02:12 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > Islamic History & Culture

Old Wednesday, June 27, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 6184PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2013 - DDAO BS-17

Khaliqdad Gondal is on a distinguished road

Aoa bro...although i have taken an attempt and my score in IHC was 138...but still i feel there are certain questions which i were not able to prepare due unavailability of relevant material...so, if you could tell me about books where from i could prepare about
1.Ottoman Empire in full detail
2.Different civilizations at the advent of Islam
3.Conquest and Muslim rule in Africa (not Fatimid)

thanking in advance.....
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Originally Posted by Khaliqdad Gondal View Post
Aoa bro...although i have taken an attempt and my score in IHC was 138...but still i feel there are certain questions which i were not able to prepare due unavailability of relevant material...so, if you could tell me about books where from i could prepare about
Waalaikum Salam ..

Bro you are right that not much or quality material is available for the topics you mentioned .. I skipped these topics during my preparation .. However, If you want to cover them, here are the sources ..

1.Ottoman Empire in full detail
History of Islam by Sohail Bhatti covers the topic of Ottoman Empire from page 804 to 852 .. I doubt the quality of this book so I would recommend to go through other sources as well .. A very good video documentary is available, if you can download it through Torrent .. You can add quality quotes and other dimensions of the Ottoman Empire from that documentary .. Its name is 'Islam: Empire of Faith' and part 3 of this documentary deals fully with the Ottoman Empire .. You can also study the more contemporary version of Ottoman Empire from P.K Hitti's 'History of The Arabs' ..Part 4 of the book deals with Ottoman Rule from page 709 ..

I personally studied only the Arab part of this topic .. I couldn't find satisfactory material on other civilizations even on internet .. So, I skipped it .. If you find any good material on this topic then please share it here for the benefit of all ..

3.Conquest and Muslim rule in Africa (not Fatimid)
The book 'The Preaching of Islam' by Sir Thomas Arnold covers the conquest and Muslim rule in Africa part in different chapters .. This book is easily and cheaply available in market .. Chapter 4 of this book deals with the topic 'The spread of Islam among the Christian Nations of Africa' and also Chapter 10 'The Spread of Islam in Africa .. You'll get much insight from this book InshaAllah ..

Regards ..
azure (Sunday, October 14, 2012), Khaliqdad Gondal (Thursday, June 28, 2012), SAMEYA AROOJ (Sunday, January 20, 2013), waves (Saturday, December 29, 2012)

mariyah is on a distinguished road

i think this thread will heelp regarding

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optio...awn-islam.html
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mariyah For This Useful Post:
Khaliqdad Gondal (Thursday, June 28, 2012), SAMEYA AROOJ (Sunday, January 20, 2013), Stunner (Thursday, June 28, 2012)
Old Thursday, June 28, 2012
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 6184PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2013 - DDAO BS-17

Khaliqdad Gondal is on a distinguished road

@Stunner
Bro, i shall, definitely, try to get benefit from the sources you have pointed out...
if i find any helpful material i shall share here for sure...
thanks dear and jazakallah

@Maria
thread mentioned by you is indeed helpful for that particular question...thanks dear
The Following User Says Thank You to Khaliqdad Gondal For This Useful Post:
Stunner (Thursday, June 28, 2012)
Old Thursday, October 11, 2012
41st CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 139

sajidnuml is a jewel in the roughsajidnuml is a jewel in the roughsajidnuml is a jewel in the roughsajidnuml is a jewel in the rough

@stunner

I am really impressed from your marks in Islamic history. 166 is a recording breaking score. As you mentioned that you fell in love with this subject, I have the same feelings but in my two previous attempts, I secured 139 in first and just 71 in second attempt. But seeing your impressive score this time makes me hopeful that I will have a good score too.

I had studied almost all the material you suggested above, yet securing good score is an art not everybody knows. Therefore, I attempted questions with great care taking all the precautionary measures hitting the main points giving my analytical and critical analysis where required.

Please share your strategy how you attempted this paper.
Old Friday, October 12, 2012

shaguftaurooj is on a distinguished road

I Dont have any knowledge of history before .. is islamic history is good for me? is ialmic history is scoring in 2013.. please tell how to perpare it .. in what duration it will take to perpare beacuse i have very short time...
Old Saturday, October 13, 2012

zindagi20 is on a distinguished road
Default Need guidance

AoA, Stunner. I am doing job as well as preparing for 2013. Please guide me how to fetch marks upto 80's in each papaer of IHC. How i can differentiate my question. n most important, little time is left behind so guide for smart study.
Old Saturday, October 13, 2012
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Originally Posted by sajidnuml View Post
@stunner
Please share your strategy how you attempted this paper.
Bro although I have already stated some techniques in this thread .. There are however some which I can remember now .. One thing most aspirants cannot do in examination is to quote in their answers writers like Sohail Bhatti, K Ali and others who tend to provide copy-paste material to aspirants .. One can only quote authentic writers and the best of them are those mentioned by FPSC itself .. Quoting sources and writers depicts to the examiner that one has read widely and grasped right concepts ..

As for the paper, I can remember the first thought that appeared to me when I saw the paper was that it did not require straight forward answers, rather it required a scholarly application of everything that I ever learnt on Islamic History .. Although I wrote to the point, I also made diagrams, for example, of mathematical explanation for the perfection of Al-Hambra, of devices like Astrolobe to show advancement of Muslim scientists and that even lead to advancement in navigation for ships .. It was the paper asking not for right or wrong answers, rather for a complex mixture of issues that would substantiate your understanding .. I hope it helps

Originally Posted by shaguftaurooj View Post
I Dont have any knowledge of history before .. is islamic history is good for me? is ialmic history is scoring in 2013.. please tell how to perpare it .. in what duration it will take to perpare beacuse i have very short time...
Read the thread from start and you'll get all your answers InshaAllah ..

Originally Posted by zindagi20 View Post
AoA, Stunner. I am doing job as well as preparing for 2013. Please guide me how to fetch marks upto 80's in each papaer of IHC. How i can differentiate my question. n most important, little time is left behind so guide for smart study.
The only short cut for you is to make bullet points and not complete notes, that will save a lot of time .. You can also use Microsoft Word and type speedily instead of writing on paper .. This will be the smart part .. Hard work will be required in reading original texts and other sources .. A combination of both will lead to you to good marks InshaAllah .. Watch the documentaries mentioned in earlier posts, they will save time and provide a good understanding ..

P.S: My CSS journey is over, I'll not be able to concentrate on this forum as I used to do, owing to my final year law studies and family commitments .. Advance apologies to all for any delay in answering posts .. I wish best of luck to all future aspirants ..

Regards ..
azure (Sunday, October 14, 2012)
Old Sunday, October 14, 2012

zindagi20 is on a distinguished road

Stunner, may i have your e-mail id or some other source of contact. I have some other queries too. i have attempted some questions in outline form so want your expert opinion about them.
Old Sunday, October 21, 2012

usman qureshi is on a distinguished road

stunner ji part 2 ke important topics btaen please as in 2012 paper pattern is changed please sir and i read sohail bhatti,s book i have pk hitti but not k.ali,s book sir