05:35 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Optional subjects > Group VII > Sociology

Sociology Notes and Topics on Sociology

Old Sunday, June 16, 2013

Deap Baloch is on a distinguished road

sir may i have your guidelines for Sociology??? i mean how to study it and kindly guide me to improve my current affair subject.
thanx
Old Friday, August 23, 2013

nice grl is on a distinguished road
dear seniours
plz suggest me some books of everday science nd sociology,thnks
Old Friday, August 23, 2013

mohsinali303 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by nice grl View Post
dear seniours
plz suggest me some books of everday science nd sociology,thnks
EDS rabnawaz samo and kashmiri

sociology taga,hoton and hunt,maacioni
Old Sunday, August 25, 2013

qqurat is on a distinguished road

redmax
this forum is doing a great job, helping all of us in all its bearings!
thanks to all of you for your effort !
as a beginner I do have many questions to ask ;
I have done MBBS this year , and now I have decided to go for css examinations,
1. in MBBS we have to write what is a fact, and our exams were also MCQS based , due to this I have lost all my writing skills . for last few months I m trying hard to hone my writing skills but since I don't have background knowledge on topics / issue concerned I am not able to write on them comprehensively and critically. therefore I started writing on general subjects but still I feel there is no maturity in my writing. and I usually start with a good intro and then in the middle I usually go off the track .
2. only recently in feb I started taking interest in newspapers and current issues , before that I didn't have any knowledge of what is happening across
the globe. so my approach and analysis of current affairs is not that strong as is required in css exams.
3. my reading speed is slow , it takes 4 hours for me to complete newspaper after which I get exhausted. and I am not use to of surfing net and watching talk shows. but I am trying hard to make it a habit of surfing net at least for one or two hours. I m really astonish to see how do you were able to do so many things on a single time.
4. i am not confident of my English , feels like it would take years to hone.
5. for last few months i have started reading dawn, have studied Pakistan affairs - before Pakistan compelte and after Pakistan upto political and constitutional development of Pakistan only, started reading saddat ali shah , also practiced precise , and memorized few idioms .
i think all of my above efforts were of no use, but i now want to make a strategy and follow it , please guide me to make a good startegy.
and i am thinking of opting sindhi, sociology, journalism, geography, and us history . is my selection fine or i need to reconsider it as i never have read any of the subjects before except sindhi.
in the mean while i decided to give SPSC exams atleast by taking exam tension i will be able to seriously cover the subjects.
and i have started reading sociology .
please guide me what steps i need to take to overcome my above problems, i don't have enough time and i am use to of reading each and everything related to any subject but it takes time which i don't have to waste on unimportant things. what shall i do? appear in 2014 exams , give it a try? or wait a year more and gain as much knowledge as i can?

waiting for seniors guidance please reply!
Old Wednesday, October 30, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Roll no. 03912

Masood Shakir is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by redmax View Post
1. Introduction to Sociology by Horton & Hunt
2. Sociology by Abdul Hameed Taga

Besides, if you can find comprehensive notes, they would be very helpful.

[late reply is regretted.]
I have started studying "Horton and Hunt" as per advice of a csp officer. It's been just two days that I am studying this book and have completed 4 chapters yet. I found it a bit exhausting to relate all examples they use with our culture. Shall I switch to Pakistani author you mentioned or not? keeping in view the shortage of remaining time when I have completed only 3 subjects yet. What will you recommend?
Thanking in anticipation!
Old Wednesday, November 06, 2013
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 73Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,480 Times in 622 Posts
redmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Masood Shakir View Post
I have started studying "Horton and Hunt" as per advice of a csp officer. It's been just two days that I am studying this book and have completed 4 chapters yet. I found it a bit exhausting to relate all examples they use with our culture. Shall I switch to Pakistani author you mentioned or not? keeping in view the shortage of remaining time when I have completed only 3 subjects yet. What will you recommend?
Thanking in anticipation!
Study whatever is relevant. Whether you find it in Horton's or Hameed's book.

Masood Shakir (Wednesday, November 06, 2013)
Old Thursday, November 07, 2013

virgo786 is on a distinguished road

how much times sociology needs to cover up?
Old Thursday, November 07, 2013

Omer Shah is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by virgo786 View Post
how much times sociology needs to cover up?
I think 7-10 days and I did it. It depends on one's aptitude and understanding of subject along with interest.

Sent from my ST23i using Tapatalk
virgo786 (Thursday, November 07, 2013)
Old Saturday, December 13, 2014

Virtue seeker is on a distinguished road
Default requesting a pdf file plansfor study

Thank you sir for your kind help especially for the beginners, really your handouts are very much helpful. but kindly can you send me sociology and journalism study plans in PDF files, it will very much helpful.
Old Tuesday, December 16, 2014
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 73Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,480 Times in 622 Posts
redmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud ofredmax has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Virtue seeker View Post
Thank you sir for your kind help especially for the beginners, really your handouts are very much helpful. but kindly can you send me sociology and journalism study plans in PDF files, it will very much helpful.
Write your email address here or send one on my email (link in bio).

sociology, study plan, study strategy