09:55 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Past Papers > CSS Papers (1971-2017) > CSS 2012 Papers

Old Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Muhammad humayun is on a distinguished road
Smile geography paper discussion

Asslamo Alikum! Both papers of Geog 2012 were difficult. What was meant to the question that

" Introduce Atlantic Ocean with its flows configuration as a unique phenomena?"
&
"Evaluate physical weathering and its occurrences in different climate areas over the globe?"

Plz seniors put some light to both of these questions. thanxxx
Old Tuesday, March 13, 2012
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Muhammad humayun View Post
Asslamo Alikum! Both papers of Geog 2012 were difficult. What was meant to the question that

" Introduce Atlantic Ocean with its flows configuration as a unique phenomena?"
&
"Evaluate physical weathering and its occurrences in different climate areas over the globe?"

Plz seniors put some light to both of these questions. thanxxx
Humayun! i will be in deep trouble if the question read flows instead of floor configuration. It was floor configuration. One needed to discuss the floor configuration of the Atlantic Ocean i.e. its continental shelf, mid atlantic ridge etc as you travel from the east coast of USA to the West Coast of Europe. Its unique features could be highlighted while comparing with the pacific ocean. like the width of the contiental shelf, the dormancy of the continental slope! plus the pacific ocean is a contracting ocean while the atlantic ocean is an expanding ocean! that's all i could write there. perhaps there was more to add!

in the second question about weathering i wrote what physical weathering was and what the types were (or the forces in other words) and then highlighted the climates where they occur...like high altitudes, places of extreme temperatures, deserts etc! once again perhaps there was more to add which i dont know about
Old Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Thanked 1,387 Times in 547 Posts
SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by umarabbas View Post
Humayun! i will be in deep trouble if the question read flows instead of floor configuration. It was floor configuration. One needed to discuss the floor configuration of the Atlantic Ocean i.e. its continental shelf, mid atlantic ridge etc as you travel from the east coast of USA to the West Coast of Europe. Its unique features could be highlighted while comparing with the pacific ocean. like the width of the contiental shelf, the dormancy of the continental slope! plus the pacific ocean is a contracting ocean while the atlantic ocean is an expanding ocean! that's all i could write there. perhaps there was more to add!

in the second question about weathering i wrote what physical weathering was and what the types were (or the forces in other words) and then highlighted the climates where they occur...like high altitudes, places of extreme temperatures, deserts etc! once again perhaps there was more to add which i dont know about
yes umarabbas bahi you are right. papers were not difficult,infact they asked unexpected questions this time.

as far as the first question is concerned its all about configuration floor of atlantic ocean.
the answers goes like this
1) floor (its surroundings and depth)
2) continental shelf ( its %, its bank)
3)mid atlanic ridge
4)basin
5) deep or trenches( famous is Puerto Rico deep)
6)islands in north atlantic oceans
7) marginal seas

2nd question is already answered by umar bahi.

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following User Says Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
FMKALWAR (Tuesday, January 08, 2013)

Skylimit is on a distinguished road

To be precise, the question about physical weathering should revolve around this:

1- Repeated heating and cooling
2- Repeated wetting and drying
3- Frost Action
4- Biotic Factors

Now in all above headings, one has to give definition of each and the associated climate where this phenomena takes place. Obviously even the names of above headings suggest what could be the climates experiencing the above phenomena.
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Skylimit View Post
To be precise, the question about physical weathering should revolve around this:

1- Repeated heating and cooling
2- Repeated wetting and drying
3- Frost Action
4- Biotic Factors

Now in all above headings, one has to give definition of each and the associated climate where this phenomena takes place. Obviously even the names of above headings suggest what could be the climates experiencing the above phenomena.
I guess Biotic Weathering was the third type of weathering....like physical, chemical and biotic!
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5722

Kamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to all

I guess Biotic Weathering was the third type of weathering....like physical, chemical and biotic!
and how about question no 3. glaciers wala?
42nd CTP (PSP)

Originally Posted by Kamran View Post
and how about question no 3. glaciers wala?
the question was "Present glaciated morphology through various stages"...

since morphology means "The Shape of the land" and the way i understood the word stages was "creation of the glacier, the flow of the glacier, and then the retreat or termination of the glacier"

so what i wrote was the landforms of all the three stages: starting from corrie, and ended on terminal moraines and erratics etc...!! i may have missed stuff because they were too many...

and yes, since we were asked to "Present" the information, therefore i drew them also!
The Following User Says Thank You to umarabbas For This Useful Post:
Kamran (Wednesday, March 14, 2012)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5722

Kamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to allKamran is a name known to all

the question was "Present glaciated morphology through various stages"...

since morphology means "The Shape of the land" and the way i understood the word stages was "creation of the glacier, the flow of the glacier, and then the retreat or termination of the glacier"

so what i wrote was the landforms of all the three stages: starting from corrie, and ended on terminal moraines and erratics etc...!! i may have missed stuff because they were too many...

and yes, since we were asked to "Present" the information, therefore i drew them also!
Thank you bro.I wish Geography remains scoring this time as well
Old Friday, March 16, 2012

umershahzad225 is on a distinguished road

plz... help me in mcq: mayan civilization is in andes. is it right or wrong

I think that it is not in andes because andes is the region of south america. And mayan people never reached there.

Plzzz.... students upload more mcq's of geography paper II

Last edited by Shooting Star; Friday, March 16, 2012 at 02:21 AM. Reason: merged
Old Friday, March 16, 2012

Thanked 1,387 Times in 547 Posts
SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold

salam to all.

geography guys i am not feeling bad at all. infact i am surprised that how FPSC managed to made such a tough paper of specially geography 1 specially, i was expecting the same for paper 2.

friends don`t worry ap ye mat socho k paper kitna tough tha ap ye socho k apne kya sekha, ab to apko pattern pata chal gaya ho ga to work hard for the next time. disappoint bilkul nhi hona CSP intne kamzoor nhi hotay.

mane kahen parha k koi keh raha tha k its a blunder to opt geography to ma ye btate chalon janab ho sakta ha k ap koi aur subject opt kerte to us ma bhi yehi hota to ap kya kehte.

no doubt geography is a scoring subject and it will remain due to changing political scenarios the subject geography has gained more importance so that they made tough paper to see your grip on this subject.

friends in the last i just remember these lines

Success will never lower its level to accomodate us.We have to raise our level to get it. Remember for every bird GOD provides food, but not in the nest.

BEST OF LUCK to all. INSHALLAH jo ALLAH pak behtar samjhen ge wohi ho ga so just relax.

regards sabahat

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
Arslan Shaukat (Saturday, March 17, 2012), Chauhdary Ali (Sunday, March 18, 2012), emran ali (Friday, June 01, 2012), FMKALWAR (Wednesday, January 09, 2013)