04:23 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Psychology

Old Friday, January 24, 2014
42nd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 28

shoaib khan12 will become famous soon enough
Default reasons behind low score

this all is because i think more than 95% people follow local books , like written by rakshanda or sherbano , exam cram series , 20-20 series, this all stuff is a hell for one who is going to appear in pakistan's top most competitive exam.

Secondly, paper was lengthy , it required speed , most of candidates do not practice to wrap up questions during tests in 35 minutes, So they just attempted 160-180 marks paper . eg , in paper 2, question from intelligence , examiner asked the whole intelligence in 20 marks question very diffficult to wrap up in 35 minutes , without mastering the skills of flowcharts , tables, diagramatic presentations .

Thirdly, selective preparation is a key to failure , not only just a failure but a failure with humiliation , majority of candidates do not go through social psychology from book 1, and leave juvenile delinquency most of times and others topics too from book 2. so when xaminer gave twist to the paper , candidate himself get twisted . e.g he specified the question from CNS to emotion and brain and similarly question from personality was specified to just two tests , but candidates go for selective preparation , and left with nothing except to go for the questions of xaminer's choice . and score not more than 5-6 in a 20 nos question

fourthly , to understand what had been asked by the examiner is a matter of great concern , we wrongly interpret the statements and lose marks . e.g in paper 2 he asked question on depression and generalized anxiety disorder , not going in details of this question . hope you peoplle will understand?

Fifthly, paper was creative, good analytical and creative skills were required to handle paper .what we do is that we mostly follow notes and books written by local authors , this stuff not only confine one to the limited amount of knowledge but also do not give applications of a particular topic . E.g, he asked relation between brain and emotions , now our knowledge most of the times is limited to amygadala, but alot of stuff can be put here from across the book . not going in debate of that . one can guage the severity of the issue , one another post somebody ask about the development of the nervous system , one of student replied with impunity , that its all about brain . So , how we can expect from him much .

Sixth, wrong selections of questions . like in paper two he asked about the importance of developmental psychology . Now this is a broad question , without boundries and nobody knows what is in the mind of examiner when he asked this question , and we take such questions as an easy task ( gup shup) , there is no doubt in the fact that sometimes (gup shup) is needed but it should have some standard in it , i.e psychological language must be used while discussing , but no , we always like making " gupshups"

seventh , Limited amount of knowledge, , in juvenile delinquency , one can easily quote more than 35 headings , i bet , without reading any source from previious knowledge , but lacking grip on subject , not possible for us

eigth, dealing shortanswers is not a joke , , one must be the best in puting maximum in minimum time, this is only possible only through , flowcharts, diagrams, tables , links , head-head ,

Ninth, time management , atleast one question we know from the paper and we know that particular question upto the extent that we want to put full on paper , means " laadna " on paper that question take 1 hr and 15 min of us , i bet , after that next question takes , 40 min, than 23 min , than 7 min ,

Tenth , anxiety and frustration of papers always log jam your hands , keep your self cool , eat candy "chooran Chatni" my favourite , but dont get panic , even i ve seen ladies shaking their hands at the speed of 80, BP down , invigililator ask Peon to bring salt

i leave coclusion on you people decide , Believe me thereis no problem with the subject , there is nothing better than Psychology and Geography, Psychology is nothing else than your everyday life , this year i ve managed to pass xam by the grace of Allah , i twice went for Psychology , one in 2010 and than in 2012 and scored more than 160 , without any background of this subject , but now i am in love with this subject it is such a good subject i will reccomend it at any cost . The only thing is not to follow the subject but get in love with this subject , the only way through wich one can diagnose each and every aspect of the subject .
if you people are prepared well than Always ask Allah for such type of papers , this is the only way through which one can differeniate between those who have followed exam cram type books , or boooks written by CSPs, and one who is following the foreign author books .
Let me know can our local seasonal writers , who just wrote books for pennies , be compared with foreign authors , these books are baseless , copypaste material , without researches, oh com on,for GOd sake , come out of the inferiority complex of CSPs , we think that , they are everything , their words are like Hadith , we are supposed to follow that , if we are following the same stuff , doesnt seem ridiculous ,now crying because of results .
My dear fellows , you people are suppose to appear in Pakistan's top most competitive exam , understand this reality , FPSC is not mad as they have reccomended for eign authors.
with no offence , i ve tried my best to address your conflicts , further queries contact mme through my profile
need your prayers
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to shoaib khan12 For This Useful Post:
aghaadnan (Friday, February 07, 2014), anum balouch (Wednesday, February 12, 2014), Introuvable fella (Tuesday, March 25, 2014), Junaid Javed (Tuesday, January 28, 2014), RMKamran (Saturday, February 08, 2014), Romana baig (Wednesday, January 29, 2014)
Old Sunday, January 26, 2014

paras Sulehri is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by shoaib khan12 View Post
this all is because i think more than 95% people follow local books , like written by rakshanda or sherbano , exam cram series , 20-20 series, this all stuff is a hell for one who is going to appear in pakistan's top most competitive exam.

Secondly, paper was lengthy , it required speed , most of candidates do not practice to wrap up questions during tests in 35 minutes, So they just attempted 160-180 marks paper . eg , in paper 2, question from intelligence , examiner asked the whole intelligence in 20 marks question very diffficult to wrap up in 35 minutes , without mastering the skills of flowcharts , tables, diagramatic presentations .

Thirdly, selective preparation is a key to failure , not only just a failure but a failure with humiliation , majority of candidates do not go through social psychology from book 1, and leave juvenile delinquency most of times and others topics too from book 2. so when xaminer gave twist to the paper , candidate himself get twisted . e.g he specified the question from CNS to emotion and brain and similarly question from personality was specified to just two tests , but candidates go for selective preparation , and left with nothing except to go for the questions of xaminer's choice . and score not more than 5-6 in a 20 nos question

fourthly , to understand what had been asked by the examiner is a matter of great concern , we wrongly interpret the statements and lose marks . e.g in paper 2 he asked question on depression and generalized anxiety disorder , not going in details of this question . hope you peoplle will understand?

Fifthly, paper was creative, good analytical and creative skills were required to handle paper .what we do is that we mostly follow notes and books written by local authors , this stuff not only confine one to the limited amount of knowledge but also do not give applications of a particular topic . E.g, he asked relation between brain and emotions , now our knowledge most of the times is limited to amygadala, but alot of stuff can be put here from across the book . not going in debate of that . one can guage the severity of the issue , one another post somebody ask about the development of the nervous system , one of student replied with impunity , that its all about brain . So , how we can expect from him much .

Sixth, wrong selections of questions . like in paper two he asked about the importance of developmental psychology . Now this is a broad question , without boundries and nobody knows what is in the mind of examiner when he asked this question , and we take such questions as an easy task ( gup shup) , there is no doubt in the fact that sometimes (gup shup) is needed but it should have some standard in it , i.e psychological language must be used while discussing , but no , we always like making " gupshups"

seventh , Limited amount of knowledge, , in juvenile delinquency , one can easily quote more than 35 headings , i bet , without reading any source from previious knowledge , but lacking grip on subject , not possible for us

eigth, dealing shortanswers is not a joke , , one must be the best in puting maximum in minimum time, this is only possible only through , flowcharts, diagrams, tables , links , head-head ,

Ninth, time management , atleast one question we know from the paper and we know that particular question upto the extent that we want to put full on paper , means " laadna " on paper that question take 1 hr and 15 min of us , i bet , after that next question takes , 40 min, than 23 min , than 7 min ,

Tenth , anxiety and frustration of papers always log jam your hands , keep your self cool , eat candy "chooran Chatni" my favourite , but dont get panic , even i ve seen ladies shaking their hands at the speed of 80, BP down , invigililator ask Peon to bring salt

i leave coclusion on you people decide , Believe me thereis no problem with the subject , there is nothing better than Psychology and Geography, Psychology is nothing else than your everyday life , this year i ve managed to pass xam by the grace of Allah , i twice went for Psychology , one in 2010 and than in 2012 and scored more than 160 , without any background of this subject , but now i am in love with this subject it is such a good subject i will reccomend it at any cost . The only thing is not to follow the subject but get in love with this subject , the only way through wich one can diagnose each and every aspect of the subject .
if you people are prepared well than Always ask Allah for such type of papers , this is the only way through which one can differeniate between those who have followed exam cram type books , or boooks written by CSPs, and one who is following the foreign author books .
Let me know can our local seasonal writers , who just wrote books for pennies , be compared with foreign authors , these books are baseless , copypaste material , without researches, oh com on,for GOd sake , come out of the inferiority complex of CSPs , we think that , they are everything , their words are like Hadith , we are supposed to follow that , if we are following the same stuff , doesnt seem ridiculous ,now crying because of results .
My dear fellows , you people are suppose to appear in Pakistan's top most competitive exam , understand this reality , FPSC is not mad as they have reccomended for eign authors.
with no offence , i ve tried my best to address your conflicts , further queries contact mme through my profile
need your prayers
your suggestions are really thoughtful. thanks a ton
will you please guide the same way how to earn flying score in Geography as well?
shoaib khan12 (Tuesday, January 28, 2014)
Old Tuesday, January 28, 2014
42nd CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 28

@paras , its a huge debate, when i read my thread of Psychology again , i thought i ve missed million of more things which are needed to be discussed, actually its all about competition, and how one can differeniate one's paper from the rest , knowledge remained almost same with everybody , but skills and grip on aparticular subject can differeniate you , for geography one has to be the best ifn 3d diagrams and shadding , so that orignality can be put in a paper , maximum headings are needed , like if attempting for land forms , if you only go for deblij it just gives you not more than 9-10 headings , go for geology , but be selective , alot of people are afraid of human geograpgy , its all about mapping and techniques , dont again go for pakistani writers, if believe me you just go through headings of foreign authors , you can do wonders , otherwise ask question wise , still for this attempt , nothing can be done , do revise what ve you prepared , best of luck

paras Sulehri is on a distinguished road

@paras , its a huge debate, when i read my thread of Psychology again , i thought i ve missed million of more things which are needed to be discussed, actually its all about competition, and how one can differeniate one's paper from the rest , knowledge remained almost same with everybody , but skills and grip on aparticular subject can differeniate you , for geography one has to be the best ifn 3d diagrams and shadding , so that orignality can be put in a paper , maximum headings are needed , like if attempting for land forms , if you only go for deblij it just gives you not more than 9-10 headings , go for geology , but be selective , alot of people are afraid of human geograpgy , its all about mapping and techniques , dont again go for pakistani writers, if believe me you just go through headings of foreign authors , you can do wonders , otherwise ask question wise , still for this attempt , nothing can be done , do revise what ve you prepared , best of luck
shoaib i have already droped you an e-mail, please guide me there that how to brought significant result in psychology, as quoting your point that everyone has almost got almost same source of knowledge.
jazak Allah
42nd CTP (PSP)

I have not seen that , i will make a go through it . Actually , i think administration didnot allowed , update of mine , i gave a lecture from 8pm to 3 am in Lahore for a night, only on this point how to differentiate oneself .

Also , make a go through of my other posts , i think one was old , i shared my views in that post how to bring creativity.

Last edited by Muhammad Ali Chaudhry; Tuesday, April 22, 2014 at 10:25 PM. Reason: Grammer and spelling mistakes , merged post

madiha parishay is on a distinguished road

need your prayers
Can I say one should study only suggested readings of syllabus to have good knowledge source????
Old Wednesday, January 29, 2014
42nd CTP (PSP)

Originally Posted by madiha parishay View Post
Can I say one should study only suggested readings of syllabus to have good knowledge source????
i couldnt get you , however its upto you , what stuff have you selected , its all on book , you can go for different sources after dividing your syllabus , or one book can complpete the whole syllabus
Old Wednesday, January 29, 2014
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: PMS 2012 - Merit 99

C1stWiki is on a distinguished road

i couldnt get you , however its upto you , what stuff have you selected , its all on book , you can go for different sources after dividing your syllabus , or one book can complpete the whole syllabus
What books do you recommend for the Human Geography? And kindly explain your views regarding 3D figures and shading? I could not get that. So, kindly elaborate.
Old Thursday, January 30, 2014
42nd CTP (PSP)

Originally Posted by C1stWiki View Post
What books do you recommend for the Human Geography? And kindly explain your views regarding 3D figures and shading? I could not get that. So, kindly elaborate.
3d means , to show something on table , or tablet , to creats effects,
eg u shape valley of glacier landforms can be drawn either by simply making @U@ or by creating complete effects in which you can smiltaneously show, hanging valleys, aretes, pyramidal peaks, morains, crevases, cirque, waterfalls , by giving depth to valley coming out of mountains, everything is possible ,
Human geography , make a grip on south Asia , actually i ve some noted copied from some book given to my youger brother by his university professor, of complete human geography , i think there is no alternative of those , i ve gone through all other boooks and notes , or if you find a book like that , natural resources, mineral resources, transportation, political geo, cultural geography, agriculture individual and crops , relationship between developing and developed nations, the thing is you know how to draw individual maps , you must have to take grip on drawing north america ,with 50 states, u need this because going to be implementated in almost all questions , southasia , with major states of india , major rivers, ganga, indus, mekong etc, you must have some sort of grip on the characteristics of mountaneous areas means their agriculture and climate , if you use some sense like almost all northern areas of all countries have same characteristics, like if you move to NOrth there is wheat if u move to center their is rice , than cotton , than jute. mean s geography is a comprehensive combination of your skils, mapping, patience , interest , and the most important what are you reading , it does matter allot , economic geography written by pakistani author fazil karim, i think , is a good effort , but again its not upto mark ,you can differeniate if you go for some foreign author . Coaching also sometimes does matter indeed matter alot . But the problem with our teachers is that they make one to follow local authors , indeed they need money , there is no problem to act like a professional , but at the cost of honesty is disatrous for the future. Now my dear fellow, work hard , but dont get panic at this stage because you are close to your papers . trust in you and inyour Allah , pray for my interview please, best of luck , stay blessed . you can visit my page too .
Old Thursday, January 30, 2014
42nd CTP (PSP)

Originally Posted by C1stWiki View Post
are you PMS officer?