-   Islamic History & Culture (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/islamic-history-culture/)
-   -   All About Islamic History .. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/islamic-history-culture/61642-all-about-islamic-history.html)

nile Wednesday, December 26, 2012 05:20 AM

Salam bro stunner

Is it safe to skip the petty dynasties which followed the ummayads in spain, like the taifa, al murabitun, al muwahhidun and the nasirid kingdom?

I read hitti and mazhar's history of muslim spain. I covered the ummayad reign and arts culture architecture and intellectual achievemnts of spanish muslims. But want to skip the dynasties part mentioned above.

Stunner Wednesday, December 26, 2012 12:39 PM

[QUOTE=nile;532440]Salam bro stunner

Is it safe to skip the petty dynasties which followed the ummayads in spain, like the taifa, al murabitun, al muwahhidun and the nasirid kingdom?

I read hitti and mazhar's history of muslim spain. I covered the ummayad reign and arts culture architecture and intellectual achievemnts of spanish muslims. But want to skip the dynasties part mentioned above.[/QUOTE]

Waalaikum Salam Bro ..

Yes, you can skip these topics .. They are not relevant, however, just give them a quick read for MCQs ..

Regards ..

nile Saturday, December 29, 2012 05:10 PM

Aoa bro stunner. Help needed for the following ques:

Give an account of the conquest of Spain; who made it a stable and prosperous Muslim state?

Is it abdur rehman al ghafiqi? Or abdur rehman al dakhil?

Or is it abdur rehman al nasir? Confused :?

As the examiner first asked about conquest of spain i believe hes asking from among the first few leaders? No? As abdur rehman al nasir came way after the conquest of spain i.e about 200 years.

Stunner Tuesday, January 01, 2013 12:31 PM

@ nile

Contiubtion of all those rulers who helped Spain being stable and prosperous needs to be mentioned here .. It is an open question with no set answer pattern .. You can either mention one or two Abdur Rehmans or name and explain all who conrtibuted ..

The second approach would be to focus on the first few who achieved stability and prosperity in Spain, and the rest of the lot carried forward their accomplishments ..

Regards ..

imsciences Tuesday, January 01, 2013 12:41 PM

@ stunner

sir what you suggest in respect of attempting a general sort of question or specific and typical I.H question??? I hope you will get my query sir

Stunner Tuesday, January 01, 2013 02:52 PM

[QUOTE=imsciences;535496]sir what you suggest in respect of attempting a general sort of question or specific and typical I.H question??? I hope you will get my query sir[/QUOTE]

Follow the basic criterea .. One must answer relevantly .. Means, one must answer the asked question rather than what one has memorised or made notes of ..

General questions are open to articulation of the writer and he/she can use any method to answer .. Specific questions ask for specific knowledge and that must be produced in a relevant answer ..

In answering all sorts of questions one can use the ILAC method - with a little ammendment - that we use while answering our Law questions .. ILAC stands for Issues, Law, Analysis and Conclusion .. In Islamic History one can use ILAC as Issues ( What the examiner asks in a question and what issues does the question envokes ), Law: Here one can use knowledge about the topic or main body of the answer instead of Law, Anaysis: Includes views of different writers, cross views and then your own views and in Conclusion one can conclude, again, in light of the asked question ..

I hope it helps ..

Regards ..

nile Wednesday, January 02, 2013 08:45 AM

^ Beautiful. Its ironic that an intellectual like u was deprived of civil services. I saw ur dmc.

Fassi Thursday, January 03, 2013 01:17 AM

STUNNER Bhai do check your reputation points please, I've asked you something there.

Actually you did the same for me but I was unable to find the option, now I got it but there are some other name owing to that I'm unable to contact you....:sad:

nile Friday, January 04, 2013 03:30 AM

Bro stunner help needed:
"Write a comprehensive essay on 'The women and nation building' in the muslim spanish society. (2008 paper 2)

While searching google i found s.m imad ud din book "Muslim spain" and he mentioned role of women in muslim society of spain. What do u suggest.

Stunner Friday, January 04, 2013 09:39 PM

[QUOTE=nile;536761]Bro stunner help needed:
"Write a comprehensive essay on 'The women and nation building' in the muslim spanish society. (2008 paper 2)

While searching google i found s.m imad ud din book "Muslim spain" and he mentioned role of women in muslim society of spain. What do u suggest.[/QUOTE]

Please through that book and then share the outline here .. I did not study this topic and I have not gone through that book .. I'll also try to get hold of some relevant material InshaAllah ..

Regards ..

mudasr Saturday, January 05, 2013 01:19 AM

Stunner sir when your books are coming ? Hope to find good deal of help from them.

Stunner Saturday, January 05, 2013 12:22 PM

[QUOTE=mudasr2006_01;537189]Stunner sir when your books are coming ? Hope to find good deal of help from them.[/QUOTE]

Although I'm busy with my final year Law studies, I'll do my best to complete Part 1 book by June/July and Part 2 by Sep/October InshaAllah ..

Regards ..

mudasr Saturday, January 05, 2013 07:52 PM

Bhai g you will complete part one by july then obviously it will take some time in printing and other formalities.actually i have been preaparing IH for last 1.5 year,but i ve read so much irrelevent things that i feel gussa at myself:banghead:so,i think your books will be a good source to get rid of these volumenous books lying all around me:)obviously i would have taken my first attempt but still i would love studying your books,one who himself passed through this process so fresh can obviously write in the right direction.so bravo keep it up:thumbup:

Stunner Wednesday, January 16, 2013 05:32 PM

Golden Paper Attempting Rules ..

Dear Islamic History & Culture Aspirants,

Its barely little more than a month now from exams and most of you will have been revising now a days .. I wanted to share some exam attempting techniques so that Islamic History yields maximum marks for you .. Please read through and apply the following points while you attempt your papers:

[B]1- Read the questions carefully:[/B] Sometimes a question looks simple but a careful study and thought reveals a different or an additional component to it .. So it is vital to understand a question properly before setting yourself up to anwer it ..

[B]2- Plan your answer:[/B] After you have understood the question properly, plan what you want to write in it and how to best present your answer .. Plan the structure and body of your answer and this you can do within less than a minute ..

[B]3- Answer the set question:[/B] This is absolutely important and this is where you get most of the marks for answering a question .. It means that one must answer only relevantly .. Rote learnt answers or a different answer to what has been asked by the examiner won't yield much marks and may even fail an aspirant .. When you read a question and plan your answer you must understand what the examiner asks for and what relevant information is a must requirement .. Write your introduction according to the asked question, present your body in the same manner and also conclude accordingly .. This way examiner will have to read only relevant information and will score you highly .. [B]Do not write what you have learned and don't just write all you know about a topic, rather write on what you have been asked ..[/B]

[B]4- Present analysis:[/B] While answering one can present views of different writers on an issue, then write contrasting views of other writers and in the end give one's own views on an issue followed by reasonable/solid arguments .. Follow the example given below:

[I]Philip K. Hitti argues that Muhamamd P.B.U.H came in attention after his call to the Prophethood and not much is known about his life before the revelation. However Syed Ameer Ali suggests that Muhammad P.B.U.H is the 'only Prophet born and raised in clear light of history'. Having gone through different texts and materials of numerous writers on Muhammad P.B.U H, one can fully endorse the views of Syed Ameer Ali as the life of Muhamamd P.B.U.H before his call to revelation is covered in full detail in the 'Seerah' part of the of Prophet's life, whereas P.K Hitti is a learned Historian and there is a difference in paradigms of 'Seeraah' and 'History' .. Its seems that Mr. Hitti has missed the mark here ..[/I]

The above paragraph is just an example of giving views of others, then negating their stance and at last presenting your own views .. I hope you have a clear idea now of what is required .. But, this approach asks for a wider reading ..

[B]5- Write legibly: [/B] It means that one must write neat enough that the examiner should not get into any type of trouble in understanding what one has written .. Length of the answer is not the key here .. If one writes to the point with a clear thought, thorough analysis and a neat handwriting, he/she will be rewarded .. It does not, however, mean that one must write very slowly, the pace should be adjusted only to write your words that are easily understandable .. If one can do that with a fast pace that's a plus and if one has to slow down a little in doing that, it won't have any negative impact on marks .. Both will be rewarded in this case but do not write too much or too little ..

[B]6- Give equal time to all questions:[/B] One barely gets around 37.5 minutes to answer a single question .. Remember to give equal time to all 4 subjective questions .. It is of no use to spend 45 or 50 minutes on a single question at the expense of other 3 questions as marks of all 4 questions are the same ..

[B]7- Draw diagrams:[/B] If possible, one should draw easy and relevant diagrams that can be drawn within a minute or two .. Do no just put in a diagram, also explain it a little and relate to the answer .. Do not put extra time in drawing and related practices as it will leave little time for your answer ..

This is it for now and I shall add more points if I remember later .. I wish you all a very best of luck and may you all succeed in your aspirations .. Just pray to God and give it your best shot leaving the rest upon Allah .. !!

Regards ..

M SAMI Friday, January 18, 2013 02:22 AM

ihc

how to score well in this subj...
i mean what should be added alonhwith quotations

Stunner Friday, January 18, 2013 02:02 PM

[QUOTE=M SAMI;543497]how to score well in this subj...
i mean what should be added alonhwith quotations[/QUOTE]

Please go through this thread from start till end and you'll have an idea of what is required to score very well in Islamic History ..

Regards ..

venomous sophie Monday, January 21, 2013 01:33 PM

@ stunner

[QUOTE=Stunner;542850]Dear Islamic History & Culture Aspirants,

Its barely little more than a month now from exams and most of you will have been revising now a days .. I wanted to share some exam attempting techniques so that Islamic History yields maximum marks for you .. Please read through and apply the following points while you attempt your papers:

[B]1- Read the questions carefully:[/B] Sometimes a question looks simple but a careful study and thought reveals a different or an additional component to it .. So it is vital to understand a question properly before setting yourself up to anwer it ..

[B]2- Plan your answer:[/B] After you have understood the question properly, plan what you want to write in it and how to best present your answer .. Plan the structure and body of your answer and this you can do within less than a minute ..

[B]3- Answer the set question:[/B] This is absolutely important and this is where you get most of the marks for answering a question .. It means that one must answer only relevantly .. Rote learnt answers or a different answer to what has been asked by the examiner won't yield much marks and may even fail an aspirant .. When you read a question and plan your answer you must understand what the examiner asks for and what relevant information is a must requirement .. Write your introduction according to the asked question, present your body in the same manner and also conclude accordingly .. This way examiner will have to read only relevant information and will score you highly .. [B]Do not write what you have learned and don't just write all you know about a topic, rather write on what you have been asked ..[/B]

[B]4- Present analysis:[/B] While answering one can present views of different writers on an issue, then write contrasting views of other writers and in the end give one's own views on an issue followed by reasonable/solid arguments .. Follow the example given below:

[I]Philip K. Hitti argues that Muhamamd P.B.U.H came in attention after his call to the Prophethood and not much is known about his life before the revelation. However Syed Ameer Ali suggests that Muhammad P.B.U.H is the 'only Prophet born and raised in clear light of history'. Having gone through different texts and materials of numerous writers on Muhammad P.B.U H, one can fully endorse the views of Syed Ameer Ali as the life of Muhamamd P.B.U.H before his call to revelation is covered in full detail in the 'Seerah' part of the of Prophet's life, whereas P.K Hitti is a learned Historian and there is a difference in paradigms of 'Seeraah' and 'History' .. Its seems that Mr. Hitti has missed the mark here ..[/I]

The above paragraph is just an example of giving views of others, then negating their stance and at last presenting your own views .. I hope you have a clear idea now of what is required .. But, this approach asks for a wider reading ..

[B]5- Write legibly: [/B] It means that one must write neat enough that the examiner should not get into any type of trouble in understanding what one has written .. Length of the answer is not the key here .. If one writes to the point with a clear thought, thorough analysis and a neat handwriting, he/she will be rewarded .. It does not, however, mean that one must write very slowly, the pace should be adjusted only to write your words that are easily understandable .. If one can do that with a fast pace that's a plus and if one has to slow down a little in doing that, it won't have any negative impact on marks .. Both will be rewarded in this case but do not write too much or too little ..

[B]6- Give equal time to all questions:[/B] One barely gets around 37.5 minutes to answer a single question .. Remember to give equal time to all 4 subjective questions .. It is of no use to spend 45 or 50 minutes on a single question at the expense of other 3 questions as marks of all 4 questions are the same ..

[B]7- Draw diagrams:[/B] If possible, one should draw easy and relevant diagrams that can be drawn within a minute or two .. Do no just put in a diagram, also explain it a little and relate to the answer .. Do not put extra time in drawing and related practices as it will leave little time for your answer ..

This is it for now and I shall add more points if I remember later .. I wish you all a very best of luck and may you all succeed in your aspirations .. Just pray to God and give it your best shot leaving the rest upon Allah .. !!

Regards ..[/QUOTE]

i might be a nuisance at this point but i didn't get the meaning of adding diagrams in islamic history and culture... would u please elaborate.. it'll be a great help for all...

thanking u in anticipation :))

and hats off sir.. all our queries are answered so clearly and with such brevity.. You have been such a support for me esp. and for all :)) may god bless you and grant you with all you deserve ;):bow

Stunner Monday, January 21, 2013 02:31 PM

[QUOTE=venomous sophie;544830]i might be a nuisance at this point but i didn't get the meaning of adding diagrams in islamic history and culture... would u please elaborate.. it'll be a great help for all...

thanking u in anticipation :))

and hats off sir.. all our queries are answered so clearly and with such brevity.. You have been such a support for me esp. and for all :)) may god bless you and grant you with all you deserve ;)[/QUOTE]

Realistically there should be no diagrams in History papers .. However, as aspirants need to stand out and show in depth study, it is better if they draw some very [B]simple but only relevant diagrams[/B] .. Some questions are almost regularly asked in one form or the other and hence there are some diagrams that can fit well in answers .. For example the Muslim boom in science and architecture .. I drew diagram of an astrolobe which the Muslims developed at first to sight the direction of moon and of Kaaba, later it was used for navigating ships in the sea .. It is a very simple structured device and can be drawn within 30 to 45 seconds .. It on the other hand shows that advanced ship navigating started with the invention of Muslims .. Similarly I was amazed by watching a documentary on Al-Hambra and how the architect used simple mathematical formula in perfect ratio taken from his geometry knowledge .. I drew that ratio as well within a minute in my paper .. All of you can do the same ..

PS: Diagrams are handy but the primary focus should be on writing .. If you can draw one or two, do it within a minute or an extra half at most ..

I hope it helps ..

Regards ..

waleedbaig Friday, January 25, 2013 09:21 AM

can we quote Mazhur ul haq in paper ?

Stunner Friday, January 25, 2013 01:33 PM

[QUOTE=waleedbaig;546544]can we quote Mazhur ul haq in paper ?[/QUOTE]

No .. Please quote authentic writers like Syed Ameer Ali, Bernard Lewis, P.K Hitti and others ..

Regards ..

uneeb Friday, January 25, 2013 10:32 PM

videos

plz share link of videos for preparation of both islamic history papers

Stunner Friday, January 25, 2013 11:08 PM

[QUOTE=uneeb;546862]plz share link of videos for preparation of both islamic history papers[/QUOTE]

You need to download those documentaries .. Please follow the link below for the post relating downloading those movies .. Watch my reply to 'mano khan' ..

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/505562-post39.html[/url]

Regards ..

Shanisar Saturday, January 26, 2013 02:40 AM

Assalam o alaikum @ stunner.. hope u r doing wel, kindly give a strategy for this last month that how should we study islamic history nd culture along with other subjects? i mean should it b gone through with all other subjects daily or should study it for few days throughly?

@stunner.. kindly also do throw light upon books to b studied in this last month specially, as it is not possible to go through so many books in this short period of time naa??.. so which books u suggest r the best along with notes in this critical period?

Stunner Saturday, January 26, 2013 01:48 PM

[QUOTE=Shanisar;546951]Assalam o alaikum @ stunner.. hope u r doing wel, kindly give a strategy for this last month that how should we study islamic history nd culture along with other subjects? i mean should it b gone through with all other subjects daily or should study it for few days throughly?[/QUOTE]

Waalaikum Salam ..

Remember that Islamic History papers are usually conducted right after compulsory papers without any break .. So one must complete Islamic History well before the start of exams .. It is very important to revise IHC with a final touch almost a week before the exams .. So on the eve of IHC papers when you are just done with your Pak Affairs and Islamiat papers, one should only revise the outlines for IHC within a couple of hours and get a good rest .. Get up early in the morning and revise again for paper 1 .. During the break between papers revise for paper 2 .. This plan is according to past years' datesheets .. If you are lucky this year and get some break for IHC papers then plan accordingly ..

[QUOTE=Shanisar;546952]@stunner.. kindly also do throw light upon books to b studied in this last month specially, as it is not possible to go through so many books in this short period of time naa??.. so which books u suggest r the best along with notes in this critical period?[/QUOTE]

Your notes or outlines will be the best material for this time .. However, keep reading the book or books - that you used to make notes from - lightly as bedtime reading .. It is not the time for studying something new and do not over emphasise on IHC at the cost of other subjects ..

Best of luck to all ..

Regards ..

Hailian8949 Friday, February 08, 2013 02:34 PM

[QUOTE=Stunner;546615]No .. Please quote authentic writers like Syed Ameer Ali, Bernard Lewis, P.K Hitti and others ..

Regards ..[/QUOTE]

it means that we should not use Mazhar-ul- Haq book?

Asi01 Friday, February 08, 2013 03:03 PM

[QUOTE=Hailian8949;553269]it means that we should not use Mazhar-ul- Haq book?[/QUOTE]

Dear! Mr Stunner did not criticize about the book of Mazharul Haq but he has advised to write quotations of well-known authors like PK Hitti, N.J Coulson, Syed Ameer Ali etc. I have studied two books for Muslim History. One written by K.Ali and another written by Mazhar. The latter book is more authenticated, comprehensive and easy to understand than the former.
Best of Luck

Stunner Friday, February 08, 2013 05:49 PM

[QUOTE=Hailian8949;553269]it means that we should not use Mazhar-ul- Haq book?[/QUOTE]

I have cleared in earlier posts that Mazhar ul Haq's books are best among the 'Desi' books available in Pakistan .. His books provide basic and required knowledge for CSS IHC syllabus .. However, there is a difference between original work and the copied one .. Examiners will discourage if one quotes Mazahr ul Haq in an answer .. It is always better to quote from sources recommended by FPSC itself .. So, use Mazhar ul Haq in order to understand the topic, to get basic information and other sources for in depth study, analysis and quotes ..

PS: I do not mean, at all, that all Pakistani writers are termed as 'Desi' and are not authentic .. Writers like Syed Ameer Ali and M.M Sharif are as good as any Western writer and are considered very authentic on Islamic History .. In fact M.M Sharif's 'A History of Muslim Philosophy' is considered as one of the best works in Philosophy around the world ..

Regards ..

Stunner Tuesday, February 26, 2013 07:30 PM

Dear Islamic History aspirants,

Its almost a day now from your Islamic History papers .. I'll be online here at forum, tomorrow (27th Feb) the whole day until your exam starts .. If anyone needs any help or guidance regarding anything related to Islamic History then please do not hesitate to ask here ..

I wish a very best of luck to all of you ..

Regards ..

Asi01 Tuesday, February 26, 2013 08:21 PM

[QUOTE=Stunner;563922]Dear Islamic History aspirants,

Its almost a day now from your Islamic History papers .. I'll be online here at forum, tomorrow (27th Feb) the whole day until your exam starts .. If anyone needs any help or guidance regarding anything related to Islamic History then please do not hesitate to ask here ..

Regards ..[/QUOTE]

Thanks Sir!

can you please predict the questions for part II.
or just tell the important areas, from where the questions can be expected?
Although i have a book of Part II written by Mazhar ul Haq but couldnt read it due to some problems.
I will be thankful. If you will make it easy for me.

alihashmatkhoso Tuesday, February 26, 2013 08:36 PM

[QUOTE=Asi01;563946]Thanks Sir!

Although i have a book of Part II written by Mazhar ul Haq but couldnt read it due to some problems.
I will be thankful. If you will make it easy for me.[/QUOTE]
Umar bin Abdul AZIZ
walid Bin Abdul Malik
SulmN the magnificent.
Muhmmad2 the conqueror.

Roqayyah Tuesday, February 26, 2013 09:11 PM

any good ebook for ottoman empire?

Stunner Tuesday, February 26, 2013 09:49 PM

[QUOTE=Asi01;563946]Thanks Sir!

I will be thankful. If you will make it easy for me.[/QUOTE]

It is hard to predict questions and I'm not good at doing so .. However, in addition to topics mentioned by alihashmatkhoso, go through the following topics:
Renaissance, Muslim advancement as a light for Europe, Philosophical movements and philosophers like Ibn e Sina and others, Muslim advancement in science, medicine and architecture like Al-Hambra, Domb of Rock and Cordoba Mosque etc .. Part 2 paper is more likely to be a general one and will be based on mixed topics even from Part 1 .. One question from conquest and spread of Islam in Spain or Africa is also expected .. It is advised to skim through the book of Mazhar ul Haq only for the above mentioned topics just to brainstorm in a short time if you have not read it before ..

[QUOTE=Roqayyah;563991]any good ebook for ottoman empire?[/QUOTE]

You can google a PDF of 'Ottoman Empire and the World around it' by Surraiya Farooqhi ..

Regards ..

Roqayyah Tuesday, February 26, 2013 09:52 PM

[B][/B]Give an analytical study of the central administrative structure of the OTttoman Sultans.

this one paper give sufficient answer for this question?
[url]http://jesr.journal.fatih.edu.tr/jesr.caha.karaman.pdf[/url]

rai hanan Tuesday, February 26, 2013 10:23 PM

[QUOTE=Stunner;563922]Dear Islamic History aspirants,

Regards ..[/QUOTE]
can u plz outline the consequences of muslim rule in africa? and i wanted to ask if the description of spanish architecture in pk hitti book is enough or more detail is required?

Stunner Tuesday, February 26, 2013 11:55 PM

[QUOTE=Roqayyah;564022][B][/B]Give an analytical study of the central administrative structure of the OTttoman Sultans.

this one paper give sufficient answer for this question?
[url]http://jesr.journal.fatih.edu.tr/jesr.caha.karaman.pdf[/url][/QUOTE]

No, there is a dichotomy in concepts of the question and knowledge provided in article .. The question asks about administrative structure established or used by different Sultans of Ottoman Empire and the article is mostly based on relatively contemporary or last century of the Empire .. Moreover, there is no reference given to any Sultan and most of the discussion is general about the Empire .. For a good answer you would need to link the information to a source, and structure to a Sultan .. Nonetheless you can get some good selected points from this article about the structure of Ottoman Empire in general ..

[QUOTE=rai hanan;564046]can u plz outline the consequences of muslim rule in africa? and i wanted to ask if the description of spanish architecture in pk hitti book is enough or more detail is required?[/QUOTE]

Islam in Africa was spread in 3 stages: Containment, Mixing and Reform .. First the Muslim influence was contained by separating Muslim communities, then Islamic ideals were blended with local traditions during the mixing period and lastly the reform period carried forward a wave of spread of Islam in most of the African countries ..

Consequences can be seen as:
1- Africa today has the majority Muslim population among other continents ..
2- The Murabitun movement started from Africa as a result of spread of Islam and provided the manpower for establishment of Muslim political military power into Spain/Europe ..
3- Trans-Saharan trade was intensified by the Muslims of Africa which started enriching the poor African land ..
4- North African traders were primary agents in introducing Islam into West Africa ..
5- Muslim merchant scholars facilitated long distance trade by offering useful knowledge for merchants including contract law, credit, and information networks and also played an important role in non-Muslim kingdoms as advisers ..

[B]Margari Hill[/B] in an article on spreading of Islam in Africa writes:

[CENTER][I]The trans-Saharan trade was an important gateway for the spread of Islam in Africa. The legacy of the medieval empires and nineteenth century reform movements continues to have relevance in present day Senegal, Gambia, Mali, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, as well as many neighboring communities. Muslim communities have existed in West Africa for over a millennium, pointing to the fact that Islam is a significant part of the African landscape .. !![/I][/CENTER]

Regards ..

Daisy Tuesday, February 26, 2013 11:57 PM

Asslamo Alaikum! Great job Stunner!
I want to ask that have you compiled your book of Islamic history? Also share your views about recent scoring trend of Islamic history esp as compared to Indo Pak History. Thanks.

Stunner Wednesday, February 27, 2013 12:26 AM

[QUOTE=rai hanan;564046]and i wanted to ask if the description of spanish architecture in pk hitti book is enough or more detail is required?[/QUOTE]

Pardon, I forgot to answer this limb in earlier post .. You will need to study architecture part from another book along with P.K Hitti .. Preferably from Mazhar ul Haq .. I was awed by the architecture of Muslims in Spain, so I read that topic with great interest .. The best sources to me on this part were M.M Sharif's 'A history of Muslim Philosophy' and the documentary by Bettany Hughes 'When the Moors ruled in Europe' .. However, as the time is very short right now, you can read it from any of the sources available to you ..

[QUOTE=NAILA ASHRAF;564086]Asslamo Alaikum! Great job Stunner!
I want to ask that have you compiled your book of Islamic history? Also share your views about recent scoring trend of Islamic history esp as compared to Indo Pak History. Thanks.[/QUOTE]

Waalaikum Salam ..
The book will be ready by June/July/August InshaAllah .. If you prepare according to the method I have stated in this thread and from the sources I have mentioned, then you can beat any scoring trend and gain marks on merit .. And this goes for other subjects as well .. However, I would still prefer Islamic History over Indo-Pak ..

Regards ..

rai hanan Wednesday, February 27, 2013 01:02 PM

sir, outline for how european renaissance took its spark from from muslim universities and seminaries of cordova and baghdad?

Stunner Wednesday, February 27, 2013 04:49 PM

[QUOTE=rai hanan;564244]sir, outline for how european renaissance took its spark from from muslim universities and seminaries of cordova and baghdad?[/QUOTE]

Renaissance is a general topic and you would need to mention all factors that influenced it .. Mention Philosophical movement of Muslims and the translated text of Greeks which the Muslims did while West thought it to be blasphemous to read Greek material .. Muslims read and understood Greek texts, translated them and later challenged them by way of their own theories .. Scientific research in schools of Baghdad and advancement in medicine during the Spanish period also need to be mentioned .. In short list all the material and give all credit of European Renaissance to Muslims in such a question ..

Regards ..

rai hanan Wednesday, February 27, 2013 06:07 PM

reference to christians and jews who studied from muslim institutions and helped transfer of knowledge to europe can be mentioned. hmm?

06:19 PM (GMT +5)