11:49 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group V > English Literature

English Literature Notes and Topics on Eng.Literature here

Old Thursday, May 26, 2005
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom
Post Seeking help in English literature?

Assalam-o-Alaikum
Anybody who want to be helped in english literature, can ask me. I will try my best to do in whatever way i can.
Wish all of you good luck.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Last Island For This Useful Post:
altaflashari (Sunday, August 24, 2008), gopo (Saturday, May 16, 2009), khawla (Tuesday, June 22, 2010), saba sharif (Monday, April 27, 2009), Shooting Star (Saturday, February 20, 2010), waaqar (Sunday, May 17, 2009)
Old Monday, September 05, 2005

Hailey is on a distinguished road
Default not sure about eng lit.

Hi, I am not sure if I should opt for english lit. You see I have read some of the books that are on the syllabus but poetry is my weak point. How did you decide that you wanted to opt for it or not? please let me know. thanks
Old Saturday, November 12, 2005

voyuer is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Regal help offered for seagals?

Assalaam-o-aleekum~!
first of all I should better thank you up for providing every one here with the oppertunity to ask their problems regarding Eng.lit.
( one can show his gratitude to you,for allowing 'imself to talk to a blue blood.I mean among all the purple played persons ,who would have thought that a queen will allow the commons to dare to ask her highness anything?, no offence plz).
Anyways , I have some questions seeking help about my opted literature papers.So, if you kindly could further more vivify the nature of help which you are claiming to come up with ?( I mean, whether you are some pantisocratic bureaucrat who wants to share her lores in the field with the novices? or you will just provide them with some relevent helpful sites? or you will refer to some academic guidance kind of a thing?) I will be honoured to ask some questions if you nod with the first guess.hope to hear more from you soon.Allah Haafiz~!
Najam Riaz.

Last edited by Princess Royal; Thursday, August 21, 2008 at 09:05 PM.
Old Thursday, August 21, 2008

Raana is on a distinguished road
i need of your suggestions in opting english lit as one of my selected subjects. someone advised me not to opt for it because it gives lesser marks comparatively. I am puzzled on his advice becoz he had opted for that and obtained only 101/200. Though i have read most of the books recommended for masters in english but dont feel master over them,
Old Sunday, August 24, 2008

altaflashari is on a distinguished road
Smile Thank

Thanks you island.
today i have read various topics in detail on CSS forum. In 2004 i took admission but could not complete the M.A English. Now i have reached again on the decision to take exam of M.A English. Please help me what subjects should be taken in Part-I, so that i could obtain good marks.

Last edited by altaflashari; Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 08:42 AM. Reason: some text missing
Old Tuesday, August 26, 2008

sam_diya is on a distinguished road

it is always said that eng lit. is never a scoring subject,which is quite true....
All i want to ask is wht do u think if somebody opts it in CSS.how high can he/she score if hav a benifit of doing masters in literature...but nt from punjab uni....

i hav seen few past papers,,i think the pattern is quite flexilbe with objectives to secure atleast 10 full marks.(i think objectives r 10 marks ony).with objectiv paper how much better chances r there to secure better...

thanks alot....
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

Originally Posted by altaflashari
Thanks you island.
today i have read various topics in detail on CSS forum. In 2004 i took admission but could not complete the M.A English. Now i have reached again on the decision to take exam of M.A English. Please help me
If you have studied literature before, then you would know that there are no Subjects in English Literature. It itself is a subject divided in 5 papers i.e.

PART I: Poetry, Drama, Novel, Prose and American Literature

Part II: Poetry, Drama, Novel, Criticism and an Optional Paper (English Language Teaching, Essay, Short stories, Linguistics) from which you have to choose only one.

You have to study for all of these papers. Now i didnt get what you really meant by "what subjects should be taken in Part-I, so that i could obtain good marks".

@ S H Virk

Will you plz help diya as you appeared with literature and are experienced.
Na_shah (Wednesday, October 29, 2008)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CSS 2007Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

S.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really niceS.H.Virk is just really nice
Lightbulb

I m at the Queen's service, highness.

@ Sam-diya
First of all dont pay attention to those,if any, who may say English Litt is not scoring; especially wen one has done masters in the subject and feels comfortable with it.

One can get full 40 marks in objective with even nominal preparations.

It proved strength for me..less time, more marks, i.e. 14o and they r my highest marks in any subjects.

Go ahead with confidence, grasp the subject well...U can surprise them.
mangat1 (Thursday, February 04, 2010)

sam_diya is on a distinguished road

thanks alot 4 encouraging me....i will definately go 4 eng.literature nw....after all i did masters n wasted 2 years in doing so...anyways thanks again....

does the syllabus difference matter?as i think css follows punjab university sayllabus mostly.
Old Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Thanked 1,122 Times in 674 Posts
mhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud of

okk, i have never been in touch with english literature, or even english for that matter, and iam also faced by mediocre english problem which is even compelling me not to attempt css. could u advice me to opt for english literature?

P.S. reaslizing this is off topic, but can anyone guide me how and where to improve english please. i live in a small town so i cannot verify my competence at english at the moment.