12:47 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VI > Muslim Law & Jurisprudence

Old Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Fassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of light
Default On The Muhammadan Law and Jurisprudence Books Issue

On The Muhammadan Law and Jurisprudence Books Issue

I've seen many people are confused about books selection. They just wanna rely on one book but to be honest it may be calamitous for you people.
One must have to consult at least two or more books or the whole syllabus.
As a student of law and being a lawyer and after studying and watching the whole syllabus and past papers of CSS.
I honestly suggest you please don't rely on only one book, go through both of the following books

Muhammadan Law - D.F Mulla
Muhammadan Jurisprudence - Abdur Rahim

Because D.F Mulla’s Book cover all the codified portion (Statutory portion) i.e.:

1) Marriage.
2) Dower.
3) Dissolution of marriage.
4) Parentage and Legitimacy.
5) Guardianship.
6) Maintenance.
7) Gifts.
8) Law of Wakfs.
9) Pre-emption.
10) Wills and death-bed gifts.
11) Administration of estates.
12) Sunni law of inheritance.
13) Shia law of inheritance.

On the contrary, Sir Abdul Rahim covers

1. Introduction to Usul al-Fiqh
2. The Qur’an
3. The Sunnah
4. Deducing the Law from its Sources
5. al-Dalalat (Textual Implications)
6. Commands and Prohibitions
7. Naskh (Abrogation)
8. Ijma’ (Consensus of Opinion)
9. Qiyas (Analogical Deduction)
10. Revealed Laws Preceding the Shari’ah of Islam
11. The Fatwa of a Companion
12. Istihsan (Equity in Islamic Law)
13. Maslahah Mursalah (Considerations of Public Interest)
14. Urf (Custom)
15. Istishab (Presumption of Continuity)
16. Sadd al-Dhara’i’ (Blocking the Means)
17. Hukm Shar’i (Law or Value of Shari’ah)
18. Conflict of Evidences
19. Ijtihad (Personal Reasoning)

Rahim also covers also some of the most important topics to understand Inheritance of Shia and Sunni law i.e;

Chapter of Legal Capacity, Ownership and Possession,

further

Torts and Crimes In Islam, Interpretation and History of Islamic Law.

If you don’t wanna go for Rahim then prepare sources Torts and crimes from somewhere. I’ve prepared these questions in my Universty era but lost them now I am asking my friends and also preparing it. I’ll try to share with you if you need it.
If you wanna skip Sir Rahim's book then

Islamic Jurisprudence - Imran Ahsan Khan Nayzee

makes a better pair with D.F Mulla’s Muhammadan Law.

For just reading and enhancing your analytical approach about Muhammadan Law and Jurisprudence

The Reconstruction of Legal Thought In Islam - Syed Riaz ul Hassan

is an easy and far better book Moreover, it deals with some topics of Islamic Jurisprudence more efficiently.
In the end, if you find the following book, do go for it.

Hedaya by Hamilton

I think it’s the best book on Muslim Law and Jurisprudence but I’ve honour to have it.

That's all, after studying any two books mentioned above, you don't need to resort elsewhere... do remember me in your prayers.

Muhammad Faisal ul Islam
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
Faisal86 (Wednesday, May 23, 2012), hass (Saturday, June 16, 2012), NAZAQAT HUSSAIN (Wednesday, February 13, 2013), pakdolly (Monday, November 05, 2012), respectful (Friday, September 20, 2013), SAMEYA AROOJ (Saturday, January 12, 2013), Syed Imran Ali (Monday, July 23, 2012), umbreen qaiser (Monday, September 24, 2012), Waqas77 (Thursday, December 06, 2012)
Old Sunday, June 17, 2012

rabia butt will become famous soon enough

aoa...! thanks a lot for resolving this big query
one thing what do u say about aatir rizvi's book(jahangeers son)...actually this books is more like a guide-type.
i have short tym fr prep.wil spned 15-20days on it.keepin in view my case plz suggest me the course should i adopt...!
jazakallah

shah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura about

bro if u really want to go with short cut to prepare then there is way . buy two buks of university publishers of l.l.b . buk 1 is part 1 l.l.b paper1 and other is part 2 paper 5 .these buks are written by khuram amir qureshi these buks are in form of assignments . these are very short buks and cobers major topics if u wat list then i will post it . while if u have time then there are buks for detail stdy i can also post their names if required

Fassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by rabia butt View Post
aoa...! thanks a lot for resolving this big query
one thing what do u say about aatir rizvi's book(jahangeers son)...actually this books is more like a guide-type.
i have short tym fr prep.wil spned 15-20days on it.keepin in view my case plz suggest me the course should i adopt...!
jazakallah
w/s dear I haven't read Aatir Rizvi's book

I'll suggest you Khurram Aaamir Qureshi's Islamic Jurisprudence it's too like Aatir Rizvi's book meanz guide-types. It'll give the basic idea of every topic and every questions is duly organized in Headings ..... So, get a glimpse of every topic from that book after that move to D.F Mulla and note the key points under the headings of Khurram Aamir Qurshi's Book.....

I'm feeling difficulty to explain you.... It'll be better for you to contact on my e-mail and come online so I may guide you only if you require it otherwise it's ok....
The Following User Says Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
NAZAQAT HUSSAIN (Wednesday, February 13, 2013)
Old Monday, June 18, 2012

aoa..!
@ shah: i think i sould go with aatar's then if its more or less like that of khuram querishi's cz attar has designed it fr css-aspirants specially.
still will have a look on it...jazakallah fr suggestion...
@ fassi:yeah wil cnct you through mail inshaallah...!
your suggestion of noting the points suits me...i have bought both the d.fmullahs n raheem....
will talk to u later inshaALLAH...
jzk!
Old Monday, June 18, 2012

@ shah: if you have looked attar's then would u plz give the comparison of both(khuram's) in your view....why would u prefer either over the other ?
Old Tuesday, June 19, 2012

@ shah: if you have looked attar's then would u plz give the comparison of both(khuram's) in your view....why would u prefer either over the other ?
Dear if Aatir Rizvi's book is too guide type then you should go through it because Khurram Aamir Qureshi's book is too seems to be Exam Cram study. There are two ways to organize and prepare the paper to fetch good marks that are

1. Read Aatir Rizvi's book and mention the relevant pages and key points of D.F Mulla and Sir Rahim on it for your ease.
2. Read D.F Mulla and Sir Rahim and place headings and sub-headings and divide the lengthy and littered material into points.

even then if you feel any difficulty contact me I'll provide you outlines as well as if you have difficulty in any topic do tell me. I am law graduate from International Islamic University Islamabad and we have studied Muslim Law and Jurisprudence from different perspectives so it'll be my pleasure to help you and I took have notes on Islamic Law but in Hard copy....
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
pakdolly (Monday, November 05, 2012), rabia butt (Tuesday, June 19, 2012)

shah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura aboutshah has a spectacular aura about

hey fassi is right in a sense !
but u have plenty of time i will suggest to a have a birds eye view on mulla's book for understanding and for cramming in the end u can go for rizvi's book or khurram amir is good enough . I know number of people including me who just read nishi prohit's book in detail and in the end we went through aamir's book . And marks ranges between 65 to 74 . All is up to u don't confuse yourself don't go for too many books prepare wiuth limited data but try cover everything in that
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shah For This Useful Post:
rabia butt (Tuesday, June 19, 2012), Waqas77 (Thursday, December 06, 2012)

@ shah:jazakallah khairaan..!
@ fassi: very well got you...! jazakallah...
if i wana take notes from you then plz temme are u in lhr.these days?n if so hw long you are supposed to?
shah (Tuesday, June 19, 2012)

@ fassi: very well got you...! jazakallah...
if i wana take notes from you then plz temme are u in lhr.these days?n if so hw long you are supposed to?
Dear I'll be in Lahore in few days... I was in Lahore and 2 months ago moved to Sialkot. I usually visit Lahore twice in a month but I'll move to Lahore permanently after Ramzan because in last summer I was caught by Dengue.

But you can contact me whenever you need me or want of my help .... my complete contact info is in my profile.... So whenever u feel need of any help it'll be my pleasure to help you in the best possible way.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
pakdolly (Monday, November 05, 2012), rabia butt (Tuesday, June 19, 2012)