03:44 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Psychology

Old Sunday, May 22, 2011

umma tuz zahra is on a distinguished road
Arrow which portion or questions to be choose??

aoa
seniors
according to pattern of past papers of psy......we have to attempt 4 subjective questions..
can any 1 plz guide me...what to select for these questions(selective study)...n which portion is of secondary importance......??
Old Sunday, May 22, 2011

xaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of light

will get back to you tomorrow. have to go through notes n they r hidden somewhere:P
or main apna study plan share krdun gi
Old Sunday, May 22, 2011

Originally Posted by xaara~hussain View Post
will get back to you tomorrow. have to go through notes n they r hidden somewhere:P
or main apna study plan share krdun gi
sooooo nice of u mam...
il w8 4 u....
ALLAH BLESS U
The Following User Says Thank You to umma tuz zahra For This Useful Post:
xaara~hussain (Sunday, May 22, 2011)
Old Monday, May 23, 2011

xaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of light

Ok Ummat, let me tell you. Psychology is a very safe choice. every year it has some pet questions. and this is the only subject in CSS that has a great margin of selective study. but why selective study? why don't you prepare thoroughly? You have a lot of time.

You must have gone through the syllabus. jis jis tarha topics listed hain, unhi topics main se aik aik question ata hai.

first, I will put study plan for the most important and generic question of paper one. Thats where you have to start psychology preparation.
(Redmax style plan, that my teacher also suggested me)
study plan past papers ko dekh k bnaya gya hai.

Study Area- I

INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY

1. Define Psychology as a science of behavior. List various schools and systems used in psychology. (2010)

2. Define psychology and describe in brief about various schools of psychology (2009)

3. What are the major approaches or perspectives in modern psychology? (2008)

4. Define Psychology, give its scope and write in brief about various schools of Psychology. (2007)

5. Comment RECENT TRENDS IN PSYCHOLOGY,duly supported by factual data. (2006)

6. Comment on recent trends in Psychology as viewed by Behaviorists. (2005)

7. What makes Structuralism stand out as different from other schools and how it fits in recent rends in Psychology? Discuss. (2003)

8. How did behaviorism differ from earlier schools of psychology? What were the main objections of Gestalt Psychologists about behaviorism? (2002)

9. Critically evaluate different schools and systems of psychology. Discuss their scientific status in contemporary psychology. (2001)

Areas of focus:

 Definition of psychology as a science of behaviour

 Various schools of psychology

 Systems of psychology

 Major approaches/perspectives in modern psychology

 Scope of psychology

 Trends in psychology

 Psychology as a science

 Research methodology in psychology
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xaara~hussain For This Useful Post:
ayma virk (Sunday, July 10, 2011), umma tuz zahra (Monday, May 23, 2011)
Old Monday, May 23, 2011

so nice of u mam...n thanx alot for ur kind help...
i wana keep in touch with u ...for guidance of this subject...
hope u dnt mind...
thnx once again
Old Wednesday, October 05, 2011

saman s is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

xaaara plzzz can u guide me regarding school of thoughts...i mean the questions in the past papers r a bit tricky...like thrz a question

What makes Structuralism stand out as different from other schools and how it fits in recent trends in Psychology? Discuss. (2003)

so i think v r nt supposed to just plainly write about the school bt compare it with the recent trends in psychology nd whr can v get those trends frm...em a novice in psychology n dunt know much
Old Wednesday, October 12, 2011

madu is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by saman s View Post
xaaara plzzz can u guide me regarding school of thoughts...i mean the questions in the past papers r a bit tricky...like thrz a question

What makes Structuralism stand out as different from other schools and how it fits in recent trends in Psychology? Discuss. (2003)

so i think v r nt supposed to just plainly write about the school bt compare it with the recent trends in psychology nd whr can v get those trends frm...em a novice in psychology n dunt know much
This is what makes Structuralism different

Structuralism helped in establishing psychology as an independent and organized discipline by separating it from philosophy and metaphysics. It provided introspection as a method of studying behavior. Despite wide-spread criticism, introspection IS still regarded as one of the important methods for studying behavior. What goes on inside one’s mind during the course of a mental act can be experienced or explained only by the individual himself, and introspection is the only suitable technique that can be employed in extracting such reports. Consequently, studies in Educational Psychology can benefit from the use of this method. Structuralism is credited with having taken the initiative in establishing the first psychological laboratory and employing the technique of systematic observation of the activities of the mind. It has resulted in making psychology a subject of scientific study and experimentation. What we find today in the field of psychology and Educational Psychology in terms of laboratory as well as field experiments can then safely be claimed as a positive contribution of the school of structuralism.

Madiha