07:18 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VI > Philosophy

Philosophy Notes and Topics on Philosophy

Old Saturday, October 24, 2015

~BraveHeart~ is on a distinguished road
Default @exclusively-Your guidance needed regarding philosophy paper.

AoA, Can you please share your strategy for philosophy papers,And which books/materials should be consulted for both papers(I-II) in the limited time left.

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Walaikum salam,

Well, you have ample time so far to cover philosophy. It can be covered within 20 days with 3 hours daily studies.

I followed AP Series book for the chapters of intro, methods, Epistemology, Ontology along with internet. I used to read the topics from the book and when I feel difficulty, then went for google to understand. I prepared outline notes and collected quotes and facts figures with my own understood examples.

Muslim thinksers' chapter is too lengthily, for muslim thinkers, read the following books:
1-Muslim Political Thoughts by Aslam Chaudhri
2-Muslim philosopher (I have this book in urdu, it is a simple book of MA Political Sc)

As far as Ethics is concerned, read pleasure of philosophy, or you can also do it from internet by topic wise. Try to understand morality, The challenge of cultural relativism; Psychological and ethical egoism: Virtue Ethics (Aristotle), MoralAbsolutism (Kant), Utilitarianism (Mill), Social Contract Theory. This chapter needs understanding and try to make your own examples from current affairs or every day life.

For contemporary philosophical movements, I followed only internet because I could not get the required material from books. AP series contains all topics but all is copied from wikipedia and it is not worth to read. This chapter sucked my blood and made me mad really.

If you feel any difficulty in any topic, feel free to ask, I will try my part best to help you with my little knowledge.

Jazak'allah
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to exclusively For This Useful Post:
Innocent Heart (Sunday, May 22, 2016), khurram aziz (Saturday, October 24, 2015), RMKamran (Saturday, October 24, 2015), ~BraveHeart~ (Saturday, October 24, 2015)

~BraveHeart~ is on a distinguished road

Thanks dear.
I mistakenly wrote both papers in my first post , i wanted to ask about the different parts i.e Contemporary Philosophical Movements ,Muslim Thinkers, and the Ethics portion(what do you think AP series is sufficient for these portion or not)

exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Yes it was lucid you were asking about the current philosophy

No, AP series is not adequate to cover whole syllabus. You need to follow the above books along with the source of internet.
The Following User Says Thank You to exclusively For This Useful Post:
~BraveHeart~ (Saturday, October 24, 2015)

Ejazew is on a distinguished road
Default What's AP

Hi,

Glad to see Philosphy thread coming back to life after months. I had started to think that I am the only one going for Philosophy this year. : )

Could you please tell what's AP series? Is it a book? I have been preparing for Philosophy exam from "Philosophy Made Simple" by Richar Popkin and internet.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ejazew For This Useful Post:
exclusively (Saturday, October 24, 2015)

Originally Posted by Ejazew View Post
Hi,

Glad to see Philosphy thread coming back to life after months. I had started to think that I am the only one going for Philosophy this year. : )

Could you please tell what's AP series? Is it a book? I have been preparing for Philosophy exam from "Philosophy Made Simple" by Richar Popkin and internet.
Yes it is a book. We are sailing on the same boat

Monk will become famous soon enoughMonk will become famous soon enough
Default For Revised Syllabus of Philosophy

Philosophy: The Power of Ideas

Download link http://bookfi.org/dl/1382275/581a7d

Philosophy Made Simple By Popkin

http://maben.homeip.net/static/peopl...d%20stroll.pdf

Islamic Philosophy by M. Saeed Sheikh

http://www.muslimphilosophy.com/books/ip-sheikh.pdf

Subcontinent Muslim Philosophy……

http://muslimphilosophy.com/hmp/index.html

Internet Resources

Encyclopedia of philosophy…………… http://www.iep.utm.edu/
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Monk For This Useful Post:
exclusively (Saturday, October 24, 2015), GhazMar (Thursday, June 09, 2016), Innocent Heart (Sunday, May 22, 2016), khurram aziz (Saturday, October 24, 2015), RMKamran (Saturday, October 24, 2015)
Old Wednesday, October 28, 2015

RHSherazi is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

Exclusively,
I'm a total science student and very seriously speaking I have no idea about philosophy
As the subject selection become tougher i have to take the risk to move out of my zone
Please guide me

Originally Posted by RHSherazi View Post
Exclusively,
I'm a total science student and very seriously speaking I have no idea about philosophy
As the subject selection become tougher i have to take the risk to move out of my zone
Please guide me
Hello dear, been ages to see you..

Phil does not need any science background, I think you should opt it.

RHSherazi is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by exclusively View Post
Hello dear, been ages to see you..

Phil does not need any science background, I think you should opt it.

Actually im bit worried in a way that can I complete it till January
Philosophy may akair pocha Kya jata hai.?

Exclusively,
You live quite near bye my location in Karachi.as well
😎

Last edited by Man Jaanbazam; Wednesday, October 28, 2015 at 11:58 PM.