03:39 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Past Papers > CSS Papers (1971-2017) > CSS 2009 Papers

Old Saturday, May 23, 2009

Engr.Aftab will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by ayezzaS
is there any deduction ov marks if smebd exceeds the maximum number ov words descriped in the essay paper...plzzz worthy members...do ans...!
Dear first of all v welcome you in our community of css forum.you will learn alot here about css exam.
as u asked about the essay so dear the range of words is given in between 2500 to 3500. so i think no one can write more than 3500 words within 3 hours time period. per ager koi mujahid likh bhi deta hai than the material would also be relevant to the topic . i mean there must be quality aswel. i think if the material is related one than there would be no deduction in marks.
in the end i will repeat in 3 hours of time period it is difficult to cross the limit of 3500 words

Last edited by Princess Royal; Sunday, May 24, 2009 at 01:13 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Engr.Aftab For This Useful Post:
ayezzaS (Saturday, May 23, 2009)
Old Saturday, May 23, 2009
39th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 124

ayezzaS is on a distinguished road
Default thanku loads1

i am immensely gratified by ur kind responce...and yup!rite you are...this forum is an oceania ov knwledge and i feel blessed wenevr it resolves any ov my hurdles... agn i thnk u as ths reply is a morale boost..il definitly b at ur desk if any query emerges...
The Following User Says Thank You to ayezzaS For This Useful Post:
Engr.Aftab (Sunday, May 24, 2009)
Old Sunday, May 24, 2009

Dr.G.AsgharMemon is on a distinguished road
Default Does counting of words counts?

@ Ayeza S. There has been alot of discussion of this topic. whether or not word limit counts. Most of the forum members are of the openion that one should always be at safer side of words..as close to limit as possible.. perhaps they also mean that closeness also applies if one crosses word limit by a narrow margin. One thing is decided that quantity wud be there if one writes a reasonable essay. But, quality of essay should be the standard. by quality , i mean that your essay should touch all dimensions of topic. There must be blend of argument, persuasion, narrative and any other skills which essay reader demands of you. You must not sacrifice these things if they are explicitly mentioned in essay paper. However, I think, if one is confused about skills of essay due to lack of command[and i believe only few have required command] then one should make it as relevant to the topic as possible. There should be presence of theory and proposals.
I think, if you write your essay with intrest capturing eye then your examiner will reward you for that...
Secondly, it is purely my personal openion that essay setters mention number of words, and skills to confuse and muddle students thinking... it seems to be a trap to. It is ridiculous to assume that ur examiner have calculators to count or they literally count words. What they ,however, do is that they give u credit for how impressively, accurately, relevant material you lay across.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dr.G.AsgharMemon For This Useful Post:
ayezzaS (Sunday, May 24, 2009), Faisalmemon (Sunday, May 24, 2009)
Old Sunday, May 24, 2009
39th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 124

ayezzaS is on a distinguished road
Default i agree...

@dr.g memon A.A first of..i wana pay my sincerest gratitude to you 4 ansring my query ...and yup!i do totaly agree wid you that chekers are nt that free to count al our words..and i too believe tht the real essence is the worth ov all tht u state and narrate...thx agn!
Old Sunday, May 24, 2009
38th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  16

Zohaib Baloch will become famous soon enough

I choose to write essay on food crises:problems,challanges and opportunities for Pakistan.I feel that i should not have attempted it as there were other good topics available.anyway my outline was:

1.Introduction
2.The crises
3.Reasons:
3.1 Low per acre yield
3.2 Middleman
3.3 smuggling and hoarding
3.3 post harvest losses
4.Problems:
4.1 Farmer's end:
4.1.1 Lack of technical know how
4.1.2 traditional means of farming
4.2 Institutional Level:
4.2.1 absence of quality seeds
4.2.2 non conservation of water
4.2.3 Lack of Infrastructure
5. Opportunities
5.1 increasing per acre yield
5.2 broadening research base and
5.3 educating farmers
5.4 introducing modern means of cultivation
5.5 reducing post harvest losses
5.6 exporting the surplus after maintaining strategic buffer stock
6.conclusion
(linked it to importance of agriculture in view of threat from bio fuel).

Please comment on the outline as i am really worried over my essay.
The Following User Says Thank You to Zohaib Baloch For This Useful Post:
fluent_20 (Tuesday, April 06, 2010)
Old Monday, May 25, 2009
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by zbaloch_204
I choose to write essay on food crises:problems,challanges and opportunities for Pakistan.I feel that i should not have attempted it as there were other good topics available.anyway my outline was:

1.Introduction
2.The crises
3.Reasons:
3.1 Low per acre yield
3.2 Middleman
3.3 post harvest losses
4.Problems:
4.1 Farmer's end:
4.2 Institutional Level:
5. Opportunities
5.3 educating farmers
6.conclusion

Topic was not bad. It was good decision to write on this topic at least it was free from controversiality and was lesser risky.
As for as the outline is concerned it is to the point outline, nothing is irrelevant in the outline. One shortcoming which I have noted is non inclusion of remaining relevant points. This outline could be extended more because we have lot of other relevant points available to include in it to make it more interesting and scoring.

The Following User Says Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
Zohaib Baloch (Monday, May 25, 2009)
Old Monday, May 25, 2009
38th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  16

Zohaib Baloch will become famous soon enough

well thanks for the reply Raz.Actually what i remembered of my outline,i listed here.I wrote outline on two pages even though my writing is small.The other points which i remember to some extent were:

land reforms,small landholdings of farmers,subsistence farming,fertilizer crises this year in Pakistan.non availability of water,farms to market roads.

My only concern was that i may have gone too far than was required as i even mentioned global food crises in the essay and its impact on Pakistan.

Thanks for reassuring me.
Old Monday, May 25, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough
Default @zbaloch_204

well thanks for the reply Raz.Actually what i remembered of my outline,i listed here.I wrote outline on two pages even though my writing is small.The other points which i remember to some extent were:

land reforms,small landholdings of farmers,subsistence farming,fertilizer crises this year in Pakistan.non availability of water,farms to market roads.

My only concern was that i may have gone too far than was required as i even mentioned global food crises in the essay and its impact on Pakistan.

Thanks for reassuring me.
Your outline (including the points above) seem impressive. I dont think you went too far, I agree with Raz, it was all relevant and I am hopeful that you will score well InshAllah.
Old Monday, May 25, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

@ zbaloch_204:

I find your outlines almost complete. And after reading your introductory lines in the post, I don't believe you have any problem in expressing yourself.

I am confident that you'll make it.

All the best.

PS: Anxiety is natural. I was afraid i'd fail in essay by a slight margin. But I got a very high score in it.

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program
The Following User Says Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
Old Monday, May 25, 2009

Faisalmemon is on a distinguished road
Default @ zbaloch_204

1.Introduction
2.The crises
3.Reasons:
3.1 Low per acre yield
3.2 Middleman
3.3 post harvest losses
4.Problems:
4.1 Farmer's end:
4.2 Institutional Level:
5. Opportunities
5.3 educating farmers
6.conclusion

Wel dear as already our celeberated members have thrown light on ur essay's outline. I am of opinion of that have written relevant material on essay and fullfilled the demand of essay. Wish u best of luck dear.
Faisal Ahmed Memon.
The Following User Says Thank You to Faisalmemon For This Useful Post: