12:03 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Past Papers > CSS Papers (1971-2017) > CSS 2014 Papers

Old Thursday, February 20, 2014

sirus is on a distinguished road
Default International law paper 2014

Paper : International law (2014)
Part II

Q.NO.2 "When all has been said it will be found that consent remains firmly the basis of international law, and there are as many, and only as many, sources of international law as there are ways whereby the consent of states can be expressed"? Discuss

Q.NO.3 "What ever be the generally accepted rules governing the outer limit of the territorial limit of the territorial sea this issue, and others like it, will be settled in many cases on the basis of the principles of acquiescence and opposability". Discuss

Q.NO.4 the assumption that the "genuine link" formula, invented for dealing with people, is capable of immediate application to ships..........smacks of a disappointing naivete

Q.NO.5 "The case law of the international court of justice and the practice of United Nations show that while the principle of self-determination is agreed upon, neither the scope of its application nor the method of decolonisation has been settled" Discuss

Q.NO.6"All the major issues on voting in the security council are now satisfactorily resolved. The real problem to day is about the composition of the Security Council" Discuss

Q.NO.7"The office of the Secretary General of the United Nations is certainly the most important and visible post in intentional multilateral diplomacy but it has been called the most impossible job in the world because the faces complex and contradictory pressures in the performance of his duties" Discuss

Q. No.8 To what extent could the constitution and practice of the international labour organisation server as a useful model for other specialized international organisations ?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sirus For This Useful Post:
Antalpur (Wednesday, August 12, 2015), umershahzad225 (Thursday, February 20, 2014)

Anyone who attempted question NO.3???????????? How did you.

For me it was about the Settlement of disputes

Fassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of light

Quite tough paper for those bearing no background of law.

Anyways best of luck and the pattern of paper says that result of I.L will not be that bad.

Originally Posted by sirus View Post

Settlement of dispute of the territorial limit of the territorial sea (see law of sea). So if you have linked you both concepts you'll get the desire output otherwise your efforts are invain.

Simply you have to elaborate the below concept:

A state's territorial sea extends up to 12 nautical miles (22.2 km; 13.8 mi) from its baseline. If this would overlap with another state's territorial sea, the border is taken as the median point between the states' baselines, unless the states in question agree otherwise. A state can also choose to claim a smaller territorial sea.

Conflicts still occur whenever a coastal nation claims an entire gulf as its territorial waters while other nations only recognize the more restrictive definitions of the UN convention. Two recent conflicts occurred in the Gulf of Sidra where Libya has claimed the entire gulf as its territorial waters and the U.S. has twice enforced freedom of navigation rights, in the 1981 and 1989 Gulf of Sidra incidents.
The Following User Says Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
marshal453 (Thursday, February 20, 2014)

Thanked 1,290 Times in 783 Posts
exclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura aboutexclusively has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Fassi View Post
Settlement of dispute of the territorial limit of the territorial sea (see law of sea). So if you have linked you both concepts you'll get the desire output otherwise your efforts are invain.

A state's territorial sea extends up to 12 nautical miles (22.2 km; 13.8 mi) from its baseline. If this would overlap with another state's territorial sea, the border is taken as the median point between the states' baselines, unless the states in question agree otherwise. A state can also choose to claim a smaller territorial sea.

Conflicts still occur whenever a coastal nation claims an entire gulf as its territorial waters while other nations only recognize the more restrictive definitions of the UN convention. Two recent conflicts occurred in the Gulf of Sidra where Libya has claimed the entire gulf as its territorial waters and the U.S. has twice enforced freedom of navigation rights, in the 1981 and 1989 Gulf of Sidra incidents.
Your approach seems good at this subject... Sir which questions did you attempt, paper seems not that much difficult though.. Hope, you would have attempted it to the level of perfection...

Originally Posted by umershahzad225 View Post
Post MCQ's
1.Who coined the term "International law"

Grotious

2.Who refused to become non-permanent member of SC recently.

Saudi Arabia

3.Where is head quarter of ICJ
Hague

4.Number of Judges in ICJ are

5.Who struggled for League of Nations

Woodrow Wilson

6.Original membership of league of nations is

32 (not sure)

7.Father of law of nations is

Hugo Grotious

8.First session of National assembly was held

New York

9.Oldest European Assembly is

Vienna Congress

10.The Secretary General of UNO who got Peace Prize

Kofi Anan

11.The secretary Genaral of Uno who died in an aeroplane crash

(Dont remember options even)

12.Extradition means

Handing over the crminals

13. Persona Non-grata means

Undesirealbe person

14.Charter of UNO contains

111 Articles

15. Reparation of Injuries case was between

dont remember options i selected None of these since options were between countries while Un was the party, donot know against which country UNO sought reparation.
The Following User Says Thank You to sirus For This Useful Post:
amnakhan (Sunday, February 23, 2014)

I had only 20 minutes for this question. Straight away completed the modes of pacific and coercive measure for settlement of disputes , but in conclusion i gave this definition of the territorial water and said that though disputes be related to territorial waters or some thing else( "Not the wording in question territorial waters of some thing else ") are resolved through these methods. Lets see what will be outcome.
Old Friday, February 21, 2014

Ammyabbas is on a distinguished road

Yes it was about that

1.Who coined the term "International law"

Grotious

2.Who refused to become non-permanent member of SC recently.

Saudi Arabia

3.Where is head quarter of ICJ
Hague

4.Number of Judges in ICJ are

5.Who struggled for League of Nations

Woodrow Wilson

6.Original membership of league of nations is

32 (not sure)

7.Father of law of nations is

Hugo Grotious

8.First session of National assembly was held

New York

9.Oldest European Assembly is

Vienna Congress

10.The Secretary General of UNO who got Peace Prize

Kofi Anan

11.The secretary Genaral of Uno who died in an aeroplane crash

(Dont remember options even)

12.Extradition means

Handing over the crminals

Undesirealbe person

14.Charter of UNO contains

111 Articles

dont remember options i selected None of these since options were between countries while Un was the party, donot know against which country UNO sought reparation.
Jerry bentham coined the term international law

Would be is on a distinguished road
Default Need Help

Quite tough paper for those bearing no background of law.

Anyways best of luck and the pattern of paper says that result of I.L will not be that bad.
Fassi bhai!!! I have I.law as an optional. i'm preparing for 2015. I dnt have any backgroung of law related subjects. i have done masters (history). I have seen past papers of i.law and they were quite bookish and simple. but this time paper was general and tricky. so kindly tell me that how can I get good marks in this subject. There is neither any academy nor any teacher of i.law in my city. plus i dnt have enough resources to go to any other city. Therefore, kindly guide me in that way so that i can study at my home. plus please do mention the names of books and magazines of this subject.
thanks in advance
Rush (Friday, February 21, 2014)

Fassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of lightFassi is a glorious beacon of light

The correct answers of the above shared 15 MCQs are given below

1. Who coined the term "International law"
Jeremy Bentham

2. Who refused to become non-permanent member of SC recently.
Saudi Arabia

3. Where is head quarter of ICJ
Hague

4. Number of Judges in ICJ are

5. Who struggled for League of Nations
Woodrow Wilson

6. Original membership of league of nations is

7. Father of law of nations is
Hugo Grotious

8. First session of General assembly was held
London

9. Oldest European Assembly is
Vienna Congress

10. The Secretary General of UNO who got Peace Prize
Kofi Anan

11. The secretary Genaral of Uno who died in an aeroplane crash
Dag Hammarskjöld

12. Extradition means
Handing over the criminals

Undesirable person

14. Charter of UNO contains
111 Articles

General Assembly (all the member states of UN) sought advisory opinion from ICJ on the issue of individuals who were injured during the services of UN.

Originally Posted by exclusively View Post
Your approach seems good at this subject... Sir which questions did you attempt, paper seems not that much difficult though.. Hope, you would have attempted it to the level of perfection...
Thanx. I didn't appear in 2014. In my first attempt in 2013 I scored 74 in International Law.

I had only 20 minutes for this question. Straight away completed the modes of pacific and coercive measure for settlement of disputes , but in conclusion i gave this definition of the territorial water and said that though disputes be related to territorial waters or some thing else( "Not the wording in question territorial waters of some thing else ") are resolved through these methods. Lets see what will be outcome.
Hope for the best... InshALLAH you'll get good marks...

Originally Posted by Would be View Post
Fassi bhai!!! I have I.law as an optional. i'm preparing for 2015. I dnt have any backgroung of law related subjects. i have done masters (history). I have seen past papers of i.law and they were quite bookish and simple. but this time paper was general and tricky. so kindly tell me that how can I get good marks in this subject. There is neither any academy nor any teacher of i.law in my city. plus i dnt have enough resources to go to any other city. Therefore, kindly guide me in that way so that i can study at my home. plus please do mention the names of books and magazines of this subject.
thanks in advance
Explore my profile, there you'll get my contact number. Contact me I'll explain you everything...
The Following User Says Thank You to Fassi For This Useful Post:
faizan dgkhan (Tuesday, October 28, 2014)

marshal453 is on a distinguished road
Default Question

Thanx. I didn't appear in 2014. In my first attempt in

Explore my profile, there you'll get my contact number. Contact me I'll explain you everything...
Can you please shed some light on the essence of Que 4
Q.NO.4 the assumption that the "genuine link" formula, invented for dealing with people, is capable of immediate application to ships..........smacks of a disappointing naivete ?
What was it about....