08:00 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group V > English Literature

English Literature Notes and Topics on Eng.Literature here

Old Wednesday, June 30, 2010
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice
Default What's the inside story about scores in English Literature?

Assalam o Alaikum ..
Ma'm Last Island, I m actually confused about picking English Literature as a subject, and my confusion rests with two theories about Low Scoring and High Scoring English Literature .. When i was reading about CSS as a guide, i read somewhere that No subject is high or low scoring and then i kept reading that from some other members of this forum as well ..

But there is another bunch of members who in their honest opinion suggest not to opt for English Literature, and the reasons being a Low Scoring subject with a vast syllabus and which has the tendency to ruin the merit number .. If i m not wrong, You also suggested the same to a member in some posts (I guess his nick was Mangat something), where u said that this subject was basically Easy for aspirants who have Mastered in English Literature .. And this was where i got really confused and the reasons are:

1- I m gonna take BA next year and CSS in 2012 InshaAllah, and i have a strong mind set for choosing English Literature in both the upcoming exams ..

2- I have a deep interest in Literature and i have planned to Study it for atleast 2 years from now until the 2012 CSS exams .. ( DO i have enough time, considering that i m also doing full-time Law Degree from London University, which is heck of a job .. ? )

3- I wanna take Literature and i dnt wanna wreck my merit number as well when i pass InshsAllah .. But the suggestions from an Authority such as yours have confused me ..

4- And the most important part is that I will be just about the maximum age when i will appear in 2012 InshaAllah, so it will be my first and only chance and i dnt wanna make a mess of it ..

5- I m very committed (Won’t even this help alongwith hard work in getting high scores in Literarure, keeping in mind the interest as well .. ?)

Please guide me now, I shall be really thankful ..
NOukhaiz ..
Old Tuesday, August 17, 2010
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: AppreciationBest Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best ModGold Medal: Awarded to those members with  maximum number of  reputation points. - Issue reason: For the year 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2008Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: More than 5 years of dedicated servicesModerator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Last Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardomLast Island is headed toward stardom

It is high scoring for those who have studied it well and have firm grip over it. Since English Literature was never your subject and you have never studied it, I will suggest you to drop it. Even if you tried your best in Eng Lit. it wont yield more than 100 and it would be a great loss. Its not about reading text and answering to the questions accordingly. You have to read all about ages and they are not just 4 or 5 in numbers; characteristics of different ages, their influence on literature, writers and poets of that age, salient features of their work, genre, types of each genre and much more. If you really want to go for it, go for the Masters Degree first.
Stunner (Tuesday, August 17, 2010)
Old Tuesday, August 17, 2010
PHILOSOPHER

Stunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really niceStunner is just really nice

Hmmm .. I was expecting more or less the same reply, and i think its rational as well to not to opt it under my situation .. I have read the syllabus and understood the points u mentioned about reading .. I also tried to get hold of mentioned books in suggested readings but couldn't find the more authentic ones from that list .. Unfortunately I don't have time to have my Masters degree first in Literature and then to appear in CSS bcz i will be over aged after 2012 ..
I have decided to opt Persian instead ..
Thanx a lot for the appropriate guidance .. I really appreciate that

Regards ..