-   Geography (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/geography/)
-   -   confusion regarding geography (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/geography/51745-confusion-regarding-geography.html)

junaidayaz Sunday, July 17, 2011 12:56 AM

confusion regarding geography

Aoa all,

seniors pls guide me
is it necessary to have studied this course before opting this as an optional?
means can we grasp this course if we study this first time? no geography background,,

pls acknowledge

poisoning flower Sunday, July 17, 2011 01:48 AM

i would like to share my experience....
geography is very interesting subject to be studied...
i didnt have geography background but i had taken it as my optional and i scored 134. its a bit technical but interesting subject and if u understand the concept once, good marks can be ur destination...:)

aariz Sunday, July 17, 2011 03:20 AM

[QUOTE=junaidayaz;330884]Aoa all,

seniors pls guide me
is it necessary to have studied this course before opting this as an optional?
means can we grasp this course if we study this first time? no geography background,,

pls acknowledge[/QUOTE]

Yes, u can opt no matter u have not studied it before.

Fading Glimpse Sunday, July 17, 2011 10:45 AM

yes one can..... geography is very interesting subject and easy to understand so no worries if u don't have background in it...
good luck

junaidayaz Sunday, July 17, 2011 10:50 AM

[QUOTE=poisoning flower;330893]i would like to share my experience....
geography is very interesting subject to be studied...
i didnt have geography background but i had taken it as my optional and i scored 134. its a bit technical but interesting subject and if u understand the concept once, good marks can be ur destination...:)[/QUOTE]

Thanks both of you.
flower as u opt this as an optional can you pls tell me which books to study?
as i have short of time i just got some books
1.physical geography by A.Strahler
2.Physical Geography by Das Gupta
3.Jahangeer top 20 questions
mostly i study questions from jahangeer to check the flow of the question but before that i read and strengthen my basic concepts from Strahler & Gupta.
howz that flower??

Fading Glimpse Sunday, July 17, 2011 10:52 AM

[QUOTE=junaidayaz;330931]Thanks both of you.
flower as u opt this as an optional can you pls tell me which books to study?
as i have short of time i just got some books
1.physical geography by A.Strahler
2.Physical Geography by Das Gupta
3.Jahangeer top 20 questions
mostly i study questions from jahangeer to check the flow of the question but before that i read and strengthen my basic concepts from Strahler & Gupta.
howz that flower??[/QUOTE]

good collection of books....
good going so far:)

junaidayaz Sunday, July 17, 2011 10:55 AM

and also my other optionals are
1.geography
2.psychology
3.sociology
4.journalism
and having an engineering background
but unfortunately haven't study anyone above corse :(

Fading Glimpse Sunday, July 17, 2011 10:59 AM

[QUOTE=junaidayaz;330934]and also my other optionals are
1.geography
2.psychology
3.sociology
4.journalism
and having an engineering background
but unfortunately haven't study anyone above corse :([/QUOTE]

hmmm good combination, journalism has not been scoring last year, so if u are pretty easy with it then its OK and if not then change it. what if u study a regional language instead of journalism?

junaidayaz Sunday, July 17, 2011 11:01 AM

[QUOTE=jiashah;330933]good collection of books....
good going so far:)[/QUOTE]

and miss jia also tell me the books for Paper - II for geography but only jst single book.dont have time just started my css prep dont knw will i be able to do it or not
Allah behtar kry INSHALLAH

Fading Glimpse Sunday, July 17, 2011 11:03 AM

[QUOTE=junaidayaz;330936]and miss jia also tell me the books for Paper - II for geography but only jst single book.dont have time just started my css prep dont knw will i be able to do it or not
Allah behtar kry INSHALLAH[/QUOTE]

when u say INSHALLAH then there should be no fear or uncertainty:)
for paper 2 no single book covers whole syllabus. but HUMAN GEOGRAPHY by DE BLIJ is recommended.

07:32 AM (GMT +5)