02:02 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Arabic

Old Tuesday, October 04, 2011
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: PMS -  Merti 5

kal3m will become famous soon enoughkal3m will become famous soon enough

And I would like to add as Usman Brother already told, for grammatical explanation and understanding, very concise book of (Kitab us sarf) by Hafiz abdulrehman amratsari, would help you. just overview the book it will take maximum an hour or two.

Yousafzaii is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by usman khalid View Post
@saba mehmood

You are only required to translate the passage. No need to do tashrih (explanation). Usually in one passage you are also asked about the grammatical nature/explanation of underlined words.
The method to solve the poetry question should be as follows:

1. First, write reference to the context: i.e from where the given passage has been taken and what is the name of the poet (It should take one or two lines only).
2. Now, briefly explain the central idea of the passage in 2 or 3 lines. (Some times this may be asked but even if it is not asked you should write it).
3. After this, translate the passage line by line as done in Hafiz sb notes.
oh i never knew dat we are suppose to give the refrence and detail of the passege....usman bhai can u please explain it with an example...we should b very thankful tou for that....
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

@yousafzaii and all others having Arabic

Here is the way to solve poetry question:

Suppose you are given a passage from umrul qais poetry for translation. You will proceed as follows:

1. Reference to context:

yeh ashaar umrul qais k mualaqa se liay gay hain. umrul qais nay apnay mualaqa main mehboob or usk ghar ki tareef ki hy or us se apni purani muhabat ko yaad kia hy. is mualaqa main umrul qais nay apnay ghoray ka wisf nihayat khoobsurti k saath bian kia hy. isk ilawas manazir e fitrat, jangli janwron or hawadis e zamana ko bhi nihayat umadgi se shairon main proya hy.

2. Translation:
ab yhan ap line by line passage ki translation kro gay urdu main ya english main.

agar apse underlined words k meaning/grammatical nature ya explanation puchi gai ho to ap yeh heading do gay:

3. Explanation of underlined words:

I am solving underlined words from passage given in CSS 2010. (Refer to Question 3)

arsaateha: Murakab e izafi
qiaaneha: Murakab e izafi
naaqif: Faail (subject)
assi: mafool (object)
taadawwaa: fail muzarae, tasnia monas ghaib (verb)

Explanation of underlined words is usually asked in one question while reference to context is required in the other question. However, its better to write reference to the context for both questions.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
nain jee (Sunday, October 16, 2011), parhakubacha (Wednesday, October 05, 2011), saba mehmood (Wednesday, October 05, 2011), Silent.Volcano (Monday, October 10, 2011), zainab Durrani (Friday, October 14, 2011)
Old Wednesday, October 05, 2011

Yousafzaii is on a distinguished road
Default @ usman

thanxxx alott usman bhai...i really appriciate ur earnest guidance...God Bless You..
Old Saturday, October 15, 2011

saba mehmood will become famous soon enough
Question Usman Khalid

Plz guide me regarding these questions ,how can I get answers of these questions.
Pakistani arabic literature in the fields of prose and poetry?

What is the meaning of 'Al naqad al adbi" and exclusive and inclusive definition of al adab

Identify the lexical meaning of the derogatory term AL JAHILIYA in the light of pre islamic literatureand explain the rigid conventions of the pre islamic Ode with reference to the seven suspended long poems of the pre islamic era?

Chronological difference between the contemporary and modern arabic literature

Importance of arabic markets in promotion of arabic language

arabic literature in spain

Kindly do guide me .where to find answers of these
Old Saturday, October 15, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

Arabic in the Subcontinent
(some material is also available in the book. Not much material is availble on Arabic in Pakistan. I am posting here some extract from a website)

In the Indian subcontinent, the introduction of Arabic was largely due to the adoption of the Islamic faith. It was the language of government during the reign of the sultan Jalal al-Din (963-1014 AH). There is evidence, however, that Arabic reached India prior to the tenth Islamic century through Farsi, which was the language of the court in India prior to the advent of Islam. Urdu, a written variety of Hindustani with a substantial quantity of Arabic words, is the language used by Muslims; it employs the Arabic alphabet. A great majority of the Urdu scholars of the twelfth Islamic century used the medium of Arabic for their writings. Prominent among them were Wali Allah al-Dihlawi, Shibli al-Na'mani, and Karamat Husayn. Arabic gained more and more ground with the increasing Muslim influence in India. Urdu, which has a vocabulary of which at least thirty per cent is of Arabic origin, continues to the present to be the foremost among the dialects spoken among the Muslims of India and Pakistan. The impact of Arabic extended to other Indic languages such as Hindi and Sindhi, the latter using the Arabic alphabet.

Al naqad al adbi means ‘Criticism in Literature’. There were some classical and modern critics you might have studied during your preparation like taha hussain etc.

The word ‘adab’ may have many meanings. Some literal meanings other denotative or connotative meanings etc. Inclusive definition of adab is a generic definition which may contain everything and is comprehensive. Whereas exclusive definition may be a specific definition relating only to literature in question like prose and poetry. (You may google it on net because it may not only relate to Arabic Literature rather other languages/literatures)

Meaning of Al Jahlia is ‘Period of literature before Islam’ i.e. dor e jahlia. Seven suspended long poems means ‘saba mualaqaat’. These were those poems written by poets like umr ul qais, zuhair, nabigha etc. and were suspended with the walls of kaaba as challange for others or for the purpose of reputation or admiration. You may find detail on this in notes or book.

Topic of Modern Arabic Literature has been covered in notes.

Importance of Arabic Markets is covered in Ahmad Hassan Ziat book’s beginning chapters. (If you can’t find, let me know I shall tell you the relevant page numbers)

Arabic Literature in spain has also been covered in the book as well as notes.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
nain jee (Sunday, October 16, 2011), Yousafzaii (Monday, October 31, 2011)
Old Sunday, October 30, 2011

Imtiaz khann is on a distinguished road

saba but where is this book available.