-   Journalism & Mass Communication (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/journalism-mass-communication/)
-   -   Journalism Notes in Points (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/journalism-mass-communication/44863-journalism-notes-points.html)

Farrah Zafar Monday, February 14, 2011 07:48 PM

Journalism Notes in Points

[B][SIZE="5"]Magazine Journalism[/SIZE][/B]

--In indopak Sub continent journalism started in 1780 from the birth of a weekly newspaper "Bengal Gazette".
--More than 800 magazines are published in pak
--Internationally acknowledged magazines have circulations in millions
--Reader's digest(20 millions)
--Times(3 million)
--Newsweek(4 million)

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Types[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--special interest(includes religious,sports,entertainment)
--society magazine
--digest magazine
--professional magazine

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Success of a Magazine is based upon;[/SIZE][/U][/B]

Ronald Wolseleyn says in "understanding Magazine"

--Purpose of the magazine
--Market for the magazine
--Standard of living of the potential readers
--Educational and cultural level of the potential readers
--Competitors in the field and their formula
--Tested formulas whether existing formulas have worked
--Climate of of opinion of the public generally and how it might react to the proposed magazine
--The financial horizon or limits set on the formula by the financial condition of the magazine owners.
(if you are bad at cramming like me,you may use these points by writing in paragraph form in your own words)

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Reasons behind Failure of a Magazine;[/SIZE][/U][/B]

Harlon Logan,a former publisher's consultant in an article "Tomorrow's News Magazines"

--Lack of editorial reasons for existence
--Lack of clearly defined editorial pattern
--Lack of advertising reason for existence
--Lack of realistic budget projections
--Lack of realistic schedule of time required to gain either reader or advertising acceptance
--Lack of knowledge of the magazine filed in general and of the specific competition.
--Lack of accurate information about the persona;which is hired to produce the new magazine

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Purpose of Pictures in a Magazine[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--To enhance the text in order that the meaning may be clearer,and the reader more interested
--To provide additional information
--To establish a mood
--To dress up a page

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Magazine Readership[/SIZE][/U][/B]

10% of national population

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Functions of a Magazine[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--To entertain
--To inform
--To comment
--To advertise

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Magazines in Pakistan[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--Phool,Nau-Nehal,Taleem O tarbeeat(for children)
--Khawateen digest,Shuaa,Pakeeza(for women)
--Akhbar i Jahan,Family
--Urdu Dijest,Sayyara

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Scope;[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--It is shaping the public opinions
--womens digests are awaking awareness,educating morally and unveiling the social issues
Magazine journalism needs professional and sincere leadership

(In short ap is portion mein gappen mar saktay hain)
I will keep posting one by one

cateyes Wednesday, February 16, 2011 10:21 PM

v nice effort

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;265983][B][SIZE="5"]Magazine Journalism[/SIZE][/B]

--In indopak Sub continent journalism started in 1780 from the birth of a weekly newspaper "Bengal Gazette".
--More than 800 magazines are published in pak
--Internationally acknowledged magazines have circulations in millions
--Reader's digest(20 millions)
--Times(3 million)
--Newsweek(4 million)

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Types[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--special interest(includes religious,sports,entertainment)
--society magazine
--digest magazine
--professional magazine

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Success of a Magazine is based upon;[/SIZE][/U][/B]

Ronald Wolseleyn says in "understanding Magazine"

--Purpose of the magazine
--Market for the magazine
--Standard of living of the potential readers
--Educational and cultural level of the potential readers
--Competitors in the field and their formula
--Tested formulas whether existing formulas have worked
--Climate of of opinion of the public generally and how it might react to the proposed magazine
--The financial horizon or limits set on the formula by the financial condition of the magazine owners.
(if you are bad at cramming like me,you may use these points by writing in paragraph form in your own words)

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Reasons behind Failure of a Magazine;[/SIZE][/U][/B]

Harlon Logan,a former publisher's consultant in an article "Tomorrow's News Magazines"

--Lack of editorial reasons for existence
--Lack of clearly defined editorial pattern
--Lack of advertising reason for existence
--Lack of realistic budget projections
--Lack of realistic schedule of time required to gain either reader or advertising acceptance
--Lack of knowledge of the magazine filed in general and of the specific competition.
--Lack of accurate information about the persona;which is hired to produce the new magazine

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Purpose of Pictures in a Magazine[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--To enhance the text in order that the meaning may be clearer,and the reader more interested
--To provide additional information
--To establish a mood
--To dress up a page

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Magazine Readership[/SIZE][/U][/B]

10% of national population

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Functions of a Magazine[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--To entertain
--To inform
--To comment
--To advertise

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Magazines in Pakistan[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--Phool,Nau-Nehal,Taleem O tarbeeat(for children)
--Khawateen digest,Shuaa,Pakeeza(for women)
--Akhbar i Jahan,Family
--Urdu Dijest,Sayyara

[B][U][SIZE="4"]Scope;[/SIZE][/U][/B]

--It is shaping the public opinions
--womens digests are awaking awareness,educating morally and unveiling the social issues
Magazine journalism needs professional and sincere leadership

(In short ap is portion mein gappen mar saktay hain)
I will keep posting one by one[/QUOTE]

ur effort is very nice dear....

but i have some questions abt it....

1- what is news magazine ?i mean in which category it lies????
2. evaluate the personality of any magazine u like the most?????wht should b the answer i mean what to write in it kindly help as soon as possible.

thx

Yousafzaii Wednesday, February 16, 2011 11:52 PM

@ cateyes

ohhh great work lady...i just left a msg in one of thread for a Help/note on magazine journalism and here i found it in a next min...:):)

Yousafzaii Wednesday, February 16, 2011 11:58 PM

[QUOTE=cateyes;267114]

2. evaluate the personality of any magazine u like the most?????wht should b the answer i mean what to write in it kindly help as soon as possible.

thx[/QUOTE]

i think news magazine are based on providing in depth analysis of important news and tell us about its geographical and historical background e.g press Review...... and evaluating the personalty of magazine is about y one likes any magazine the most..e.g times magazine as it keep u up to date on any matter of social life

plz correct me if i.m not...

Farrah Zafar Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:12 AM

[QUOTE=cateyes;267114]ur effort is very nice dear....

thx[/QUOTE]

Thanx cateyes.

1)News magazine is a magazine published by a newspaper on weekly basis e.g Sunday magazine.(according to my information but I'm not sure)

2)As you are girl so let's take example of "Kiran Digest".
You will discuss it in detail,e.g
-Editorial
-Hamad
-Naat
-Interview of a celebrity
-writer's kitchen
-novel
-afsanay
-poetry
-Namay meray naam(letter to editor)

In short you will discuss every part of your favourite magazine in detail and will give reasons that make you to consider it as your favourite magazine.

@Yousafzai It is my work:hurt

Call for Change Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:24 AM

Overall nice effort Farah.
there should be another category

Magazines by Periodicity.
Weekly
Monthly
Quarterly
Yearly

Farrah Zafar Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:28 AM

[QUOTE=Call for Change;267184]Overall nice effort Farah.
there should be another category

Magazines by Periodicity.
Weekly
Monthly
Quarterly
Yearly[/QUOTE]

You are right.Actually I didn't consider it worthy enough to mention as it is an open secret;)

Call for Change Thursday, February 17, 2011 12:37 AM

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;267185]You are right.Actually I didn't consider it worthy enough to mention as it is an open secret;)[/QUOTE]

Nai , i think u must mention it. MAin is liya kah rahi hoon coz m student of mass communication...agay ap ki mrzi hay :) here is my outline .

Types of Magazines.

[B][I][COLOR="DarkSlateBlue"]1-ACCORDING TO CIRCULATION[/COLOR][/I][/B]

a- Mass or general mag
b-class or literary mag
c- specialized mag

[B][COLOR="DarkSlateBlue"][I]2-ACCORDING TO FUNCTIONS[/I][/COLOR][/B]

a- Mag of general interest
b-mag of women interest
c- High class mag
d- Mag of children interest
e- house magazines
f- Mag of men interest
g- sports mag
h- News mag
i-showbiz mag
j- Religious mag
k- Literary Mag
l- Political mag

[B][I][COLOR="DarkSlateBlue"]3- ACCORDING TO PERIODICITY [/COLOR][/I][/B]

a- Weekly
b- Monthly
c- Quarterly
d- Yearly

cateyes Thursday, February 17, 2011 01:37 AM

[QUOTE=Call for Change;267191]hahaha Farah mujay pta nai ta dear k ap ko madad ki zaroorat hay wrna zaroor kr deti :)[/QUOTE]

aray bhai mujay b help ki zarorat ha...:pp
help me too...........

plz some key tips for paprz
ma nay study to kar lia ha bt i m not confident

n tell me tht communication n mass communication covers same topic????????

Call for Change Thursday, February 17, 2011 01:38 AM

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;267203]pata nae kia masla hai.email ja e nae rae thi.error aye ja ra ta..ab gayi tou hai..pata nae ap ko ya kis ko:(
3340 he aata hai na end mein?[/QUOTE]

kis ko email kr di farah?
mera id [email]********@yahoo.com[/email] hay

02:37 AM (GMT +5)