-   Psychology (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/psychology/)
-   -   ''Confused in taking Psychology as Optional'' (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/psychology/110134-confused-taking-psychology-optional.html)

MHassaan Monday, July 04, 2016 08:13 AM

''Confused in taking Psychology as Optional''

can i go for psychology with null background in this respective subject,
i have an engineering background
i have seen past papers,this subject interests me but everyone is saying that it is a very confusing subject and one shouldn't opt it without a proper background
in it !
is there a chance that it could be of 200 marks in the 2017 sallybus ?

aniya warraich Monday, July 04, 2016 09:40 AM

[QUOTE=MHassaan;950330]can i go for psychology with null background in this respective subject,
i have seen past papers,this subject interests me but everyone is saying that it is a very confusing subject and one shouldn't opt it without a proper background
in it !
is there a chance that it could be of 200 marks in the 2017 sallybus ?[/QUOTE]

If you have an engineering background, I believe you can opt for psychology easily. The reason behind this belief is that psychology, just like all other science subjects requires to the point answering of questions. Candidates with engineering background can easily go with it. It is not at all confusing. It has some Biology portion, which turns out to be a little difficult for candidates with zero Bio background. However, for CSS you have to opt for subjects where your additional effort is required to score high. But it's worth the risk.

Moreover, if you find it interesting, you should go for it. It will give you good marks, provided you support your answers with illustrations and diagrams where ever required.

There is quite a hullaballoo over the revision of syllabus and subjects already. I dont think that the FPSC will change the marks or the syllabus for another century now. So expect Psychology to be of 100 marks for your 2017 attempt.

MHassaan Monday, July 04, 2016 09:48 AM

[QUOTE=aniya warraich;950343]If you have an engineering background, I believe you can opt for psychology easily. The reason behind this belief is that psychology, just like all other science subjects requires to the point answering of questions. Candidates with engineering background can easily go with it. It is not at all confusing. It has some Biology portion, which turns out to be a little difficult for candidates with zero Bio background. However, for CSS you have to opt for subjects where your additional effort is required to score high. But it's worth the risk.

Moreover, if you find it interesting, you should go for it. It will give you good marks, provided you support your answers with illustrations and diagrams where ever required.

There is quite a hullaballoo over the revision of syllabus and subjects already. I dont think that the FPSC will change the marks or the syllabus for another century now. So expect Psychology to be of 100 marks for your 2017 attempt.[/QUOTE]
thankyou mam for such a quick reply!
about that diagrams thing ,what exactly were you implying ? i mean biological diagrams like brain,frontal lobes etc ?

Nazish Hina Monday, July 04, 2016 11:32 AM

[QUOTE=MHassaan;950330]can i go for psychology with null background in this respective subject,
in it !
You don't require the background. It is one of the most [B]interesting [/B]subjects you'll study and you will enjoy it too. [B]It is not confusing at all[/B] except one chapter about the function of brain which took me slightly more time.

Use a book which is interesting and has illustrations and experiments to help you understand better.

Other than that there is a series of Psychology lectures by Yale university which coincides with the CSS syllabus. There are also a "Crash Course" in Psychology by Hank Green.
The book I used was FPSC recommended Atkinson and Hilgard's Introduction to psychology, Other than that I used Introduction to psychology by J.W.kalat.
I hope this helps, have a nice prep

MHassaan Monday, July 04, 2016 11:38 AM

are there any diagrams like the biological ones, i mean like structure of brain etc

Nazish Hina Monday, July 04, 2016 12:05 PM

[QUOTE=MHassaan;950374]are there any diagrams like the biological ones, i mean like structure of brain etc[/QUOTE]
Yes, there are diagrams but they aren't too many. They are mostly related to structure and function of the brain.But I can't draw to save my life. I didn't prepare them.

MHassaan Monday, July 04, 2016 12:13 PM

thank-you mam
can i ask how much marks you secured in this subject ?

Nazish Hina Monday, July 04, 2016 01:44 PM

[QUOTE=MHassaan;950382]thank-you mam
can i ask how much marks you secured in this subject ?[/QUOTE]
I'll let you know after result :D

Innocent Heart Monday, July 04, 2016 02:26 PM

[QUOTE=Nazish Hina;950371]You don't require the background. It is one of the most [B]interesting [/B]subjects you'll study and you will enjoy it too. [B]It is not confusing at all[/B] except one chapter about the function of brain which took me slightly more time.

Use a book which is interesting and has illustrations and experiments to help you understand better.

Other than that there is a series of Psychology lectures by Yale university which coincides with the CSS syllabus. There are also a "Crash Course" in Psychology by Hank Green.
The book I used was FPSC recommended Atkinson and Hilgard's Introduction to psychology, Other than that I used Introduction to psychology by J.W.kalat.
I hope this helps, have a nice prep[/QUOTE]
Kindly share the link of the books you used..
I have studied from fieldmen and jwt and got very low score...

Sent from my Nokia_X using Tapatalk

aniya warraich Monday, July 04, 2016 04:45 PM

[QUOTE=MHassaan;950344]thankyou mam for such a quick reply!
about that diagrams thing ,what exactly were you implying ? i mean biological diagrams like brain,frontal lobes etc ?[/QUOTE]

Not all are from the bio portion. You can get good marks if you make flow charts. Figure work in topics like "learning" and "development" will enable you to score high.

The examiner wants to see if your concepts are clear. So any answer supported with aids and diagrams will fetch a high score for you. The best part about Psychology is that it doesn't demand unnecessary lengthy answers. A complete and to the point answer will do. No need to beat about the bush.

MHassaan Tuesday, July 05, 2016 04:46 AM

[QUOTE=Nazish Hina;950400]I'll let you know after result :D[/QUOTE]
haha okay

Nazish Hina Tuesday, July 05, 2016 12:48 PM

[QUOTE=Innocent Heart;950420]Kindly share the link of the books you used..
I have studied from fieldmen and jwt and got very low score...

Sent from my Nokia_X using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]
I already have mentioned the books.
[QUOTE]The book I used was FPSC recommended Atkinson and Hilgard's Introduction to psychology, Other than that I used Introduction to psychology by J.W.kalat.
[/QUOTE]
and YouTube is your best friend

Innocent Heart Tuesday, July 05, 2016 12:59 PM

[QUOTE=Nazish Hina;950627]I already have mentioned the books.

and YouTube is your best friend[/QUOTE]
I was asking about the links :) as you provided in other thread...

Nazish Hina Tuesday, July 05, 2016 01:16 PM

[QUOTE=Innocent Heart;950630]I was asking about the links :) as you provided in other thread...

Sent from my Nokia_X using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]
Okay, then you should've been clearer. :D
[URL="http://goo.gl/91XQBh"]James.W.kalat Introduction to Psychology[/URL]
[URL="http://goo.gl/tDWmtL"]Atkinson & Hilgard's Introduction to Psychology[/URL]

Innocent Heart Tuesday, July 05, 2016 01:43 PM

[QUOTE=Nazish Hina;950635]Okay, then you should've been clearer. :D
[URL="http://goo.gl/91XQBh"]James.W.kalat Introduction to Psychology[/URL]
[URL="http://goo.gl/tDWmtL"]Atkinson & Hilgard's Introduction to Psychology[/URL][/QUOTE]
Thank you so much
Jazak ALLAH :)

arshacca Wednesday, August 03, 2016 09:01 PM

I appreciate your guidance regarding this subject. I am have background in audit and accounts (ACCA). I am comfortable with all other optional subjects but facing difficulty in one 100 marks subject,I am studying Punjabi and having difficulty in it ,thinking to opt for Psychology instead of Punjabi. Is this a good idea? I need to decide immediately. CONFUSED

Nazish Hina Thursday, August 04, 2016 01:18 AM

Study psychology for a day or two first, and the make a choice.
Punjabi is considered scoring. But if you find it difficult it is unlikely for you to get good marks plus it will also take too much time if it frustrates you.

arshacca Friday, August 05, 2016 11:50 PM

I like your idea and gonna try it.

MsHiba Saturday, September 10, 2016 05:01 PM

Is psychology scoring? And tell me the books please?

GhazMar Saturday, September 10, 2016 08:00 PM

[QUOTE=MsHiba;966729]Is psychology scoring? And tell me the books please?[/QUOTE]

it used to be high scoring subject until the 2015 paper in which it was badly, badly hit, and with the change in paper pattern, no one is sure how the scoring trend will fare out.

The syllabus is very lengthy for a 100 mark paper but if you're still interested, Atkinson and Hilgard's Intro to Psychcology is a book that covers most of the syllabus.

MsHiba Saturday, September 10, 2016 08:08 PM

[QUOTE=GhazMar;966781]it used to be high scoring subject until the 2015 paper in which it was badly, badly hit, and with the change in paper pattern, no one is sure how the scoring trend will fare out.

The syllabus is very lengthy for a 100 mark paper but if you're still interested, Atkinson and Hilgard's Intro to Psychcology is a book that covers most of the syllabus.[/QUOTE]
Okay! Jazak'Allah Khair. What about sociology? It's in the same group as psychology.

GhazMar Saturday, September 10, 2016 08:13 PM

[QUOTE=MsHiba;966786]Okay! Jazak'Allah Khair. What about sociology? It's in the same group as psychology.[/QUOTE]

It's your own aptitude, go through the syllabus, it's far more general in nature and scoring trends have been good. The books by Tagga cover most of the sociology syllabus.

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-vii/sociology/102165-revised-syllabus-recommended-books-sociology.html[/url]

MsHiba Saturday, September 10, 2016 11:44 PM

Jazak'Allah Khair!

AneeqaCh Sunday, September 11, 2016 09:54 AM

In my experience, background in psychology is not required but as far as this particular paper goes... syllabus is toooooo much for 100 marks. Also, the syllabus FPSC has given is so much confusing that you would not understand what to cover and what to leave. If you opt for it, it will DEFINITELY take a time toll on your other subjects. And it took decades for FPSC to reach this, how soon do you think they are going to change it back to 200.
So my advice is choose another subject that has relatively lesser syllabus coverage because my one whole subject got left behind for the reason that i opted for psychology.

Assasin Sunday, September 11, 2016 12:16 PM

in it !
I have an engineering background and i have prepared it.You can prepare it with out any background of Psychology.It can fetch you good marks .The only thing that matters is your interest in this subject.Make your own decision.!

If you have any query regarding its preparation .I might help you in that regard.

Assasin Sunday, September 11, 2016 12:21 PM

[QUOTE=Nazish Hina;950371]You don't require the background. It is one of the most [B]interesting [/B]subjects you'll study and you will enjoy it too. [B]It is not confusing at all[/B] except one chapter about the function of brain which took me slightly more time.

I hope this helps, have a nice prep[/QUOTE]
what was your score in Psychology?

ALIRAZAAWAN Wednesday, September 21, 2016 06:15 PM

Well, psychology is a great subject to study if your are interested but I think it should not be an elective for a candidate with no know how of Biology. Even people with strong base in biology may not do good in its exam. Because its not all about brains anatomy and physiology but you have to deal with applied psychology. As per new CSS trends, paper will be analysitical not about what? or how? So kidly take an expert advice. It will be better for you...Good Luck

yasirisrar Wednesday, October 05, 2016 10:12 PM

aspirant should opt psychology

As ce-2016 is announced and Alhamdulliah i scored 71 in psychology. The reason why you should go for it

1) course is not that lengthy
2) concepts are easy to grasp
3) People with biology Background have an edge , non bio people can cover the course in max 10 days
4) Questions are more or less ratta type with some conceptual one's

Shehryar Nisar Khan Thursday, October 06, 2016 04:02 AM

[QUOTE=yasirisrar;974566]As ce-2016 is announced and Alhamdulliah i scored 71 in psychology. The reason why you should go for it

3) People with biology Background have an edge , non bio people can cover the course in max 10 days
4) Questions are more or less ratta type with some conceptual one's[/QUOTE]

I am thinking to switch sociology with psychology, as i got only 35 marks in the former. I went through psychology(200 marks) past papers and found the course of Paper-2 somewhat difficult. And they have given 3 questions from the paper-2 portion in 2016 paper.
First, what book would you recommend for psychology, especially the area previously covered by paper-2?
Second, there are questions regarding disorders and therapies in the past papers, are they included in the new course as well? And if they are included, would we be able to prepare them through the book?

Muhammad Bilal Anwar Thursday, October 06, 2016 07:54 AM

[QUOTE=yasirisrar;974566]As ce-2016 is announced and Alhamdulliah i scored 71 in psychology. The reason why you should go for it

please share the books and material where from you prepared and how you have attempted your answers.

yasirisrar Thursday, October 06, 2016 09:42 AM

[QUOTE=Shehryar Nisar Khan;974702]I am thinking to switch sociology with psychology, as i got only 35 marks in the former. I went through psychology(200 marks) past papers and found the course of Paper-2 somewhat difficult. And they have given 3 questions from the paper-2 portion in 2016 paper.
First, what book would you recommend for psychology, especially the area previously covered by paper-2?
Second, there are questions regarding disorders and therapies in the past papers, are they included in the new course as well? And if they are included, would we be able to prepare them through the book?[/QUO

I read only one book Introduction to Psychology Atkinson & Hilgard’s,
Fredrickson, B. Since the subjects is now converted into 100 marks but the contents are the same (Actually some extra things are also added). I would suggest for disorders though properly covered by the above mentioned book, I still watched videos on youtube "Crash course channel" and lectures of foreign professors.

yasirisrar Thursday, October 06, 2016 09:46 AM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Bilal Anwar;974719]please share the books and material where from you prepared and how you have attempted your answers.[/QUOTE]

Two sources
1) Book "introduction to psychology by Atkinson & Hilgard’s,
Fredrickson, B

2) Youtube videos

My strategy was to used headings and diagrams to explain my view. Like for the question on central nervous system i actually drew a neuron & brain for further clarification
(I am very bad at drawings but still managed to get it right)

Muhammad Bilal Anwar Thursday, October 06, 2016 09:51 AM

[QUOTE=yasirisrar;974748]Two sources
Fredrickson, B

2) Youtube videos

My strategy was to used headings and diagrams to explain my view. Like for the question on central nervous system i actually drew a neuron & brain for further clarification
(I am very bad at drawings but still managed to get it right)[/QUOTE]
How much time it takes to cover the syllabus of psychology?

yasirisrar Thursday, October 06, 2016 10:00 AM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Bilal Anwar;974752]How much time it takes to cover the syllabus of psychology?[/QUOTE]

It took me maximum 5 days. Then in jan this year me & my sis (Qualified one) prepared notes and that helped us during the tiresome exams.

Muhammad Bilal Anwar Thursday, October 06, 2016 10:08 AM

[QUOTE=yasirisrar;974757]It took me maximum 5 days. Then in jan this year me & my sis (Qualified one) prepared notes and that helped us during the tiresome exams.[/QUOTE]
Most of the members have recommended sheher bano's book have you read it?

yasirisrar Thursday, October 06, 2016 10:16 AM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Bilal Anwar;974760]Most of the members have recommended sheher bano's book have you read it?[/QUOTE]

Like i said in my previous comment and i quote

Two sources
Fredrickson, B

2) Youtube videos

and No i haven't read the book by sheher bano

Asif Khan Shinwari Thursday, November 03, 2016 05:42 PM

[QUOTE=Nazish Hina;950400]I'll let you know after result :D[/QUOTE]

@Nazish Hina: How much marks you obtained?

Nazish Hina Saturday, November 05, 2016 06:15 PM

[QUOTE=Asif Khan Shinwari;983487]@Nazish Hina: How much marks you obtained?[/QUOTE]

Sent from my HUAWEI using tapatalk

nidakhan777 Wednesday, May 17, 2017 03:34 PM

Listen syllabus is like pure science subjects, i mean theories sy related answers tau nai likny hoty as in socio? I am a doctor n i am not liking theory related anwering thing. IR is enough for that waisay bhi

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

04:03 AM (GMT +5)