-   Criminology (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/criminology/)
-   -   Opting Criminology without Prior Experience. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/criminology/109310-opting-criminology-without-prior-experience.html)

ataraxis Tuesday, May 10, 2016 01:50 AM

Opting Criminology without Prior Experience.

AoA,
I have been researching about probable optional subjects, for I wish to appear for CE-2017. Criminology, a new addition within CSS syllabus, looks promising and interesting, as far as its syllabus is concerned. I am looking for a senior/junior member's advice regarding this matter. I have no such prior experience within this field, since I have a business degree. Thus, would anyone be kind enough to share-in an elaborate manner- whether opting such a subject w/o any prior knowledge can be beneficial and, most of all, less time consuming and 'easy', or is it the other way around?
Looking forward to a comprehensive answer.
Thank you.
By the way, this is my first post in this forum.

Innocent Heart Tuesday, May 10, 2016 09:53 AM

[QUOTE=ataraxis;935577]AoA,
I have been researching about probable optional subjects, for I wish to appear for CE-2017. Criminology, a new addition within CSS syllabus, looks promising and interesting, as far as its syllabus is concerned. I am looking for a senior/junior member's advice regarding this matter. I have no such prior experience within this field, since I have a business degree. Thus, would anyone be kind enough to share-in an elaborate manner- whether opting such a subject w/o any prior knowledge can be beneficial and, most of all, less time consuming and 'easy', or is it the other way around?
Thank you.
By the way, this is my first post in this forum.[/QUOTE]
Walaikum assalam
Kindly mention your combination so that one can better guide you .
As far as criminology is concerned, it is very tough subject in my opinion.I didn't opt it because of its lengthy syllabus. In css everyone want high scor so they opt subjects accordingly. Optional subjects will helpful in final merit. However if you are interested in criminology then go for it.
Good luck.

Sent from my Nokia_X using Tapatalk

ataraxis Tuesday, May 10, 2016 11:01 PM

Thank you very much innocent heart for your concern.
Well as far as my optionals combination is concerned, I am opting;
Accounting and Auditing
US history
Business administration
Gender Studies
Criminology
Although, I am confused about gender studies and criminology, yet I feel the marking to be lenient- since these are new additions.
Anyhow, I would like your sincere opinion regarding this combination, and any tweaks if felt necessary at your end.
Thank you.

RMKamran Wednesday, May 11, 2016 02:15 AM

[QUOTE=ataraxis;935853]Thank you very much innocent heart for your concern.
Accounting and Auditing
US history
Business administration
Gender Studies
Criminology
Although, I am confused about gender studies and criminology, yet I feel the marking to be lenient- since these are new additions.
Anyhow, I would like your sincere opinion regarding this combination, and any tweaks if felt necessary at your end.
Thank you.[/QUOTE]

AoA,

Now, that's so sweet of you :D How could you say that marking would be lenient ? Dear, it's CSS. Never trust the examiner and prepare well. Nobody can predict what will going to happen. Gender studies is comparatively better subject as compared to criminology. You can opt sociology as well. It is very easy subject.

Good luck !

RMKamran

ataraxis Wednesday, May 11, 2016 02:59 AM

Well, i am much obliged and relieved RMKamran sahib, thank you for your sincere suggestion and good luck wish. I'll surely look onto sociology, or any other optional.
Good luck to you too in your future endeavours.

Innocent Heart Wednesday, May 11, 2016 08:03 AM

[QUOTE=ataraxis;935853]Thank you very much innocent heart for your concern.
Accounting and Auditing
US history
Business administration
Gender Studies
Criminology
Thank you.[/QUOTE]
opt IR or Political Science??
Your combination is excellent
Marking isn't lenient its your work that fetches good marks :)
Or I always mentioned think about your Interview IR or Political science really helps you a lot regarding this.Plus overlaps with Pak. Affairs, current affairs....
Kindly ponder over it and finalised your subjects
Because optional subjects will make your merit in the end..
Best of luck :)

ataraxis Thursday, May 12, 2016 12:53 AM

Thank you innocent heart for your kind suggestion, I will surely consider it. But I must say, in order to opt IR i will have to drop Accounting. Anyways, God bless you.

PerksofBeingaWallflower Tuesday, May 24, 2016 02:00 PM

AoA,
Can anyone guide me whether or not Criminoly is a scoring subject. International Law bores me out and Muslim law is way out of my league. As far as I have skimmed through the Criminology Syllabus, I find it pretty interesting. Should I go for Criminology then or stick to a law subject?
Thankyou.

Assasin Tuesday, May 24, 2016 05:38 PM

[QUOTE=ataraxis;935577]AoA,
Thank you.
By the way, this is my first post in this forum.[/QUOTE]

First of all , Criminology does not need any background.
Second , it has moderate syllabus not much lengthy as seen .
Third , It is very interesting and can be covered in just 10 days (10 hours /day).Total hours required = 100 hours
I have completed it in 12 days but i didnt study for some days in between.
It is very interesting subject and very safe as far as scoring is concerned ,provided you prepare it smartly! .If You have interest in it .then go for it.

civilengineer92 Tuesday, May 24, 2016 11:09 PM

[QUOTE=Assasin;939549]First of all , Criminology does not need any background.
Second , it has moderate syllabus not much lengthy as seen .
Third , It is very interesting and can be covered in just 10 days (10 hours /day).Total hours required = 100 hours
I have completed it in 12 days but i didnt study for some days in between.
It is very interesting subject and very safe as far as scoring is concerned ,provided you prepare it smartly! .If You have interest in it .then go for it.[/QUOTE]
Could you share your strategy and material consulted for the preparation? I am preparing from 3 books i-e Siegel, Aulakh & Advanced publishers. But i am not satisfied with my preparation so far as there is meagre material available in context of pakistan and its penal code.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

04:27 PM (GMT +5)