03:21 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group V > English Literature

English Literature Notes and Topics on Eng.Literature here

Old Sunday, January 24, 2010
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

If you want to study literature just for aesthetic pleasure, read anything you like. But if you want to understand it too, go through "A Short History of English Literature" by Ifor Evans to get how financial slump, social deterioration, industrialism and other factors influenced the literature of that era. Different characteristics of different Era will also be known to you.

Dont start with Gulliver's Travel. Its too lengthy - a social satire written symbolically. You wont be able to keep your interest till the end. Start with simple and interesting stuff like Hardy's and Austen's Novels.

To understand "Animal Farm", one must know about Russian Revolution, its slogans and the Stalin Era.
Andrew Dufresne (Sunday, January 24, 2010), azeegum (Thursday, December 29, 2011), mangat1 (Saturday, February 06, 2010), MOEEN AKHTAR (Saturday, March 03, 2012), nageen (Sunday, January 24, 2010), New Student (Sunday, January 24, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Wednesday, January 27, 2010)
Old Wednesday, December 28, 2011

entirely stranger is on a distinguished road

i have the book, ifor evans.... but i cnt read it with interest,manytimes i started then left....would u please help me,that how could i develop my interest in that book??? it seems very dry...please help me that how i could read for understanding...

Da Skeptic will become famous soon enoughDa Skeptic will become famous soon enough
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by entirely stranger View Post
i have the book, ifor evans.... but i cnt read it with interest,manytimes i started then left....would u please help me,that how could i develop my interest in that book??? it seems very dry...please help me that how i could read for understanding...
first decide clear cut whether you are interested in studying literature or not.. and if the answer is yes, u have to study a short and brief history of english literature as suggested by our respected Last Island, to understand literatures produced in different eras and different writers and the symbolism and allegories those works contain.. being unfamiliar to the history and various trends and tendencies, u won't be able to cope up and keep up ur interest with the subject.. it may prove boring but u have to bear some pain to have more pleasure.. as it is said,"nothing ventured, nothing gained", or simply, no pain no gain.. moreover read little at first and discuss it here or with others who have some grasp over the subject.. discussions will not exasperate u Inshallah and will be of enormous help..
Regards..
Last Island (Wednesday, December 28, 2011)

attiquemalik is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by newstudent View Post
I want to study english literature on my own. As I am not very much into old english style (art, thou type english). So can any one suggest me a simple book to start with. I mean by studying this book, I could comprehend english literature.
Top 25-English Literature Question & English literature (MCQs) By Publishers Emporium usefull books.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

Originally Posted by attiquemalik View Post
Top 25-English Literature Question & English literature (MCQs) By Publishers Emporium usefull books.
It wont help. He wants to study literature.
Old Thursday, December 29, 2011

azeegum has a spectacular aura aboutazeegum has a spectacular aura aboutazeegum has a spectacular aura about

I agree with sis Last Island. If I am to recommend a book for a newbie I will recommend the same. Here is the link to download the book in pdf format.

a short history of english literature - ifor evans.pdf - 4shared.com - document sharing - download - lanaa1
Old Friday, December 30, 2011

Originally Posted by Da Skeptic View Post
first decide clear cut whether you are interested in studying literature or not.. and if the answer is yes, u have to study a short and brief history of english literature as suggested by our respected Last Island, to understand literatures produced in different eras and different writers and the symbolism and allegories those works contain.. being unfamiliar to the history and various trends and tendencies, u won't be able to cope up and keep up ur interest with the subject.. it may prove boring but u have to bear some pain to have more pleasure.. as it is said,"nothing ventured, nothing gained", or simply, no pain no gain.. moreover read little at first and discuss it here or with others who have some grasp over the subject.. discussions will not exasperate u Inshallah and will be of enormous help..
Regards..
Well,... thanks a lot for motivation..and for making me to take a good start of A Short History of English literature. i cud not pass my MA part I... i consider it my good luck as i did never think to understand English literature, was just focused upon upper meanings of everything...but now i want to understand deeply....:-)...bnda English me MA kry aur history ko choor dy....so funny...

Here my points which i have concluded after reading 1st chapter (A short history of english literature). kindly check them if m wrong... and clear my some difficulties...sorry for too minute questions but really i want to make them very clear in my mind....and so that i don’t go in the wrong direction at the very beginning

We take start of English literature from Chaucer.
6 centuries (means 6*100) are considered in English literature...we ignore English literature b4 Chaucer bc English of that time is now as a foreign language...
History of England takes place when ... angels, Saxons and jutes were in England and were invaded ...but invaded by whom, they fought with each other in england??? i want to know the position of Saxons, jutes and angles separately in England.
Augustine converted jutes into Kent...is this point related to the Christianity? Why had Augustine come to England, special for the conversion of jutes into Kent??
What does norman conquest means?? Were angles,Saxons and jutes all were norman,and does Normandy means Germany,if all were belong to germany then y were fighting with each other in england??
Augustine was a man of Rome??and what is kent??Northumbria ....?

Literature in anglo-saxon period was collected in manuscripts....in this chapter just mentioned the detail of sir Robert cotton’s script collection, and Exeter book.

What does it mean.....one cannot assess Anglo-Saxon literature or medieval literature from the extant manuscripts.....y, y we can’t assess??

Ely....place, and Canute.... poet?? who r Scandinavians??

There is mention, about two important poems....beowulf and andreas .... then the Genesis story, dream of the road and Judith... are mentioned anyway???
The work on prose in anglo-Saxon period was by Aldhelm and Bede........both wrote in Latin....then there was Danish, .............then king Alfred, ....whose main work was translation ....
What is Peterborough??
Aelfric....the greatest writer of English prose in anglo-saxon period....then wulfstan...
Then the modern period starts from Chaucer ...1340??...to kia 1300 sy 1900 means 6 centuries English literature me ate hyn...???then what are the next...??es k baat kia ha???i mean after 19th century, what we consider???
MOEEN AKHTAR (Saturday, March 03, 2012)

History of England takes place when ... angels, Saxons and jutes were in England and were invaded ...but invaded by whom, they fought with each other in england???
They were not invaded. They invaded England.

The Angles, Saxons, and Jutes had lived in a portion of Germany most remote from the influence of Roman customs and ideas. The Jutes, Angles, Saxons and Frisians, sailed across the North Sea to raid and invade Great Britain from the late 4th century onwards, either displacing, absorbing, or destroying the native Celtic peoples.

i want to know the position of Saxons, jutes and angles separately in England.
The Jutes lived in modern Jutland north of the river Schley. From the Jutes are descended the people of Kent and the Isle of Wight and those in the province of the West Saxons opposite the Isle of Wight who are called Jutes to this day.

The Angles in the region south of the Jutes and along the shore of the North Sea.Fom the Angles - that is, the country known as Angulus, which lies between the provinces of the Jutes and Saxons and is said to remain unpopulated to this day - are descended the East and Middle Angles, the Mercians, all the Northumbrian stock, and the other English peoples.

The Saxons in northern Germany, from the base of the Danish peninsula to the mouth of the Rhine. From the Saxons - that is, the country now known as the land of the Old Saxons - came the East, South and west Saxons.

Augustine converted jutes into Kent...is this point related to the Christianity?
You have misread or misunderstood. Kent is a county in South East England. They were called Jutes of Kent. Augustine converted the Jutes of Kent to the Roman Church, and served as the first archbishop of Canterbury, a cathedral city and a district of Kent.

Why had Augustine come to England, special for the conversion of jutes into Kent??
Augustine with other missionaries came to England in 597 AD to spread the Christianity and established a Benedictine monastery at Canterbury.

What does norman conquest means??
Around 1000 AD, some of the Vikings who had been raiding France got permission from the French king to settle down and live in France instead and as a part of a deal they also converted from their German gods to Catholicism. They were supposed to help protect France against other Vikings. These settlers were called the Normans (short for North-Men) and they settled in Normandy, the land of the North-Men, even today. In 1066 AD, one of these men, William, decided to attack England to conquer it from the Anglo-Saxons. Williams's mother had not been married to his father when he was born, but William still inherited his father's property and his title of Duke of Normandy. When the King of England died without leaving a son and heir, William saw a chance to take over England. They sailed across the English Channel and they did beat the Anglo-Saxons in the battle of Hastings. The Anglo-Saxon king, Harold, was shot in the eye with an arrow and died. William was acclaimed King of England and crowned by Ealdred on 25 December 1066, Westminster Abbey.

Were angles,Saxons and jutes all were norman,and does Normandy means Germany, if all were belong to germany then y were fighting with each other in england??
Answered above.

Augustine was a man of Rome??
Yes he was a man of Rome. He was pagan but later became a Christian.

what is kent??
Answered

Northumbria ....?
Northumbria (now Northern England and South-East Scotland) was a medieval kingdom of the Angles.

Who r Scandinavians??
The Danes, the Swedes, the Norwegians, the Icelanders are the Scandinavian peoples. These are the folk whom the racial anthropologists call Nordic. The men stand tall and blond, the women fair. Nevertheless, the Nordic peoples rank high when it comes to health, strength, endurance, size, intelligence, even subjective beauty.Originally the Scandinavians–except for the Finns and the Lapps–must have been one people. Perhaps their ancestors came northward from Asia Minor or the Balkans and founded the great Teutonic family. As the last ice sheet receded, small groups crept northward to hunt and fish and to settle. Tribal differentiations developed, and by the Age of the Migrations, beginning in the second century B.C., the Cimbri and the Goths, plus the Angles, Saxons and Jutes, a few centuries later, mix with the Norse Vikings. As late as 700 A.D., the runic inscriptions found in the three central countries indicate that the people used exactly the same language, but during the Viking period from 800-1100 A.D., a consciousness of the oneness of Norway and of distinction between Danes and Swedes grew. Gradually environment played its subtle part in selection and modification. Immigrating groups--Scots, Walloons, Germans, and others–affected communities differently. Variation in personalities and in experience changed habits and traditions. Hence people and speech aren’t now the same in urban Copenhagen, in the mining town of Kiruna in northern Sweden, and in the rural valley of Setesdal in Norway.

What is Peterborough??
Cathedral city and unitary authority area in the East of England.

Then the modern period starts from Chaucer ...1340??...to kia 1300 sy 1900 means 6 centuries English literature me ate hyn...???then what are the next...??es k baat kia ha???i mean after 19th century, what we consider???

Anglo-Saxon: (428 – 1066)
Anglo-Norman or The Middle English Period. (1066-1500)

The Renaissance Period (1450-1600) which includes

• Elizabethan Age: (1558-1603)
  • Jacobean Age: (1603-1625)
  • Caroline Age: (1625-1649)
  • Commonwealth Period or Puritan Interregnum: (1649-1660)
The Puritan Age: (1600-1660)

The Neoclassical Period or the Age of Reason: (1660-1785) which includes
  • The Restoration Age: (1660-1700)
  • Augustan Age or Age of Pope: (1700-1745)
  • The Age of Sensibility or Age of Johnson: (1745-1785)
The Romantic Period : (1785-1830)
The Victorian Age: (
1830 To 1901)
Modern Age: (
1900-1961)
Postmodern Literature: (Post–World War II - )

Da Skeptic (Saturday, December 31, 2011), MOEEN AKHTAR (Saturday, March 03, 2012)

bundle of thanks.... but i cud not get this thing, plz make it clear also...
saxons,jutes,angels (were german) included in scandinavians(many folks)= vikings= nordic

means all these terms have same meaning...

and yes also the norman term.....

1 more question,angles and Saxons are the ancestors of English race but .... wahan pyhly b to log thy...in great Britain.....oun ke koe baat ni ha kia? when they (people of england) were raided, they merely lost their identity???

bundle of thanks.... but i cud not get this thing, plz make it clear also...
saxons,jutes,angels (were german) included in scandinavians(many folks)= vikings= nordic
means all these terms have same meaning...

and yes also the norman term....
No they dont have the same meaning.

The Danes, the Swedes, the Norwegians, the Icelanders are the Scandinavian peoples. Scandinavian were called Nordic.

The term Viking is customarily used to refer to the Norse explorers, warriors, merchants, and pirates who raided, traded, explored and settled in wide areas of Europe, Asia and the North Atlantic islands from the late 8th to the mid-11th century.

The period from the earliest recorded raids in the 790s until the Norman Conquest of England in 1066 is commonly known as the Viking Age of Scandinavian history. Vikings used the Norwegian Sea and Baltic Sea for sea routes to the south. The Normans were descended from Danish and Norwegian Vikings who were given feudal overlordship of areas in northern France — the Duchy of Normandy — in the 10th century. In that respect, descendants of the Vikings continued to have an influence in northern Europe. Likewise, King Harold Godwinson, the last Anglo-Saxon king of England, had Danish ancestors. Geographically, a "Viking Age" may be assigned not only to Scandinavian lands (modern Denmark, Norway and Sweden), but also to territories under North Germanic dominance, mainly the Danelaw, including Scandinavian York, the administrative centre of the remains of the Kingdom of Northumbria, parts of Mercia, and East Anglia. Viking navigators opened the road to new lands to the north, west and east, resulting in the foundation of independent settlements in the Shetland, Orkney, and Faroe Islands; Iceland; Greenland; and L'Anse aux Meadows, a short-lived settlement in Newfoundland, circa 1000 A.D. Many of these lands, specifically Greenland and Iceland, may have been originally discovered by sailors blown off course. They also may well have been deliberately sought out, perhaps on the basis of the accounts of sailors who had seen land in the distance. The Greenland settlement eventually died out, possibly due to climate change. Vikings also explored and settled in territories in Slavic-dominated areas of Eastern Europe, particularly the Kievan Rus. By 950 AD these settlements were largely Slavicised.

As early as 839, when Swedish emissaries are first known to have visited Byzantium, Scandinavians served as mercenaries in the service of the Byzantine Empire. In the late 10th century, a new unit of the imperial bodyguard was formed which traditionally contained large numbers of Scandinavians. This was known as the Varangian Guard. The word "Varangian" may have originated in Old Norse, but in Slavic and Greek it could refer either to Scandinavians or Franks. The most eminent Scandinavian to serve in the Varangian Guard was Harald Hardrada, who subsequently established himself as king of Norway (1047–66).

The Vikings sailed most of the North Atlantic, reaching south to North Africa and east to Russia, Constantinople and the Middle East, as looters, traders, colonists, and mercenaries. Vikings under Leif Eriksson, heir to Erik the Red, reached North America, and set up a short-lived settlement in present-day L'Anse aux Meadows, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada.

During the Viking Age, Scandinavian men and women travelled to many parts of Europe and beyond, in a cultural diaspora that left its traces from Newfoundland to Byzantium. But this period of energetic activity also had a pronounced effect in the Scandinavian homelands, which were subject to a variety of new influences. In the 300 years from the late 8th century, when contemporary chroniclers first commented on the appearance of Viking raiders, to the end of the 11th century, Scandinavia underwent profound cultural changes.

The kings of Norway continued to assert power in parts of northern Britain and Ireland, and raids continued into the 12th century, but the military ambitions of Scandinavian rulers were now directed toward new paths. In 1107 Sigurd I of Norway sailed for the eastern Mediterranean with a host of Norwegian crusaders to fight for the newly established Kingdom of Jerusalem, and the Danes and Swedes participated energetically in the Baltic Crusades of the 12th and 13th centuries.
1 more question,angles and Saxons are the ancestors of English race but .... wahan pyhly b to log thy...in great Britain.....oun ke koe baat ni ha kia? when they (people of england) were raided, they merely lost their identity???
England has numerous remains from the Mesolithic, Neolithic, and Bronze Age, such as Stonehenge and Avebury. In the Iron Age, England, like all of Britain south of the Firth of Forth, was inhabited by the Celtic people known as the Britons, but also by some Belgae tribes e.g. the Atrebates, the Catuvellauni, the Trinovantes, etc. in the south east. In AD 43 the Roman conquest of Britain began; the Romans maintained control of their province of Britannia through to the 5th century. The end of Roman rule in Britain enabled the Anglo-Saxon settlement of Britain, which is often regarded as the origin of England and the English people.
Da Skeptic (Saturday, December 31, 2011)