-   Philosophy (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/philosophy/)
-   -   Is opting Philosophy a good decision? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/philosophy/65334-opting-philosophy-good-decision.html)

water Thursday, July 05, 2012 09:04 PM

Is opting Philosophy a good decision?

I am thinking to opt Philosophy as my elective as it appeals me a lot. I have read philosophy before, the course syllabus looks not so tough and I feel I can cover it. My background is LLB and MBA.. Kindly guide me that is it a good decision, n what are the scoring trend of philosophy ??

marilatif Thursday, July 05, 2012 11:49 PM

[QUOTE=water;450455]I am thinking to opt Philosophy as my elective as it appeals me a lot. I have read philosophy before, the course syllabus looks not so tough and I feel I can cover it. My background is LLB and MBA.. Kindly guide me that is it a good decision, n what are the scoring trend of philosophy ??[/QUOTE]

philosophy has a good scoring trend. people do opt it but less in number. that is because it is not a common subject nor people study it at any level in their academic studies. however, it is an easier one and interesting too.

you may opt it if you are really interested in it.

water Tuesday, July 17, 2012 10:37 PM

thanks brother for your very valuable guidance.. i have started going through the past papers of philosophy and referring some good books

pharmboy Sunday, July 29, 2012 02:21 PM

bro as you seem to be familiar with the subject and the course outline, could you kindly dictate whether the following books are sufficient in terms of preparation for css:
1.Bertrand Russell-a history of western philosophy
2.Islamic philosophy from origin to present-Sayyed Hossain Nasr

MuhammadAliSubhani Monday, July 30, 2012 12:04 AM

I opted Philosophy in CSS 2012 this was my first attempt i don't know what will be the result......
I went through the past papers n i found 3 books which i felt relevant and can give u best marks
1: Introduction to logic by Irving M. Copi and Carl Cohen for paper 1
2: philosophy made simple by Richard H. Popkin, PhD and Avrum Stroll, PhD
and History of Muslim Philosophy both volumes
for paper 2( only Contemporary Philosophy part)
i can give u list of 12 questions if u prepare these both papers are done....
for paper 1
i: Logic and kinds of logic(with special reference to Aristotlian logic & Induction, Deduction, Argument, Statement, Definition, Truth and Validity)
ii: falacy
iii: Symbolic Logic
iv: Probability in Logic

for paper 2

i: Idealism(hegel, berkely and others)
ii: Dialectical Idealism & Materialism(Hegel's dialectics and Marx's dialectic)
iii: Existentialism
iv: Positivism
v: Pragmatism
vi: Iqbal's Philosophy & Sir Syed.
vii: Al-Farabi's Philosophy
vii: Ethics(A.J. Ayer's, Imannual Kant and others
short notes also come from these topics specially from isms

these are most important topics to be prepared well for better marks according to best of my knowledge.
Logic is base
ethics and other isms are extensions of philosophy
one should consult History of Muslim Philosophy both volumes for less chances of being faint during the paper so do consult History of Muslim Philosophy it will support u.....

Best of Luck....
Thanks to my Philosophy Teacher Brig.(R) Prof. Dr Ehsan ur Rehman who introduced philosophy to me n i found its so easy n people feel fear of it :))

MuhammadAliSubhani Monday, July 30, 2012 12:28 AM

it will take less than a week for preparation of philosophy both papers if u r much sensible about Philosophy and it will take less than 7 days if u r not....

choice is all yours but hard work is must this subject requires your complete concentration.

shakeel ghori Monday, July 30, 2012 12:39 AM

Can a person who has opted psychology go for philosophy as well?

MuhammadAliSubhani Monday, July 30, 2012 11:44 PM

No

You can not opt both subjects at a time u may go for either philosophy or psychology because these 2 subjects fall in same subjects group n u can only take subjects of 200 marks from single group of subjects n these both subjects carry 200 marks each u have only one option either philosophy or psychology!
u can go for other easy subjects like journalism, sociology, any regional language and one from law portion or history portion and may go for public ad or business ad...
a best combination of subjects according to a CSA topper n presidential Gold Medalist is
Philosophy 200
public ad 100
Journalism 100
sociology 100
and a regional language or any subject from law portion 100

according to his exact words
"Agr Tum Pass Ho Gaye to Chakka Lgy Ga Tumhara"

so think about it its not difficult .........

water Wednesday, August 01, 2012 03:09 AM

Thanks a million brother... its for sure a very instructive guidance... i'm inshallah taking philosophy... hope to get good marks.. i might need some more guidance, will be gratefull if u share your email adress ....

MuhammadAliSubhani Wednesday, August 01, 2012 06:11 AM

yes sure

[email]************@yahoo.com[/email]
i can send u notes in the form of power point slides

09:02 PM (GMT +5)