06:33 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Journalism & Mass Communication

Journalism & Mass Communication Notes and Topics on Journalism

Old Wednesday, November 20, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,879 Times in 593 Posts
Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough
Default Important Topics of Journalism 2014

Important Topics of Journalism 2014

Section One

Communication
  1. Is communication a reciprocal process?
  2. Functions of Mass Communication
  3. Concept and process of communication.
  4. Barriers if communications. Do these barriers also exist in this modern information age?
  5. Importance of Mass Communication in this modern age
  6. Essentials of effective communication
  7. How do you define communication? With the help of different models describe the process of communication

Evolution of the Muslim Press
  1. Critically examine the role of Muslim press during Pakistan Movement.
  2. Zimindar played very effective role against British imperialism. Discuss in detail.
  3. Give your evaluation of the role of print journalism in Pakistan?
  4. Explain the difficulties faced by the Muslim Press during the movement of Pakistan.

News
  1. Educational and news functions of journalism
  2. Describe news, "which is the real soul of journalism"
  3. Effects of different news on Pakistan Society
  4. Functions and Values of News

Newspapers
  1. Have newspapers lost their importance after the fast growth of cable television and social media in Pakistan? Comment.

Role of Media
  1. Critically analyze the watchdog and lapdog role of public and private TV channels in Pakistan.
  2. "Today’s media has taken centre stage role in the daily life and society”. Give your comments on this statement in the light of media system dependence theory
  3. Role of journalists in socio-economic development of the country like Pakistan.
  4. Looking into the latest developments taking place in the field of journalism determine the role of a journalist in the 21st century.

Private TV Channels
  1. Evaluate critically the performance of private T.V channels in Pakistan
  2. Discuss the role of private TV Channels in political and social mobilization after their inception in and after 2002 in Pakistan.
  3. survey the development of electronic media in Pakistan?

Media and Ethics/Freedom
  1. Ethical issues associated with online journalism and its remedies
  2. Importance of people’s participation in the process of development and subsequent role of mass media
  3. “The mass media in Pakistan are confronting many problems” Please comment.
  4. Considering that Media are given greater importance, describe the freedom of media.
  5. In spite of being highly potential and popular medium, Television in Pakistan has failed to play a key role in national development and to promote our values and culture. Make critical analysis.

Misc
  1. "FM radio channels have revolutionized the broadcast landscape in Pakistani and have become one of the preferred sources of entertainment for youngsters", give your arguments for or against this statement.

Section Two

Magazine Journalism
  1. Role of Magazine Journalism in Pakistan
  2. What are the functions and scope of magazines in our society?
  3. Survey the status of Magazine Journalism in Pakistan?
  4. Magazine Journalism – its scope and social aspects.
  5. Magazine journalism (Short Note)

Advertising
  1. How does Advertising influence society?
  2. Latest trends and practices in society and the principles of successful advertising
  3. Survey the development of Advertising in Pakistan
  4. Define ‘Advertising’?
  5. Principles of successful advertising
  6. Describe the social and economic aspects of advertising.
  7. What do you know about advertising? Explain its functions and importance in the modern age.
  8. “advertising is spinal cord of any media organization”. Discuss.

Editorial
  1. Describe the need and significance of editorial.
  2. Describe the major types of editorial perform for its readers?
  3. What function does an editorial perform for its readers?

Public Relation
  1. Present status of Public Relations Practice in Pakistan
  2. difference between ‘Public Relation Officer’ and ‘Personal Assistant’?
  3. Mention the role and responsibilities of a good P.R.O
  4. Purpose and scope of Public Relation in any organization?
  5. Public relations manipulate the news. Comment in detail.
  6. "Public Relations are actually Image Building activity". Explain in detail.

Freedom of Media and Ethics
  1. Describe an ideal ‘Press Code of Ethics’ for Pakistan Journalists.
  2. “Freedom of Press” and “Responsibility” is two common issues in the field of journalism. Discuss and evaluate the case of Pakistan regarding these concepts?
  3. In a globalized world, discuss and evaluate the concepts of "Free Press" and "Responsibility" in the developing and developed societies.
  4. Press freedom and responsibility go hand in hand in a democratic society. Comment.
  5. Media laws in Pakistan are hindrance in the way of free media. Give your arguments for or against the comment keeping in view the current laws and ordinances relating to electronic media in Pakistan.

Misc
  1. explain the historical perspective of journalism in subcontinent
  2. In the light of Karl Marx media theory: analyze the role of at least 3 TV channels with the special reference of flood disaster. What is national development? And how media can play role in national development
  3. Describe the criteria and parameters of selecting and structuring the news.
  4. Differentiate news “components” from “news values”
  5. How ‘Print Media’ is so important in Pakistan society after the development of “electronic Media”? Argue in detail
  6. Critically evaluate socio-economic impact of mobile package advertisements on Pakistani youth.

Short Note
  1. Press release
  2. Editorial
  3. Non-verbal communication
  4. Code of ethics for print media
adilcapri (Wednesday, November 20, 2013), anum balouch (Tuesday, December 10, 2013), bluegirl (Wednesday, November 20, 2013), Mehwish Pervez (Wednesday, November 20, 2013), naeem abbas bhatti (Wednesday, November 20, 2013), rayma qaiser (Saturday, November 30, 2013), Rida Malik (Friday, November 29, 2013), sadafnoorelahi (Wednesday, November 20, 2013)

ultimatestruggler is on a distinguished road

a long effort !

bhai arnt they too much ?
The Following User Says Thank You to ultimatestruggler For This Useful Post:
bluegirl (Wednesday, November 20, 2013)

Mehwish Pervez is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Naveed_Bhuutto View Post
Important Topics of Journalism 2014

Section One

Communication
  1. Is communication a reciprocal process?
  2. Functions of Mass Communication
  3. Concept and process of communication.
  4. Barriers if communications. Do these barriers also exist in this modern information age?
  5. Importance of Mass Communication in this modern age
  6. Essentials of effective communication
  7. How do you define communication? With the help of different models describe the process of communication

Evolution of the Muslim Press
  1. Critically examine the role of Muslim press during Pakistan Movement.
  2. Zimindar played very effective role against British imperialism. Discuss in detail.
  3. Give your evaluation of the role of print journalism in Pakistan?
  4. Explain the difficulties faced by the Muslim Press during the movement of Pakistan.

News
  1. Educational and news functions of journalism
  2. Describe news, "which is the real soul of journalism"
  3. Effects of different news on Pakistan Society
  4. Functions and Values of News

Newspapers
  1. Have newspapers lost their importance after the fast growth of cable television and social media in Pakistan? Comment.

Role of Media
  1. Critically analyze the watchdog and lapdog role of public and private TV channels in Pakistan.
  2. "Today’s media has taken centre stage role in the daily life and society”. Give your comments on this statement in the light of media system dependence theory
  3. Role of journalists in socio-economic development of the country like Pakistan.
  4. Looking into the latest developments taking place in the field of journalism determine the role of a journalist in the 21st century.

Private TV Channels
  1. Evaluate critically the performance of private T.V channels in Pakistan
  2. Discuss the role of private TV Channels in political and social mobilization after their inception in and after 2002 in Pakistan.
  3. survey the development of electronic media in Pakistan?

Media and Ethics/Freedom
  1. Ethical issues associated with online journalism and its remedies
  2. Importance of people’s participation in the process of development and subsequent role of mass media
  3. “The mass media in Pakistan are confronting many problems” Please comment.
  4. Considering that Media are given greater importance, describe the freedom of media.
  5. In spite of being highly potential and popular medium, Television in Pakistan has failed to play a key role in national development and to promote our values and culture. Make critical analysis.

Misc
  1. "FM radio channels have revolutionized the broadcast landscape in Pakistani and have become one of the preferred sources of entertainment for youngsters", give your arguments for or against this statement.

Section Two

Magazine Journalism
  1. Role of Magazine Journalism in Pakistan
  2. What are the functions and scope of magazines in our society?
  3. Survey the status of Magazine Journalism in Pakistan?
  4. Magazine Journalism – its scope and social aspects.
  5. Magazine journalism (Short Note)

Advertising
  1. How does Advertising influence society?
  2. Latest trends and practices in society and the principles of successful advertising
  3. Survey the development of Advertising in Pakistan
  4. Define ‘Advertising’?
  5. Principles of successful advertising
  6. Describe the social and economic aspects of advertising.
  7. What do you know about advertising? Explain its functions and importance in the modern age.
  8. “advertising is spinal cord of any media organization”. Discuss.

Editorial
  1. Describe the need and significance of editorial.
  2. Describe the major types of editorial perform for its readers?
  3. What function does an editorial perform for its readers?

Public Relation
  1. Present status of Public Relations Practice in Pakistan
  2. difference between ‘Public Relation Officer’ and ‘Personal Assistant’?
  3. Mention the role and responsibilities of a good P.R.O
  4. Purpose and scope of Public Relation in any organization?
  5. Public relations manipulate the news. Comment in detail.
  6. "Public Relations are actually Image Building activity". Explain in detail.

Freedom of Media and Ethics
  1. Describe an ideal ‘Press Code of Ethics’ for Pakistan Journalists.
  2. “Freedom of Press” and “Responsibility” is two common issues in the field of journalism. Discuss and evaluate the case of Pakistan regarding these concepts?
  3. In a globalized world, discuss and evaluate the concepts of "Free Press" and "Responsibility" in the developing and developed societies.
  4. Press freedom and responsibility go hand in hand in a democratic society. Comment.
  5. Media laws in Pakistan are hindrance in the way of free media. Give your arguments for or against the comment keeping in view the current laws and ordinances relating to electronic media in Pakistan.

Misc
  1. explain the historical perspective of journalism in subcontinent
  2. In the light of Karl Marx media theory: analyze the role of at least 3 TV channels with the special reference of flood disaster. What is national development? And how media can play role in national development
  3. Describe the criteria and parameters of selecting and structuring the news.
  4. Differentiate news “components” from “news values”
  5. How ‘Print Media’ is so important in Pakistan society after the development of “electronic Media”? Argue in detail
  6. Critically evaluate socio-economic impact of mobile package advertisements on Pakistani youth.

Short Note
  1. Press release
  2. Editorial
  3. Non-verbal communication
  4. Code of ethics for print media
Do you have prepared notes for given topics. kindly suggest me good books for that. I have Abid tehami and its average
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Naveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the roughNaveed_Bhuutto is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by ultimatestruggler View Post
a long effort !

bhai arnt they too much ?
While making list of important topics for all subjects, I thought of Journalism to the most precised in syllabus. Ultimate Struggler Aap CSS k Papers de rehe hian or yeh bhi bahoot laag rehe hian apko

Originally Posted by Mehwish Pervez View Post
Do you have prepared notes for given topics. kindly suggest me good books for that. I have Abid tehami and its average
@Mehwish Parvez.... Mehwish 2013 was my last attempt . Agar mujhe is saal papers denai hotai tu main kabhi itna time zaya nahi karta yeh lists bananai mn.

Baqi yes I have made Notes for almost all above mentioned topics from various sources i.e Tahimi's Books, Journalism for All by Khurshed Ahmed, VU Notes and internet specially Powerpoint presentations from Scribd
Mehwish Pervez (Wednesday, November 20, 2013), Rida Malik (Friday, November 29, 2013)

Mehwish Pervez is on a distinguished road

While making list of important topics for all subjects, I thought of Journalism to the most precised in syllabus. Ultimate Struggler Aap CSS k Papers de rehe hian or yeh bhi bahoot laag rehe hian apko

@Mehwish Parvez.... Mehwish 2013 was my last attempt . Agar mujhe is saal papers denai hotai tu main kabhi itna time zaya nahi karta yeh lists bananai mn.

Baqi yes I have made Notes for almost all above mentioned topics from various sources i.e Tahimi's Books, Journalism for All by Khurshed Ahmed, VU Notes and internet specially Powerpoint presentations from Scribd
Can you share those notes please?

Originally Posted by Mehwish Pervez View Post
Can you share those notes please?
I would have love to share them on this forum, but they aren't in soft copy.
Mehwish Pervez (Wednesday, November 20, 2013)
Old Thursday, November 21, 2013

ultimatestruggler is on a distinguished road

for sure bhai,
we have to STRUGGLE
to meet to the target of passing ratio 2%
or may be its gonna 1% in our attempts
but what i meant to say that
is there anything left? :p
and
i must appreciate your help and concer for the juniors like us in the forum

thanks alot

May Allah bless you
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ultimatestruggler For This Useful Post:
Mehwish Pervez (Thursday, November 21, 2013), sahar abbas (Thursday, November 21, 2013)
Old Sunday, November 24, 2013

bmahmood is on a distinguished road

Questions CE -14 ,

Communication with its theories
Magazine journalism
Journalism in subcontinent
News and editorials
Social and economic impacts of advertising
role and importance of public relations .

and at the end , like in the month of Ramzan , security guard say ,

"Jagtay rahna mayday pay nah rahna "

So apna apna karna in questions pay nah rahna ,

CSS hay , lag gya tu sixer nah laga tu clean sweep.

The Following User Says Thank You to bmahmood For This Useful Post:
anum balouch (Friday, November 29, 2013)
Old Friday, November 29, 2013

paras Sulehri is on a distinguished road

will this plan will be suffice enough for MCQ portion too?
Old Friday, November 29, 2013

JhooTa is on a distinguished road

these are extra questions. dont waste your time preparing for so much questions. i had 71 this year and around 65 last year. ill tell you limited topics and insha ALLAH paper will be from those topics.
The Following User Says Thank You to JhooTa For This Useful Post:
paras Sulehri (Friday, November 29, 2013)