-   Islamic History & Culture (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/islamic-history-culture/)
-   -   All About Islamic History .. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/islamic-history-culture/61642-all-about-islamic-history.html)

Stunner Tuesday, December 18, 2012 02:28 PM

[QUOTE=kulsum58578;528795]aoa...
i have studied islamic history and muslim law in urdu during my bachelors.. it will require alot of effort to convert the whole knowledge into english... please tell , can i take these papers in urdu in css exam?[/QUOTE]

Waalaikum Salam ..

Islamic History and Muslim Law cannot be taken in Urdu in CSS .. In fact, all the subjects are to be taken in English in CSS except Islamiat, where you have a choice, and regional languages .. It won't be a hectic task to study these subjects in English if you are a CSS aspirant and have some grip over the language .. Best of luck

Regards ..

Bilal Hassan Thursday, December 20, 2012 04:28 PM

[COLOR="Blue"][B]nice thread and i am also planning to opt IHC for my 2014 attempt, i have knack for History in general and for Military and Islamic History in particular, inspired from this love i started [B][U]reading[/U][/B] (not studying...as study makes things dull) [B][U][I]Moors in Spain by Stanley Lanepoole,[/I][/U][/B] i am really kicked by the impression of that book, i am going to opt that particular subject insha Allah and i hope it will prove to be be scoring as well... [/B][/COLOR]

Stunner Thursday, December 20, 2012 11:42 PM

[QUOTE=Bilal Hassan;529941][COLOR="Blue"][B]nice thread and i am also planning to opt IHC for my 2014 attempt, i have knack for History in general and for Military and Islamic History in particular, inspired from this love i started [B][U]reading[/U][/B] (not studying...as study makes things dull) [B][U][I]Moors in Spain by Stanley Lanepoole,[/I][/U][/B] i am really kicked by the impression of that book, i am going to opt that particular subject insha Allah and i hope it will prove to be be scoring as well... [/B][/COLOR][/QUOTE]

Its nice to have an avid Islamic History reader with us .. Islamic History can yield pleasantly surprising marks if properly prepared and attempted .. Best of luck

Regards ..

nile Friday, December 21, 2012 01:43 AM

Asalam o alaykum bro stunner

Kindly help in the following questions:
Discuss the nature and importance of reforms of abdul malik bin marwan.

Importance i understand and can write. But what exactly we shud write about nature?

Another question which has asked nature is:
Highlight the nature and importance of the Ummayad institutions and society.

Also i wanted to ask why did three questions from ummayad dynasty came in 2011 paper 2 although its part of paper 1.

Thankyou in advance

Stunner Friday, December 21, 2012 10:06 AM

[QUOTE=nile;530250]Asalam o alaykum bro stunner

Kindly help in the following questions:
Discuss the nature and importance of reforms of abdul malik bin marwan.

Importance i understand and can write. But what exactly we shud write about nature?

Another question which has asked nature is:
Highlight the nature and importance of the Ummayad institutions and society.

Also i wanted to ask why did three questions from ummayad dynasty came in 2011 paper 2 although its part of paper 1.

Thankyou in advance[/QUOTE]

Waalaikum Salam Bro ..

There are 2 ways to answer the 'nature' questions:

1- Decribe the kind .. For example in 'Nature of Ummayad institutions' one can describe what instituitions they established and their working mechanism .. Similarly, in nature of Abdul Malik's reforms one can describe the kind of reforms he brought before one goes on the describe the importance or consequences of them ..

2- The second method is to describe the background .. For example listing all circumstances under which the reform or institutions were needed and then going on to the actual kind of reform or institution and so on ..

As for your query I think the first approach will be better and relevant .. If however, a certain question asks about 'historical nature', then you can go for the second approach ..

Regarding your second query I would like to explain that Islamic History is difficult to be compartmentalized .. I mean almost everything is interlinked and can be asked in either of the papers .. So the best approach should be to cover it properly and adequately so one can answer any set question .. The best thing about attempting Islamic History paper is that one can relate the aquired knowledge to many asked questions by aid of analogy and analysis ..

Best of luck

Regards ..

nile Sunday, December 23, 2012 01:29 AM

Jazak Allah khair brother. Please also tell is it safe to skip the chapters discussing petty dynasties from 945-1258 in detail? I noticed that no question has ever been asked related to these topics in past papers. Rather the main focus is on abbasid rule from 750-945 and their literary and scientific etc achievements. So what do you suggest.
Thankyou

nile Sunday, December 23, 2012 01:41 AM

Actually mazhar ul haq discussed the dynasties and kingdoms after disintegration of abbasids, in too much detail and i want to ask if i can skip those chapters.

Stunner Sunday, December 23, 2012 03:01 AM

[QUOTE=nile;531100]Actually mazhar ul haq discussed the dynasties and kingdoms after disintegration of abbasids, in too much detail and i want to ask if i can skip those chapters.[/QUOTE]

I skipped them and so can you if you want to .. They are not strictly examinable .. But a quick skim & scan reading of them may help you
to bridge the gap and also for MCQs ..

Regards ..

Asi01 Sunday, December 23, 2012 01:30 PM

Bro Stunner!

I have some queries regarding the questions asked in the past.

There were some question

[B]2003:[/B] Write a comprehensive note on the social, political, religious and economic state of affirs of the pre-Islamic world and highlight the revolutionary changes brought by Islam in the human thinking and behaviour?

[B]2011:[/B] Critically examine the effects of teachings of the Holy Prophet on Arabia?

[B]2005:[/B] Write a comprehensive essay on the teaching of the Holy Prophet (PBUH)?

My queries are

Can you give example of the teachings of the Holy Prophet (PBUH)?
I couldnt find answer in any book of Muslim History.

Are these teachings the same which were discussed in K Ali's book like

01-Social Teachings

A) Removal of social inequality
B) Social vices abolished
C) Position of Women
D) Women placed on equal footing with men
E) Inter-marriage encouraged
F) Abolition of slavery
G) Islamic social security system

02-Political

A) Unification of wrring tribes
B) Security of life and property granted
C) Reconciliation of different creed; The Prophet as a nation-builder

03-Religious

04-Economic

A) Ban on usury
B) Zakat and sadaqat

05-Conclusion

Pease tell me the teachings of Holy Prophet with instances and how to answer this question regarding the paper of Muslim History.

Asif Nawaz Abro

Stunner Monday, December 24, 2012 11:42 AM

@ Asi01

Bro these are all general questions and one would need to be very sensible to answer only relevantly .. The answers to these questions are not clearly defined and explained in a particular book, rather they can range from start to the end of course ..

The outline you provided is good .. If you add your personal learnings and try to answer in your own way, it will be better .. For example in Social-political teachings or changes brought by the Prophet P.B.U.H you can, and must, quote the 'Hilf Al Fadul' oath which was taken at the instigation of Muhammad P.B.U.H for the safety of lives and property of traders inside Makkah who came from outside Arabia .. One would need to mention that the Oath was taken even before the Revelation on Prophet Muhammad P.B.U.H and the changes it brought was that despite the Ummayyad's strongness in terms of wealth, the respect and honour came to the clan of Hashimites .. So it basically united the poor front for their rights against the wealthy and powerful .. The incident happened when one outsider trader asked for help after having sold his merchandise to a strong Ummayad without being paid and was even threatened ..

Apply your learning from the whole course and give analysis in these sort of questions .. Look for relavant quotes and views from prescribed books .. Other than that, the outline you gave is good and you can follow it alongside your personal views .. Find below some examples of relating your knowledge ..

I can remember some quotes which can be applied to economic scenario here .. Reinhardt Dozy says:

[B][I]'Arabia would indubitably have fallen a prey to a foreign conqueror if she had not been too poor to be worth conquering'.[/I][/B]

At another place he narrates an incident when one Arab Prince asked for help for troops of a Persian King to fight in Arabia with him, and even offered a province as a gift if he had helped him. The Persian King replied:

[I][B]'What doth thy land contain ? A few sheep and camels ? Never will I, for such trifling guerdon, risk a Persian army in your deserts.'[/B][/I]

Now these quotes will show you the economic backwardness of Arabia before the Islamic era started with Muhammad P.B.U.H .. After that you can mention that Medina emerged as a 'treasure capital' and all the wealth from all over the world after wars was moved to Medina .. Mention the amount of wealth that was distributed to Arabs after the wars and all that ..

Now you get an idea, I hope .. The quotes I mentioned above are from Reinhardt Dozy's 'Spanish Islam' a book which is not even relevant to the topic in question but one can find the relevant thing from anywhere .. So apply your learning and be analytic in such kind of general questions, as they ask for wide reading and analysis ..

Best of luck ..

Regards ..

10:51 AM (GMT +5)