-   Constitutional Law (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/constitutional-law/)
-   -   Political Science & Const. Law. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/constitutional-law/169-political-science-const-law.html)

Argus Saturday, May 07, 2005 06:53 PM

Political Science & Const. Law.

[QUOTE=twilight]ASSALAM-0A-LIKUM!

HOPE U 2 B FINE BY THE GRACE OF ALMIGHTY ALLAH……….I WANT U 2 SUGGEST SOME GOOD BOOKS FOR POLITICAL SCIENCE AND I WOULD BE MORE OBLIGED IF SOMEONE COULD REFER ME THE TOPICS TO BE STUDIED AT PRIORITY.
can u tell me where from the proverbs for pashtho are u studying??????????????also can u comment on the importance of hujra nd tappa and jirga in "olasi jwand"

TWILIGHT[/QUOTE]

ASA

[b]Political Science[/b]

[b]Ps-I[/b] has the lenghtiest course... in western.... read thoroughly... [b]plato, aristotle, micheavelli, hobbes, locke, rouseau and marx... [/b]
IN muslim read [b]farabi, al-mawardi, Iqbal and Ibn-Khaldun[/b]

[b]In CL[/b]

[b]UK, US, France, Russia, India and Pakistan's[/b] Constitution
UK, US, Pakistan in every possible details
France... president, features of constitution and administrative law
India... Federalism, president, Parliament, and secularism

[b]For Pushto[/b]

Tappa, Pukhtoon Larkhood, Pukhto da nasar Thareekh, Pukhto Nasar, Durdanay, Rehman baba (MA course). etc. You can get these books from Pushto Acadamy Pesh. Univ.Also Sahar book is also good.
As far as pushto is concerened you can make selective study in this subject. Two to three poets, Olasi adab and Tappa, Da nasar 4 adwars,and a few kinds of nasars from the book Pukhto nasar.

Adnan

Argus Thursday, November 10, 2005 10:48 PM

Books For PS and Const Law by CSPs

[B]ASP Kamran Adil(4th position)[/B]
................................scored 140
[B]Books for Paper I[/B]

Western Thought: Judd Harmon's Book titled Political Thought is very
good book. Besides, Mazhar-ul-Haq is a standard book.

[B]Islamic Thought:[/B]

Rosenthal's Political Thought in Medieval Islam
published by Cambridge University Press is the basic book. For
further reading: Iqbal's Reconstruction of Islamic Thought; one book
titled Muslim Thought (whose author's name I don't remember), in Urdu
a good quality book in six volumes is 'Tarikh-e-Dawat-wa-Azeemat'
by Maulana Abu-ul-Hassan Nadvi.

[B]For Paper II,[/B]

For Comparative Constitutions: 'The Fundamental Law of Pakistan' by
A.K. Brohi; World Constitions by Kelley; World Constitutions by
Mazhar-ul-Haq; World Constitutions by V.D. Mahajan;
Law of Constitution by Dicey.

[B]For Pakistan's Constitution:[/B]

Besides A.K.Brohi's book above, M.Mahmood's Commentary of the
Constitution of Pakistan, Justice Munir's Commentary of the
Constitution of Pakistan, Dr.Safdar Mehmood's Commentary;
Sharifuddin Pirzada's Fundamental Rights and Constitutional
remedies; Hamid Khan's Constitutional History published by Oxford
University's Press.

[B]Mediha Mohyuddin (1st Position-FSP)[/B]
...............scored 135

The books that i thought best were as follows:

1) for political philosohy... Judd Harmond (history of political thought)

2) Mazhar-ul-Haq (political science)... mind u this is just a BASIC BA text, and once u are done with this u have to build on things.

Now, my way of studying was this... since i had done my BA in political science too, i was well acquainted with Mazhar-ul-Haq, and the other, Mohammad Sarwar i think.. anyways, once u thoroughly go though those books, start building on the topics with citation of REAL LIFE political examples.. eg, if in the political system of the US there has been a problem in the election of president, you must cite an example, like that of the recent eletion of President Bush, who won the vote, but lost the popular vote.

I think, u have to have a GOOD understanding of political structures, and then build on them with examples and have your own opinion about things.

[B]Faisal Abro(15th Position-FSP)[/B]

For constitunal law , "Select world constitutions by Hameek A.K.Rai.

For political science mazharul Haq's "Political Science:Theory and Practice",and "Modern Consitutions"

and "Sages of Ages" and Muslim Political thought by ------Malik.

I am forgeting his first name. thses books are esaiily availabe in market and are widely used.

the paper II of political science and constitutional law have sams sylabus.

Hailey Friday, November 11, 2005 06:15 PM

thanks and question

this was very helpful thanks. it would be nice if books could be listed for other subjects too and the several books that are listed on the syllabus how important is it to read all of them? and if we should not read them all then how to pick and choose?

Adil Memon Saturday, November 12, 2005 09:31 PM

A novice recommendation!

Salaam,

Though the above mentioned recommendations have been made by Position Holders but I would still like to suggest a very good book on Principles of Political Science.

Modern Principles of Political Science - J. C. Jouhari (Indian Writer)

Positive Points:
1) The book is precice, composed over 800+ pages with a big font. So it's clear to read.

2) It is very simple.

3) It is very elaborate.

4) It contains nearly everything that the CSS syllabus demands.

5) It is stuffed with very good quotations.

6) It contains realtime examples.

That's all anybody would need to score well.

Adil Memon

Argus Tuesday, November 15, 2005 04:06 PM

For PS-1 Part B... No need to indulge in the state its theories etc... The paper is some times very general (chk 2001 paper) and some times from the book. Stick to the course outline as provided. Check previous paers and the type of questions asked.... The real thing is that u have to make urself clear about the concepts the questions asked are almost related to practical political scenirio and not the book....

The important topics are Classification of states by Aristotle & Plato, Soveriegnty, Austin theory, plural theory... objections on Austins theory by plural school, Law, Rights, morality, duty etc, governement its organs i.e Legislature, executive and Judiciary... Forms of state Federal or unitary, forms of governement i.e presidential or Parliamentry, Nazism, Fascism, Dicatatorship, democracy its failures, advantages and disadvantages etc, Role of pressure groups, lobbies etc in democratic states...

(Yahya Akhunzada DMG officer)

faiqa Monday, November 28, 2005 09:45 PM

[I] Hi there
well what u'h told about the impotant topics that too in political sc & CL the most important thing is that one should read btw the lines & must understand the termenology & impotant point ,than as u said follow the question papers but again good book counts alot( if any one need the authers name relating both thses subject than plz must ask as i'h 4get how to post any new topic) hope that thses subjects can be cover well by following all these tips.And plz adnan let me know how to post any new topic other than private post because im lost
faiqa sahar

ambreen sagheer Friday, February 03, 2006 11:07 AM

Hello there,

I took Pol. Science in B.A, so I opted for it now in CSS. I know I shouldn't panic but it is really lengthy. I guess I must not walk over and around it but through it. The tips above are really helpful. You are doing a great job. I am honored to be among you.

thanks,

Adil Memon Friday, February 03, 2006 07:43 PM

True, Political Science is a big wild beast.

I am thinking of dropping it. Can't manage with the bloody philosophers at all.

hahahaha!

sami120 Saturday, February 04, 2006 12:11 AM

salam adil bhai,
i opted for political science and constitutional law, and i have already dropped P.S. ( they philosophers drive u crazy :roll ) sir i wanted to know that should i continue with CL or also drop it?? i am thinking of geography in place of P.S. but some ppl are saying that that too is very lengthy. need some serious advice.

Adil Memon Monday, February 06, 2006 08:24 PM

Salaam,

Brother, after a second thought I have retreated from my decision and I am considering to go on with the subject. This subject may be lengthy. But if you deduct the 100 Marks of Const. Law from Political Science-II, you will observe that the length of the remaining subject is commensurate with 200 Marks.

I will contact you through a PM later. Have to leave right now!

Healer Saturday, February 25, 2006 02:24 AM

some effective tricks for constitutional law revision

Dear all schollars and CSPs
Please tell me some quick and effective tricks for revision of my CL subject within a short time.

a candidate:pp

Adil Memon Saturday, February 25, 2006 04:27 PM

Salaam,

Brother, for a cursory glance you could refer to short books like "How states are governed" by 'Maktaba-e-Faridi' which has 'points to remember' section at the end of each question.

It might serve your purpose, but I do not like that book much due to its low standard and obsoleteness.

PS: If you get to find something better than that. Do inform me.

beenish pervaiz Wednesday, November 22, 2006 12:16 AM

hi

aoa
i hav selected ps n cl coz i em a law student thats y cl n i have studied ps in ba but now i think that ps is totally different n lenghy so plz tell me tthat is this a right choice

riversoul76 Saturday, November 25, 2006 09:48 AM

Thanks der,

the above mentioned books and tips are really very useful to the junior aspirants.

Ameer ghumro Thursday, February 22, 2007 04:52 PM

sir abro sahab,
i need to hav a book for PS PART 1 pls guide me.

rana frass Tuesday, October 09, 2007 01:08 AM

it was really helpful for me to know about the books.i was not expecting help to such an extent.thank you fellows......

mahmood Tuesday, October 09, 2007 01:50 AM

Judd Harmon's book in my view is not sufficient as far as examination point of view is concerned. the book by Farooq Mujahid or Mujahid Farooq ( i can not remmeber the name correctly)is thorough, detailed and much better for the exam. it was recommended to me by a good friend of mine, Muntazir Mehdi, who stood third in 2004 exam.

Jani Abro Tuesday, October 09, 2007 06:20 PM

@ Ameer Ghumro

1. History of European Political Thought by Dr. Bhandari
2. History of Medieval Islamic P. Thought by Rosenthal
3. History of Muslim Institutions and thought by S.M.Imtiaz
4. Western Political Thought by Mujahid Farooq
5. P.S. Theory & Practice by Mazhar ul Haq

sylvia Thursday, April 16, 2009 06:59 PM

book for muslim thought

plzzz recommend sum gud book on muslim political thought other than rosenthal n of mazh rul haq

Mumtaz Hayat Maneka Thursday, April 16, 2009 07:08 PM

[QUOTE=sylvia]plzzz recommend sum gud book on muslim political thought other than rosenthal n of mazh rul haq[/QUOTE]

[B]

1.Muslim Political Thought by Mohammad Aslam Chaudhry

2.History of Muslim Political Philosophy By M.M.Shareef

3.Muslim Political Thought and Institutions by S.K.Sherwani[/B]

Hope they are enough. :)

m rao Friday, April 17, 2009 07:33 PM

political Science

[B]In my view point books by Sohail Bhatti on political Science are good enough for both CSS and PMS.These are just two books and cover the whole syllabus of PMS and CSS.
Political Science Vol:1
POlitical Science Vol:2
thanks,
Regards.[/B]

sonia shamroze Friday, July 10, 2009 02:53 PM

combined study group for pol sci,c law, IR n indian history

hello every one,

my opt subjects are pol sci, const law ,IR n indian history. any one with this combination ...... can join me for combined online study.......

my id is [email]**********@yahoo.com[/email]

we can share notes n quires n will try to solve issues related to these sub

regards n lukin forward:thinking

sonia,css forum

Ahmed_2007_Cool Saturday, July 11, 2009 02:34 AM

[QUOTE=sonia shamroze]hello every one,

my opt subjects are pol sci, const law ,IR n indian history. any one with this combination ...... can join me for combined online study.......

my id is [email]********@yahoo.com[/email]

we can share notes n quires n will try to solve issues related to these sub

regards n lukin forward:thinking

sonia,css forum[/QUOTE]

i have the same combo+some nice books on the subjects. i'll add u on yahoo messenger.

but these subjects are very study-intensive - which means you have to hit the books on your own for long hours.

waqar78692 Monday, May 09, 2011 10:55 PM

[QUOTE=sonia_shamroze;130637]i have the same combo+some nice books on the subjects. i'll add u on yahoo messenger.

but these subjects are very study-intensive - which means you have to hit the books on your own for long hours.[/QUOTE]
Apart from IR, I have the same combination. But my humble suggestion is that you should drop the idea to do online group study.Rather you should focus on book reading and it will help you alot.
Best of Luck.

shakeel matta Saturday, July 07, 2012 11:47 PM

pol science and C LAW

kya pol sci ki paper 2 aor constituional law ek jaisy hai ya koi has faraq hai us mai .thanks plz reply soon

Miss Ayaz Sunday, July 08, 2012 01:26 AM

is PS good option or not??

haidealishah Friday, October 19, 2012 07:33 PM

[QUOTE=shakeel matta;451114]kya pol sci ki paper 2 aor constituional law ek jaisy hai ya koi has faraq hai us mai .thanks plz reply soon[/QUOTE]
Shakeel bhai salam...sir in terms of theory and terminology, they are both pretty much the same...that is why if one opts for Political Sc. its almost every time they opt for Constitutional Law...Pol. Sc. covers more constitutions than those asked for in Const. Law. but the difference comes in attempting the asked questions. Since Const. Law is a paper of law, we have to sight examples from articles and real world scenarios and give their examples to relate with our answer...in Pol. Sc. a question can be answered sticking to the theoretical concepts. In simple words, yes, they r pretty much the same...if one covers Pol. Sc. they automatically cover Const. Law. but you have to be upto speed with articles and quotes so that you can give background and all while answering Const. Law's. questions...
p.s. i know its been ages that uu had posted ur post and u have peobably opted or dropped the subjects :P...just answering so that others may find it helpful who may have the same question.

Miss Ayaz Saturday, October 20, 2012 02:46 AM

[QUOTE=haidealishah;498331]Shakeel bhai salam...sir in terms of theory and terminology, they are both pretty much the same...that is why if one opts for Political Sc. its almost every time they opt for Constitutional Law...Pol. Sc. covers more constitutions than those asked for in Const. Law. but the difference comes in attempting the asked questions. Since Const. Law is a paper of law, we have to sight examples from articles and real world scenarios and give their examples to relate with our answer...in Pol. Sc. a question can be answered sticking to the theoretical concepts. In simple words, yes, they r pretty much the same...if one covers Pol. Sc. they automatically cover Const. Law. but you have to be upto speed with articles and quotes so that you can give background and all while answering Const. Law's. questions...
p.s. i know its been ages that uu had posted ur post and u have peobably opted or dropped the subjects :P...just answering so that others may find it helpful who may have the same question.[/QUOTE]

can u explain more how to attempt constitutional law paper while quoting examples from articles..

Rani Thursday, December 13, 2012 10:53 PM

my optional subjects are political science. Indo pak Histry. Muslim law and Jurisprudence and IR. i want to notes and is there any links for relevant books for above mentioned subjects. if any one has note plz plz share. my email is [email]********@yahoo.com[/email]

Rani Thursday, December 13, 2012 11:00 PM

Shakeel bhai if i chose Constitutional law instead of Muslim law and Jurisprudence bec i opt political sciences too. plz help i m worried and confused.

Urma Waqar Tuesday, January 15, 2013 02:22 PM

Please also let us know has anyone put up important online book of C.Law?
kindly share the link

attique anwar Saturday, September 07, 2013 02:18 PM

sir adil from where i can get the book "modern Principles of Political Science - J. C. Jouhari"???

taimz Friday, September 13, 2013 12:54 PM

Why constitutional law is low scoring ? Rarely i have seen someone with 70+ marks.

Ninety Saturday, August 08, 2015 06:23 PM

12:34 PM (GMT +5)