-   Philosophy (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/philosophy/)
-   -   Philosophy Primer (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vi/philosophy/90979-philosophy-primer.html)

Antalpur Monday, April 20, 2015 01:19 AM

Buddha bhai what will be your words for the subject now that the syllabus has been changed; please also do comment on the length and approximate time required for the subject. THanks

Buddha Monday, April 20, 2015 07:29 PM

[QUOTE=Antalpur;821314]Buddha bhai what will be your words for the subject now that the syllabus has been changed; please also do comment on the length and approximate time required for the subject. THanks[/QUOTE]

Well there are some new topics: Heidegger, Rorty, Popper, Postmodernists, Ethics etc.

They haven't given a single recommended book for Islamic Philosophy. They were in a haste of course. So follow the same books as I have mentioned in the head post. Ignore the Logic part. Which has become dated now. Use Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy for topics you won't find in my recommended books.

Time for preparation is halved and so are the total marks.

Monk Monday, April 20, 2015 08:36 PM

[QUOTE=Buddha;821511]Well there are some new topics: Heidegger, Rorty, Popper, Postmodernists, Ethics etc.

They haven't given a single recommended book for Islamic Philosophy. They were in a haste of course. So follow the same books as I have mentioned in the head post. Ignore the Logic part. Which has become dated now. Use Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy for topics you won't find in my recommended books.

Time for preparation is halved and so are the total marks.[/QUOTE]

You didn't share your interview experience ?

Buddha Monday, April 20, 2015 08:43 PM

[QUOTE=Monk;821538]You didn't share your interview experience ?[/QUOTE]

I don't want to. Just hoping I see another dream and I'll share that dream with you guys. On popular demand

exclusively Monday, April 20, 2015 08:52 PM

Bhudda, how do you see the new syllabus of phil, what do you think will it be still high scoring subject in 16?

Buddha Monday, April 20, 2015 08:57 PM

[QUOTE=exclusively;821546]Bhudda, how do you see the new syllabus of phil, what do you think will it be still high scoring subject in 16?[/QUOTE]

The syllabus is an improvement. Popper and postmodernism are new trends in philosophy and Ethics which was ignored earlier is taken which would be a good learning experience for its students.

It won't get you 90s but will surely give you 70s with good preparation, which is a decent score.

exclusively Monday, April 20, 2015 09:06 PM

[QUOTE=Buddha;821551]The syllabus is an improvement. Popper and postmodernism are new trends in philosophy and Ethics which was ignored earlier is taken which would be a good learning experience for its students.

It won't get you 90s but will surely give you 70s with good preparation, which is a decent score.[/QUOTE]

Dear, suggest me the books and links that you followed, right now I have two books of phil, 1st is "The story of Philosophy by Will Durant" and the second is "The pleasures of Philosophy" by Will Durant. Did you have studies these books, and let me know the authentic and right direction for the books and links so that I may do it perfectly?

Thank you so much

Buddha Monday, April 20, 2015 09:27 PM

[QUOTE=exclusively;821558]Dear, suggest me the books and links that you followed, right now I have two books of phil, 1st is "The story of Philosophy by Will Durant" and the second is "The pleasures of Philosophy" by Will Durant. Did you have studies these books, and let me know the authentic and right direction for the books and links so that I may do it perfectly?

Thank you so much[/QUOTE]

I did not read Durant's books so I'm not in a position to comment on them. For what I followed, please read the head post.

Anum Zara Sunday, May 03, 2015 07:44 PM

[QUOTE=Buddha;821569]I did not read Durant's books so I'm not in a position to comment on them. For what I followed, please read the head post.[/QUOTE]
Buddha Sir I need guidance from you. I am taking philosophy as my optional for CE-2016. You have recommended following books for it.

Western Philosophy:

Popkin’s Philosophy Made Simple

Islamic Philosophy by M. Saeed Sheikh

Islamic Philosophy- Subcontinent (Shah wali Ullah, Sir Syed, Iqbal)
MM Sharif’s book chapters

So please guide me that these books still covers the entire syllabus or there is a need to read more books.

Logical portion has been eliminated by FPSC so there is no need to read Patric Hurley's and Copi's introduction to logic books. Am I right?

Everyone is saying that the logical portion of philosophy has been eliminated and that was the scoring portion now philosophy will not remain a scoring subject. What do you say about it? Should I go for it?

I think instead of choosing a new subject for which obviously there is no guiding material I should choose a subject which has some guiding material like philosophy.
What do you say?

Farrah Zafar Monday, May 18, 2015 01:12 AM

Hi Buddha, Kindly give your views on revised syllabus of philosophy.Do you think it has become easier now?I have background of English Literature and Psychology so is it suitable for me?.Please tell me whether it will.be comfortable or risky as it is my last attempt.

05:16 AM (GMT +5)