04:39 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII

Old Thursday, July 23, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 62nd

shoaibraza_pk is on a distinguished road
Default @all

I will recommend Journalism while comparing to socioolgy. I got 73 in journalism in 2008.
"Journalism for all by Dr Mehdi Hassan is a good book."
I am also consolidating my own notes and will be able to provide soon. Remember that every subject has its own way of attempting the paper and has a unique study method. Sociology is also a good subject but from last two years it had been less scoring. In 2009 its objective part was much easy and questions were also very very simple and straight, but i am not sure of scoring trend yet. In short if u have to opt from both subject Journalism is better.
Old Saturday, July 25, 2009

dua... is on a distinguished road

@ shoaib

Aoa... what if one doesnt have the option? can sociology be chosen along with journalism?

is IR a good sebject n scoring?

ghulammujtaba86 will become famous soon enough
Default @ shoaibraza_pk

i also need journalism notes.i am appearing in 2010.
what are your other subjects?
mine are applied math, geography, muslim law.
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 62nd

Default @Dua

Waslaam Dua how are u doing?

Well you can opt both Journalism and Sociology. no restriction in it. Sociology paper was quite easy in 2009.
Sociology can help you in essay paper as it broaden you horizon and as you study social issues you can have a lot of relevant material and references if you attempts a social issue in Essay paper. Sociology has been a scoring subject. It is less technical and more general so there is a little chance of your failure in it as in Mercantile Law people may fail. Failure mean less than passing marks i.e 33 out of hundred and if you get less than 33 you marks what ever it they be would not be inculded into final aggregate. So, the thing is one should choose that subject which is more general and less technical and in which you can score well as well as it is not a subject in which u can get less than 33. I got 38 in Punjabi in 2007 but 73 in 2008.

As for as I.R is concerned, i would say it is a good subject. Its merits are
1. It helps a lot in Current Affairs if you prepare it wisely
2. It helps in Interview preparation.
3. It can help you in Essay paper. Like war on terror is a hot issue in IR as well as in essay paper

Demerits.
1. A bit risky but if well prepared no worry
2. It's a technical subject with respect to preparation and paper attempting.
you must know how to get maximum marks in it. It is again a less general subject mean you can not handle its paper by mere hints. you need to remember a a lot of international disputes, agreements, dates, personalities, wars, treaties etc

your quires are welcome
take care
Allah Hafiz

Shoaib Raza@37 Common CEG
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to shoaibraza_pk For This Useful Post:
dua... (Saturday, July 25, 2009), zainabro (Saturday, July 25, 2009)

Default @gulam Mujtaba

Dear wait a while for notes and keep studying 2 good books for Journalism in the mean time.

My optional s were
Indo-Pakistan history, Sociology, Journalism, Constitutional Law and Punjabi

Your Queries are welcome. You may contact any time
The Following User Says Thank You to shoaibraza_pk For This Useful Post:
zainabro (Saturday, July 25, 2009)

Saqib Riaz is just really niceSaqib Riaz is just really niceSaqib Riaz is just really niceSaqib Riaz is just really nice

@Shoiab

Dear its my pleasure to know that your optioanl were Indo-Pak History ,Sociology, Journalism, Constitutional Law
All these subject are optd by me excluiding punjabi to Public Admin.

Dear bro kindly do share notes of Indo Pak History and kindly suggest me the good and reliable book for Indo Pak History as i have'nt be able to find reliable book.

For journalism i am preparing from "Mass Communication" by Imtiaz Shahid and "Journalism for all" by Mehdi Hassan . Is that enough.

For Sociology i only consult "Pakistani Society" Iqbal Choudary but thats only for pakistani point of view. Kindly do let me know the reliable books for sociolgy as well.

For Constitutional Law i just only consukt with "Modern Constitution "By Mazar ul Haq.but it covers only UK,USA, and FRANCE. For China,USSR, India which book you prefer.For Pakistan Constitution i just read the G.W.Choudary book.

Kindly do let me know the books, notes and tips.

dua... is on a distinguished road

@ shoaib

Asslam o alikum

thanks for ur time and suggestions.

well I have chosen IR (100 marks) n journalism (100) as my optionals along with sociology, bisiness administration and Indo pak history. neither of these subjects go with my background as i have done MBA.

i am passionate to learn arabic (200 marks) and if i do so, i can replace it with IR n journalism. Shall i go for learning arabic n drop the others. I dont have much knowhow of arabic... just know the basics.

Another thing that bothers me is that people say IR is really tough and less scoring... so i feel that its merits r lesser.
one can go through the IR book while preparing for Current affairs but i dont think one shall risk ones marks just for CA. i am not really good at cramming dates n names.

plz can u guide me what other subject can replace IR if not arabic?

P.S: I will be thankful if u can provide with journalism or indo pak notes.

regards.
Old Sunday, July 26, 2009

star1 is an unknown quantity at this point

Kindly recommend a book for sociology.I am going to prepare it after i am done with islamiat and journalism.

Last edited by Viceroy; Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 04:36 AM.

hamarapakistan will become famous soon enough
Exclamation need guidance

salam to all
i m new at this forum .i want to know about css exam schedule .does anybody konw the month of 2010 in which css exams expected .and also about the registation procedure and schedule of css exams

ghulammujtaba86 will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by shoaibraza_pk
Dear wait a while for notes and keep studying 2 good books for Journalism in the mean time.

My optional s were
Indo-Pakistan history, Sociology, Journalism, Constitutional Law and Punjabi

Your Queries are welcome. You may contact any time
salam
thnkx for ur rply shoaib.
kindly tel me from where i should start prep journalism