric preparation,after you have had enough background of it all,you had best refer [B]'European history since 1789 by A.J Agarwal'[/B] in question-answer form.

People would certainly suggest you Europe since [B]Napolean by David Thomson,[/B]a book worth a try.But it is upto you whether you can afford that much amount of time.It would be,however, rather unwise to just get engrossed into one subject at the altar of missing out completely on the other.

Having to pass CSS requires balance between all the subjects so do be mindful of the fact if you think you have little time at your disposal.
I sincerely hope you would come up with better strategy as you progress.
Wish you best luck..

AH,
Zohaib

Imperturbable Tuesday, December 20, 2005 10:18 PM

PLeaseeee Help me !

Please can anybody post European History-1 question paper( only questions).I would be really grateful to you.If anybody had attempted 2005 paper,kindly post this questions as soon as possible.

Waiting for your advice
Thanks you in advance

A Goof Thursday, February 09, 2006 06:57 AM

Books

AoA All, I have found following books very helpful:
1. History of MOdern Europe since 1789 by V.D. Mahajan
2. A simple History of modern Euroupe by A S Bukhari
3. HIstory of MOdern Europe by B.V Rao
REgards
Farrukh Jadoon

MHMALIK Sunday, July 09, 2006 04:18 PM

The book written by Ferdinand Schevill is considered the best book on European history. I would seriously recommend it to anyone. Unfortunately the book has been out of print since 1930s so its a bit of a collectors item.

Please try to avoid ratta type books of indian authors. They will not widen your horizons and deepen your perception regarding European history. Secondly, they are biased to an extent, and do not help you formulate your views whichh in the end matter in CSS examination.

Hope this helps.

marshal453 Friday, August 03, 2007 03:22 AM

Well i Used
[B]1 modern European History BY R.DYAL[/B] pals it is awesome for Initial Understandings..
[B]2 Europe Since Nepolean BY David Thomson[/B]
[B]& 3 Aspects Of European History By STEPHEN JELLEY [/B]
This One, STEPHEN JELLEY is an awesome book helps quite a lot for those starting prep just few months b4 exam i wud say 1st and 3rd will suffice, how ever if have time! than shold go through David Thomson as it is an Elaborate book to cover even every single aspect...
chaos and Best Of luck to all the aspirants

raom Sunday, August 26, 2007 10:07 PM

can any body suggest me just one book for European History because i cannot
read alot of books just for European History

Thanks all of you

12:32 AM (GMT +5)