04:55 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group V > Urdu Literature

Old Friday, October 26, 2012

oxon will become famous soon enough
Default Is urdu Scoring??

Dear and Venerated Member please guide me, only 4 months remaining and i have started preparation today,,, what about Urdu, is it scoring or not,, can i get good marks in this paper, All text book are must to be studied or not??
please guide me
Old Friday, October 26, 2012

yousaf zafar is on a distinguished road

if you have interest and good handwriting then it is a good subject.
Old Sunday, October 28, 2012
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 163

siddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nice

Originally Posted by oxon View Post
Dear and Venerated Member please guide me, only 4 months remaining and i have started preparation today,,, what about Urdu, is it scoring or not,, can i get good marks in this paper, All text book are must to be studied or not??
please guide me
Urdu is high scoring and low scoring subject at the same time. If you are really good at at it,have good writing skill, good critical sense as well as literary taste it will prove scoring. I know people having scored 140+ and 150+ in it. But for a mediocre attempt you will hardly get a credit. So evaluate yourself first, if you extract a good score out of it or not.

All text books are not necessary to be studied but comprehension of them is, either you study the original text or read their critical appreciation. It is, no doubt,better however to read the text.

Remember that opting Urdu as being easy subject and not working over it may harm your score. Have a look at past papers and syllabus and decide it yourself.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to siddiqui88 For This Useful Post:
oxon (Tuesday, October 30, 2012), Urma Waqar (Friday, December 21, 2012), Waqas77 (Monday, November 05, 2012)
Old Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Originally Posted by siddiqui88 View Post
Urdu is high scoring and low scoring subject at the same time. If you are really good at at it,have good writing skill, good critical sense as well as literary taste it will prove scoring. I know people having scored 140+ and 150+ in it. But for a mediocre attempt you will hardly get a credit. So evaluate yourself first, if you extract a good score out of it or not.

All text books are not necessary to be studied but comprehension of them is, either you study the original text or read their critical appreciation. It is, no doubt,better however to read the text.

Remember that opting Urdu as being easy subject and not working over it may harm your score. Have a look at past papers and syllabus and decide it yourself.
thanks brother but,, I have only this first and last chance, so time is short, so what is your opinion? can i prepare it in this short time,, i have good collection of books and from childhood i have been reading urdu literature, evern have been writing for some magazines.
Old Tuesday, October 30, 2012
43rd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 163

siddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nicesiddiqui88 is just really nice

thanks brother but,, I have only this first and last chance, so time is short, so what is your opinion? can i prepare it in this short time,, i have good collection of books and from childhood i have been reading urdu literature, evern have been writing for some magazines.
What is your academic background?and which are your other optional subjects?
Old Thursday, November 01, 2012

Originally Posted by siddiqui88 View Post
What is your academic background?and which are your other optional subjects?
i have been writing for local papers and have many books of urdu literature,,, In B.A i opted Punjabi and Journalism,, and master in History of indo pak,,,,

other optional subjects are
history of indo pak
mercantile law
international law
Old Thursday, November 01, 2012

Hakayat e Roomi will become famous soon enough
Default Dear Aspirant

please guide me
Any subject is scoring, it is up to your interest and knowledge of subject...
Old Friday, November 02, 2012
43rd CTP (OMG)

i have been writing for local papers and have many books of urdu literature,,, In B.A i opted Punjabi and Journalism,, and master in History of indo pak,,,,

other optional subjects are
history of indo pak
mercantile law
international law
Though Indo Pak history remained low scoring in previous years, it gave good score in 2012. If you are opting it, keep on praying that it remain scoring in 2013 as well. I hope it will be, as people are not opting it owing to its low scoring tradition in previous years.
By the way, why are you not opting Punjabi and Journalism when you have background? These are high scoring subjects.

As far as Urdu is concerned, It is scoring, but not "everyone" can score high in Urdu.To score high in Urdu one should have
  • A fine hand writing
  • An excellent expression
  • Stock of many Ashaars in memory, as one has to quote them abundantly
  • Proper study
  • Good preparation of objective
  • Good choice of book
  • Most of all, to be more of a good critic than a writer

If you claim having all of these, then go for it. InshAllah it will give you reward.
(Its up to you how justly you analyze and weigh yourself).

Considering the short span of time you have for preparation, I will suggest you to opt familiar, scoring and 'safe' subjects.Its your last chance, as you say, so decide wisely but early. Do consult more people and experts.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to siddiqui88 For This Useful Post:
oxon (Friday, November 02, 2012), Urma Waqar (Friday, December 21, 2012)

ok brother, i have good knowledge of Punjabi also, and have good collection of heer waris, and other Punjabi poetry in my mind,, so i will opt Punjabi now with i. law and mercantile law,

farrukh634 is on a distinguished road
Default oxen

Aoa
Since you have a short span if time
brother why dont u go for public administration and sociology these are realtively easy and scoring subjects and they take less time in preparation.
n above all u don't need to be such creative as compare to urdu.
And even a lay man can prepare them plus it doesn't require previous background.

Think about it.

Stay blessed
The Following User Says Thank You to farrukh634 For This Useful Post:
oxon (Saturday, November 03, 2012)