03:00 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group IV > Islamic History & Culture

Old Thursday, June 20, 2013

doctor jogi is on a distinguished road
Default Kindly help to end confusion........!!

Aoa....dear fellows I have opted Sociology,Psychology and punjabi....I am much confused about choosing either Geography or Islamic history....I am interested in History as i read one book of islamic history in my teenage ...i m weak in perceiving and interpreting visual things like maps or drawings...Now i want to score among the toppers in written... seniors what do u suggest...I should go for Islamic history or Geography keeping in mind all trends and pros and cons............I shall be highly thankful.....regards
Defence Award: Awarded to serving ISI, FIA Officers - Issue reason:

Codename Hijazi will become famous soon enough

Just go for Islamic History. It's scoring subject if you prepare it well.
doctor jogi (Thursday, June 20, 2013)

Habib ullah Khattak is on a distinguished road

First I would say that history subject is not mere narration or accumulation of data that you found it interesting and read a digest of history at teenage. History is good subject but as for CSS is concerned, it requires a rational approach, writing and to assess the socio-eco and religio-pol drives against any particular development which is rather difficult.
As for geography is concerned, I know not even a lot tile about it but heard of it that is difficult to be griped but once griped it gives good marks like other active sciences.But as you told that you are unable to read the map, it shows a little lack of interest towards Geography.
If you are naive to both, then I would suggest you to opt for IH, which seems easier than geo according to Ur perceptions.
For IH consult following books:-
1. A short history of Islam by Mazher Ul Haq...... Paper -I
2. History of Muslim Spain by Mazher Ul Haq....... PaperIi
After reading these two books througyly, inshallah you will enable to secure good marks.
3. History of Arabs by P.K. Hitti for both paper 1 and 2.
After reading Mazher Ul haq books you must read hitti book be ayse it will enable you to give intellectual touch to your studies. Further, it is better to make notes of your own after studying all these materials, it will give u good result
Old Friday, June 21, 2013

MUHAMMAD TURK is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by doctor jogi View Post
Aoa....dear fellows I have opted Sociology,Psychology and punjabi....I am much confused about choosing either Geography or Islamic history....I am interested in History as i read one book of islamic history in my teenage ...i m weak in perceiving and interpreting visual things like maps or drawings...Now i want to score among the toppers in written... seniors what do u suggest...I should go for Islamic history or Geography keeping in mind all trends and pros and cons............I shall be highly thankful.....regards
You better first study some quality books like
A History of Arabs by P.K. Hitti and
A short History of Saracens by Syed Ameer Ali.
and then decide whether you should opt for Islamic History. As far as my opinion is concerned it is a great subject. I hope you will love it and will never lose your interest in it even after your CSS.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MUHAMMAD TURK For This Useful Post:
doctor jogi (Monday, June 24, 2013), parwarsha (Thursday, August 08, 2013)